DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-5 are currently pending and are addressed below.
The examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acquisition unit” in claims 1-4.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Endo Hiroki et al. (US20220063406A1), hereinafter referred to as Hiroki.
Regarding claim 1, Hiroki discloses: a display control device (see at least Hiroki, Fig.1, “on-board display device,” ¶¶ [0005]-[0006]) comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a detection result of a current position of a host vehicle and a detection result of a white line (see at least Hiroki, ¶¶ [0056]-[0058] which discloses an acquisition section from the autonomous driving ECU with capability to acquire lane information indicative of lane boundary lines (white line), for example, whether the lines merge, or branch)
a controller (see at least Hiroki, Fig.1, Item 44, “display control ECU”) configured to:
display a host vehicle image depicting the host vehicle and display the white line based on the detection result of the white line acquired by the acquisition unit (see at least Hiroki, Fig, 5A-B, which discloses examples of display on a HUD according to detection result of a lane boundary, white line, acquired by the acquisition unit; ¶¶ [0006]-[0007], [0056]-[0058], which discloses displaying a host vehicle image depicting the host vehicle and display the white line based on the detection result of the white line acquired by the acquisition unit)
to control display such that the white line is not displayed when the current position is a road other than an expressway or an arterial road (see at least Hiroki, ¶¶ [0043], discloses acquiring current position of the host vehicle; [0057], [0059]-[0060], [0062], which discloses to control the display to approximate a state of the vehicle (surrounding object information indicating the relative position, relative speed, importance level, and so on of each of the surrounding objects, etc.) and not display the white lines relative to the neighboring lanes on the left and right; the controller determines whether or not an event is underway during driving of the host vehicle based on the peripheral situation information that the acquisition section has acquired from the autonomous driving ECU, this means to control display such that the white line is not displayed when the current position is a road other than an expressway or an arterial road)
Regarding claim 2, Hiroki discloses: a display control device (see at least Hiroki, Fig.1, “on-board display device,” ¶¶ [0005]-[0006]) comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a detection result of a current position of a host vehicle and a detection result of a white line (see at least Hiroki, ¶¶ [0056]-[0058] which discloses an acquisition section from the autonomous driving ECU with capability to acquire lane information indicative of lane boundary lines (white line), for example, whether the lines merge, or branch)
a controller (see at least Hiroki, Fig.1, Item 44, “display control ECU”) configured to:
display a host vehicle image depicting the host vehicle and display the white line based on the detection result of the white line acquired by the acquisition unit (see at least Hiroki, Fig, 5A-B, which discloses examples of display on a HUD according to detection result of a lane boundary, white line, acquired by the acquisition unit; ¶¶ [0006]-[0007], [0056]-[0058], which discloses displaying a host vehicle image depicting the host vehicle and display the white line based on the detection result of the white line acquired by the acquisition unit)
and to control display such that the white line is not displayed when the current position is a non-public road excluding a parking lot (see at least Hiroki, ¶¶ [0043], discloses acquiring current position of the host vehicle; [0057], [0059]-[0060], [0062], which discloses to control the display to approximate a state of the vehicle (surrounding object information indicating the relative position, relative speed, importance level, and so on of each of the surrounding objects, etc.) and not display the white lines relative to the neighboring lanes on the left and right; the controller determines whether or not an event is underway during driving of the host vehicle based on the peripheral situation information that the acquisition section has acquired from the autonomous driving ECU, this means to control display such that the white line is not displayed when the current position is a non-public road excluding a parking lot)
Regarding claim 3, Hiroki discloses: the display control device (see at least Hiroki, Fig.1, “on-board display device,” ¶¶ [0005]-[0006]) according to claim 1, wherein:
the acquisition unit is configured to further acquire a detection result of another vehicle around the host vehicle (see at least Hiroki, ¶¶ [0007]-[0008], [0044]-[0045], which discloses the acquisition unit is configured to further acquire a detection result of another vehicle around the host vehicle)
