DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,383,005. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the application encompass those of the patent.
Claims 1-7 and 12-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 16-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,564. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the application encompass those of the patent.
Claims 8-11, and 17-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-12, 18, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,693,564 in view of Serrianne et al.(US Patent 4,438,693). US Patent 11,693,564 discloses all the elements of the claims except for a unit which performs screen printing. Serrianne et al. discloses it is well- known and conventional in the clothing arts to use screen printing to apply different designs to clothing as it avoids cracking.(Col. 1, ll. 38-62) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to add a screen printing station to the claims of US Patent 11,693,564 since it avoids cracking as taught by Serrianne et al.(Col. 1, ll. 38-62) Different designs are evidence of customization.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Breitkopf et al.(US Patent 3,699,591).
Breitkopf et al. discloses an adhesive dispenser for dispenser a liquid adhesive(33)in discrete locations, a press roller operable to join two layers(B), and a cutting tool to make cuts in the fabric corresponding to features.(D) It also states the adhesive can be cured between stations B and D(Col. 4, ll. 7-10), but does not explicitly state the curing takes place via radiation from an energy source. It does states heat can be applied at that location and one in the art would understand that applying heat would require an energy source to supply the heat.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the rollers apply pressure.(Figure 2)
Regarding claim 4, the reference discloses curing the adhesive.(Col. 4, ll. 7-10)
Regarding claim 5, the adhesive is shown as being applied in stripes.(18)
Regarding claim 6, the adhesive is applied as a single line path.(18)
Regarding claim 11, while Breitkopf et al. does not disclose a motor to convey the fabric through the device, one in the art would understand that a motor is required to convey the fabric through the apparatus as it does not move itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitkopf et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above
Regarding claim 7, the references shows using a mechanical cutter rather than a laser. However, a laser is a well-known and conventional cutting means and would have been obvious for this reason.
Regarding claim 14, one in the art would appreciate that any curable adhesive could be used and thus any radiation source can be used.
Regarding claim 15, Breitkopf et al. does not disclose changing the cut recipe based on the adhesive dispensing pattern. It is well-known in the clothing arts that a pattern cut size is changed based on the desired final article size and one in the art would appreciate this would result in the adhesive being applied in different locations.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitkopf et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Serrianne et al.(US Patent 4,438,693).
Breitkopf does not disclose screen printing. However, the idea of customization by printing a design(hospital name etc.) is extremely well-known and conventional in general in the manufacturing arts and would have been obvious for this reason. Serrianne et al. discloses it is well- known and conventional in the clothing arts to use screen printing to apply different designs to clothing as it avoids cracking.(Col. 1, ll. 38-62) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to print on the apparel of Breitkopf et a. since printing logos is extremely well-0knonw and conventional in general in the apparel arts and to screen print in Breitkopf since it avoids cracking as taught by Serrianne et al.(Col. 1, ll. 38-62) Different designs are evidence of customization.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitkopf et al. as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ragone et al.(US Patent 4,055,855).
Breitkopf et al. does not disclose a third web. Ragone et al. discloses it is known in the medical arts to have a pocket on a medical gown.(34) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to include a third web which is used to make pockets in the apparatus of Breitkopf et al. since it is known it have pockets in medical gowns as shown by Ragone et al.(Figure 1)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitkopf et al. as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Grimm et al.(US Patent 3,156,927)
The references cited above do not disclose the specifics of the apparatus that moves the fabric. Grimm et al. discloses that it is known to use motors to move both pieces of fabric.(Col. 4, ll. 45-50) Grimm et al. discloses using index perforations to align the fabrics.(Col. 3, ll. 14-20) While it does not disclose the fabrics are synchronized, one in the art would appreciate that since the two webs are intended to be aligned on top of one another, the motors would be synchronized so the fabric movement was synchronized. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use synchronized motors to move the fabrics since Grimm et al. shows it is well-known and conventional to move the fabric using motors(Col. 4, ll. 45-50), and one in the art would appreciate they would be synchronized since the fabrics are synchronized and to include index perforations in the articles of Breitkopf et al. since this would allow alignment of the two fabric layers as taught by Grimm et al.(Col. 3, ll.15-20)
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitkopf et al. as applied to claim 11 above in view of Wang(CN 108192555)
Breitkopf et al. does not disclose changing the cut recipe based on the adhesive width. Wang discloses it is known to use different adhesive widths when joining clothes together. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to change the adhesive width as taught by Wang depending on the bond width desired. While the references do not teach adjusting the cutting pattern based on the change in adhesive width, it is well-known in the clothing arts that a pattern cut size is changed based on the seam allowances as the final product is still intended to be the same size. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to change the cut pattern based on the change in adhesive width since it is known in the clothing arts to change the cut pattern so that the final product is the same size regardless of changes to the seams.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, the word “cuter” should be –cutter--. Appropriate correction is required.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746