DETAILED ACTION
This Final action is in response to an amendment filed 10/07/2026. Currently claims 1-15 are pending, but claims 5-7 and 9-11 remain withdrawn from examination as directed to non-elected subject matter, and claims 1-4, 8 and 12-15 are examined as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in US 2018/0204889 (hereinafter Yu) in view of Gao et al. in CN-109584798-B (hereinafter Gao) and Jang et al. in US 2022/0208052 (hereinafter Jang). A machine translation was used to reference the description of the document in Chinese.
Regarding claim 1, Yu disclose a display device (Yu’s Fig. 1 and par. 31) comprising: a display panel (Yu’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 36: see 14) including a first area (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: area B, shown as bottom two rows in Fig. 15) and a second area (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: area A, shown as top three rows in Fig. 15) in which a plurality of pixels are arranged (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 53: pixels 22); a plurality of gate drivers (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56: circuit 78/20B for each row), wherein the plurality of gate drivers comprise at least one first gate driver disposed in the first area (Yu’s Fig. 15: see drivers 20B next to two bottom rows) and at least one second gate driver disposed in the second area (Yu’s Fig. 15: see drivers 20B next to notch area IA in the top three rows); a first clock line (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: see CLKB) connected to the at least one first gate driver disposed in the first area (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: see a driver 78/20B corresponding to one of the bottom two rows in Fig. 15); a second clock line (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: see CLKA) connected to the at least one second gate driver disposed in the second area (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: see a driver 78/20B corresponding to one of the top three rows in Fig. 15); and a clock generator (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56: see 70/72) configured to generate a first clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: CLKB) and a second clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: CLKA) to be applied to each of the first clock line and the second clock line, respectively (as shown in Yu’s Fig. 7), wherein the first clock signal and the second clock signal have different voltage levels or gate-on times (Yu’s Figs. 8-10 and par. 59).
Yu fails to disclose wherein the first clock line and the second clock line are spatially separated from each other in the first area and the second area, or a level shifter configured to generate the first clock signal and the second clock signal.
However, in the same family of applications, Gao discloses omitting the multiplexer and instead having a path from the clock generator to the driver for each clock (Gao’s par. 55: path from 70 to row of area A, and path from 72 to row of area B, thus omitting multiplexer 74. Gao’s Fig. 6 is equivalent to Yu’s Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Yu includes the first clock line (Yu’s Fig. 7 and Gao’s Fig. 6: see CLKB) and the second clock line (Yu’s Fig. 7 and Gao’s Fig. 6: see CLKA) spatially separated from each other in the first area and the second area (Gao’s par. 55: direct path from 70 area A and from 72 to area B by omitting multiplexer 74 in Fig. 6 and Yu’s Fig. 7), in order to obtain the benefit of omitting the multiplexer 74 if needed (Gao’s par. 55).
Still, Yu in view of Gao fail to disclose a level shifter configured to generate the first clock signal and the second clock signal.
Nevertheless, in the related field of endeavor of generating different clocks for a display device, Jang discloses a level shifter (Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185: see 300) configured to generate a first clock signal and a second clock signal (Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185: see CLK1 and CLk2).
Thus, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Yu in view of Gao’s clock generators (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56) are a level shifter (Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185), in order to obtain the predictable result of a known circuit that generates clocks for display devices (Jang’s Figs. 1, 4, 8 and par. 133, 135, 185).
