DETAILED ACTION
1. Acknowledgement is made to the amendment, filed 4/13/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wong et al. (US 2021/0035109 A1), hereinafter Wong.
Regarding claim 10, Wong discloses a method for conducting a transaction at a transaction card reader, the method comprising:
receiving a communication from an encoded portion (102 – EMV chip) of a transaction card (100 – payment card) at the transaction card reader (202 – payment card reader device), wherein the communication comprises a complete transaction card number stored on the encoded portion, and wherein the complete transaction card number includes a personalized indicia [0028, 0031, & 0034];
receiving a biometric input collected by a biometric sensor on the transaction card at the transaction card reader [0028 & 0031];
transmitting the complete transaction card number and the biometric input to an issuer of the transaction card for authorization of the transaction [0028, 0031, & 0034];
receiving an authorization response from the issuer of the transaction card at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035]; and
generating an authorization notification at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035].
Regarding claim 11, Wong discloses the method of claim 10, wherein receiving the communication and receiving the biometric input occur simultaneously [0028 & 0034].
Regarding claim 12, Wong discloses the method of claim 10, wherein generating the authorization notification comprises displaying only the personalized indicia portion of the complete transaction number [0028, 0031, & 0034].
Regarding claim 13, Wong discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the biometric input comprises a fingerprint scan, a facial recognition scan, or any combination thereof [0027 & 0028].
Regarding claim 14, Wong discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the authorization response and the authorization notification are indicative of an approval of the transaction, thereby completing the transaction [0031 & 0035].
Regarding claim 15, Wong discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the authorization response and the authorization notification are indicative of a denial of the transaction, thereby voiding the transaction [0028, 0029, & 0031].
Regarding claim 16, Wong discloses a method for conducting a transaction at a transaction card reader, the method comprising:
receiving a communication from an encoded portion (102 – EMV chip) of a transaction card (100 – payment card) at the transaction card reader (202 – payment card reader device), wherein the communication comprises a complete transaction card number stored on the encoded portion, and wherein the complete transaction card number includes a personalized indicia [0028, 0031, & 0034];
transmitting the complete transaction card number to an issuer of the trans- action card for an initial authorization of the transaction [0027-0029, 0031, & 0034];
receiving an initial authorization response from the issuer of the transaction card at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035];
generating an initial authorization notification at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035];
receiving a biometric input collected by a biometric sensor on the transaction card at the transaction card reader [0028 & 0031];
transmitting the biometric input to the issuer of the transaction card for a final authorization of the transaction [0028, 0031, & 0034];
receiving a final authorization response from the issuer of the transaction card at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035]; and
generating a final authorization notification at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035].
Regarding claim 17, Wong discloses the method of claim 16, wherein generating the initial and final authorization notifications each comprises displaying only the personalized indicia portion of the complete transaction number [0028, 0031, & 0034].
Regarding claim 18, Wong discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the biometric input comprises a fingerprint scan, a facial recognition scan, or any combination thereof [0027 & 0028].
Regarding claim 19, Wong discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the final authorization response and the final authorization notification are indicative of an approval of the transaction, thereby completing the transaction [0031 & 0035].
Regarding claim 20, Wong discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the final authorization response and the final authorization notification are indicative of a denial of the transaction, thereby voiding the transaction [0028, 0029, & 0031].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Elgar et al. (US 2007/0246526 A1), hereinafter Elgar.
Regarding claim 1, Wong discloses a transaction card (100 – payment card) for secure payments comprising:
a personalized indicia displayed on a first surface or a second surface of the transaction card [0026 & Fig. 1A – disclosing information, such as an account number, expiration date, cardholder’s name, and logo, being printed or embossed on a surface of the payment card];
an encoded portion (102 – EMV chip) configured to communicate with a transaction card reader (202 – payment card reader device), wherein a complete transaction card number associated with the transaction card is stored on the encoded portion [0025, 0027, & Fig. 1A]; and
a biometric sensor (106 – biometric sensor) disposed on the first surface or the second surface, wherein the biometric sensor is configured to communicate with the transaction card reader to complete a transaction [0028, 0029, & 0034].
With respect to claim 1, the teachings of Wong have been discussed above.
Wong is silent with respect to explicitly disclosing that the personalized indicia is user-selected and wherein the personalized indicia does not include personally identifiable information, as recited in claim 1.
Elgar, directed to user-personalized transaction cards [Abstract & 0002-0003], teaches, regarding claim 1, that the personalized indicia is user-selected and wherein the personalized indicia does not include personally identifiable information [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further employ the personalization features of Elgar within the transaction card of Wong for at least the benefits of providing for enhanced consumer satisfaction, improved security, and increasing card usage by allowing consumers to create a fully personalized and unique user experience.
Regarding claim 2, Wong, as modified above, discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the personalized indicia comprises numbers, letters, or any combination thereof [0026 & Fig. 1A].
Regarding claim 3, Wong, as modified above, discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the complete transaction card number includes the personalized indicia [0028, 0031, & 0034].
Regarding claim 4, Wong, as modified above, discloses the transaction card of claim 3, wherein when the complete transaction card number is transmitted to the transaction card reader for authorizing a payment, only the personalized indicia is displayed on the transaction card reader [0028, 0031, & 0034].
Regarding claim 5, Wong, as modified above, discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein a billing address associated with the transaction card is stored on the encoded portion [0027, 0029, & 0034].
Regarding claim 6, Wong, as modified above, discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the encoded portion is a magnetic strip, a contact chip, a contactless chip, or any combination thereof [0025, 0027, & Figs. 1A & 1B].
Regarding claim 7, Wong, as modified above, discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the personalized indicia is displayed on the first surface of the secure transaction card, and further wherein the fingerprint sensor is disposed on the first surface of the secure transaction card [0025 & 0026].
Regarding claim 8, Wong, as modified above, discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the personalized indicia is displayed on the first surface of the secure transaction card, and further wherein the fingerprint sensor is disposed on the second surface of the secure transaction card [0025 & 0026].
Regarding claim 9, Wong, as modified above, discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the biometric sensor comprises a fingerprint sensor, a facial recognition sensor, or any combination thereof [0027 & 0028].
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, regarding claim 1, see pages 6-7 of the Remarks, filed 4/13/2026, that Wong fails to disclose "a user-selected personalized indicia displayed on a first surface or a second surface of the transaction card, wherein the personalized indicia does not include personally identifiable information". The limitations regarding the “personalized indicia” being “user-selected” and “wherein the personalized indicia does not include personally identifiable information" where not previously presented. The examiner has provided the teachings of Elgar in combination with Wong to address these limitations and therefore the arguments are moot. Applicant argues, regarding claims 10 & 16, see pages 7-8 of the Remarks, filed 4/13/2026, that Wong fails to disclose "transmitting the complete transaction card number and the biometric input to an issuer of the transaction card for authorization of the transaction", specifically that “Wong does not teach sending biometric input to the issuer”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Wong clearly discloses, see paragraph [0028], that “the payment card reader device 202 transmits the biometric authentication data, the cardholder identification information and the matching score to the merchant device 204”, and, see paragraph [0031], “then transmits the biometric authentication data and purchase transaction data to that issuer FI 210A. The issuer FI 210A then determines … to authorize or to decline the purchase transaction.” Therefore, Wong’s disclosure of transmitting “biometric authentication data”, which is separate and different from “the cardholder identification information and the matching score”, clearly meeting the claimed limitation of transmitting “the biometric input to an issuer of the transaction card for authorization of the transaction”. The claims have been rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876