DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 19/302,723 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
19/273,908 (Differences are highlighted in BOLD)
19/302,723 (Differences are highlighted in BOLD)
1. An image decoding method, comprising:
reconstructing an image based on information on the image included in a bitstream;
obtaining resizing information for resizing the image; and
resizing the image to generate a resized image based on the resizing information,
wherein the resizing information specifies whether to perform the resizing and a direction of the resizing.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein in case of the direction of the resizing being horizontal, a scaling is applied in a horizontal direction of the image and no scaling is applied in a vertical direction of the image.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein in case of the direction of the resizing being all directions, a scaling is applied in both a horizontal direction and a vertical direction of the image.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein samples of the resized image are generated based on a data processing method selected from among a plurality of data processing methods.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the data processing method is selected from among the plurality of data processing methods based on a selection information for the data processing method.
6. The method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of data processing methods includes a first method which copies a sample of the image onto the samples of the resized image.
7. The method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of data processing methods includes a second method which interpolates samples of the image to generate the samples of the resized image.
8. An image encoding method, comprising: reconstructing an image, information on the image being encoded into a bitstream; determining resizing information for resizing the image; resizing the image to generate a resized image based on the resizing information; and encoding the resizing information, wherein the resizing information specifies whether to perform the resizing and a direction of the resizing.
9. A method of transmitting a bitstream, comprising: reconstructing an image, information on the image being encoded into the bitstream; determining resizing information for resizing the image; resizing the image to generate a resized image based on the resizing information; encoding the resizing information; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the resizing information specifies whether to perform the resizing and a direction of the resizing.
10. A non-transitory computer-readable recording method storing encoded data which is generated by an image encoding method, the image encoding method comprising: reconstructing an image, information on the image being encoded into the bitstream; determining resizing information for resizing the image; resizing the image to generate a resized image based on the resizing information; and encoding the resizing information, wherein the resizing information specifies whether to perform the resizing and a direction of the resizing.
1. An image decoding method, comprising:
obtaining an image by decoding a bitstream;
obtaining resizing information for resizing the image;
resizing the image to generate a resized image based on the resizing information,
wherein the resizing information specifies whether to perform the resizing and a direction of the resizing.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein in case of the direction of the resizing being horizontal, a scaling is applied in a horizontal direction of the image and no scaling is applied in a vertical direction of the image.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein in case of the direction of the resizing being all directions, a scaling is applied in both a horizontal direction and a vertical direction of the image.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein samples of the resized image are generated based on a data processing method selected from among a plurality of data processing methods.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the data processing method is selected from among the plurality of data processing methods based on a selection information for the data processing method.
6. The method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of data processing methods includes a first method which copies a sample of the image onto the samples of the resized image.
7. The method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of data processing methods includes a second method which interpolates samples of the image to generate the samples of the resized image.
8. An image encoding method, comprising: obtaining an image, the image being encoded into a bitstream;
determining resizing information for resizing the image;
resizing the image to generate a resized image based on the resizing information; and
encoding the resizing information
wherein the resizing information specifies whether to perform the resizing and a direction of the resizing.
9. A method of transmitting encoded data which is generated by an image encoding method, the image encoding method comprising: obtaining an image, the image being encoded into a bitstream; resizing the image to generate a resized image based on the resizing information; and encoding the resizing information, wherein the resizing information specifies whether to perform the resizing and a direction of the resizing.
10. A non-transitory computer-readable recording method storing encoded data which is generated by an image encoding method, the image encoding method comprising: obtaining an image, the image being encoded into a bitstream; determining resizing information for resizing the image;
resizing the image to generate a resized image based on the resizing information; and encoding the resizing information
wherein the resizing information specifies whether to perform the resizing and a direction of the resizing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela et al. (Hannuksela) (US 2014/0168362) in view of Drugeon et al. (Drugeon) (US 2012/0320970).
Regarding claim 1, Hannuksela discloses an image decoding method, comprising:
reconstructing an image based on information on the image included in a bitstream ([0238], [0287], [0301], [0533], [0538], the decoder reconstructs and stores images as reference images according to decoded information; [0746], the decoder receives and decodes one or more indications of the applied padding method from the bitstream and performs the padding process accordingly);
obtaining resizing information for resizing the image ([0746], the decoder receives and decodes one or more indications of the applied padding method from the bitstream and performs the padding process accordingly); and
resizing the image to generate a resized image based on the resizing information ([0746], the decoder receives and decodes one or more indications of the applied padding method from the bitstream and performs the padding process accordingly),
wherein the resizing information specifies whether to perform the resizing ([0746], the encoder indicates whether or not padding is used and/or the applied padding method within the bitstream and the decoder receives and decodes one or more indications).