By doing such combination, Yu in view of Gao and Jang disclose:
A display device (Yu’s Fig. 1 and par. 31) comprising:
a display panel (Yu’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 36: see 14) including a first area (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: area B, shown as bottom two rows in Fig. 15) and a second area (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: area A, shown as top three rows in Fig. 15) in which a plurality of pixels are arranged (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 53: pixels 22);
a plurality of gate drivers (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56: circuit 78/20B for each row), wherein the plurality of gate drivers comprise at least one first gate driver disposed in the first area (Yu’s Fig. 15: see drivers 20B next to two bottom rows) and at least one second gate driver disposed in the second area (Yu’s Fig. 15: see drivers 20B next to notch area IA in the top three rows);
a first clock line (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: see CLKB) connected to the at least one first gate driver disposed in the first area (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: see a driver 78/20B corresponding to one of the bottom two rows in Fig. 15);
a second clock line (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: see CLKA) connected to the at least one second gate driver disposed in the second area (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: see a driver 78/20B corresponding to one of the top three rows in Fig. 15), wherein the first clock line (Yu’s Fig. 7 and Gao’s Fig. 6: see CLKB) and the second clock line (Yu’s Fig. 7 and Gao’s Fig. 6: see CLKA) are spatially separated from each other in the first area and the second area (Gao’s par. 55: direct path from 70 area A and from 72 to area B by omitting multiplexer 74 in Fig. 6 and Yu’s Fig. 7); and
a level shifter (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56: see 70/72 which upon combination are implemented by a level shifter per Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185) configured to generate a first clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: CLKB equivalent to CLK1 in Jang’s Fig. 8) and a second clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: CLKA equivalent to CLK2 in Jang’s Fig. 8) to be applied to each of the first clock line and the second clock line, respectively (as shown in Yu’s Fig. 7 and Jang’s Fig. 4),
wherein the first clock signal and the second clock signal have different voltage levels or gate-on times (Yu’s Figs. 8-10 and par. 59).
Regarding claim 2, Yu in view of Gao and Jang disclose wherein the first area (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: area B, shown as bottom two rows in Fig. 15) and the second area (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: area A, shown as top three rows in Fig. 15) are divided according to a shape of the display panel (Yu’s Fig. 6: see notch 66), and
wherein a length of the second area over which the second clock signal is applied (Yu’s Fig. 6: see length of area of region A excluding the notch 66 where CLKA is applied, such as to the top three rows of Fig. 15) is shorter compared to a length of the first area over which the first clock signal is applied (Yu’s Fig. 6: see length of area of region B which does not have a notch and where CLKB is applied, such as to the two bottom rows of Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 3, Yu in view of Gao and Jang further disclose wherein the level shifter (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56: see 70/72 which upon combination are implemented by a level shifter per Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185) includes a first level shifter (Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185: COC1) and a second level shifter (Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185: COC2), and
the first level shifter generates the first clock signal (Jang’s Fig. 8: see CLK1 out of COC1, where CLK1 is equivalent to CLKB of Yu’s Fig. 7) having a first gate-on voltage and a first gate-off voltage (Jang’s Fig. 9: see VGH and VGL of CLK1 equivalent to low and high levels of CLKB in Yu’s Figs. 8-10), and
the second level shifter generates the second clock signal (Jang’s Fig. 8: see CLK2 out of COC2, where CLK2 is equivalent to CLKA of Yu’s Fig. 7) having a second gate-on voltage and a second gate-off voltage (Jang’s Fig. 9: see VGH and VGL of CLK2 equivalent to low and high levels of CLKA in Yu’s Figs. 8-10).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Yu includes a first and second level shifter generating the two clocks with a gate on and gate off voltage (Jang’s Figs. 8-9), in order to obtain the predictable result of generating the two clocks of Yu’s Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 12, Yu disclose a display device (Yu’s Fig. 1 and par. 31) comprising:
a display panel (Yu’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 36: see 14) including a first area (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: area B, shown as bottom two rows in Fig. 15) and a second area (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: area A, shown as top three rows in Fig. 15) in which a plurality of pixels are arranged (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 53: pixels 22); a plurality of gate drivers (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56: circuit 78/20B for each row), wherein the plurality of gate drivers comprise at least one first gate driver disposed in the first area (Yu’s Fig. 15: see drivers 20B next to two bottom rows) and at least one second gate driver disposed in the second area (Yu’s Fig. 15: see drivers 20B next to notch area IA in the top three rows); and a clock generator (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56: see 70/72) configured to generate a first clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: CLKB) and a second clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: CLKA) to be applied to (i) the at least one first gate driver disposed in the first area (Yu’s Figs. 7, 15: see drivers 20B next to two bottom rows) and (ii) the at least one second gate driver disposed in the second area (Yu’s Figs. 7, 15: see drivers 20B next to notch area IA in the top three rows), wherein the first clock signal and the second clock signal have different voltage levels (Yu’s Fig. 10 and par. 59: see the step of CLKA which has a different voltage level than CLKB).
