DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument is that both Miyashita and Noda do not disclose the amended limitations “a partition wall that separates an internal space of the bearing housing and a space in the impeller housing in which the impeller is allowed to be accommodated from each other”. In view of the amendment, the references have been reinterpreted and read on the argued limitations. Both references disclose “a partition wall that separates an internal space of the bearing housing and a space in which the impeller is allowed to be accommodate from each other”; “the partition wall is spaced apart from the side wall portion in the axial direction” (see Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below and Noda, annotated FIG. 1 below in rejections below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyashita (US 4,721,441).
Regarding claim 1, Miyashita teaches a bearing structure, comprising:
a shaft (6) (Fig. 2);
a bearing, which includes an inner ring (17), an outer ring (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below), and rolling elements (11, 12) provided between the inner ring and the outer ring, and axially supports the shaft (Figs. 1-2; Col. 1, lines 13-33)
a bearing housing (3) that accommodates the bearing;
an impeller (7) (Figs. 1-2, Col. 1, lines 12-33);
an impeller housing (1) that accommodates the impeller (Figs. 1-2, Col. 1, lines 12-33),
a partition wall that separates an internal space of the bearing housing a space in the impeller housing in which the impeller is allowed to be accommodated from each other (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below),
a side wall portion, which is formed in the bearing housing, and is opposed to the rolling elements in an axial direction of the shaft over an entire area in a circumferential direction of the shaft and is spaced apart from the partition wall in the axial direction (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below);
an annular groove (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below), which is defined between the side wall portion and the bearing, and extends in the circumferential direction;
an oil discharge port (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below) formed in the bearing housing;
and a communication passage (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below), which allows the annular groove and the oil discharge port to be in communication with each other, and passes through the bearing housing in a direction intersecting with the axial direction (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below).
Regarding claim 2, Miyashita teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Miyashita further teaches a bearing hole (19) (Figs. 1-2; Col. 1, lines 13-33, formed in the bearing housing; and a fitting member (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 above), which is provided integrally with or separately from the outer ring, and has an outer peripheral surface that is allowed to be fitted onto an inner peripheral surface of the bearing hole, wherein the side wall portion is opposed to an outer peripheral edge of a side surface of the fitting member in the axial direction over the entire area in the circumferential direction (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 3, Miyashita teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Miyashita further teaches the annular groove has an inner diameter corresponding to an inner diameter of the outer ring (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Miyashita teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Miyashita further teaches a guide portion, which is provided in the communication passage, and guides lubricating oil discharged through the communication passage, in a direction toward the oil discharge port (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claims 5-8, Miyashita teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 1-4 respectively. Miyashita further teaches a turbocharger (Figs. 1-2).
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noda (US 10,151,344 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Miyashita teaches a bearing structure, comprising:
a shaft (4) (Fig. 1);
a bearing (5), which includes an inner ring (50), an outer ring (51), and rolling elements (50) provided between the inner ring and the outer ring, and axially supports the shaft (Col. 6, lines 61-Col. 7, line 12);
a bearing housing (Fig. 1) that accommodates the bearing;
an impeller (3) (Figs. 1, Col. 6, lines 28-38);
an impeller housing (Fig. 1) that accommodates the impeller (although not shown the impeller/compressor (3) housing is inherent to the turbocharger),
a partition wall that separates an internal space of the bearing housing a space in the impeller housing in which the impeller is allowed to be accommodated from each other (Miyashita, annotated FIG. 2 below),
a side wall portion (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 below), which is formed in the bearing housing, and is opposed to the rolling elements in an axial direction of the shaft over an entire area in a circumferential direction of the shaft (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 below);
an annular groove (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 below), which is defined between the side wall portion and the bearing, and extends in the circumferential direction;
an oil discharge port (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 below) formed in the bearing housing;
and a communication passage (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 below), which allows the annular groove and the oil discharge port to be in communication with each other, and passes through the bearing housing in a direction intersecting with the axial direction (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 below).
Regarding claim 2, Noda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Miyashita further teaches a bearing hole (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 above) formed in the bearing housing; and a fitting member (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 above), which is provided integrally with or separately from the outer ring, and has an outer peripheral surface that is allowed to be fitted onto an inner peripheral surface of the bearing hole, wherein the side wall portion is opposed to an outer peripheral edge of a side surface of the fitting member in the axial direction over the entire area in the circumferential direction (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Noda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Noda further teaches the annular groove has an inner diameter corresponding to an inner diameter of the outer ring (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Noda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Noda further teaches a guide portion, which is provided in the communication passage, and guides lubricating oil discharged through the communication passage, in a direction toward the oil discharge port (Noda, annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claims 5-8, Noda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 1-4 respectively. Noda further teaches a turbocharger (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745