DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication received on 07/18/2025. The applicant has submitted 20 claims for examination, all claims are currently pending.
The Examiner recommends filing a written authorization for Internet communication in response to the present action. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate with Applicant using Internet email to schedule interviews or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to Internet correspondence received from Applicant. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03 for other methods of providing written authorization.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 12-17 and 19- 20 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders US 2017/0005515, and further in view of Steven US 2015/0278968.
Regarding claims 1,13 and 19 Sanders teaches a method, computer readable medium storing instructions and an energy management system for integration of one or more data centres, comprising:at least one virtualization platform configured to interface with a plurality of server components(utility data center managing various energy/power providing server. ¶s68,514)
[0068] The site gateway in some configurations can process the received command sets in at least two different ways or using at least two different processing paths. In a first processing path, the site gateway can use one or more executor modules of a set of executor modules running at a command virtualization layer to activate one or more virtual device(s) at a device virtualization layer. The activated virtual device(s) can control corresponding physical devices. In a second processing path, the site gateway can use one or more executor modules of the set of executor modules running at the command virtualization layer to activate one of a plurality of programs or platform application (apps). The programs can each implement a mode or policy in the set of virtual devices at the device virtualization layer. The activated program can then activate the one or more virtual device(s), which can control corresponding physical devices.
[0514] Now referring to FIGS. 27A, B and C, system diagrams are shown to illustrate other certain aspects of deployment architectures as described above in one or more embodiments, although variations of the deployments shown in FIGS. 27A, B and C are also contemplated. With respect to FIG. 27A, a solution data architecture 27000 is shown which can be thought of as three primary aspects, a utility data center 27002, the Internet 27004, and one or more corresponding user sites 27006, illustrated generally in FIG. 27A as three distinct columns, each containing various further aspects. With respect to the utility data center 27002, primary components related to embodiments and aspects of the disclosures hereunder include an AMI head end 27008, a Demand and Response Management System (DRMS) 27010, and a customer portal 27012. The AMI head end 27008 communicates with corresponding smart meters 27014 of the one or more corresponding user sites 27006 via an Internet connection. The DRMS 27010 receives status updates 27016 from a home area network software cloud application 27020 and aggregates at the utility data center 27002 with other user sites 27006 from other users and sends demand response price signals 27018 to the home area network cloud 27020. In addition, the DRMS 27010 receives status updates 27022 from a DER-ES cloud 27024 and aggregates at the utility data center 27002 with other user sites 27006 from other users and sends demand response pricing signals 27026 to the DER-ES cloud 27024. The customer portal 27012, located at the utility data center 27002 receives preferences and controls from one or more consumer user interfaces 27028 and sends demand, consumption, device status, billing, pricing, and events data 27030 to the one or more consumer user interfaces 27028.
at least one energy orchestration module (EOM) communicatively coupled with the at least one virtualization platform, wherein the at least one EOM is configured to(gateway controller provide management/orchestration integration each VPP/site, ¶188 ):
[0188] In further aspects, the energy management system for governing energy management resources further comprises an energy cloud software platform communicating with the one or more intelligent edge gateway controllers to send and receive the user site and grid requirements of the one or more distributed resources; one or more predictive analytic software modules to improve performance of the one or more distributed resources; a consumer web portal to view data related to one or more user sites associated with each one of the one or more networked DER-ES apparatus; an Internet user interface including one or more application programming interfaces to link to one or more programs associated with one or more users of the one or more grid site management systems and one or more user user site management system associated with the one or more gateway controllers; and a network of one or more aggregated apparatus acting as a fleet wherein the network of one or more aggregated apparatus automatically provide orchestrated voltage control on a specified feeder or a specified circuit in response to one or more commands.
aggregate the one or more IDERs into at least one virtual power plant (VPP)(distributed energy resources are aggregated into virtual power plants and orchestrating(i.e. managed) but a site controller, ¶s 34, 183)
[0034] A site management system may also be designed as flexible and scalable from the ground up. The site management system may variously provide a base set of services, including: 1) remote management and upgrades of local software running in each site gateway. System health is monitored, and adverse events are captured and reported; 2) remote monitoring of the operational state of the components (physical devices) at the site, and remote metering of the power flows and stored energy at each site. Each site gateway reports its complete set of operational data to the site management system at periodic intervals (e.g., every four seconds, a setting that can be configured); 3) fine-grained control of the charge and dispatch of power at each site. The site gateway receives commands from the site management system at periodic intervals (e.g., every 500 milliseconds, a setting that can be configured) utilizing a pull model; 4) scheduled control of charge and dispatch based on time of day and state of charge in the battery. These site management system services allow the ecosystem to aggregate the power and energy capacity in each and every site gateway at a variety of sites in a distributed community.
[0183] In an embodiment for providing steps for virtual power plant (VPP) orchestration in a network of one or more distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus, methods include steps for orchestrating one or more distributed energy resources and one or more energy storage objects each associated with an integrated device apparatus that together behave as a single energy entity when programmed and controlled by one or more common elements of one or more energy management software applications. In certain aspects, the method further comprises steps for coordinating one or more energy resource local events each associated with a distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus (DER-ES) such that the one or more energy resource local events, when controlled by a common, remote cloud-based energy management software to program one or more processors to send instructions to a gateway controller in the DER-ES apparatus to perform virtual power plant orchestration steps that the one or more energy resource local events together, behave as a single energy entity, wherein each of the DER-ES apparatus encloses a system comprising an inverter-controller, storage appliance, and gateway controller that functions as a site integration system. In various aspects, the method may include a network of one or more distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus wherein each of the integrated DER-ES apparatus is provided in a commonly integrated designed enclosure having a compact footprint. In certain respects, the one or more DER-ES apparatus are each a site integration system (SIS). In other aspects, the method may further include steps for coordinating one or more energy resource local events wherein a portion of the energy resource local events are associated with an electric vehicle energy resource. In other aspects, steps for forward scheduling of one or more energy resource local events may be provided. In other certain aspects, the one or more steps for providing one or more VPP orchestration methods includes at least one step for providing a load shaping service. In other configurations, the load shaping service steps corresponds to one or more steps for providing event awareness services in an energy resources cloud. In a further configuration, steps are provided wherein providing the virtual power plant orchestration includes iterative scheduling of one or more distributed demand sources that corresponds to one or more energy services in an energy resources cloud.
fetch telemetry data associated with the individual ones of the plurality of server components(telemetry data from energy resources at the site energy resources are implemented and represented as virtualized devices, ¶212) ;
[0212] In other aspects, the energy cloud software platform providing aggregation or orchestration modules may be provided for at least one of the one or more electric vehicle resources or one or more distributed energy resources, wherein the set of virtual devices are one or more device drivers to translate common format commands to control signals for driving one or more physical devices to a desired state. In other aspects, the one or more programs associated with the energy cloud software platform and one or more DER-ES apparatus gateway controllers includes the set of virtual devices that collect status information from the one or more physical devices to a desired state. In another configuration of the energy cloud software platform, the set of virtual devices collects status information from the one or more physical devices for transfer to a network cloud. In another configuration of the prior method aspect, the set of virtual devices communicate with the one or more physical devices via a data communications interface. Another aspect of the energy cloud software platform provides the set of virtual devices that can be executed in a hierarchical process. In other aspects, at least one of the one or more software programs is an override process that sends one or more control commands to the set of virtual devices to transition immediately to a specified state. In other aspects of the energy cloud software platform, the platform may be configured wherein each one of the virtual devices of the set of virtual devices can report state parameters, operational history, errors, configuration parameters, and telemetry data to a server and wherein the data from each virtual device may be aggregated in a device report delivered to a remote cloud computing platform. In another option, the energy cloud software platform is provided wherein the server includes a user interface (UI) and one or more application programming interfaces (API) to communicate one or more API messages with network system components wherein the commands associated with the one or more API messages are queued in a server command queue. In further aspects, the platform is provided wherein the storage and energy resources and electric vehicle resources are remotely managed and controlled by a software-as-a-service (SAAS) platform that aggregates one or more systems together in real-time to deliver dynamically scaled energy and information resources across the grid on demand.
fetch workload data corresponding to individual ones of the aggregated IDERs from the at least one virtualization platform(site energy resources are virtualized into virtual devices and aggregates into virtual power plants where loads can be retrieved for analysis , ¶s 88,175, 190);
[0088] In certain aspects, an energy ecosystem represents a cloud-services delivery model for energy. The ecosystem in which the example embodiments are implemented includes a site including a set of site resources. The site can correspond to a residential or commercial location at which various site loads are provided. Site loads correspond to various devices or systems at the site that consume or store electrical energy at various levels. For example, site loads can correspond to electrical heating devices, air conditioners, computing or communications equipment that consumes electrical energy, washers/dryers, pool filtering equipment, electrical vehicle chargers, manufacturing equipment, and other electrical system loads at a particular site. The site resources also include a conventional smart meter that tracks and wirelessly transmits electrical energy usage information to a utility having various utility resources. A conventional smart meter is typically an electrical meter that records consumption of electric energy in intervals of an hour or less and communicates that information at least daily back to the utility for monitoring and billing purposes. Smart meters enable two-way communication between the meter and the central system at the utility. Such two-way communication can be enabled by an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) that differs from traditional automatic meter reading (AMR) in that it enables two-way communications with the meter. One utility resource is an AMI head end that receives and processes the electrical energy usage information received from the smart meter at the site. Another utility resource is a demand/response management system (DRMS) that can provide a centralized mechanism for managing the demand and supply of electrical energy to a community of sites, such as the site with site resources.