Yu fails to disclose a level shifter configured to generate the first clock signal and the second clock signal to be separately applied…via signal lines that are spatially separated from each other in the first area and the second area, respectively.
However, in the same family of applications, Gao discloses omitting the multiplexer and instead having a path from the clock generator to the driver for each clock (Gao’s par. 55: path from 70 to row of area A, and path from 72 to row of area B, thus omitting multiplexer 74. Gao’s Fig. 6 is equivalent to Yu’s Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Yu includes the first clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 7 and Gao’s Fig. 6: see CLKB) and the second clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 7 and Gao’s Fig. 6: see CLKA) separately applied via signal lines that are spatially separated from each other in the first area and the second area (Gao’s par. 55: direct path from 70 area A and from 72 to area B by omitting multiplexer 74 in Fig. 6 and Yu’s Fig. 7), in order to obtain the benefit of omitting the multiplexer 74 if needed (Gao’s par. 55).
Still, Yu in view of Gao fail to disclose a level shifter configured to generate the first clock signal and the second clock signal.
Nevertheless, in the related field of endeavor of generating different clocks for a display device, Jang discloses a level shifter (Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185: see 300) configured to generate a first clock signal and a second clock signal (Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185: see CLK1 and CLk2).
Thus, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Yu’s clock generators (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56) are a level shifter (Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185), in order to obtain the predictable result of a known circuit that generates clocks for display devices (Jang’s Figs. 1, 4, 8 and par. 133, 135, 185).
By doing such combination, Yu in view of Gao and Jang disclose:
A display device (Yu’s Fig. 1 and par. 31) comprising:
a display panel (Yu’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 36: see 14) including a first area (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: area B, shown as bottom two rows in Fig. 15) and a second area (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: area A, shown as top three rows in Fig. 15) in which a plurality of pixels are arranged (Yu’s Fig. 6 and par. 53: pixels 22);
a plurality of gate drivers (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56: circuit 78/20B for each row), wherein the plurality of gate drivers comprise at least one first gate driver disposed in the first area (Yu’s Fig. 15: see drivers 20B next to two bottom rows) and at least one second gate driver disposed in the second area (Yu’s Fig. 15: see drivers 20B next to notch area IA in the top three rows); and
a level shifter (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 56: see 70/72 which upon combination are implemented by a level shifter per Jang’s Fig. 8 and par. 185) configured to generate a first clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: CLKB equivalent to CLK1 in Jang’s Fig. 8) and a second clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 7 and par. 58: CLKA equivalent to CLK2 in Jang’s Fig. 8) to be separately applied (Gao’s Fig. 6 and par. 55: direct path from 70/72 to regions A and B in Yu’s Fig. 7) to (i) the at least one first gate driver disposed in the first area (Yu’s Figs. 7, 15: see drivers 20B next to two bottom rows) and (ii) the at least one second gate driver disposed in the second area (Yu’s Figs. 7, 15: see drivers 20B next to notch area IA in the top three rows), via signal lines that are spatially separated from each other in the first area and the second area, respectively (Gao’s par. 55: direct path [signal line] from 70 area A and additional path [signal line] from 72 to area B by omitting multiplexer 74 in Fig. 6 and Yu’s Fig. 7),
wherein the first clock signal and the second clock signal have different voltage levels (Yu’s Fig. 10 and par. 59: see the step of CLKA which has a different voltage level than CLKB).
Regarding claim 13, Yu in view of Gao and Jang disclose wherein the second clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 10: see CLKA) has a voltage level (Yu’s Fig. 10 and par. 59: see middle step of CLKA) less than that of the first clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 10: high level of CLKB).
Claims 4, 8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Gao and Jang as applied above, in further view of Feng et al. in US 2025/0014521 (hereinafter Feng).
Regarding claim 4, Yu in view of Gao and Jang fail to disclose wherein the first gate-on voltage is higher than the second gate-on voltage, and the first gate-off voltage is lower than the second gate-off voltage.
