DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed 08/14/2026.
Claims 8-15 are elected.
Claims 1-7 and 16-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 8, 9 and 12-15 are amended.
Claims 21-32 are new.
Claims 8-15 and 21-32 are pending.
Claims 8-15 and 21-32 have been examined.
Restriction/Election Acknowledgement
The Applicant’s election on claim 8-15 without traverse in the reply on 08/14/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-15 and 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Standard
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (101 Analysis: Step 1). Even if the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (101 Analysis: Step 2a(Prong 1), and if so, Identify whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluate those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. (101 Analysis: Step 2a (Prong 2). If additional elements does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception, claim still requires an evaluation of whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. If the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself (there is an inventive concept in the claim), the claim is eligible. If the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more (there is no inventive concept in the claim), the claim is ineligible. (101 Analysis: Step 2b).
The 2019 PEG explains that the abstract idea exception includes the following groupings of subject matter: a) Mathematical concepts b) Certain methods of organizing human activity and c) Mental processes
Analysis
In the instant case, claim 8 is directed to a method, and claims 21 and 28 are directed to an article of manufacture.
Step 2a.1– Identifying an Abstract Idea
The claims recite the steps of “obtain … a plurality of datasets … generate a plurality of cache records for the plurality of datasets… receive, …a discovery request identify, … a particular cache record… retrieve particular digital wallet information … and transmit…the particular digital wallet information….” The recited limitations fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas, specifically, fundamental economic principles, for example, receiving and storing user transaction/wallet information, receiving an information request, identifying and retrieving the information and sending it. Accordingly, the claims recites an abstract idea.
See MPEP 2106.
Step 2a.2 – Identifying a Practical Application
The claim does not currently recite any additional elements or combination of additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, even in combination, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment do not amount to practical applications. The claim in directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2b
The claim limitations recite “obtain … a plurality of datasets … generate a plurality of cache records for the plurality of datasets… receive, …a discovery request identify, … a particular cache record… retrieve particular digital wallet information … and transmit…the particular digital wallet information….” are not additional elements and they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. For the same reason these elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept. This is also determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs, court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner, as it is here. Therefore, when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible.
Viewed as a whole, instructions/method claims recite the concept of a fundamental economic practice as performed by a generic computer. The claims do not currently recite any additional elements or combination of additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The elements used to perform the claimed judicial exception amount to no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a network, and/or merely uses a network as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment.
Dependent claims 9, 10, 12, 14, 22, 23, 25, 27, 29, 30, and 32 discuss functions in more descriptive detail of the steps geared toward the abstract idea. As such, these elements do not provide significantly more to the underlying abstract idea necessary to render the invention patentable.
Dependent claims 11, 13, 15, 24, 26, and 31 provide descriptive language surrounding the abstract idea. As such, these elements do not provide significantly more to the underlying abstract idea necessary to render the invention patentable.
The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Therefore, based on case law precedent, the claims are claiming subject matter similar to concepts already identified by the courts as dealing with abstract ideas. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561, U.S. 593, 611 (2010)).
The claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Conclusion
The claim as a whole, does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claim does not affect an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claim does not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself; and the claim does not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Dependent claims do not resolve the deficiency of independent claims and accordingly stand rejected under 35 USC 101 based on the same rationale.
Dependent claims 9-15, 22-27 and 29-32 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-15 and 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al. (US 20210264409) (“Iyer”), and further in view of Clark (US 20260010525) (“Clark”).
Regarding claims 8, 21 and 28, Iyer discloses obtain, from one or more servers associated with one or more transaction processors, a plurality of datasets representing a plurality of digital wallets that are registered with the one or more transaction processors, wherein each of the plurality of datasets represents a corresponding digital wallet in the plurality of digital wallets (¶ 38-44, 71, 76, 90-94, 98, 99);
Iyer – The customer and the merchant can be registered with the server system for availing the service (hereinafter termed as ‘payment transaction service’) of payment transaction from the customer wallet to the merchant wallet, where the transaction is initiated by invoking an option in the merchant wallet application present in the merchant device… a customer may register with the server system for availing the payment transaction service using customer credential on the customer device. Examples of the customer credential may be a virtual payment address (VPA) of the customer wallet application, biometric credential, and a service password associated with the payment transaction service provided by the server system…In an embodiment, the merchant also registers with the server system. For instance, the merchant can register one or more wallet applications of the merchant with corresponding identifiers (IDs) with the server system, and their records can be maintained in the database accessible to the server system…The details of the merchant 106 are stored in a merchant database 112 d as shown in FIG. 10B. The merchant database 112 d includes fields like a merchant ID 1008, a wallet description 1010 and a wallet ID 1012. The merchant 106 may have multiple wallets registered with different wallet ID and merchant IDs. (¶ 38, 39, 99)