[0175] In another configuration of the method in the previous paragraph, steps may further include one or more distributed energy resources of the one or more distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus wherein the one or more distributed energy resources are one or more user loads that are controlled by one or more sets of instructions from a remote central server; selecting one or more executor modules running on a command virtualization layer of each of the one or more gateway controllers associated with the one or more distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus, to activate one or more virtual devices at a device virtualization layer, wherein the activated virtual devices control one or more physical devices; receiving one or more command and control data command sets via one or more command channels from the remote central server or a third party external source API, wherein the one or more command sets control modes, actions, and device state in the one or more physical devices, to convert one or more formats and one or more protocols to one or more virtualized commands in a common command format; utilizing the one or more virtualized commands by one or more executor modules running at a command virtualization layer to cause the execution of one or more virtual devices at the device virtualization layer to drive a corresponding physical device to a desired state; and executing one or more virtual devices at the device virtualization layer with one or more other virtual devices in a hierarchical relationship. This method in another configuration may also include one or more user loads wherein the one or more user loads are controlled by one or more sets of instructions from a distributed network database. In another configuration, the methods in this paragraph may further include steps for providing one or more CANBUS protocols to allow one or more components to communicate with each other without one or more host computers. Other configurations may alternately include steps for providing at least one NIST approved CIM model. Another configuration includes the methods of this paragraph with steps for alternately communicating via at least one SE2 compliant platform.
[0190] In further aspects, the energy management system for governing energy management resources further comprises a utility enterprise relational database application in communication with one or more consumer web portals, one or more Internet user interfaces, one or more advanced meter infrastructures associated with at least one grid, and one or more energy area networks; one or more networked distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus accessed via a virtual energy pool, receiving signals for one or more orchestration plans from each one of one or more programs to determine an active mode for each of the one or more programs; and one or more gateway controllers in communication with the virtual energy pool and linked to an electric vehicle energy control center and a distributed energy management telemetry system embodying one or more sets of rules and one or more sets of constraints to provide a predictive analytics module and an orchestration module wherein said one or more sets of rules and said one or more sets of constraints allow a user to implement multiple sets of rules and constraints which govern various resources selected from the group consisting of power generation, power storage, power use, pricing signals, cost signals to identify one or more incremental storage cycles, marginal cost management of cycle life degradation, virtual power plant orchestration, iterative schedule development, forward event scheduling, event awareness, and load control.
analyze one or more of the fetched telemetry data and the fetched workload data; and(reports on loads and telemetry are received and stored and analytics are performed for optimization of the system, ¶125)
[0125] The result is an energy cloud software platform that in certain aspects is configured as an energy cloud controller including a distributed energy management system and an electric vehicle energy management system by linking one or more gateway controllers and edge controllers with one or more site integration systems that monitors the operation of the power electronics inside of each apparatus, or appliance to ensure smooth operation; seamlessly upgrades and manages the software running on each appliance; reports on the power and energy being used in the system: how much power the PV/solar panels or renewable energy generating source is generating, how much energy is stored in each battery or other energy storage component, how much power is being provided to the grid and to the home. This reporting happens in real-time and the data is stored for analytics; controls what each apparatus is doing, also in real-time for providing specific applications of the system including methods for monitoring the operation of one or more power electronic components of one or more site integration system apparatus, upgrading and managing software running on each storage appliance of the one or more site integration system apparatus, managing and reporting in real-time the energy generated in one or more renewable energy generating sources linked to one or more site integration system apparatus to provide offset demand and peak reduction solutions, responding to one or more pricing, demand, and ancillary services signals for input to load shaping services, orchestrating one or more distributed resources to simultaneously serve site and grid needs in a virtual power plant, and using one or more predictive analytic algorithms to improve performance of distributed resources. In certain configurations, an energy cloud controller may be linked with a grid control system to provide orchestration and virtual power plant schedule and load shaping services instructions to a network of one or more of the energy cloud controllers. If one unit needs to charge, it tells that unit to charge. If five units on a certain circuit need to discharge, it tells those units to discharge. The software can mix and match these commands in any order, for any combination of apparatus installed throughout locations on the grid; runs multiple applications simultaneously, in response to site conditions, grid conditions, prices, and customer preferences; dynamically changes the configurations of individual apparatus, shifting resources from application to application, from specific location to specific location; enables individual apparatus to run autonomously in the case of communication outages; and integrates with existing utility and partner applications and systems by means of open and flexible web service protocols.
generate one or more data analysis products for energy optimization of the at least one VPP based at least in part on the analysis of the one or more of the fetched telemetry data and the fetched workload data(using telemetry/ and executing analytics to provide optimize power/resource usage across sites, ¶s 136, 222).
[0136] In other embodiments, the DER-ES apparatus functioning as an SIS in communication with an energy cloud software platform monitors real-time demand and dispatches power to ensure the site load does not exceed a specified threshold that might subject a commercial customer to demand charges pegged to maximum amounts of power on a monthly basis. In other aspects, each SIS serves as a SCADA-sensing node for its location, providing supervisory control and data acquisition for both the SunvergeEdge Gateway Controller and SunvergeCloud Software Controller. Discrete and aggregated data is delivered to utilities, and grid operators at the SIS with optimizing the operating of the grid to minimize power losses and maximize efficiency and quality across areas including but not limited to outage management, system modeling, power quality optimization, advanced distribution managed. Data delivered to customers and consumers may include, but is not limited to, system performance, site performance, efficiency, load profiles, energy consumption, renewable energy site generation profiles, energy savings, and third-party generated renewable energy available from the SunvergeCloud pooled energy resources.
[0222] The method in an energy management system providing scheduling guidance from one or more grid control systems may further comprise steps for providing real-time visibility into one or more electric vehicle, electric vehicle (EV/EVSE) energy resources; responding to one or more pricing, one or more demand, and one or more ancillary services signals; coordinating (EV/EVSE) resources to simultaneously serve site needs and grid needs; using predictive analytics, and real-time reporting and data analysis, to improve performance of one or more EV/EVSE resources; pushing decision-making to intelligent EV/EVSE resources related to one or more gateway controllers or one or more edge controllers to optimize performance of the one or more energy resources, one or more electric vehicle resources, and one or more storage objects based on real-time local conditions; providing one or more data sources and one or more analytic modules to associated DMS, GCS, and micro-grid systems; and configuring one or more EV/EVSE programs associated with the one or more electric vehicle resources to provide upgrades, monitoring, management, and support. The prior method in some aspects further comprises steps for accepting pricing, demand, frequency regulation, and power quality signals from the GCS, DMS, and Micro-DMS; accepting capacity and scheduling guidance from the GCS; directing guidance to and accepting feedback from at least one EV/EVSE system; and delivering metrics, capacity, and operational state commands to the GCS.
Sanders teaches data centers and servers within data centers but does not teach a data center as a resource, thus Sanders does not teach wherein the individual ones of the interfaced plurality of server components are itemized into one or more integrated distributed energy resources (IDERs). Steven in the same field of endeavor as the invention teaches system for data center load/usage management. Steven teaches wherein the individual ones of the interfaced plurality of server components are itemized into one or more integrated distributed energy resources (IDERs)( aggregate data center resources including servers at data centers for monitoring and management data center power usage, ¶s98, 139, 224).
[0098] Another example aspect of the energy management system and methods described herein is that, based on the energy assets optimization, data center load shifting may occur within a single data center and/or across at least two geographically disparate data centers.
[0139] To facilitate the mathematical optimization process for generating a suggested operating schedule for one or more energy assets according to various examples of the principles herein, a mathematical model representing a data center site's energy asset(s) is formulated and employed to simulate an “energy profile” for the asset(s). In one aspect, the model is essentially specified by one or more mathematical functions that at least in part represent physical attributes of the energy asset(s) themselves as they relate to electricity use and/or electricity generation. Depending on the energy asset(s) operated by the data center, the mathematical function(s) defining an asset model may represent a single energy asset or an aggregation of multiple energy assets operated by the data center site. For purposes of the discussion herein, the term “asset model,” unless otherwise qualified, is used generally to denote a model representing either a single energy asset or an aggregation of multiple energy assets.
[0224] Servers 112 may be any computer systems and associated components that are found in a data center. DCM 114 may be any processor-executable instructions (including hardware and/or software) for managing the operation of servers 112. In one example, DCM 114 may be the Intel® DCM SDK (available from Intel Corporation of Santa Clara, Calif.), which is a power management solution stack for a data center. In this example, the Intel® DCM SDK can be used to provide real-time power and thermal monitoring and management for individual servers, group of servers, racks and IT equipment in data centers.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Sanders’s virtual power plants with virtual power plants aggregated from data center server resources as taught by Steven. The reason for this modification would be to allow load shifting at data centers as virtual power plant resources and loads.
Regarding claim 2, Sanders teaches wherein the individual ones of the plurality of server components comprises at least one power transaction unit (PTU) configured for monitoring the telemetry data of the individual ones of the plurality of server components(various software module executed to monitor telemetry from virtual devices, ¶s 18,100,123).
[0018] The local data processing gateway monitors and controls most of the processes conducted by the power storage and supply device. The local data processing gateway is a computer-implemented device that may include, for example, one or more processors, a clock, memory, I/O interfaces, analog to digital converters, digital to analog converters, and operating system software. In addition, the local data processing gateway includes a number of software modules for implementing the functionality discussed below. The local data processing gateway can be configured to monitor and control the processes and measurements conducted by the power storage and supply device in either a local or remote mode configuration and can be aggregated by a third party (e.g., independent service operator, etc.) or utility for purposes of dispatching and controlling distributed power or stored energy.