However, in the related field of endeavor of multiple clocks used in a display, Feng discloses that the clocks have a different amplitude where the amplitude is increased by increasing the high potential voltage and decreasing the low potential voltage (Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Yu’s clocks CLKA and CLKB have different amplitudes (as disclosed by Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139), in order to obtain the benefit of providing a clock with a higher amplitude to the rows with more pixels (such as those in the center of region B in Yu’s Fig. 6) and a clock with a smaller amplitude to the rows with less pixels (such as those in the left and right regions A of Yu’s Fig. 6) and thus obtain the benefit of adjusting the clock signal according to distance from the gate driver (Feng’s par. 19, such as the distance from the pixels to the drivers 20B in Yu’s Fig. 15), and the intended objective of other combinations of signals CLKA and CLKB (Yu’s par. 59).
By doing such combination, Yu in view of Gao, Jang and Feng disclose:
wherein the first gate-on voltage (Yu’s Fig. 8: see high of CLKB, equivalent to VGH of CLK1 in Jang’s Fig. 9 and which has a higher amplitude achieved by increasing the high potential per Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139) is higher than the second gate-on voltage (Yu’s Fig. 8: see high of CLKA, equivalent to VGH of CLK2 in Jang’s Fig. 9 and which has a smaller amplitude achieved by decreasing the high potential per Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139), and the first gate-off voltage (Yu’s Fig. 8: see low of CLKB, equivalent to VGL of CLK1 in Jang’s Fig. 9 and which has a higher amplitude achieved by decreasing the low potential per Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139) is lower than the second gate-off voltage (Yu’s Fig. 8: see low of CLKA, equivalent to VGL of CLK2 in Jang’s Fig. 9 and which has a smaller amplitude achieved by increasing the low potential per Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139).
Regarding claim 8, Yu in view of Gao and Jang fail to disclose wherein the display panel includes a plurality of boundary areas adjacent to a boundary between the first area and the second area, and wherein a plurality of clock signals applied to the plurality of boundary areas are set to differ by a predetermined magnitude in their voltage levels or gate-on times.
However, in the related field of endeavor of multiple clocks used in a display, Feng discloses a plurality of clock signals (Feng’s Fig. 15) applied to a plurality of different areas in a display (Feng’s Fig. 14: different rows), wherein the plurality of clock signals are set to differ by a predetermined magnitude in their voltage levels (Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139: different amplitudes as shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Yu’s display panel includes a plurality of boundary rows adjacent to a boundary between the region B and the region A (Yu’s Fig. 6, the boundary between A and B includes rows that are applied with differing clocks per Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139), and for a plurality of clock signal to be applied to the boundary rows different by a predetermined magnitude in their voltage levels (Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139), in order to obtain the benefit of adjusting the clock signal according to the length difference for reaching the gate drivers (Feng’s Fig. 14 and par. 140, such as the length of 30 in Yu’s Fig. 2 to the different gate drives in 20B) and the intended objective of other combinations of signals CLKA and CLKB (Yu’s par. 59).
By doing such combination, Yu in view of Gao, Jang and Feng disclose:
wherein the display panel includes a plurality of boundary areas (rows in the boundary of region A and B in Yu’s Figs. 6, 15, 25) adjacent to a boundary between the first area and the second area (Yu’s Figs. 6, 15, 25: boundary between regions A and B), and wherein a plurality of clock signals applied to the plurality of boundary areas (Yu’s Figs. 6, 15, 25: the rows in the boundary of regions A and B, upon combination, are applied a different clock signal depending on the distance from the supply of the clock signal at top per Feng’s Figs. 14-15 and par. 139) are set to differ by a predetermined magnitude in their voltage levels (Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139) or gate-on times (limitation in the alternative).
Regarding claim 14, Yu in view of Gao and Jang further disclose a power supply (Jang’s Fig. 8: see supply of VGH and VGL which is inherent to the top and bottom levels of CLKA and CLKB of Yu’s Figs. 8-10) configured to supply a gate-on voltage and a gate-off voltage to the level shifter (Jang’s Figs. 8-9 and par. 186-188: VGH and VGL equivalent to top and bottom levels of CLKA and CLKB of Yu’s Figs. 8-10).
Yu in view of Gao and Jang fail to disclose wherein the first clock signal has the gate-on voltage higher than that of the second clock signal, and the first clock signal has the gate-off voltage lower than that of the second clock signal.
