DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 31-99 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 11629905, 11965689, 11493262, 11852396, 11959692, 12235034, 12492858, 12398946. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they merely recite like elements using different terminology and/or phraseology.
Claims 31-99 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 31-99 of copending Application No.19/273713 (reference applications). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they merely recite like elements using different terminology and/or phraseology, the only difference between the claims is in the second subsection of each independent claim (31, 43, 55, 72, 81, 85, 90, 93, 97) wherein the controller is recite das comprising a first microcomputer configured to communicate an unlock signal subsequent to “a consumer payment” (19/273713) or “a consumer authorization to make a purchase” (19/273681). The remainder of the independent and dependent claims are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 31-99 are also provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application Nos. 18/748520, 18/949347 (reference applications). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they merely recite like elements using different terminology and/or phraseology.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-34, 36, 39-46, 48-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teicher US 6,102,162 (hereinafter Teicher) in view of Brous US 5,345,379 (hereinafter Brous).
Re Claim 31. (New)
Teicher discloses a retail controller system (Fig.2) for selectively allowing consumers to select one or more items from a retail enclosure (206/210), the system comprising: at least one control (320; Figs.12,15,16; 1214,1212,1210,1204,1206,1202) comprising a first microcomputer configured to generate an unlock signal subsequent to a consumer authorization to make a purchase (332,334,338); the at least one controller further comprising a second microcomputer connected to one of a local and a wide area network for communicating one of the unlock signal, a consumer payment information and a consumer payment authorization information; and the at least one controller further configured for being in communication with an electronically actuated locking mechanism (225), the locking mechanism (225) being configured in a locked condition during stand-by operation and further configured to selectively move to an unlocked condition upon receiving the unlock signal (col.9, lines 50-66; col. 21, lines 15-67; col. 22, lines 1-67).
Teicher does not teach there being a second payment controller for detecting payment which in response, provides a control signal to communicate with a lock controller to unlock the enclosure door; wherein the payment controller and lock controller are operatively connected; and wherein the payment controller is also operatively connected to and is configured to communicate with a local or wide area network for controlling the lock mechanism; the payment controller comprising a first microcomputer, and the lock controller comprising a second microcomputer.
Brous teaches there being a payment controller (Figure 2; 120 is a payment/authorization from payment control system) for detecting payment which in response, provides a control signal to communicate with a lock controller to unlock the enclosure door; wherein the payment controller and lock controller are operatively connected (Column 6; lines 43-61 discuss the control system 120 sending a signal to the internal control system of the washing/drying machine to initiate an action in the machine; which when applied to Teicher would mean the first authorization control system sending a signal to a secondary control system to unlock the lock); and wherein the payment controller is also operatively connected to and is configured to communicate with a local or wide area network for controlling the lock mechanism (Abstract; communications network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the one controller of Teicher to be two separate controllers as in Brous in order to isolate issues, which would save money on replacement and repair operations, as well as to reduce the strain on the first controller.
Re Claim 32. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 31 wherein the unlock signal is communicated.
Re Claim 33. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 32 wherein the unlock signal is a secure signal
Re Claim 34. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 32 wherein the unlock signal is generated external to the retail enclosure in a secured location (managers console 322).
Re Claim 36. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 31 wherein the at least one controller is adapted to communicate information about a product selected (Teicher, Fig.3).
Re Claim 39. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 31 wherein the at least one controller is further configured to be connected to one of a local and a wide area network for communicating one of a lock operation controller parameter (Teicher,Fig.2) and information about a position of the retail enclosure door (Teicher,Fig.2, Door position sensors 227).
Re Claim 40. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 31 wherein the at least one controller is further configured for communicating consumer identification information (Teicher, Fig.2, 334).
Re Claim 41. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 31 wherein the consumer payment information is communicated (Teicher, Fig.2, 338).
Re Claim 42. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 31 wherein the consumer payment authorization information is communicated (Teicher, Fig. 2, 338).
Re Claim 43. (New)
As discussed above with respect to claim 31-34, 36, 39-42, and applied to claims 43-46, 48-52 below, Teicher as modified by Brous discloses a retail controller system for allowing consumers to select one or more items from a retail enclosure, the system comprising: at least one controller comprising a first microcomputer connected to one of a local and a wide area network configured to communicate an unlock signal subsequent to a consumer authorization to make the at least one controller further comprising a second microcomputer connected to one of a local and a wide area network for communicating one of consumer and a consumer payment authorization information: and the at least one controller further configured for being in communication with an electronically actuated locking mechanism, the locking mechanism being configured in a locked condition during stand-by operation and being further configured to selectively move to an unlocked condition upon receiving the unlock signal,
Re Claim 44. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 43 wherein the consumer information is communicated.
Re Claim 45. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 43 wherein the consumer authorization information is communicated.
Re Claim 46. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 43 wherein the at least one controller is further configured to be connected to one of a local and a wide area network for communicating one of a lock operation controller parameter and information about a position of the retail enclosure door.
Re Claim 48. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 43 wherein the at least one controller is further configured for communicating consumer identification information.
Re Claim 49. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 43 wherein one of the first and the second microcomputer is further configured to generate the unlock signal.
Re Claim 50. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 43 wherein the unlock signal is a secure signal.
Re Claim 51. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 43 wherein the unlock signal is generated external to the retail enclosure in a secured location.
Re Claim 52. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 43 wherein the at least one controller is adapted to communicate information about a product selected.
Similarly, claims 55-61, 63-64, 68-71, 72-74, 76-78, 80, 81-84, 85-86, 89, 90-92, 93-94, 97-99 are rejected in view of Teicher and Brous as discussed above.
Claim(s) 37, 38, 53, 54, 65, 66, 75, 79, 87, 88, 95, 96 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teicher as modified by Brous, as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Schoenfeld US 2007/0227204 (hereinafter Schoenfeld).
Re Claim 37. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 31 but fail to teach wherein the at least one controller is adapted to communicate information about a fault condition.
Re Claim 38. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 31 but fail to teach wherein the at least one controller is adapted to communicate information about a temperature of the retail enclosure.
Re Claim 53. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 43 wherein the at least one controller is adapted to communicate information about a fault condition.
Re Claim 54. (New)
Teicher as modified by Brous discloses the retail controller system of claim 43 wherein the at least one controller is adapted to communicate information about a temperature of the retail enclosure.
Similarly, claims 65-66, 75, 79, 87, 88, 95, 96 are rejected in view of Teicher and Brous as discussed above and further in view of the temperature fault controls taught by Schoenfeld to be advantageous in preventing consumption of spoiled foods.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SUZANNE DINO BARRETT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675B
Sdb
/SUZANNE L BARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675