[0100] In another aspect, a method for monitoring energy consumption, comprises steps for providing one or more hybrid inverter/converters, wherein the one or more hybrid inverter/converters are communicably coupled to one or more charge controllers and wherein the one or more hybrid inverter/converters are further electronically coupled to an electrical bus; providing one or more data processing gateways, wherein the one or more data processing gateways are communicably coupled to one or more charge controllers and to one or more intelligent battery management systems; providing one or more charge controllers; providing one or more intelligent battery management systems coupled to one or more energy management devices; providing one or more energy management devices in a compact footprint; associating an energy management device with a consumer unit, said energy management device having a local data processing gateway device communicably coupled to the energy management device; configuring said local data processing gateway to monitor and control processes and measurements conducted by said energy management device; receiving and logging a plurality of telemetry data from one or more intelligent battery management systems; receiving and logging a plurality of telemetry data from one or more intelligent inverter/converters; receiving and logging a plurality of telemetry data from one or more energy storage modules; receiving and logging a plurality of telemetry data from a charge controller; and viewing one or more telemetry data by accessing a consumer web portal.
[0123] In certain aspects, the Sunverge Site Integrated Energy Management System SIS or sometime referred to as an SIS, Site Integration System has two key components. The first component is an appliance, or apparatus, that packages a pre-engineered, single vendor system comprising an inverter, a computer gateway controller, and an optional source of renewable energy generation, into a compact physical enclosure or a multiple enclosure, mechanically, electrically, and digitally coupled, pre-engineered Sunverge Site apparatus, a Distributed Energy Resource Energy Storage (DER-ES) apparatus. The apparatus is designed for installation in some aspects, at a place of residence, place of business, sub-station, multi-tenant residence, commercial building, campus, or at any location on the distribution grid. The job of the apparatus, or appliance, if you will (used interchangeably herein), is to generate and store electrical power, and to dispatch power when needed. The components of the apparatus communicate with intelligent control modules inside each component and the apparatus itself that allow the SIS site integration system/Distributed Energy Resource Energy Storage (DER-ES) Apparatus to manage, monitor, and control electrical power to and from the grid as well as customer load and demand information along with various additional information that can be collected at a customer site location. Each SIS has a gateway computer insider of each DER-ES apparatus that communicates in one aspect with each of the various components in the SIS and in another aspect with an Energy Cloud software platform, software-as-a-service. The Sunverge Energy Cloud software platform in communication with networked Sunverge Site Integration Systems containing one or more DER-ES apparatus may be configured in various aspects to deliver specific applications not previously engineered related to offset demand monitoring, methods of virtual power plant orchestration, load shaping services, methods of reducing demand on an aggregated level, methods of prioritizing programs related to site integration systems and a virtual energy pool, energy cloud controllers in communication with networked site integration systems, methods to orchestrate charge and discharge plans of electric vehicles and distributed energy resources that include at least a portion of the resources that are locally generated and/or locally stored at a user site location, machine learning predictive algorithms, value optimizing algorithms, autonomous sensing modules, mode selection methods, capacity reservation monitoring methods, virtual power plant orchestration methods, advanced features in the Distributed Energy Resource Energy Storage apparatus, energy management system for governing energy management resources and related methods, methods for controlling network in an aggregated energy cloud, load shaping method, renewable energy management marginal cost cycle life degradation methods, a load shaping application programming interface, forward event schedule methods, on demand request methods, and load service state request methods.
Regarding claim 3, Sanders teaches wherein the individual ones of the plurality of server components are integrated to at least one power distribution unit (PDU) configured for distributing power from a centralized power backbone to the individual ones of the plurality of server components(software modules such as intelligent control module controlling power distributed to and from the virtual devices of a VPP, ¶s18, 123).
[0018] The local data processing gateway monitors and controls most of the processes conducted by the power storage and supply device. The local data processing gateway is a computer-implemented device that may include, for example, one or more processors, a clock, memory, I/O interfaces, analog to digital converters, digital to analog converters, and operating system software. In addition, the local data processing gateway includes a number of software modules for implementing the functionality discussed below. The local data processing gateway can be configured to monitor and control the processes and measurements conducted by the power storage and supply device in either a local or remote mode configuration and can be aggregated by a third party (e.g., independent service operator, etc.) or utility for purposes of dispatching and controlling distributed power or stored energy.
[0123] In certain aspects, the Sunverge Site Integrated Energy Management System SIS or sometime referred to as an SIS, Site Integration System has two key components. The first component is an appliance, or apparatus, that packages a pre-engineered, single vendor system comprising an inverter, a computer gateway controller, and an optional source of renewable energy generation, into a compact physical enclosure or a multiple enclosure, mechanically, electrically, and digitally coupled, pre-engineered Sunverge Site apparatus, a Distributed Energy Resource Energy Storage (DER-ES) apparatus. The apparatus is designed for installation in some aspects, at a place of residence, place of business, sub-station, multi-tenant residence, commercial building, campus, or at any location on the distribution grid. The job of the apparatus, or appliance, if you will (used interchangeably herein), is to generate and store electrical power, and to dispatch power when needed. The components of the apparatus communicate with intelligent control modules inside each component and the apparatus itself that allow the SIS site integration system/Distributed Energy Resource Energy Storage (DER-ES) Apparatus to manage, monitor, and control electrical power to and from the grid as well as customer load and demand information along with various additional information that can be collected at a customer site location. Each SIS has a gateway computer insider of each DER-ES apparatus that communicates in one aspect with each of the various components in the SIS and in another aspect with an Energy Cloud software platform, software-as-a-service. The Sunverge Energy Cloud software platform in communication with networked Sunverge Site Integration Systems containing one or more DER-ES apparatus may be configured in various aspects to deliver specific applications not previously engineered related to offset demand monitoring, methods of virtual power plant orchestration, load shaping services, methods of reducing demand on an aggregated level, methods of prioritizing programs related to site integration systems and a virtual energy pool, energy cloud controllers in communication with networked site integration systems, methods to orchestrate charge and discharge plans of electric vehicles and distributed energy resources that include at least a portion of the resources that are locally generated and/or locally stored at a user site location, machine learning predictive algorithms, value optimizing algorithms, autonomous sensing modules, mode selection methods, capacity reservation monitoring methods, virtual power plant orchestration methods, advanced features in the Distributed Energy Resource Energy Storage apparatus, energy management system for governing energy management resources and related methods, methods for controlling network in an aggregated energy cloud, load shaping method, renewable energy management marginal cost cycle life degradation methods, a load shaping application programming interface, forward event schedule methods, on demand request methods, and load service state request methods.
Regarding claims 8, 14, Sanders teaches wherein the at least one EOM is further configured to dynamically adjust power allocation to part of the one or more aggregated IDERs based on the generated one or more data analysis products(adjustment of power/energy usage by dispatch and receiving power between sites, ¶218 ).
[0218] In an embodiment, a method in an energy management system comprises steps for providing real-time tracking of one or more values of at least one or more of one or more distributed energy resources or one or more energy storage objects; responding to pricing, demand, and ancillary services signals to produce one or more target outputs of one or more distributed energy resource energy storage (DER-ES) apparatus, each of the apparatus having an inverter-controller, storage appliance, and gateway controller housed in a common enclosure, that together each function as a site integration system and when networked together form an energy network; dispatching and receiving power to one or more distributed resources to simultaneously serve site needs and grid needs by measuring one or more voltages with one or more potential transformers connecting one or more signals of the distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus and measuring one or more currents of one or more signals with one or more current transformers connected to an I/O board, a service load panel, and a utility meter of each of the DER-ES apparatus to calculate and store a voltage/VAR ratio for each of the user sites associated with each of the DER-ES apparatus associated with the energy management system, measuring one or more current loads associated with the one or more signals, calculating one or more forecasted loads using one or more demand response programs and one or more historical load data sets and one or more current load data sets, measuring one or more current PV generation amounts from the one or more PV generation devices, and comparing one or more forecasted PV generation amounts to the one or more current PV generation amounts; using predictive analytics, and real-time reporting and data analysis from an energy cloud software platform in communication with each of the gateway controllers of the one or more DER-ES apparatus to improve performance of one or more distributed resources; pushing decision-making to intelligent edge devices which can optimize performance based on real-time local conditions of the one or more distributed resources and one or more energy storage objects associated with the one or more networked DER-ES apparatus; providing detailed data and analytics to a demand management system (DMS), grid control system (GCS) and associated systems; and distributing resource configuration, upgrades, monitoring, management, and support to a network of distributed resources, energy storage objects and electric vehicle resources.
Regarding claims 9, 16 and 20, Sanders teaches wherein the at least one EOM is :configured to utilize at least one energy storage device associated with the at least one VPP for time-shifting energy consumption(orchestrate VPPs to time shift energy with energy storage resources to optimize performance, ¶s 206, 218).
[0206] In another configuration of the orchestrated VPP of the previous paragraph, the one or more rule sets to machine learn one or more features of one or more user sites comprises a learning element including one or more input references from a related knowledge base coupled to a data repository to produce an actual output element, an expected output element from a standard input from the orchestrated virtual power plant, and a comparator module to calculate an error equaling the differences between the actual output element and the expected output element and wherein the orchestrated virtual power plant modifies one or more of the rule sets to automatically adapt via an artificial intelligence component, one or more features of the one or more user sites. This configuration may further comprise a peak load reduction routine module including program code with instructions to cause a computer to perform steps for time shift reductions of energy generated from one or more user sites to correspond to a utility provider defined peak load time period.
