DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 (group I and species I) in the reply filed on 01/15/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15-20 are being considered as withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows: “[[wherein the dormant packer assembly of claim 1,]] further comprises [[a]]the sealing element and slips that slide along a sloped surface of a cone; wherein the sealing element and slip engage [[an]]the inner surface of [[a]]the tubing when the dormant packer assembly is actuated.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goodman et al. (US Publication Number 2021/0381334 A1; herein “Goodman”).
In regard to claim 1, Goodman discloses: A dormant packer assembly (i.e., unset 10 — as shown in figure 1 | see paragraphs [0006 & 0012-0014]) comprising:
slips (70) that engage an inner surface of a tubing (20 — paragraphs [0011, 0017, 0024, 0027, 0031-0032] | see transitioning from figure 1 to figure 2);
a sealing element (52) that creates a seal between the packer assembly and the tubing (paragraphs [0011, 0017, 0023-0025, 0027]); and
one or more dissolvable components (60) to maintain the isolation packer in the dormant state (abstract and paragraphs [0027-0029, 0038-0041]).
In regard to claim 8, Goodman discloses: A fracture in place system (abstract, paragraph [0011] and figure 1) comprising:
a shifting tool (12) for moving a sleeve (70);
a dormant packer assembly (i.e., unset 10 — as shown in figure 1 | see paragraphs [0006 & 0012-0014]) with one or more dissolvable components (60) to maintain the isolation packer in the dormant state (abstract and paragraphs [0027-0029, 0038-0041]).
In regard to claim 13, Goodman further discloses: [[wherein the dormant packer assembly of claim 1,]] further comprises [[a]]the sealing element and slips that slide along a sloped surface of a cone (i.e., sloped surface of 38); wherein the sealing element and slip engage [[an]]the inner surface of [[a]]the tubing when the dormant packer assembly is actuated (paragraphs [0023-0032, 0038-0041]).
In regard to claim 14, Goodman further discloses: a coiled tubing for moving the shifting tool and dormant packer system with a wellbore; wherein the coiled tubing is utilized to convey the fluid to the dormant packer system (paragraph [0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman et al. (US Publication Number 2021/0381334 A1; herein “Goodman”) in view of Frazier (US Publication Number 2019/0264520 A1; herein “Frazier”).
In regard to claim 2, Goodman discloses: wherein the one or more dissolvable components comprises a collet retainer (i.e., 60 retaining collet assembly 18 — paragraphs [0016, 0034]); wherein the collet retainer dissolve when contacted by a fluid; and wherein the fluid is an acid or brine (paragraphs [0027-0029]).
However, Goodman is silent in regard to: wherein the one or more dissolvable components comprises a demobilizing sleeve; wherein the demobilizing sleeve dissolve when contacted by a fluid; and wherein the fluid is an acid or brine.
Nonetheless, Frazier teaches a similar type of downhole expandable plug assembly (abstract, paragraphs [0008, 0016-0018, 0024, 0040-0048, 0054], and figure 1-3), similar to that of Goodman. Frazier teaches a “demobilizing sleeve” (14) associated with the plug assembly which dissolve in contact with acid (paragraphs [0002, 0011-0012, 0040-0048]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the plug assembly, as taught by Goodman, to include a “demobilizing sleeve”, as taught by Frazier, “[...] to help protect the downhole tools in storage, shipment and at the well site from humidity and handling and during use downhole” (paragraph [0002] of Frazier).
In regard to claim 9, Goodman discloses: wherein the one or more dissolvable components comprises a collet retainer (i.e., 60 retaining collet assembly 18 — paragraphs [0016, 0034]); wherein the collet retainer dissolve when contacted by a fluid; and wherein the fluid is an acid or brine (paragraphs [0027-0029]).
However, Goodman is silent in regard to: wherein the one or more dissolvable components comprises a demobilizing sleeve; wherein the demobilizing sleeve dissolve when contacted by a fluid; and wherein the fluid is an acid or brine.
Nonetheless, Frazier teaches a similar type of downhole expandable plug assembly (abstract, paragraphs [0008, 0016-0018, 0024, 0040-0048, 0054], and figure 1-3), similar to that of Goodman. Frazier teaches a “demobilizing sleeve” (14) associated with the plug assembly which dissolve in contact with acid (paragraphs [0002, 0011-0012, 0040-0048]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the plug assembly, as taught by Goodman, to include a “demobilizing sleeve”, as taught by Frazier, “[...] to help protect the downhole tools in storage, shipment and at the well site from humidity and handling and during use downhole” (paragraph [0002] of Frazier).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman et al. (US Publication Number 2021/0381334 A1; herein “Goodman”) in view of Frazier (US Publication Number 2019/0264520 A1; herein “Frazier”) in further view of Toelke (US Patent Number 3,064,734; herein “Toelke”).
In regard to claim 6, Goodman in view of Frazier disclose the preceding claim(s).
However, Goodman in view of Frazier is/are silent in regard to: a drag collet assembly with collet fingers; wherein collet fingers contact the inner surface of the tubing when the drag collet assembly is in an operatable position.
Nonetheless, Toelke teaches a similar type of downhole expandable plug (“C” — see abstract, column 1-4, and figures 1-3 of Toelke), to that of Goodman. Toelke teaches using a drag collet assembly with collet fingers (110); wherein collet fingers contact the inner surface of the tubing (i.e., radial inner surface of casing 16) when the drag collet assembly is in an operatable position (column 4, line 70- column 5, line 6).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the plug assembly, as taught by Goodman, to include a drag collet assembly with collet fingers, as taught by Toelke, to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of centralizing expandable plugging assemblies in the wellbore (column 4, line 70- column 5, line 6 and figures 1-3 of Toelke). See MPEP 2143, section I, subsection A.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 10-12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references in the PTO-892 relate to downhole fracturing packer systems.
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676