generate a plurality of records for the plurality of datasets, wherein each record in the plurality of records represents a corresponding dataset from the plurality of datasets and comprises (i) an identifier usable to identify an entity associated with a digital wallet represented by the corresponding dataset and (ii) digital wallet information associated with a digital wallet represented by the corresponding dataset (¶ 38-44, 71, 76, 90-94, 98, 99, 126, 131, 135, 139, 142-144);
Iyer – The customer and the merchant can be registered with the server system for availing the service (hereinafter termed as ‘payment transaction service’) of payment transaction from the customer wallet to the merchant wallet, where the transaction is initiated by invoking an option in the merchant wallet application present in the merchant device… a customer may register with the server system for availing the payment transaction service using customer credential on the customer device. Examples of the customer credential may be a virtual payment address (VPA) of the customer wallet application, biometric credential, and a service password associated with the payment transaction service provided by the server system…In an embodiment, the merchant also registers with the server system. For instance, the merchant can register one or more wallet applications of the merchant with corresponding identifiers (IDs) with the server system, and their records can be maintained in the database accessible to the server system…The details of the merchant 106 are stored in a merchant database 112 d as shown in FIG. 10B. The merchant database 112 d includes fields like a merchant ID 1008, a wallet description 1010 and a wallet ID 1012. The merchant 106 may have multiple wallets registered with different wallet ID and merchant IDs. (¶ 38, 39, 99)
receive, from a first application of a device, a discovery request for a participant in a transaction conducted with a first entity having a first digital wallet registered with a first transaction processor from the one or more transaction processors, wherein the discovery request comprises an identifier of the participant (¶ 32-46, 50-58, 60-67, 72-82, 102, 103, 110-122; claim 20);
Iyer – the customer may provide the customer credential via the merchant wallet application present on the merchant device. For instance, an option (e.g., an actionable button) may be present in the merchant wallet application, which can be selected by the customer to provide the customer credential. The customer credential may be transmitted to the server system for authentication of the customer credential. . (¶ 40)
identify, for the discovery request and from the plurality of records, a particular record based on the identifier matching a particular identifier of the particular record(¶ 40, 47, 52, 66-70, 79, 83-88, 103);
Iyer – The server system compares the received customer credential with the stored credential in the database which were provided at the time of registration of the customer. If the customer credential matches with the stored credential, then the customer is authenticated and the transaction proceeds to next steps. (¶ 40)
retrieve particular digital wallet information stored in the particular record; and(¶ 38-44, 47, 52, 53, 66-69, 79, 92-96, 103-110);
Iyer – After authentication of the customer, the server system proceeds with the transaction. The server system generates a payment request. In an embodiment, the payment request is generated using the customer credential, payment details, and the merchant credentials. (¶ 41)
transmit, to the first application as a response to the discovery request, at least a portion of the particular digital wallet information (¶ 38-44, 53, 70-75, 82, 110-122);
Iyer – Thereafter, at 1160, the method 1100 further includes transmitting, to the merchant device 104 by the server system 118, a notification signal including successful payment information. (¶ 110)
Iyer does not recite a cache record.
Clark teaches a cache record (¶ 63, 66-75, 89, 122-126, 144);
Clark – The caching system in which caches automatically dissolve upon expiry of associated time-to-live (TTL) values or soft-deletion criteria defined in anchor policy. (¶ 144)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Iyer and Clark in order to efficiently manage user data (Clark; ¶ 122).
Regarding claims 9, 22 and 29, Iyer discloses wherein executing the instructions further causes the system to: determine, based on the particular digital wallet information, that the participant is associated with a second entity having a second digital wallet registered with a second transaction processor from the one or more transaction processors, wherein the at least the portion of the particular digital wallet information specifies the second transaction processor (¶ 38-44, 71, 76, 90-94, 98, 99).
Regarding claims 10, 23 and 30, Iyer discloses wherein executing the instructions further causes the system to: transmit, to the first application of the device, a redirect request comprising data that enables the first application to redirect a user of the device from a first user interface of the first application to a second user interface of a second application associated with the second transaction processor participant (Figure 5-8; ¶ 32-46, 50-58, 60-67, 72-82, 102, 103, 110-122).
Regarding claims 11, 24 and 31, Clark teaches wherein executing the instructions further causes the system to store the plurality of cache records in a database (¶ 63, 66-75, 89, 122-126, 144).
Regarding claims 12, 25 and 32, Clark teaches wherein executing the instructions further causes the system to: obtain, from a second transaction processor, a data retention policy; calculate, based on the data retention policy, an expiration time for the particular cache record; and delete, from the database, the particular cache record based on the expiration time (¶ 63, 66-75, 89, 122-126, 144).
Regarding claims 13, and 26, Iyer discloses wherein the discovery request is triggered based on an interaction between a user of the device and a first user interface of the first application presented on the device, and wherein the first user interface is part of a transaction flow for processing the transaction (Figure 5-8; ¶ 38-44, 71, 76, 90-94, 98, 99, 126, 131, 135, 139, 142-144).
Regarding claims 14, and 27, Iyer discloses wherein executing the instructions further causes the system to: determine, based on the particular digital wallet information, that the participant is associated with a second entity having a second digital wallet registered with a second transaction processor from the one or more transaction processors; and process the transaction between the first digital wallet and the second digital wallet based on information associated with the first digital wallet and the particular digital wallet information associated with the second digital wallet (¶ 32-46, 50-58, 60-67, 72-82, 102, 103, 110-122; claim 20).
Regarding claim 15, Iyer discloses wherein the information associated with the first digital wallet is obtained from the first application (¶ 38-44, 71, 76, 90-94, 98, 99, 126, 131, 135, 139, 142-144).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pareek, (US 10740737) teaches wallet request for customer wallet verification.
/ILSE I IMMANUEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699