[0218] In an embodiment, a method in an energy management system comprises steps for providing real-time tracking of one or more values of at least one or more of one or more distributed energy resources or one or more energy storage objects; responding to pricing, demand, and ancillary services signals to produce one or more target outputs of one or more distributed energy resource energy storage (DER-ES) apparatus, each of the apparatus having an inverter-controller, storage appliance, and gateway controller housed in a common enclosure, that together each function as a site integration system and when networked together form an energy network; dispatching and receiving power to one or more distributed resources to simultaneously serve site needs and grid needs by measuring one or more voltages with one or more potential transformers connecting one or more signals of the distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus and measuring one or more currents of one or more signals with one or more current transformers connected to an I/O board, a service load panel, and a utility meter of each of the DER-ES apparatus to calculate and store a voltage/VAR ratio for each of the user sites associated with each of the DER-ES apparatus associated with the energy management system, measuring one or more current loads associated with the one or more signals, calculating one or more forecasted loads using one or more demand response programs and one or more historical load data sets and one or more current load data sets, measuring one or more current PV generation amounts from the one or more PV generation devices, and comparing one or more forecasted PV generation amounts to the one or more current PV generation amounts; using predictive analytics, and real-time reporting and data analysis from an energy cloud software platform in communication with each of the gateway controllers of the one or more DER-ES apparatus to improve performance of one or more distributed resources; pushing decision-making to intelligent edge devices which can optimize performance based on real-time local conditions of the one or more distributed resources and one or more energy storage objects associated with the one or more networked DER-ES apparatus; providing detailed data and analytics to a demand management system (DMS), grid control system (GCS) and associated systems; and distributing resource configuration, upgrades, monitoring, management, and support to a network of distributed resources, energy storage objects and electric vehicle resources.
Regarding claims 10 and 15, Sanders teaches wherein the at least one EOM is configured to reconcile energy data corresponding to a part of the aggregated IDERs compliance with at least one net metering standard(smart meter for advanced metering infrastructure, ¶88).
[0088] In certain aspects, an energy ecosystem represents a cloud-services delivery model for energy. The ecosystem in which the example embodiments are implemented includes a site including a set of site resources. The site can correspond to a residential or commercial location at which various site loads are provided. Site loads correspond to various devices or systems at the site that consume or store electrical energy at various levels. For example, site loads can correspond to electrical heating devices, air conditioners, computing or communications equipment that consumes electrical energy, washers/dryers, pool filtering equipment, electrical vehicle chargers, manufacturing equipment, and other electrical system loads at a particular site. The site resources also include a conventional smart meter that tracks and wirelessly transmits electrical energy usage information to a utility having various utility resources. A conventional smart meter is typically an electrical meter that records consumption of electric energy in intervals of an hour or less and communicates that information at least daily back to the utility for monitoring and billing purposes. Smart meters enable two-way communication between the meter and the central system at the utility. Such two-way communication can be enabled by an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) that differs from traditional automatic meter reading (AMR) in that it enables two-way communications with the meter. One utility resource is an AMI head end that receives and processes the electrical energy usage information received from the smart meter at the site. Another utility resource is a demand/response management system (DRMS) that can provide a centralized mechanism for managing the demand and supply of electrical energy to a community of sites, such as the site with site resources.
Regarding claims 12 and 17, Sanders teaches at least one reporting engine configured to generate one or more reports based on energy-allied activities associated to the at least one Virtual Power Plant (VPP)(site management provides service (i.e. engines ) to perform functions such as reporting, ¶51).
[0051] The site management system or the site gateway can support a set of services on the software platform. In a particular embodiment, these services can include: remote command and control, scheduling, visualization, aggregation, remote management, monitoring, and reporting. The site gateway can include additional services, such as: power control, energy control, system monitoring, command processing, device virtualization, protocol translation, and other services. These additional services can also be provided at the site gateway in the distributed system architecture discussed above. The software environment in which these applications and services are executed on the site gateway is described in more detail below.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders/Steven as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smolcic US 2025/0264924.
Regarding claims 4, Sanders/Steven teaches a data center servers as a VPP but does not teach does not teach wherein the at least one virtualization platform is further configured to itemize the individual ones of the interfaced plurality of server components at least in part by: creating, from virtual server components, one or more virtual machines, one or more software containers, or a combination thereof; and mapping the one or more virtual machines, the one or more software containers to the one or more IDERs within the at least one VPP. Smolcic in the same field of endeavor as the invention teaches a system for monitoring and management of power usage in data centers. Smolcic teaches wherein the at least one virtualization platform is further configured to itemize the individual ones of the interfaced plurality of server components at least in part by: creating, from virtual server components, one or more virtual machines, one or more software containers, or a combination thereof; and mapping the one or more virtual machines, the one or more software containers to the one or more IDERs within the at least one VPP(virtual servers implemented using containers for tracking of energy metrics, ¶21 Smolcic integrated into the virtual devices aggregated into VPP of Sanders) .
[0021] The server cluster 109 can include multiple servers 120a-120n. Each server can include any number of computer processing units (CPUs) and virtual machines (VMs). In some embodiments, each of the VMs can have a virtual CPU capable of processing a software application. For example, server 120a can include CPUs 121a to 121n, and VMs 122a to 122n. Each software application can be used by an associated VM or container. For example, an application can execute different tasks concurrently on separate CPU cores, or an application may distribute tasks across available cores. As another example, each VM may act as an independent virtualized environment, capable of running its own applications. Applications can be used on different VMs depending on resource allocation. As the demand for an application increases or decreases, additional VMs may be provisioned to handle more loads. Additionally, the server cluster 109 may include one or more containers. Containers may be lightweight, executable unit of software that encapsulates an application's code, runtime, system tools, libraries, and settings in a standalone package. Containers interact with CPUs through the host operating system's kernel, which allocates CPU resources to containers as if they were individual, isolated operating systems. Although reference is made to virtual machines (VMs) and/or containers throughout the application, it is understood that any suitable virtualization element capable of processing a software application can be used. Each virtualization element itself may include a VM and container.
[0022] Generally, the server cluster 109 uses electrical power to function, and the power source typically comes from the electrical grid or uninterruptable power supply. When the CPUs 121a-121n and 123a-123n and associated VMs execute an application, power is consumed. Power may be delivered to the CPUs and VMs or containers via a power entry point or electrical panels where the external electrical power is brought into the facility hosting the server cluster 109. Additionally, electrical power may be distributed within the facility using power distribution units (PDUs) which capture one or more real-time power usage metrics directly from each physical server. Furthermore, the server cluster 109 may have one or more power supply units (PSUs) that may convert the incoming electrical power into the appropriate voltages needed by the server's components, including the CPU, VMs, containers, and other associated memory and storage. The power supplied to the server cluster 109 may be distributed to the various components on the server's motherboard. The CPU, VMs and/or containers may draw electrical power to execute tasks and run the software applications.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Sanders/Steven with implementation of data center VPPs as virtual machines as taught by Smolcic. The reason for this modification would be to implement data centers using virtualization of computing providing data server that are ease to scale and manage.
Regarding claim 5, Smolcic teaches wherein the at least one virtualization platform is further configured to: track energy-allied activity of one or more of the one or more virtual machines, and the one more software containers(energy usage metrics for virtual machines implementing using containers is tracked, ¶5)
[0005] In some aspects, the techniques described herein relate to a method for measuring a power draw of an application, the method including: retrieving, by a power usage module, one or more power usage metrics from one or more servers, wherein each server includes one or more central processing units (CPUs) and virtualization elements; determining, by the power usage module, total power consumption of the one or more servers based on the retrieved one or more power metrics; allocating, by the power usage module, responsibility of the total power consumption among the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements; determining, by the power usage module based on this determining, an association between the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements and one or more software applications running on the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements; generating, by the power usage module, the power usage of each of the one or more software applications based on the allocated responsibility of the total power consumption among the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements and the association between the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements and the one or more software applications running on the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements; and generating, by the power usage module upon generating the power usage of each of the one or more software applications, one or more carbon emissions associated with each of the one or more software applications.
and associate the one or more tracked software containers corresponding with the one or more IDERs and the at least one VPP(energy usage metrics for virtual machines implementing using containers is tracked, ¶21 wherein).
[0021] The server cluster 109 can include multiple servers 120a-120n. Each server can include any number of computer processing units (CPUs) and virtual machines (VMs). In some embodiments, each of the VMs can have a virtual CPU capable of processing a software application. For example, server 120a can include CPUs 121a to 121n, and VMs 122a to 122n. Each software application can be used by an associated VM or container. For example, an application can execute different tasks concurrently on separate CPU cores, or an application may distribute tasks across available cores. As another example, each VM may act as an independent virtualized environment, capable of running its own applications. Applications can be used on different VMs depending on resource allocation. As the demand for an application increases or decreases, additional VMs may be provisioned to handle more loads. Additionally, the server cluster 109 may include one or more containers. Containers may be lightweight, executable unit of software that encapsulates an application's code, runtime, system tools, libraries, and settings in a standalone package. Containers interact with CPUs through the host operating system's kernel, which allocates CPU resources to containers as if they were individual, isolated operating systems. Although reference is made to virtual machines (VMs) and/or containers throughout the application, it is understood that any suitable virtualization element capable of processing a software application can be used. Each virtualization element itself may include a VM and container.
