DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Priority
2. The instant application is a CIP of US 18/241,322, filed 9/1/2023, now US Patent No. 12,400,217, which claims benefit of US Provisional Application No. 63/405,794, filed 9/12/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wong et al. (US 2021/0035109 A1), hereinafter Wong.
Regarding claim 1, Wong discloses a transaction card (100 – payment card) for secure payments comprising:
a personalized indicia displayed on a first surface or a second surface of the transaction card [0026 & Fig. 1A – disclosing information, such as an account number, expiration date, cardholder’s name, and logo, being printed or embossed on a surface of the payment card];
an encoded portion (102 – EMV chip) configured to communicate with a transaction card reader (202 – payment card reader device), wherein a complete transaction card number associated with the transaction card is stored on the encoded portion [0025, 0027, & Fig. 1A]; and
a biometric sensor (106 – biometric sensor) disposed on the first surface or the second surface, wherein the biometric sensor is configured to communicate with the transaction card reader to complete a transaction [0028, 0029, & 0034].
Regarding claim 2, Wong discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the personalized indicia comprises numbers, letters, or any combination thereof [0026 & Fig. 1A].
Regarding claim 3, Wong discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the complete transaction card number includes the personalized indicia [0028, 0031, & 0034].
Regarding claim 4, Wong discloses the transaction card of claim 3, wherein when the complete transaction card number is transmitted to the transaction card reader for authorizing a payment, only the personalized indicia is displayed on the transaction card reader [0028, 0031, & 0034].
Regarding claim 5, Wong discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein a billing address associated with the transaction card is stored on the encoded portion [0027, 0029, & 0034].
Regarding claim 6, Wong discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the encoded portion is a magnetic strip, a contact chip, a contactless chip, or any combination thereof [0025, 0027, & Figs. 1A & 1B].
Regarding claim 7, Wong discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the personalized indicia is displayed on the first surface of the secure transaction card, and further wherein the fingerprint sensor is disposed on the first surface of the secure transaction card [0025 & 0026].
Regarding claim 8, Wong discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the personalized indicia is displayed on the first surface of the secure transaction card, and further wherein the fingerprint sensor is disposed on the second surface of the secure transaction card [0025 & 0026].
Regarding claim 9, Wong discloses the transaction card of claim 1, wherein the biometric sensor comprises a fingerprint sensor, a facial recognition sensor, or any combination thereof [0027 & 0028].
Regarding claim 10, Wong discloses a method for conducting a transaction at a transaction card reader, the method comprising:
receiving a communication from an encoded portion (102 – EMV chip) of a transaction card (100 – payment card) at the transaction card reader (202 – payment card reader device), wherein the communication comprises a complete transaction card number stored on the encoded portion, and wherein the complete transaction card number includes a personalized indicia [0028, 0031, & 0034];
receiving a biometric input collected by a biometric sensor on the transaction card at the transaction card reader [0028 & 0031];
transmitting the complete transaction card number and the biometric input to an issuer of the transaction card for authorization of the transaction [0028, 0031, & 0034];
receiving an authorization response from the issuer of the transaction card at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035]; and
generating an authorization notification at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035].
Regarding claim 11, Wong discloses the method of claim 10, wherein receiving the communication and receiving the biometric input occur simultaneously [0028 & 0034].
Regarding claim 12, Wong discloses the method of claim 10, wherein generating the authorization notification comprises displaying only the personalized indicia portion of the complete transaction number [0028, 0031, & 0034].
Regarding claim 13, Wong discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the biometric input comprises a fingerprint scan, a facial recognition scan, or any combination thereof [0027 & 0028].
Regarding claim 14, Wong discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the authorization response and the authorization notification are indicative of an approval of the transaction, thereby completing the transaction [0031 & 0035].
Regarding claim 15, Wong discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the authorization response and the authorization notification are indicative of a denial of the transaction, thereby voiding the transaction [0028, 0029, & 0031].
Regarding claim 16, Wong discloses a method for conducting a transaction at a transaction card reader, the method comprising:
receiving a communication from an encoded portion (102 – EMV chip) of a transaction card (100 – payment card) at the transaction card reader (202 – payment card reader device), wherein the communication comprises a complete transaction card number stored on the encoded portion, and wherein the complete transaction card number includes a personalized indicia [0028, 0031, & 0034];
transmitting the complete transaction card number to an issuer of the trans- action card for an initial authorization of the transaction [0027-0029, 0031, & 0034];
receiving an initial authorization response from the issuer of the transaction card at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035];
generating an initial authorization notification at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035];
receiving a biometric input collected by a biometric sensor on the transaction card at the transaction card reader [0028 & 0031];
transmitting the biometric input to the issuer of the transaction card for a final authorization of the transaction [0028, 0031, & 0034];
receiving a final authorization response from the issuer of the transaction card at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035]; and
generating a final authorization notification at the transaction card reader [0031 & 0035].
Regarding claim 17, Wong discloses the method of claim 16, wherein generating the initial and final authorization notifications each comprises displaying only the personalized indicia portion of the complete transaction number [0028, 0031, & 0034].
Regarding claim 18, Wong discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the biometric input comprises a fingerprint scan, a facial recognition scan, or any combination thereof [0027 & 0028].
Regarding claim 19, Wong discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the final authorization response and the final authorization notification are indicative of an approval of the transaction, thereby completing the transaction [0031 & 0035].
Regarding claim 20, Wong discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the final authorization response and the final authorization notification are indicative of a denial of the transaction, thereby voiding the transaction [0028, 0029, & 0031].
Conclusion
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876