Hannuksela is silent about wherein the resizing information specifies a direction of the resizing.
Drugeon from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the resizing information specifies a direction of the resizing ([0082], [0084], [0160], [0161], padding direction indicating a vertical and/or horizontal padding direction is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Drugeon into the teachings of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding by allowing padding to be performed only necessary sides of a block/image.
Regarding claim 2, Drugeon further discloses wherein in case of the direction of the resizing being horizontal, a scaling is applied in a horizontal direction of the image and no scaling is applied in a vertical direction of the image ([0082], [0084], [0160], [0161], padding is able to be applied to only the vertical or horizontal direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Drugeon into the teachings of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding by allowing padding to be performed only necessary sides of a block/image.
Regarding claim 3, Drugeon further discloses wherein in case of the direction of the resizing being all directions, a scaling is applied in both a horizontal direction and a vertical direction of the image ([0082], [0084], [0160], [0161], padding direction indicating a vertical and/or horizontal padding direction is signaled, padding at the top, bottom, left, and right is possible).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Drugeon into the teachings of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding by allowing padding to be performed only necessary sides of a block/image.
Regarding claim 4, Hannuksela discloses wherein samples of the resized image are generated based on a data processing method selected from among a plurality of data processing methods ([0746], horizontal/vertical pixel copying or any other type of padding may be applied).
Regarding claim 5, Hannuksela discloses wherein the data processing method is selected from among the plurality of data processing methods based on a selection information for the data processing method ([0746], the applied padding method is indicated in the bitstream).
Regarding claim 6, Hannuksela discloses wherein the plurality of data processing methods includes a first method which copies a sample of the image onto the samples of the resized image ([0746], horizontal/vertical pixel copying may be applied for padding).
Regarding claim 7, Hannuksela discloses wherein the plurality of data processing methods includes a second method which interpolates samples of the image to generate the samples of the resized image ([0747], [0748], interpolation is performed to generate unavailable samples during padding).
Regarding claim 8, Hannuksela discloses an image encoding method, comprising:
reconstructing an image, information on the image being encoded into a bitstream ([0238], [0287], [0301], [0533], [0538], the decoder reconstructs and stores images as reference images according to decoded information; [0746], the decoder receives and decodes one or more indications of the applied padding method from the bitstream and performs the padding process accordingly);
determining resizing information for resizing the image ([0746], the decoder receives and decodes one or more indications of the applied padding method from the bitstream and performs the padding process accordingly);
resizing the image to generate a resized image based on the resizing information ([0746], the decoder receives and decodes one or more indications of the applied padding method from the bitstream and performs the padding process accordingly); and
encoding the resizing information ([0746], the encoder indicates whether or not padding is used and/or the applied padding method within the bitstream),
wherein the resizing information specifies whether to perform the resizing ([0746], the encoder indicates whether or not padding is used and/or the applied padding method within the bitstream and the decoder receives and decodes one or more indications).
Hannuksela is silent about wherein the resizing information specifies a direction of the resizing.
Drugeon from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the resizing information specifies a direction of the resizing ([0082], [0084], [0160], [0161], padding direction indicating a vertical and/or horizontal padding direction is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Drugeon into the teachings of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding by allowing padding to be performed only necessary sides of a block/image.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 8. Hunnuksela further discloses method of transmitting a bitstream, comprising… transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 9, the encoded bitstream 207 is transmitted to decoder 210).
Regarding claim 10, the limitations of claim 10 are rejected in the analysis of claim 8. Hunnuksela further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording method storing encoded data which is generated by an image encoding method (FIG. 4b, [0270], decoded images are stored for reference in reference frame buffer 404, [0756], [0761], the invention is embodied as software).
Claim 10’s recitation of “encoded data which is generated by an encoding method, the encoding method comprising…” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the encoded data and information manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 18 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Smith recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (¶15).
Conclusion
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488