Regarding claim 6, Smolcic teaches, wherein the at least one EOM is configured to fetch the mapping of one or more virtual machines, one more software containers to the one or more IDERs within the at least one VPP from the at least one virtualization platform.
[0025] Once the power usage metrics 112 have been retrieved, the application mapping module 106 may discern which applications execute on which servers. For example, the application mapping module 106 may discern that App 1 runs only on Server 120a and Server 120b, App 2 runs on Servers 120b, 120c, and 120f, and App 3 runs on Server 120g. In other example embodiments, the application mapping module may further discern that App 1 more specifically runs on CPUs 121a and VMs 122a. Thus, the application mapping module 106 may instruct the power usage module 102 to map each software application to a one or more servers, one or more CPUs, and one or more VMs. In some embodiments, the application mapping module 106 may map each software application only on a server rather than on a VM or a container. The action of mapping each application to its associated CPUs and VMs may be a dynamic process as applications may run on different CPUs and VMs depending on changes in time, server configuration, and power availability. Thus, it is understood that the application mapping module 106 may instruct the power usage module 102 to update its mapping of the application. Similarly, a different approach may exist for containers.
Regarding claim 7, Sanders/Steven teaches a data center servers as a VPP but does not teach wherein the at least one EOM is further configured to: receive pre-defined mappings of the one or more virtual machines and one or more VPPs from an external source; and store the received mappings in a parallel configuration within a virtualization database. Smolcic in the same field of endeavor as the invention teaches a system for monitoring and management of power usage in data centers. Smolcic teaches wherein the at least one EOM is further configured to: receive pre-defined mappings of the one or more virtual machines and one or more VPPs from an external source; and store the received mappings in a parallel configuration within a virtualization database(mappings of virtual machines/containers and metric of virtual machines maintained in an external database, ¶s46,64).
[0046] In action 475, the power usage module 102 can retrieve or receive one or more updated power usage metrics. The metrics can be retrieved from a database or data storage unit 104 which may be separate from or integrated into the power usage module 102. In other example embodiments, the power usage module 102 may receive. This action may be preceded by a specific request from a user device 140 (e.g., a request for updated data) or a significant change in power usage or carbon emissions. For example, the power usage module 102 may receive a notification that the power usage or carbon emissions associated with App 1 have changed significantly over the past month, in which a new and updated determination is necessary. Other significant changes can include changes in power or carbon emissions standards, regulations, or laws; a sudden drop in power usage that may be caused by a blackout or hardware malfunction; a recent carbon offsetting project; updated metrics from one or more renewable energy sources; or sudden spike in power usage that may indicate a surge.
[0064] System 500 may include a database or data storage unit 550. The database or data storage unit 550 may be one or more databases configured to store data, including without limitation, private data of users, financial accounts of users, identities of users, transactions of users, and certified and uncertified documents. The database or data storage unit 550 may comprise a relational database, a non-relational database, or other database implementations, and any combination thereof, including a plurality of relational databases and non-relational databases. In some examples, the database or data storage unit 550 may comprise a desktop database, a mobile database, or an in-memory database. Further, the database or data storage unit 550 may be hosted internally by the server 560 or may be hosted externally of the server 560, such as by a server, by a cloud-based platform, or in any storage device that is in data communication with the server 560.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Sanders/Steven with externally implemented databases to store mappings and metrics of virtual machines as taught by Smolcic. The reason for this modification would be to provide storage of virtual machine metric and mappings as an external database to provide data for analytics.
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders/Steven as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Forbes Jr US 2017/0358041.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Sanders smart meters and load shifting between sites but does not specifically teach comprising at least one trading engine configured to manage one or more of a creation, a validation, and a trading of energy-backed tokens corresponding to energy assets associated with the at least one VPP. Forbes Jr in the same field of endeavor as the invention teaches a system energy distribution management across multiple energy sites Forbes Jr teaches comprising at least one trading engine configured to manage one or more of a creation, a validation, and a trading of energy-backed tokens corresponding to energy assets associated with the at least one VPP.
[0254] In one embodiment, cryptocurrency tokens are issued by the EnergyNet platform to facilitate peer-to-peer transactions between different grid elements. The cryptocurrency tokens on the EnergyNet platform are called Network of Power (NOP) tokens. In the present invention, NOP tokens can be used to make settlements for consuming, supplying, and/or curtailing power with micropayments at a grid element level in real time or near real time. In one embodiment, the NOP tokens are based on Ethereum technology, which is an open source, blockchain-based distributed computing platform with smart contracts.
[0255] NOP tokens are rewarded to end use customers or market participants who share energy related information on the EnergyNet platform. Energy related information includes load types (residential, commercial, industrial, mission critical, etc.), consumption amount, consumption reduced, consumption to be reduced, supply types (solar panels, wind turbines, power storage, etc.), power types (real power and/or reactive power), supply amount, supply available currently, supply to be available, capacity, etc. Energy related information is important to maintain grid stability and reliability in an efficient way within a microgrid, a distribution grid, and a power grid overall, as well as necessary to enable peer-to-peer power transactions.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Sanders with energy token market trading as taught by Forbes Jr. The reason for this modification would be to provide incentives and compensation for exchange of energy resources.
Claims 1-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders US 2017/0005515, and further in view of Barnes US 2026/0169788
Regarding claims 1,13 and 19 Sanders teaches a method, computer readable medium storing instructions and an energy management system for integration of one or more data centres, comprising :at least one virtualization platform configured to interface with a plurality of server components(utility data center managing various energy/power providing server. ¶s68,514)
[0068] The site gateway in some configurations can process the received command sets in at least two different ways or using at least two different processing paths. In a first processing path, the site gateway can use one or more executor modules of a set of executor modules running at a command virtualization layer to activate one or more virtual device(s) at a device virtualization layer. The activated virtual device(s) can control corresponding physical devices. In a second processing path, the site gateway can use one or more executor modules of the set of executor modules running at the command virtualization layer to activate one of a plurality of programs or platform application (apps). The programs can each implement a mode or policy in the set of virtual devices at the device virtualization layer. The activated program can then activate the one or more virtual device(s), which can control corresponding physical devices.
[0514] Now referring to FIGS. 27A, B and C, system diagrams are shown to illustrate other certain aspects of deployment architectures as described above in one or more embodiments, although variations of the deployments shown in FIGS. 27A, B and C are also contemplated. With respect to FIG. 27A, a solution data architecture 27000 is shown which can be thought of as three primary aspects, a utility data center 27002, the Internet 27004, and one or more corresponding user sites 27006, illustrated generally in FIG. 27A as three distinct columns, each containing various further aspects. With respect to the utility data center 27002, primary components related to embodiments and aspects of the disclosures hereunder include an AMI head end 27008, a Demand and Response Management System (DRMS) 27010, and a customer portal 27012. The AMI head end 27008 communicates with corresponding smart meters 27014 of the one or more corresponding user sites 27006 via an Internet connection. The DRMS 27010 receives status updates 27016 from a home area network software cloud application 27020 and aggregates at the utility data center 27002 with other user sites 27006 from other users and sends demand response price signals 27018 to the home area network cloud 27020. In addition, the DRMS 27010 receives status updates 27022 from a DER-ES cloud 27024 and aggregates at the utility data center 27002 with other user sites 27006 from other users and sends demand response pricing signals 27026 to the DER-ES cloud 27024. The customer portal 27012, located at the utility data center 27002 receives preferences and controls from one or more consumer user interfaces 27028 and sends demand, consumption, device status, billing, pricing, and events data 27030 to the one or more consumer user interfaces 27028.
at least one energy orchestration module (EOM) communicatively coupled with the at least one virtualization platform, wherein the at least one EOM is configured to(gateway controller provide management/orchestration integration each VPP/site, ¶188 ):
[0188] In further aspects, the energy management system for governing energy management resources further comprises an energy cloud software platform communicating with the one or more intelligent edge gateway controllers to send and receive the user site and grid requirements of the one or more distributed resources; one or more predictive analytic software modules to improve performance of the one or more distributed resources; a consumer web portal to view data related to one or more user sites associated with each one of the one or more networked DER-ES apparatus; an Internet user interface including one or more application programming interfaces to link to one or more programs associated with one or more users of the one or more grid site management systems and one or more user user site management system associated with the one or more gateway controllers; and a network of one or more aggregated apparatus acting as a fleet wherein the network of one or more aggregated apparatus automatically provide orchestrated voltage control on a specified feeder or a specified circuit in response to one or more commands.
aggregate the one or more IDERs into at least one virtual power plant (VPP)(distributed energy resources are aggregated into virtual power plants and orchestrating(i.e. managed) but a site controller, ¶s 34, 183)
[0034] A site management system may also be designed as flexible and scalable from the ground up. The site management system may variously provide a base set of services, including: 1) remote management and upgrades of local software running in each site gateway. System health is monitored, and adverse events are captured and reported; 2) remote monitoring of the operational state of the components (physical devices) at the site, and remote metering of the power flows and stored energy at each site. Each site gateway reports its complete set of operational data to the site management system at periodic intervals (e.g., every four seconds, a setting that can be configured); 3) fine-grained control of the charge and dispatch of power at each site. The site gateway receives commands from the site management system at periodic intervals (e.g., every 500 milliseconds, a setting that can be configured) utilizing a pull model; 4) scheduled control of charge and dispatch based on time of day and state of charge in the battery. These site management system services allow the ecosystem to aggregate the power and energy capacity in each and every site gateway at a variety of sites in a distributed community.
