DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 12/12/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US PG Pub. 2018/0274837) in view of Farrugia et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0282096).
Regarding claim 1, Christensen discloses a personal use cooler comprising: a cooler body (20, Figs. 12-15) comprising two chambers (23, 25), each of the chambers comprising an open end (Fig. 12); each of the chambers comprising a respective lid (50, 60) movable relative to the cooler body, wherein each of the chambers is sealed (sealed via seals 54, 68, 82; paragraphs 43, 47) when the respective lid is in the closed position (Figs. 13-15); and a drain (26) for draining a respective one of the chambers (paragraph 38); wherein at least one of the chambers is configured for personal use to minimize hygienic risk (chambers 50, 60 are capable of being configured for personal use to minimize hygienic risk and are further provided with seals to prevent contamination of the food contents; paragraphs 43, 47).
Although Christensen discloses a divider wall (21) to provide two chambers as the main embodiments, Christensen further teaches the number of chambers may vary from one to three or more (paragraph 37) that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as providing more storage chambers for storing more separated items. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the storage chambers of Christensen to be three chambers in order to provide an increased number of storage chambers for storing three or more different types of storage items.
Christensen does not explicitly teach at least one of the chambers is patterned with a micropattern that reduces bacterial growth.
Farrugia teaches the concept of providing a surface for use in applications such as food packaging (paragraph 33) to have a patterned surface with a micropattern that reduces bacterial growth (paragraphs 32, 37). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize applying the micropattern taught by Farrugia to the chambers of Christensen would inhibit the formation of bacterial or microbes from forming and prevent spoilage of the items contained within the cooler. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the personal use cooler of Christensen to have at least one of the chambers is patterned with a micropattern that reduces bacterial growth taught by Farrugia in order to prevent bacteria or microorganisms from forming in order to maintain a sterile, clean environment for the storage of items within the cooler.
Regarding claim 2, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 1, wherein the cooler body includes a hollow interior and a plurality of dividers (divider walls 21 can be three or more; paragraph 37) are arranged within the hollow interior to define the plurality of chambers.
Regarding claim 3, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 1, wherein at least one of the lids (50, 60) is pivotably coupled to the cooler body (via hinges 51, 61; paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 4, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 1, wherein each of the lids (50, 60) is independently movable relative to the cooler body (each lid provided with its own independently movable hinge 51, 61 respectively).
Regarding claim 6, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 1, further comprising at least one of a dispensing mechanism (spigot 28) and an inlet port (access opening 56).
Regarding claim 7, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of wheels (24) coupled to the cooler body (20, Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 8, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 1, further comprising at least one handle (22) arranged at an exterior of the cooler body (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 9, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 1, further comprising at least one mounting feature (40, 42, 44, 46) and a strap (12), the strap being connectable to the at least one mounting feature (paragraph 51).
Claims 5, 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US PG Pub. 2018/0274837) in view of Farrugia et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0282096), further in view of Aminoff et al. (US PG Pub. 2020/0247602).
Regarding claim 5, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 1, further comprising a cover (100, Fig. 19), but does not explicitly teach the cover being positionable in overlapping arrangement with the lids in the closed position.
Aminoff teaches the concept of a personal use cooler having a cover (2) being positionable in overlapping arrangement with the lids (lids 11 of chambers 20a, 20b, Fig. 7) in the closed position that allows phase change material to be provided above the chambers between the lids and cover to allow the first and second chambers to be held at different storage temperatures (paragraphs 98, 102-104). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the personal use cooler of Christensen to have the cover being positionable in overlapping arrangement with the lids in the closed position taught by Aminoff in order to provide a partitioned space within the chamber to provide phase change materials to cool the storage chambers to a desired temperature.
Regarding claim 10, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 1, and further teaches a liner (140) positionable within the at least one chamber and Farrugia further teaches applying a micropattern to prevent bacterial growth but does not explicitly teach wherein the micropattern is disposed on an inner surface of a liner positionable within the at least one chamber.
Aminoff teaches the concept of a personal use cooler including an inner surface at least one of the chambers includes a coating configured to limit bacterial growth (paragraph 177) that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as providing a more sterile surface for the cooler walls for preventing contamination of the stored products. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the personal use cooler to have the micropattern disposed on the inner surface of the liner positionable within the at least one chamber of Christensen taught by the pattern of Farrugia or the antimicrobial coating of Aminoff in order to provide a more sterile inner surface of the liner of the cooler to prevent product spoilage.
Regarding claim 20, Christensen discloses a personal use cooler comprising: a cooler body (20, Figs. 12-15) comprising two chambers (23, 25); each of the chambers comprising a respective lid (50, 60) and an open end of each of the chambers is sealable by the respective lid (sealed via seals 54, 68, 82; paragraphs 43, 47); a drain (26) for draining a respective one of the chambers (paragraph 38); wherein at least one of the chambers is configured with a removable liner (140, Fig. 20) to minimize hygienic risk (chambers are provided with seals to prevent contamination of the food contents; paragraphs 43, 47, 57).
Christensen does not explicitly teach the removable liner is patterned with a micropattern that reduces bacterial growth.
