DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed May 26, 2026 has been received, Claims 1-6 and 16-30 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-5, 25-28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Podhajny (US 2015/0216256).
Regarding Claim 1, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear comprising: an integrally-knitted footwear upper (portion 600,602,604 of 131) and sole (portion 610,612 of 131)(as seen in Fig.6; para.50), the sole comprising one or more interlooped yarns (1301,1302/901,902,903,904) comprising a first material (para.43-45), the first material including a thermoplastic material (para.45, 68-70 & 88; Fig.13), wherein the thermoplastic material is re-flowed to form a polymeric composition that extends across adjacent interlooped yarns (para.45) and defines a ground-contacting surface of the sole (i.e. the bottom surface of portion 610,612 of 131 “defines” a ground contacting surface, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant, in that it would face and can contact a ground surface).
Regarding Claim 2, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the polymeric composition defines an entirety of the ground-contacting surface of the sole (para.43-45, 88, 92; Fig.6 & 13).
Regarding Claim 3, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the sole is formed partially or entirely of the polymeric composition without any additional sole layer or sole component being attached to the article of footwear (para.45, 88 & 92; Fig.13; i.e. the surface of portion 610,612 of 131 is formed without an additional sole layer or sole component being attached to the article of footwear).
Regarding Claim 4, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the sole further defines a foot-contact surface (i.e. interior surface of 610,612 of 131) that is opposite to the ground-contacting surface (as seen in Fig.5).
Regarding Claim 5, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more interlooped yarns includes a core and a sheath (para.44), and the sheath comprises the thermoplastic material (of 1302; as seen in Fig.14B).
Regarding Claim 25, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear, comprising: an upper (131) comprising a knitted component that integrally forms an overfoot portion of the upper (portion 600,602,604 of 131) and an underfoot portion of the upper (portion 610,612 of 131)(as seen in Fig.6; para.50), the knitted component comprising one or more interlooped yarns (1301,1302/901,902,903,904) comprising a thermoplastic material (para.45, 68-70 & 88; Fig.13), wherein the thermoplastic material is re-flowed to form a polymeric composition that extends across adjacent portions of the knitted component on the underfoot portion (para.45), where the polymeric composition defines a ground-contacting surface of the article of footwear (i.e. the bottom surface of portion 610,612 of 131 “defines” a ground contacting surface, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant, in that it would face and can contact a ground surface).
Regarding Claim 26, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 25, wherein an entirety of the ground-contacting surface is formed by the polymeric composition (para.43-45 & 88; Fig.6 & 13).
Regarding Claim 27, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 25, wherein the ground-contacting surface is formed by the polymeric composition without any additional sole layer or sole component being attached onto the underfoot portion (para.45, 88 & 92; Fig.13; i.e. the surface of portion 610,612 of 131 is formed without an additional sole layer or sole component being attached to the article of footwear).
Regarding Claim 28, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 25, wherein the knitted component forms a foot-facing surface (i.e. interior surface of 610,612 of 131) at the underfoot portion (as seen in Fig.5).
Regarding Claim 30, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 25, wherein the polymeric composition is continuous across the ground-contacting surface (para.45, 88 & 92; Fig.6 & 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2018/0343954) in view of Rudolf (US 2018/0317592).
Regarding Claim 16, Li discloses an article of footwear, comprising: a knitted component (100/600; para.26-27 & 68) forming one or more of an overfoot portion (b10, b11, b12, b40, b50) and an underfoot portion (b20,b30) of the article of footwear (as seen in Fig.14 & 15); wherein the underfoot portion comprises an external facing layer forming ground contacting portions and an internal facing layer forming foot contacting portions (para.27; i.e. a double knit material has two layers, one which would form a ground contacting portion and one which would contact a user’s foot). Li does not disclose the external facing layer including a first material comprising a thermoplastic material and the internal facing layer including a second material different from the first material; and wherein one or more portions of the external facing layer including the first material have a different coefficient of friction relative to the internal facing layer including the second material. However, Rudolf teaches a double knit upper (102; para.23) having an external facing layer (142) including a first material (of 144) comprising a thermoplastic material (para.23, 26-27) and an internal facing layer including a second material (of 148) different from the first material (para.30); and wherein one or more portions of the external facing layer including the first material have a different coefficient of friction relative to the internal facing layer including the second material (para.29-30 & 32; i.e. a thermoplastic polymer yarn has a different coefficient of friction than cotton or silk).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the external and internal facing layers of Li with thermoplastic material and a second, different material, as taught by Rudolf, in order to provide a durable upper that can withstand wear-and-tear of use by a wearer.
Regarding Claim 17, Rudolf further teaches an article of footwear of claim 16, wherein the one or more portions of the external facing layer (142) have a greater coefficient of friction relative to the internal facing layer including the second material (para.29-30, 32 & 38; i.e. a thermoplastic polymer yarn has a greater coefficient of friction than cotton or silk).