[0183] In an embodiment for providing steps for virtual power plant (VPP) orchestration in a network of one or more distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus, methods include steps for orchestrating one or more distributed energy resources and one or more energy storage objects each associated with an integrated device apparatus that together behave as a single energy entity when programmed and controlled by one or more common elements of one or more energy management software applications. In certain aspects, the method further comprises steps for coordinating one or more energy resource local events each associated with a distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus (DER-ES) such that the one or more energy resource local events, when controlled by a common, remote cloud-based energy management software to program one or more processors to send instructions to a gateway controller in the DER-ES apparatus to perform virtual power plant orchestration steps that the one or more energy resource local events together, behave as a single energy entity, wherein each of the DER-ES apparatus encloses a system comprising an inverter-controller, storage appliance, and gateway controller that functions as a site integration system. In various aspects, the method may include a network of one or more distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus wherein each of the integrated DER-ES apparatus is provided in a commonly integrated designed enclosure having a compact footprint. In certain respects, the one or more DER-ES apparatus are each a site integration system (SIS). In other aspects, the method may further include steps for coordinating one or more energy resource local events wherein a portion of the energy resource local events are associated with an electric vehicle energy resource. In other aspects, steps for forward scheduling of one or more energy resource local events may be provided. In other certain aspects, the one or more steps for providing one or more VPP orchestration methods includes at least one step for providing a load shaping service. In other configurations, the load shaping service steps corresponds to one or more steps for providing event awareness services in an energy resources cloud. In a further configuration, steps are provided wherein providing the virtual power plant orchestration includes iterative scheduling of one or more distributed demand sources that corresponds to one or more energy services in an energy resources cloud.
fetch telemetry data associated with the individual ones of the plurality of server components(telemetry data from energy resources at the site energy resources are implemented and represented as virtualized devices, ¶212) ;
[0212] In other aspects, the energy cloud software platform providing aggregation or orchestration modules may be provided for at least one of the one or more electric vehicle resources or one or more distributed energy resources, wherein the set of virtual devices are one or more device drivers to translate common format commands to control signals for driving one or more physical devices to a desired state. In other aspects, the one or more programs associated with the energy cloud software platform and one or more DER-ES apparatus gateway controllers includes the set of virtual devices that collect status information from the one or more physical devices to a desired state. In another configuration of the energy cloud software platform, the set of virtual devices collects status information from the one or more physical devices for transfer to a network cloud. In another configuration of the prior method aspect, the set of virtual devices communicate with the one or more physical devices via a data communications interface. Another aspect of the energy cloud software platform provides the set of virtual devices that can be executed in a hierarchical process. In other aspects, at least one of the one or more software programs is an override process that sends one or more control commands to the set of virtual devices to transition immediately to a specified state. In other aspects of the energy cloud software platform, the platform may be configured wherein each one of the virtual devices of the set of virtual devices can report state parameters, operational history, errors, configuration parameters, and telemetry data to a server and wherein the data from each virtual device may be aggregated in a device report delivered to a remote cloud computing platform. In another option, the energy cloud software platform is provided wherein the server includes a user interface (UI) and one or more application programming interfaces (API) to communicate one or more API messages with network system components wherein the commands associated with the one or more API messages are queued in a server command queue. In further aspects, the platform is provided wherein the storage and energy resources and electric vehicle resources are remotely managed and controlled by a software-as-a-service (SAAS) platform that aggregates one or more systems together in real-time to deliver dynamically scaled energy and information resources across the grid on demand.
fetch workload data corresponding to individual ones of the aggregated IDERs from the at least one virtualization platform(site energy resources are virtualized into virtual devices and aggregates into virtual power plants where loads can be retrieved for analysis , ¶s 88,175, 190);
[0088] In certain aspects, an energy ecosystem represents a cloud-services delivery model for energy. The ecosystem in which the example embodiments are implemented includes a site including a set of site resources. The site can correspond to a residential or commercial location at which various site loads are provided. Site loads correspond to various devices or systems at the site that consume or store electrical energy at various levels. For example, site loads can correspond to electrical heating devices, air conditioners, computing or communications equipment that consumes electrical energy, washers/dryers, pool filtering equipment, electrical vehicle chargers, manufacturing equipment, and other electrical system loads at a particular site. The site resources also include a conventional smart meter that tracks and wirelessly transmits electrical energy usage information to a utility having various utility resources. A conventional smart meter is typically an electrical meter that records consumption of electric energy in intervals of an hour or less and communicates that information at least daily back to the utility for monitoring and billing purposes. Smart meters enable two-way communication between the meter and the central system at the utility. Such two-way communication can be enabled by an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) that differs from traditional automatic meter reading (AMR) in that it enables two-way communications with the meter. One utility resource is an AMI head end that receives and processes the electrical energy usage information received from the smart meter at the site. Another utility resource is a demand/response management system (DRMS) that can provide a centralized mechanism for managing the demand and supply of electrical energy to a community of sites, such as the site with site resources.
[0175] In another configuration of the method in the previous paragraph, steps may further include one or more distributed energy resources of the one or more distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus wherein the one or more distributed energy resources are one or more user loads that are controlled by one or more sets of instructions from a remote central server; selecting one or more executor modules running on a command virtualization layer of each of the one or more gateway controllers associated with the one or more distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus, to activate one or more virtual devices at a device virtualization layer, wherein the activated virtual devices control one or more physical devices; receiving one or more command and control data command sets via one or more command channels from the remote central server or a third party external source API, wherein the one or more command sets control modes, actions, and device state in the one or more physical devices, to convert one or more formats and one or more protocols to one or more virtualized commands in a common command format; utilizing the one or more virtualized commands by one or more executor modules running at a command virtualization layer to cause the execution of one or more virtual devices at the device virtualization layer to drive a corresponding physical device to a desired state; and executing one or more virtual devices at the device virtualization layer with one or more other virtual devices in a hierarchical relationship. This method in another configuration may also include one or more user loads wherein the one or more user loads are controlled by one or more sets of instructions from a distributed network database. In another configuration, the methods in this paragraph may further include steps for providing one or more CANBUS protocols to allow one or more components to communicate with each other without one or more host computers. Other configurations may alternately include steps for providing at least one NIST approved CIM model. Another configuration includes the methods of this paragraph with steps for alternately communicating via at least one SE2 compliant platform.
[0190] In further aspects, the energy management system for governing energy management resources further comprises a utility enterprise relational database application in communication with one or more consumer web portals, one or more Internet user interfaces, one or more advanced meter infrastructures associated with at least one grid, and one or more energy area networks; one or more networked distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus accessed via a virtual energy pool, receiving signals for one or more orchestration plans from each one of one or more programs to determine an active mode for each of the one or more programs; and one or more gateway controllers in communication with the virtual energy pool and linked to an electric vehicle energy control center and a distributed energy management telemetry system embodying one or more sets of rules and one or more sets of constraints to provide a predictive analytics module and an orchestration module wherein said one or more sets of rules and said one or more sets of constraints allow a user to implement multiple sets of rules and constraints which govern various resources selected from the group consisting of power generation, power storage, power use, pricing signals, cost signals to identify one or more incremental storage cycles, marginal cost management of cycle life degradation, virtual power plant orchestration, iterative schedule development, forward event scheduling, event awareness, and load control.
analyze one or more of the fetched telemetry data and the fetched workload data; and(reports on loads and telemetry are received and stored and analytics are performed for optimization of the system, ¶125)
[0125] The result is an energy cloud software platform that in certain aspects is configured as an energy cloud controller including a distributed energy management system and an electric vehicle energy management system by linking one or more gateway controllers and edge controllers with one or more site integration systems that monitors the operation of the power electronics inside of each apparatus, or appliance to ensure smooth operation; seamlessly upgrades and manages the software running on each appliance; reports on the power and energy being used in the system: how much power the PV/solar panels or renewable energy generating source is generating, how much energy is stored in each battery or other energy storage component, how much power is being provided to the grid and to the home. This reporting happens in real-time and the data is stored for analytics; controls what each apparatus is doing, also in real-time for providing specific applications of the system including methods for monitoring the operation of one or more power electronic components of one or more site integration system apparatus, upgrading and managing software running on each storage appliance of the one or more site integration system apparatus, managing and reporting in real-time the energy generated in one or more renewable energy generating sources linked to one or more site integration system apparatus to provide offset demand and peak reduction solutions, responding to one or more pricing, demand, and ancillary services signals for input to load shaping services, orchestrating one or more distributed resources to simultaneously serve site and grid needs in a virtual power plant, and using one or more predictive analytic algorithms to improve performance of distributed resources. In certain configurations, an energy cloud controller may be linked with a grid control system to provide orchestration and virtual power plant schedule and load shaping services instructions to a network of one or more of the energy cloud controllers. If one unit needs to charge, it tells that unit to charge. If five units on a certain circuit need to discharge, it tells those units to discharge. The software can mix and match these commands in any order, for any combination of apparatus installed throughout locations on the grid; runs multiple applications simultaneously, in response to site conditions, grid conditions, prices, and customer preferences; dynamically changes the configurations of individual apparatus, shifting resources from application to application, from specific location to specific location; enables individual apparatus to run autonomously in the case of communication outages; and integrates with existing utility and partner applications and systems by means of open and flexible web service protocols.
generate one or more data analysis products for energy optimization of the at least one VPP based at least in part on the analysis of the one or more of the fetched telemetry data and the fetched workload data(using telemetry/ and executing analytics to provide optimize power/resource usage across sites, ¶s 136, 222).