Farrugia teaches the concept of providing a surface for use in applications such as food packaging (paragraph 33) to have a patterned surface with a micropattern that reduces bacterial growth (paragraphs 32, 37). Aminoff also teaches the concept of a personal use cooler including an interior at least one of the chambers includes a coating or pattern configured to limit bacterial growth (paragraph 177) that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as providing a more sterile surface for the cooler walls for preventing contamination of the stored products. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize applying the micropattern taught by Farrugia or Aminoff to the chambers of Christensen would inhibit the formation of bacterial or microbes from forming and prevent spoilage of the items contained within the cooler. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the personal use cooler of Christensen to have the removable liner patterned with a micropattern that reduces bacterial growth taught by Farrugia or Aminoff in order to prevent bacteria or microorganisms from forming in order to maintain a sterile, clean environment for the storage of items within the cooler.
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US PG Pub. 2018/0274837) in view of Farrugia et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0282096), further in view of White et al. (7,861,892).
Regarding claim 11, Christensen discloses a personal user cooler comprising: a cooler body (20, Figs. 12-15) comprising two chambers (23, 25), the two chambers being fluidly separate from one another (paragraph 36); each of the chambers comprising a respective lid (50, 60) movable relative to the cooler body, wherein each of the chambers is sealed (sealed via seals 54, 68, 82; paragraphs 43, 47) when the respective lid is in the closed position (Figs. 13-15); drains (one or more drain spouts 26), each of the drains for draining a respective one of the chambers (paragraph 38); and an inlet port (access opening 56) for filling a respective one of the chambers.
Although Christensen discloses a divider wall (21) to provide two chambers as the main embodiments, Christensen further teaches the number of chambers may vary from one to three or more (paragraph 37) that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as providing more storage chambers for storing more separated items. Christensen further teaches one or more drain spouts can be connected to one or more chambers (38) and connected drains to all three chambers would allow for drainage of the cavity after use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the storage chambers of Christensen to be three chambers with three drains in order to provide an increased number of storage chambers for storing three or more different types of storage items.
Christensen does not explicitly teach at least one of the chambers is patterned with a micropattern that reduces bacterial growth.
Farrugia teaches the concept of providing a surface for use in applications such as food packaging (paragraph 33) to have a patterned surface with a micropattern that reduces bacterial growth (paragraphs 32, 37). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize applying the micropattern taught by Farrugia to the chambers of Christensen would inhibit the formation of bacterial or microbes from forming and prevent spoilage of the items contained within the cooler. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the personal use cooler of Christensen to have at least one of the chambers is patterned with a micropattern that reduces bacterial growth taught by Farrugia in order to prevent bacteria or microorganisms from forming in order to maintain a sterile, clean environment for the storage of items within the cooler.
Christensen further does not explicitly teach the inlet port being fluidly connectable to an external fluid source.
White teaches the concept of a personal use cooler (1, Fig. 1) including an inlet port (16) being fluidly connectable to an external fluid source (12, Fig. 4) that allows a beverage source to be connected and chilled by the cooler (column 1, lines 28-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the personal use cooler of Christensen to have an inlet port being fluidly connectable to an external fluid source taught by White in order to allow the cooler to be connected to and chill an outside beverage source.
Regarding claim 12, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 11, wherein each of the lids (50, 60) is independently movable relative to the cooler body (each lid provided with its own independently movable hinge 51, 61 respectively).
Regarding claim 13, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 11, wherein at least one of the lids (50, 60) is pivotably coupled to the cooler body (via hinges 51, 61; paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 14, Christensen as modified discloses the cooler of claim 11, wherein at least one of the lids is removably connectable to the cooler body (paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 15, Christensen as modified discloses the cooler of claim 11, wherein each of the lids includes a gasket (54, 68, 82; paragraphs 43, 47), the three chambers being sealed when each of the lids is in the closed position.
Regarding claim 16, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 11, further comprising a plurality of wheels (24) coupled to the cooler body (20, Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 17, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 11, further comprising at least one handle (22) arranged at an exterior of the cooler body (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, Christensen as modified discloses the personal use cooler of claim 11, further comprising at least one mounting feature (40, 42, 44, 46) and a strap (12), the strap being connectable to the at least one mounting feature (paragraph 51).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US PG Pub. 2018/0274837) in view of Farrugia et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0282096) and White et al. (7,861,892), further in view of Byrne (US Pat. 4,759,467).
Regarding claim 19, Christensen as modified discloses the cooler of claim 11, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a disposable liner, the disposable liner being receivable within one of the three chambers.
Byrne teaches the concept of a personal use cooler to include a disposable liner (11), the disposable liner being receivable within one of the three chambers (Fig. 1b) that provides a clean environment within the cooler as well as provide sanitary disposal of the liner after use (column 1, lines 35-60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the personal use cooler of Christensen to further include a disposable liner, the disposable liner being receivable within one of the three chambers taught by Byrne in order to provide a clean space within the cooler while also providing sanitary disposal of the liner after use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 5-7, filed 12/12/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation has been fully considered and are persuasive. The claimed limitation is no longer being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 7-8, filed 12/12/2025, with respect to claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1-19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 8, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Farrugia et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0282096).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH F TRPISOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763