DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyashita et al. (US 4,721,441) hereinafter Miyashita.
Regarding claim 1, Miyashita teaches a bearing structure, comprising:
a shaft (6) (Figs. 1-2; Col. 1, line 13-Col. 2, line 5)
a bearing, which includes an inner ring an outer ring, and rolling elements provided between the inner ring and the outer ring, and axially supports the shaft (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below);
a bearing housing (3, 5) that accommodates the bearing (Figs. 1-2; Col. 1, line 13-Col. 2, line 5);
an impeller (7) provided at an end portion of the shaft (Figs. 1-2; Col. 1, line 13-Col. 2, line 5);
an impeller housing (1) that accommodates the impeller (Figs. 1-2; Col. 1, line 13-Col. 2, line 5);
a partition wall that separates an internal space of the bearing housing and a space in the impeller housing in which the impeller is allowed to be accommodated from each other (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below);
a side wall portion, which is formed in the bearing housing, and is opposed to the rolling elements in an axial direction of the shaft over an entire area in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and is spaced apart from the partition wall in the axial direction (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below);
an annular groove, which is spaced between the side wall portion and the bearing in the axial direction, and extends in the circumferential direction (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below);
an oil discharge port formed in the bearing housing (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below); and
a communication passage, which allows the annular groove and the oil discharge port to be in communication with each other and passes through the bearing housing in a direction intersecting with the axial direction (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below);
wherein the partition wall is fitted onto the shaft via a sealing ring (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below); and the side wall portion is not fitted onto the shaft (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below).
Regarding claim 2, a bearing hole (spacing accommodating the shaft) formed in the bearing housing (Fig. 2); and a fitting member, which is provided integrally with or separately from the outer ring, and has an outer peripheral surface that is allowed to be fitted onto an inner peripheral surface of the bearing hole, wherein the side wall portion is opposed to an outer peripheral edge of a side surface of the fitting member in the axial direction over the entire area in the circumferential direction (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 3, Miyashita teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Miyashita further teaches the annular groove has an inner diameter corresponding to an inner diameter of the outer ring (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Miyashita teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Miyashita further teaches a guide portion, which is provided in the communication passage, and guides lubricating oil discharged through the communication passage, in a direction toward the oil discharge port (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2).
Regarding claims 5-8, Miyashita teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 2, 3, 4 and 5 respectively. Miyashita further teaches a turbocharger (Figs. 1-2; Col. 1, line 13-Col. 2, line 5).
Regarding claim 9, Miyashita teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Miyashita further teaches a bearing hole (space accommodating the shaft; Figs. 1-2)) formed in the bearing housing, wherein the side wall portion protrudes from an inner peripheral surface of the bearing hole to a position on a radially inner side of the shaft and beyond an inner peripheral surface of the outer ring over an entire area in the circumferential direction (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 10, Miyashita teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Miyashita further teaches the side wall portion has an annular shape and covers an outer peripheral surface of the shaft over an entire periphery in the circumferential direction (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745