[0136] In other embodiments, the DER-ES apparatus functioning as an SIS in communication with an energy cloud software platform monitors real-time demand and dispatches power to ensure the site load does not exceed a specified threshold that might subject a commercial customer to demand charges pegged to maximum amounts of power on a monthly basis. In other aspects, each SIS serves as a SCADA-sensing node for its location, providing supervisory control and data acquisition for both the SunvergeEdge Gateway Controller and SunvergeCloud Software Controller. Discrete and aggregated data is delivered to utilities, and grid operators at the SIS with optimizing the operating of the grid to minimize power losses and maximize efficiency and quality across areas including but not limited to outage management, system modeling, power quality optimization, advanced distribution managed. Data delivered to customers and consumers may include, but is not limited to, system performance, site performance, efficiency, load profiles, energy consumption, renewable energy site generation profiles, energy savings, and third-party generated renewable energy available from the SunvergeCloud pooled energy resources.
[0222] The method in an energy management system providing scheduling guidance from one or more grid control systems may further comprise steps for providing real-time visibility into one or more electric vehicle, electric vehicle (EV/EVSE) energy resources; responding to one or more pricing, one or more demand, and one or more ancillary services signals; coordinating (EV/EVSE) resources to simultaneously serve site needs and grid needs; using predictive analytics, and real-time reporting and data analysis, to improve performance of one or more EV/EVSE resources; pushing decision-making to intelligent EV/EVSE resources related to one or more gateway controllers or one or more edge controllers to optimize performance of the one or more energy resources, one or more electric vehicle resources, and one or more storage objects based on real-time local conditions; providing one or more data sources and one or more analytic modules to associated DMS, GCS, and micro-grid systems; and configuring one or more EV/EVSE programs associated with the one or more electric vehicle resources to provide upgrades, monitoring, management, and support. The prior method in some aspects further comprises steps for accepting pricing, demand, frequency regulation, and power quality signals from the GCS, DMS, and Micro-DMS; accepting capacity and scheduling guidance from the GCS; directing guidance to and accepting feedback from at least one EV/EVSE system; and delivering metrics, capacity, and operational state commands to the GCS.
Sanders teaches data centers and servers within data centers but does not teach a data center as a resource, thus Sanders does not teach wherein the individual ones of the interfaced plurality of server components are itemized into one or more integrated distributed energy resources (IDERs). Barnes in the same field of endeavor as the invention teaches system for data center load/usage management. Barnes teaches wherein the individual ones of the interfaced plurality of server components are itemized into one or more integrated distributed energy resources (IDERs)( aggregate data center resources including servers at data centers for monitoring and management data center power usage such as time shifting loads, ¶s22, 48, 77)
[0022] Finally, in accordance with aspects of the disclosed subject matter, data center operators no longer consider individual data centers in isolation. In practice, data center operators not only operate multiple data centers, but they also organize them into constellations, typically though not exclusively organizing geographically proximate sets of data centers. Accordingly, techniques to optimize different data centers such as geoshifting, i.e., shifting of workloads to data centers in jurisdictions with better performance or lower cost, are appearing. According to aspects of the disclosed subject matter, a specific optimization is disclosed herein to aggregate compute resources from different data centers into a single virtual machine.
[0023] FIG. 1 provides a context diagram
[0048] Because virtual machines behave like physical servers, the time to boot up the virtual machine may take an unacceptable amount of time. To this end, containerization software such as Google Kubernetes (TM) and Docker, enable partitions of the virtual machine (called containers), to perform compute functions on demand without boot time delay.
[0077] PDUs 330a, 330b are networked and may support telemetry and remote control. Accordingly, a Server may be configured as an IDER. However, we are seeking even finer grained control, including modulating voltage.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Sanders’s virtual power plants with virtual power plants aggregated from data center server resources as taught by Steven. The reason for this modification would be to allow load shifting at data centers as virtual power plant resources and loads.
Regarding claim 2, Sanders teaches wherein the individual ones of the plurality of server components comprises at least one power transaction unit (PTU) configured for monitoring the telemetry data of the individual ones of the plurality of server components(PTUs for monitoring metrics, ¶s 18,100,123).
[0078] To this end, unlike legacy data centers, servers 324a-h each have their own Power Transaction Unit (PTU). For display purposes, FIG. 5 only includes PTU 505a, corresponding to Server Blade 324a. A Power Transaction Unit, such as one provided by Daanaa, a corporation presently based in Vancouver, Canada, provides individualized power management including voltage conversion and alternating current (AC) to direct current (DC) conversion. Each PTU, e.g., 505a and each PDU 330a and 330b is networked and enables software control to modulate power, including the ability to turn on or shut off power. Additionally, a PTU 505a and/or PDU 330 may provide telemetry to enable data collection. In some embodiments, a Server 324 may only have a PDU 330, or only have a PTU 505a, or may have both. In this way, a Server 324, a PDU 330, a PTU 505a, or some combination of the three, may be instrumented, enabling them to be configured to become an IDER with voltage control.
Regarding claim 3, Sanders teaches wherein the individual ones of the plurality of server components are integrated to at least one power distribution unit (PDU) configured for distributing power from a centralized power backbone to the individual ones of the plurality of server components(PDUs for power distribution, ¶76 ).
[0076] Servers 324a-h are powered by power backbone 504 via power distribution units (PDU) 330a (for 322a Rack A) and 330 b (for 322b Rack B). As will be seen below, while power backbones are typically at 110V or 220V, data center 102a may make use of higher voltage power backbones.
Regarding claims 4, Barnes teaches wherein the at least one virtualization platform is further configured to itemize the individual ones of the interfaced plurality of server components at least in part by: creating, from virtual server components, one or more virtual machines, one or more software containers, or a combination thereof; and mapping the one or more virtual machines, the one or more software containers to the one or more IDERs within the at least one VPP(¶s105,106) .
[0105] The other is virtual centric alignment where a virtual machine is configured as a power consumption IDER. Orchestration here is then instead an exercise of mapping virtual machine IDERs to power source IDERs. FIG. 7 is a flow chart 700 describing the process of orchestrating IDERs.
[0106] First, one or more IDERs are configured. In block 702, input is received from the Administrative Module 310 to register the physical elements of a data center 102. These include physical servers 324, PTUs 505a, and PDUs 330. These devices are stored in the IDER and Map Data Store 613 for future mapping.
Regarding claim 5, Barnes teaches wherein the at least one virtualization platform is further configured to: track energy-allied activity of one or more of the one or more virtual machines, and the one more software containers(¶70)
[0005] In some aspects, the techniques described herein relate to a method for measuring a power draw of an application, the method including: retrieving, by a power usage module, one or more power usage metrics from one or more servers, wherein each server includes one or more central processing units (CPUs) and virtualization elements; determining, by the power usage module, total power consumption of the one or more servers based on the retrieved one or more power metrics; allocating, by the power usage module, responsibility of the total power consumption among the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements; determining, by the power usage module based on this determining, an association between the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements and one or more software applications running on the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements; generating, by the power usage module, the power usage of each of the one or more software applications based on the allocated responsibility of the total power consumption among the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements and the association between the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements and the one or more software applications running on the one or more CPUs and virtualization elements; and generating, by the power usage module upon generating the power usage of each of the one or more software applications, one or more carbon emissions associated with each of the one or more software applications.
and associate the one or more tracked software containers corresponding with the one or more IDERs and the at least one VPP(energy usage metrics for virtual machines implementing using containers is tracked, ¶21 wherein).
[0021] The server cluster 109 can include multiple servers 120a-120n. Each server can include any number of computer processing units (CPUs) and virtual machines (VMs). In some embodiments, each of the VMs can have a virtual CPU capable of processing a software application. For example, server 120a can include CPUs 121a to 121n, and VMs 122a to 122n. Each software application can be used by an associated VM or container. For example, an application can execute different tasks concurrently on separate CPU cores, or an application may distribute tasks across available cores. As another example, each VM may act as an independent virtualized environment, capable of running its own applications. Applications can be used on different VMs depending on resource allocation. As the demand for an application increases or decreases, additional VMs may be provisioned to handle more loads. Additionally, the server cluster 109 may include one or more containers. Containers may be lightweight, executable unit of software that encapsulates an application's code, runtime, system tools, libraries, and settings in a standalone package. Containers interact with CPUs through the host operating system's kernel, which allocates CPU resources to containers as if they were individual, isolated operating systems. Although reference is made to virtual machines (VMs) and/or containers throughout the application, it is understood that any suitable virtualization element capable of processing a software application can be used. Each virtualization element itself may include a VM and container.
Regarding claim 6, Barnes teaches, wherein the at least one EOM is configured to fetch the mapping of one or more virtual machines, one more software containers to the one or more IDERs within the at least one VPP from the at least one virtualization platform( ¶111).
[0111] In block 712, the orchestration application 612 periodically updates IDER mappings and power settings of PTUs 505a, PDUs 330, and virtual machines. Alternatively, the orchestration application 612 may enlist in software events that trigger a reconfiguration. During a reconfiguration, the workload datastore 606 updates, and the orchestration application 612 queries the workload datastore 606 for the current state of workloads and configures the received information in concert with the context buffer, appropriate for a GenAI prompt.
Regarding claim 7, Barnes teaches wherein the at least one EOM is further configured to: receive pre-defined mappings of the one or more virtual machines and one or more VPPs from an external source; and store the received mappings in a parallel configuration within a virtualization database(¶ 31).
