DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uneura et al. (US 11,339,794 B2) hereinafter Uneura.
Regarding claim 1, Uneura teaches a bearing structure, comprising:
a shaft (8) (Fig. 1);
a bearing, which includes an inner ring (20b, 21b), an outer ring (20a, 21a), and rolling elements (20c 21c) provided between the inner ring and the outer ring, and axially supports the shaft (Figs. 1-2; Col. 4, line 40-Col. 5 line 2);
a bearing housing (2) that accommodates the bearing (Figs. 1-2;
an impeller (9) provided at an end portion of the shaft (Figs. 1-2);
an impeller housing (4) that accommodates the impeller (Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 25-50)
a partition wall (Uneura, annotated FIG. 1 below) that separates an internal space of the bearing housing and a space in the impeller housing in which the impeller is allowed to be accommodated from each other;
a side wall portion (Uneura, annotated FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 below), which is formed in the bearing housing, and is opposed to the rolling elements in an axial direction of the shaft over an entire area in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and is spaced apart from the partition wall in the axial direction (Uneura, annotated FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 below);
an annular groove (Uneura, annotated FIG. 2 below), which is spaced between the side wall portion and the bearing in the axial direction, and extends in the circumferential direction (Uneura, annotated FIG. 2 below);
an oil discharge port formed in the bearing housing (Uneura, annotated FIG. 1 below); and
a communication passage, which allows the annular groove and the oil discharge port to be in communication with each other, and passes through the bearing housing in a direction intersecting with the axial direction (Uneura, annotated FIG. 1 below).
Regarding claim 2, Uneura teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Uneura further teaches a bearing hole (2e) formed in the bearing housing; a fitting member, which is provided integrally with or separately from the outer ring (Uneura, annotated FIG. 2 above), and has an outer peripheral surface that is allowed to be fitted onto an inner peripheral surface of the bearing hole (the fitting member as shown could be allowed to be fitted onto the inner surface of the bearing hole), wherein the side wall portion is opposed to an outer peripheral edge of a side surface of the fitting member in the axial direction over the entire area in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 3, Uneura teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Uneura further teaches the annular groove has an inner diameter corresponding to an inner diameter of the outer ring (Uneura, annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Uneura teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Uneura further teaches a guide portion, which is provided in the communication passage, and guides lubricating oil discharged through the communication passage, in a direction toward the oil discharge port (Uneura, annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Uneura teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Uneura further teaches a turbocharger, comprising the bearing structure (Fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 6, Uneura teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Uneura further teaches a turbocharger, comprising the bearing structure (Fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 7, Uneura teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 3. Uneura further teaches a turbocharger, comprising the bearing structure (Fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 8, Uneura teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 4. Uneura further teaches a turbocharger, comprising the bearing structure (Fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 1-12).
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gutknecht (US 5,145,334).
Regarding claim 1, Gutknecht teaches a bearing structure, comprising:
a shaft (26) (Fig. 1);
a bearing, which includes an inner ring (56), an outer ring (52), and rolling elements (62) provided between the inner ring and the outer ring, and axially supports the shaft (Figs. 1-2, Col. 2, line 48-Col. 3, line 1-4);
a bearing housing (14) that accommodates the bearing (Fig. 1);
an impeller (28) provided at an end portion of the shaft (Figs. 1);
an impeller housing (16) that accommodates the impeller (Fig. 1);
a partition wall (Koda, annotated FIG. 1 below) that separates an internal space of the bearing housing and a space in the impeller housing in which the impeller is allowed to be accommodated from each other;
a side wall portion (Koda, annotated FIG. 1 below) which is formed in the bearing housing, and is opposed to the rolling elements in an axial direction of the shaft over an entire area in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and is spaced apart from the partition wall in the axial direction (Koda, annotated FIG. 1 below);
an annular groove (Koda, annotated FIG. 1 below), which is spaced between the side wall portion and the bearing in the axial direction, and extends in the circumferential direction (Koda, annotated FIG. 1 below);
an oil discharge port (106) formed in the bearing housing (Figs. 1-2); and
a communication passage, which allows the annular groove and the oil discharge port to be in communication with each other, and passes through the bearing housing in a direction intersecting with the axial direction (Koda, annotated FIG. 1 below).
Regarding claim 2, Koda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Koda further teaches a bearing (24) hole formed in the bearing housing; a fitting member, which is provided integrally with or separately from the outer ring (Koda, annotated FIG. 1 above), and has an outer peripheral surface that is allowed to be fitted onto an inner peripheral surface of the bearing hole, wherein the side wall portion is opposed to an outer peripheral edge of a side surface of the fitting member in the axial direction over the entire area in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 3, Koda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Koda further teaches the annular groove has an inner diameter corresponding to an inner diameter of the outer ring (Koda, annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Koda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Koda further teaches a guide portion, which is provided in the communication passage, and guides lubricating oil discharged through the communication passage, in a direction toward the oil discharge port (Koda, annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Koda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Koda further teaches a turbocharger, comprising the bearing structure (Fig. 1, Col. 2, lines 3-13).
Regarding claim 6, Koda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Koda further teaches a turbocharger, comprising the bearing structure (Fig. 1, Col. 2, lines 3-13).
Regarding claim 7, Koda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 3. Koda further teaches a turbocharger, comprising the bearing structure (Fig. 1, Col. 2, lines 3-13).
Regarding claim 8, Koda teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 4. Koda further teaches a turbocharger, comprising the bearing structure (Fig. 1, Col. 2, lines 3-13).
Conclusion
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745