Regarding Claim 18, Li discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Li does not disclose the external facing layer further comprises one or more raised traction elements including the first material. However, Rudolf teaches the upper wherein the external facing layer (142) further comprises one or more raised traction elements (162) including the first material (para.38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper of Li to include raised traction elements, as taught by Rudolf, in order to provide enhanced grip when performing an athletic activity.
Regarding Claim 19, Rudolf further teaches an article of footwear of claim 18, wherein the one or more raised traction elements includes reflowed first material (para.23, 26 & 38).
Regarding Claim 20, Rudolf further teaches an article of footwear of claim 16, wherein the external facing layer (142) comprises one or more interlooped yarns, each of the one or more interlooped yarns having a coating (308) of the first material surrounding a core yarn (306), the core yarn having a second material that excludes the thermoplastic material and has a greater melting temperature than the first material (para.26 & 51).
Regarding Claim 21, Rudolf further teaches an article of footwear of claim 20, wherein the first material is at least partially fused with one or more core yarns (para.26 & 51).
Regarding Claim 22, When in combination, Li and Rudolf teach an article of footwear of claim 21, wherein the internal facing layer (of Li) comprises one or more second interlooped yarns comprising the second material (Rudolf: of 148); and wherein the first material (Rudolf: of 144) is at least partially fused to a portion of the one or more second interlooped yarns (Rudolf: para.30-32).
Regarding Claim 23, Rudolf further teaches an article of footwear of claim 20, wherein one or more intersection portions at or near a junction of the external facing layer and the internal facing layer include the first material (para.23 & 32; i.e. a double knit material has tie yarns which are at or near a junction of the external facing layer and the internal facing layer including the first material).
Regarding Claim 24, Li further discloses an article of footwear of claim 16, wherein the overfoot portion includes: a knitted medial quarter at a medial side of the article of footwear; a knitted lateral quarter at a lateral side of the article of footwear (see annotated Figure below); a knitted tongue (b50) secured (via attachment) to the knitted medial quarter (as seen in Fig.15); and a knitted heel portion extending between the knitted medial quarter and the knitted lateral quarter at a rear of the article of footwear (see annotated Figure above); wherein the knitted medial quarter, the knitted lateral quarter, the knitted tongue, and the knitted heel portion together define an ankle opening into a foot-receiving cavity over the underfoot portion (as seen in Fig.15); and wherein the knitted lateral quarter extends to form a strap (b12) configured to cross over the knitted tongue and secure (via 91) at the knitted medial quarter (at 92) to secure a foot within a foot-receiving cavity over the underfoot portion (para.71-72; as seen in Fig.15).
3. Claim(s) 6 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podhajny (US 2015/0216256) in view of Frazier (US 2021/0030117).
Regarding Claim 6, Podhajny discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Podhajny does not disclose the thermoplastic material is a thermoplastic elastomer. However, Frazier teaches an upper using a thermoplastic material is a thermoplastic elastomer (para.25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoplastic material of Podhajnyn to be a thermoplastic elastomer, as taught by Frazier, in order to provide a footwear upper with the optimum level of stretch and friction when a user is wearing the upper. When in combination, Podhajny and Frazier teach the thermoplastic elastomer with a higher coefficient of friction than part (i.e. 1301 of Podhajny; para.44 & 88) of the sole that forms a foot-contact surface
Regarding Claim 29, Podhajny discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Podhajny does not disclose the polymeric composition comprises a thermoplastic elastomer. However, Frazier teaches an upper using a polymeric composition comprising a thermoplastic elastomer (para.25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymeric composition of Podhajnyn to be a thermoplastic elastomer, as taught by Frazier, in order to provide a footwear upper with the optimum level of stretch and friction when a user is wearing the upper. When in combination, Podhajny and Frazier teach the thermoplastic elastomer with a higher coefficient of friction than the foot facing-surface (i.e. portion 1301 of Podhajny; para.44 & 88) of the underfoot portion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Li does not disclose the underfoot knit regions of the shoe blank are intended to directly contact the ground in use as worn footwear, Li consistently treats the knitted shoe blank as a pre-assembly component, with no express disclosure that the underfoot knit region replaces or functions as a sole structure.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Li teaches the bottom surface of b20,b30 “forming” ground contacting portions, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant, in that it would face and can contact a ground surface prior to assembly. It is noted that Claim 16 merely recites “the underfoot portion…forming ground contacting portions”. Applicant does not explicitly claim the underfoot portion directly contacting the ground in the finished form. For these reason, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, newly modified grounds of rejection, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments, which are drawn to the newly amended limitations, have been considered but are moot in view of the newly modified grounds of rejection and new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732