[0031] Each Orchestrator 110a . . . n may maintain a data store 118a . . . n containing the state of its respective DC. While this DC State data store 118a . . . n may be used for local needs, each DC State 118a . . . n is networked to the other DC States 118a . . . n of each other respective Orchestrator 110a . . . n via a consensus enabled Communications Network 120. Consensus is the computer science term where two networked computers can have a memory store that is guaranteed to have the same values at all times. For example, if Computer A and Computer B are in consensus, they may each have a memory buffer that is configured to be in agreement. If the buffer says “1, 2, 3” for A, it says “1, 2, 3” for B as well. If B changes it to “3, 2, 1” locally, the change propagates to A to say “3, 2, 1” as well. Accordingly, DC States 118a . . . n are always in agreement. Consensus can be implemented with a consensus enabled database such as Couchbase. Alternatively, a blockchain, which often uses consensus to maintain data integrity among nodes, may be used as well.
Regarding claims 8, 14, Sanders teaches wherein the at least one EOM is further configured to dynamically adjust power allocation to part of the one or more aggregated IDERs based on the generated one or more data analysis products(adjustment of power/energy usage by dispatch and receiving power between sites, ¶218 ).
[0218] In an embodiment, a method in an energy management system comprises steps for providing real-time tracking of one or more values of at least one or more of one or more distributed energy resources or one or more energy storage objects; responding to pricing, demand, and ancillary services signals to produce one or more target outputs of one or more distributed energy resource energy storage (DER-ES) apparatus, each of the apparatus having an inverter-controller, storage appliance, and gateway controller housed in a common enclosure, that together each function as a site integration system and when networked together form an energy network; dispatching and receiving power to one or more distributed resources to simultaneously serve site needs and grid needs by measuring one or more voltages with one or more potential transformers connecting one or more signals of the distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus and measuring one or more currents of one or more signals with one or more current transformers connected to an I/O board, a service load panel, and a utility meter of each of the DER-ES apparatus to calculate and store a voltage/VAR ratio for each of the user sites associated with each of the DER-ES apparatus associated with the energy management system, measuring one or more current loads associated with the one or more signals, calculating one or more forecasted loads using one or more demand response programs and one or more historical load data sets and one or more current load data sets, measuring one or more current PV generation amounts from the one or more PV generation devices, and comparing one or more forecasted PV generation amounts to the one or more current PV generation amounts; using predictive analytics, and real-time reporting and data analysis from an energy cloud software platform in communication with each of the gateway controllers of the one or more DER-ES apparatus to improve performance of one or more distributed resources; pushing decision-making to intelligent edge devices which can optimize performance based on real-time local conditions of the one or more distributed resources and one or more energy storage objects associated with the one or more networked DER-ES apparatus; providing detailed data and analytics to a demand management system (DMS), grid control system (GCS) and associated systems; and distributing resource configuration, upgrades, monitoring, management, and support to a network of distributed resources, energy storage objects and electric vehicle resources.
Regarding claims 9, 16 and 20, Sanders teaches wherein the at least one EOM is :configured to utilize at least one energy storage device associated with the at least one VPP for time-shifting energy consumption(orchestrate VPPs to time shift energy with energy storage resources to optimize performance, ¶s 206, 218).
[0206] In another configuration of the orchestrated VPP of the previous paragraph, the one or more rule sets to machine learn one or more features of one or more user sites comprises a learning element including one or more input references from a related knowledge base coupled to a data repository to produce an actual output element, an expected output element from a standard input from the orchestrated virtual power plant, and a comparator module to calculate an error equaling the differences between the actual output element and the expected output element and wherein the orchestrated virtual power plant modifies one or more of the rule sets to automatically adapt via an artificial intelligence component, one or more features of the one or more user sites. This configuration may further comprise a peak load reduction routine module including program code with instructions to cause a computer to perform steps for time shift reductions of energy generated from one or more user sites to correspond to a utility provider defined peak load time period.
[0218] In an embodiment, a method in an energy management system comprises steps for providing real-time tracking of one or more values of at least one or more of one or more distributed energy resources or one or more energy storage objects; responding to pricing, demand, and ancillary services signals to produce one or more target outputs of one or more distributed energy resource energy storage (DER-ES) apparatus, each of the apparatus having an inverter-controller, storage appliance, and gateway controller housed in a common enclosure, that together each function as a site integration system and when networked together form an energy network; dispatching and receiving power to one or more distributed resources to simultaneously serve site needs and grid needs by measuring one or more voltages with one or more potential transformers connecting one or more signals of the distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus and measuring one or more currents of one or more signals with one or more current transformers connected to an I/O board, a service load panel, and a utility meter of each of the DER-ES apparatus to calculate and store a voltage/VAR ratio for each of the user sites associated with each of the DER-ES apparatus associated with the energy management system, measuring one or more current loads associated with the one or more signals, calculating one or more forecasted loads using one or more demand response programs and one or more historical load data sets and one or more current load data sets, measuring one or more current PV generation amounts from the one or more PV generation devices, and comparing one or more forecasted PV generation amounts to the one or more current PV generation amounts; using predictive analytics, and real-time reporting and data analysis from an energy cloud software platform in communication with each of the gateway controllers of the one or more DER-ES apparatus to improve performance of one or more distributed resources; pushing decision-making to intelligent edge devices which can optimize performance based on real-time local conditions of the one or more distributed resources and one or more energy storage objects associated with the one or more networked DER-ES apparatus; providing detailed data and analytics to a demand management system (DMS), grid control system (GCS) and associated systems; and distributing resource configuration, upgrades, monitoring, management, and support to a network of distributed resources, energy storage objects and electric vehicle resources.
Regarding claims 10 and 15, Sanders teaches wherein the at least one EOM is configured to reconcile energy data corresponding to a part of the aggregated IDERs compliance with at least one net metering standard(smart meter for advanced metering infrastructure, ¶88).
[0088] In certain aspects, an energy ecosystem represents a cloud-services delivery model for energy. The ecosystem in which the example embodiments are implemented includes a site including a set of site resources. The site can correspond to a residential or commercial location at which various site loads are provided. Site loads correspond to various devices or systems at the site that consume or store electrical energy at various levels. For example, site loads can correspond to electrical heating devices, air conditioners, computing or communications equipment that consumes electrical energy, washers/dryers, pool filtering equipment, electrical vehicle chargers, manufacturing equipment, and other electrical system loads at a particular site. The site resources also include a conventional smart meter that tracks and wirelessly transmits electrical energy usage information to a utility having various utility resources. A conventional smart meter is typically an electrical meter that records consumption of electric energy in intervals of an hour or less and communicates that information at least daily back to the utility for monitoring and billing purposes. Smart meters enable two-way communication between the meter and the central system at the utility. Such two-way communication can be enabled by an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) that differs from traditional automatic meter reading (AMR) in that it enables two-way communications with the meter. One utility resource is an AMI head end that receives and processes the electrical energy usage information received from the smart meter at the site. Another utility resource is a demand/response management system (DRMS) that can provide a centralized mechanism for managing the demand and supply of electrical energy to a community of sites, such as the site with site resources.
Regarding claims 12 and 17, Sanders teaches at least one reporting engine configured to generate one or more reports based on energy-allied activities associated to the at least one Virtual Power Plant (VPP)(site management provides service (i.e. engines ) to perform functions such as reporting, ¶51).
[0051] The site management system or the site gateway can support a set of services on the software platform. In a particular embodiment, these services can include: remote command and control, scheduling, visualization, aggregation, remote management, monitoring, and reporting. The site gateway can include additional services, such as: power control, energy control, system monitoring, command processing, device virtualization, protocol translation, and other services. These additional services can also be provided at the site gateway in the distributed system architecture discussed above. The software environment in which these applications and services are executed on the site gateway is described in more detail below.
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders/Barnes as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Forbes Jr US 2017/0358041.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Sanders smart meters and load shifting between sites but does not specifically teach comprising at least one trading engine configured to manage one or more of a creation, a validation, and a trading of energy-backed tokens corresponding to energy assets associated with the at least one VPP. Forbes Jr in the same field of endeavor as the invention teaches a system energy distribution management across multiple energy sites Forbes Jr teaches comprising at least one trading engine configured to manage one or more of a creation, a validation, and a trading of energy-backed tokens corresponding to energy assets associated with the at least one VPP.
[0254] In one embodiment, cryptocurrency tokens are issued by the EnergyNet platform to facilitate peer-to-peer transactions between different grid elements. The cryptocurrency tokens on the EnergyNet platform are called Network of Power (NOP) tokens. In the present invention, NOP tokens can be used to make settlements for consuming, supplying, and/or curtailing power with micropayments at a grid element level in real time or near real time. In one embodiment, the NOP tokens are based on Ethereum technology, which is an open source, blockchain-based distributed computing platform with smart contracts.
[0255] NOP tokens are rewarded to end use customers or market participants who share energy related information on the EnergyNet platform. Energy related information includes load types (residential, commercial, industrial, mission critical, etc.), consumption amount, consumption reduced, consumption to be reduced, supply types (solar panels, wind turbines, power storage, etc.), power types (real power and/or reactive power), supply amount, supply available currently, supply to be available, capacity, etc. Energy related information is important to maintain grid stability and reliability in an efficient way within a microgrid, a distribution grid, and a power grid overall, as well as necessary to enable peer-to-peer power transactions.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Sanders with energy token market trading as taught by Forbes Jr. The reason for this modification would be to provide incentives and compensation for exchange of energy resources.
Conclusion
/TOM Y CHANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455