and the controller is configured to display the other vehicle based on the detection result of the other vehicle (see at least Hiroki, Fig.6, Item 70 and 72, “first preceding vehicle,” and “other surrounding objects,” which discloses an example of displaying other vehicle based on the detection result; ¶¶ [0064]-[0065] which discloses the controller is configured to display the other vehicle based on the detection result of the other vehicle)
and permit a side-view display of the other vehicle with respect to the host vehicle when the white line is not displayed (see at least Hiroki, Fig.6, Item 70 and 72, “first preceding vehicle,” and “other surrounding objects,” which discloses an example of displaying other vehicle based on the detection result; ¶¶ [0064]-[0065] which discloses the controller is configured to display the other vehicle based on the detection result of the other vehicle; [0059]-[0060] which discloses permitting a side-view display of the other vehicle with respect to the host vehicle when the white line is not displayed)
Regarding claim 4, Hiroki discloses: the display control device (see at least Hiroki, Fig.1, “on-board display device,” ¶¶ [0005]-[0006]) according to claim 2, wherein:
the acquisition unit is configured to further acquire a detection result of another vehicle around the host vehicle (see at least Hiroki, ¶¶ [0007]-[0008], [0044]-[0045], which discloses the acquisition unit is configured to further acquire a detection result of another vehicle around the host vehicle)
and the controller is configured to display the other vehicle based on the detection result of the other vehicle (see at least Hiroki, Fig.6, Item 70 and 72, “first preceding vehicle,” and “other surrounding objects,” which discloses an example of displaying other vehicle based on the detection result; ¶¶ [0064]-[0065] which discloses the controller is configured to display the other vehicle based on the detection result of the other vehicle)
and permit a side-view display of the other vehicle with respect to the host vehicle when the white line is not displayed (see at least Hiroki, Fig.6, Item 70 and 72, “first preceding vehicle,” and “other surrounding objects,” which discloses an example of displaying other vehicle based on the detection result; ¶¶ [0064]-[0065] which discloses the controller is configured to display the other vehicle based on the detection result of the other vehicle; [0059]-[0060] which discloses permitting a side-view display of the other vehicle with respect to the host vehicle when the white line is not displayed)
Regarding claim 5, Hiroki discloses: a non-transitory storage medium storing a display control program (see at least Hiroki, Fig.1, “on-board display device,” ¶¶ [0005]-[0006]) that causes a computer to execute a process comprising:
acquiring a detection result of a current position of a host vehicle and a detection result of a white line (see at least Hiroki, ¶¶ [0056]-[0058] which discloses an acquisition section from the autonomous driving ECU with capability to acquire lane information indicative of lane boundary lines (white line), for example, whether the lines merge, or branch)
displaying a host vehicle image depicting the host vehicle and displaying the white line based on the detection result of the white line that is acquired (see at least Hiroki, Fig, 5A-B, which discloses examples of display on a HUD according to detection result of a lane boundary, white line, acquired by the acquisition unit; ¶¶ [0006]-[0007], [0056]-[0058], which discloses displaying a host vehicle image depicting the host vehicle and display the white line based on the detection result of the white line acquired by the acquisition unit)
controlling display such that the white line is not displayed when the current position is a road other than an expressway or an arterial road (see at least Hiroki, ¶¶ [0043], discloses acquiring current position of the host vehicle; [0057], [0059]-[0060], [0062], which discloses to control the display to approximate a state of the vehicle (surrounding object information indicating the relative position, relative speed, importance level, and so on of each of the surrounding objects, etc.) and not display the white lines relative to the neighboring lanes on the left and right; the controller determines whether or not an event is underway during driving of the host vehicle based on the peripheral situation information that the acquisition section has acquired from the autonomous driving ECU, this means to control display such that the white line is not displayed when the current position is a road other than an expressway or an arterial road)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KIRSTEN JADE M SANTOS whose telephone number is (571)272-7442. The examiner can normally be reached Monday: . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/KIRSTEN JADE M SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664