However, in the related field of endeavor of multiple clocks used in a display, Feng discloses that the clocks have a different amplitude where the amplitude is increased by increasing the high potential voltage and decreasing the low potential voltage (Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Yu’s clocks CLKA and CLKB have different amplitudes (as disclosed by Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139), in order to obtain the benefit of providing a clock with a higher amplitude to the rows with more pixels (such as those in the center of region B in Yu’s Fig. 6) and a clock with a smaller amplitude to the rows with less pixels (such as those in the left and right regions A of Yu’s Fig. 6) and thus obtain the benefit of adjusting the clock signal according to distance from the gate driver (Feng’s par. 19, such as the distance from the pixels to the drivers 20B in Yu’s Fig. 15), and the intended objective of other combinations of signals CLKA and CLKB (Yu’s par. 59).
By doing such combination, Yu in view of Gao, Jang and Feng disclose:
wherein the first clock signal has the gate-on voltage (Yu’s Fig. 8: see high of CLKB, equivalent to VGH of CLK1 in Jang’s Fig. 9 and which has a higher amplitude achieved by increasing the high potential per Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139) higher than that of the second clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 8: see high of CLKA, equivalent to VGH of CLK2 in Jang’s Fig. 9 and which has a smaller amplitude achieved by decreasing the high potential per Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139), and
the first clock signal has the gate-off voltage (Yu’s Fig. 8: see low of CLKB, equivalent to VGL of CLK1 in Jang’s Fig. 9 and which has a higher amplitude achieved by decreasing the low potential per Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139) lower than that of the second clock signal (Yu’s Fig. 8: see low of CLKA, equivalent to VGL of CLK2 in Jang’s Fig. 9 and which has a smaller amplitude achieved by increasing the low potential per Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139).
Regarding claim 15, Yu in view of Gao and Jang fail to disclose wherein the display panel includes a plurality of boundary areas adjacent to the boundary between the first area and the second area, and wherein a plurality of clock signals applied to the plurality of boundary areas are set differently between voltage levels of the first clock signal and the second clock signal.
However, in the related field of endeavor of multiple clocks used in a display, Feng discloses a plurality of clock signals (Feng’s Fig. 15) applied to a plurality of different areas in a display (Feng’s Fig. 14: different rows), wherein the plurality of clock signals are set differently between voltage levels of the first clock signal and the second clock signal (Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139: different amplitudes as shown between CLK1 and CLK6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Yu’s display panel includes a plurality of boundary rows adjacent to a boundary between the region B and the region A (Yu’s Fig. 6, the boundary between A and B includes rows that are applied with differing clocks per Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139), and for a plurality of clock signal to be set differently between voltage levels of the first clock signal and the second clock signal (Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139: different amplitudes as shown between CLK1 and CLK6, where CLK1 or CLK6 are equivalent to CLKA or CLKB of Yu’s Fig. 7), in order to obtain the benefit of adjusting the clock signal according to the length difference for reaching the gate drivers (Feng’s Fig. 14 and par. 140, such as the length of 30 in Yu’s Fig. 2 to the different gate drives in 20B) and the intended objective of other combinations of signals CLKA and CLKB (Yu’s par. 59).
By doing such combination, Yu in view of Gao, Jang and Feng disclose:
wherein the display panel includes a plurality of boundary areas (rows in the boundary of region A and B in Yu’s Figs. 6, 15, 25) adjacent to the boundary between the first area and the second area (Yu’s Figs. 6, 15, 25: boundary between regions A and B), and wherein a plurality of clock signals applied to the plurality of boundary areas (Yu’s Figs. 6, 15, 25: the rows in the boundary of regions A and B, upon combination, are applied a different clock signal depending on the distance from the supply of the clock signal at top per Feng’s Figs. 14-15 and par. 139) are set differently between voltage levels of the first clock signal and the second clock signal (Feng’s Fig. 15 and par. 139: different amplitudes as shown between CLK1 and CLK6, where CLK1 or CLK6 are equivalent to CLKA or CLKB of Yu’s Fig. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. On the Remarks filed 10/07/2026 pgs. 8-10, Applicant argues that Yu uses a shared path 76 to supply the two clocks CLKA and CLKB and therefore fails to disclose the amended limitations. Please see above rejection which addresses the added limitation with newly cited reference to Gao, that discloses omitting the multiplexer and instead using direct signal paths.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LILIANA CERULLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621