DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 last line: “affect” should be changed to read “affected”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2022/0289502 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches:
A robotic system (Fig. 2A; [0049] “system 200”), comprising:
a robotic arm comprising one or more links, one or more joints, and an end effector positioned at a distal free moving end of the robotic arm (Fig. 2A shows the robot arm 202 includes four links and joints positioned between each link; [0049] “ a robotic arm 202 equipped with a suction-based end effector 204”); and
a processor (Fig. 2A; [0050] “control computer 212”) configured to:
make and begin to implement a plan to grasp an item, move the item through a planned trajectory, and place the item at a destination ([0030] “the plan or strategy includes an indication of an item (e.g., from the source pile/flow) to be singulated, a location on the conveyor at which the item is to be singly placed, and a path or trajectory along which the item is to be moved from the source pile/flow to the location on the conveyor ... As an example, the instructions provide an indication of the manner according to which the robotic structure is to control the corresponding robotic arm to pick the item from the chute, to move the item along the path or trajectory, and to place the item at the determined location on the conveyor.”);
detect an overload condition ([0085] “determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold”) affecting a joint include in the one or more joints ([0079] “For example, relatively heavier items packaged in a polybag will generally experience “tenting” between end effector suction cups. Tenting can cause sub-optimal suction from the end effector of the robotic arm, and thus the grasping of such an item is sub-optimal. According to various embodiments, in response to determining that the item is relatively heavy (e.g., that the weight exceeds a predefined threshold) and that the item is packaged in a poly-bag, or in response to determining that tenting is being caused while grasping the item, the robotic structure performs an active measure to change or adapt to the “tenting” or to the determination of the type the packaging of the item”; [0085] “For example, in some embodiments, a weight of the item may be computed (or estimated) based on the work required to drive the robotic arm 202 while the item is in its grasp. In various embodiments, the work required to drive the robotic arm 202 is measured using a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a power sensor, and/or the like, or some combination thereof.”); and
adapt the plan in response to detecting the overload condition ([0085] “ In some embodiments, in response to determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold, robotic system 200 adjusts the plan to singulate the item via partially picking up the item and dragging the item to the corresponding location on the conveyance structure (e.g., in contrast to wholly picking up the item and moving the arm to place the item on the conveyance structure). In some embodiments, in response to determining the weight of the item, the robotic structure adjusts the speed at which the robotic arm (and the item) is moved.”).
Regarding claim 2, Sun further teaches:
wherein the joint comprises a wrist joint adjacent to the end effector ([0120] “The plan to singulate the item can indicate an orientation of ... a wrist on the robotic arm”).
Regarding claim 3, Sun further teaches:
wherein detected overload condition is associated with an inability of the affected joint to hold the item in a planned pose ([0079] “For example, relatively heavier items packaged in a polybag will generally experience “tenting” between end effector suction cups. Tenting can cause sub-optimal suction from the end effector of the robotic arm, and thus the grasping of such an item is sub-optimal.”; [0085] “or example, in some embodiments, a weight of the item may be computed (or estimated) based on the work required to drive the robotic arm 202 while the item is in its grasp. In various embodiments, the work required to drive the robotic arm 202 is measured using a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a power sensor, and/or the like, or some combination thereof. In response to determining the weight of the item during singulation, the robotic system determines a path/trajectory of an item to be singulated based at least in part on the weight of the item. The robotic system may perform an active measure to adapt to the weight of the item such as, for example, updating the path or trajectory in response to determining the weight of the item. In some embodiments, in response to determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold, robotic system 200 adjusts the plan to singulate the item via partially picking up the item and dragging the item to the corresponding location on the conveyance structure (e.g., in contrast to wholly picking up the item and moving the arm to place the item on the conveyance structure).”).
Regarding claim 4, Sun further teaches:
wherein overload condition is associated with an unexpected weight of the item ([0085] “In some embodiments, in response to determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold, robotic system 200 adjusts the plan to singulate the item via partially picking up the item and dragging the item to the corresponding location on the conveyance structure (e.g., in contrast to wholly picking up the item and moving the arm to place the item on the conveyance structure).”).
Regarding claim 7, Sun further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to take a responsive action in response to detecting the overload condition ([0085] “The robotic system may perform an active measure to adapt to the weight of the item such as, for example, updating the path or trajectory in response to determining the weight of the item. In some embodiments, in response to determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold, robotic system 200 adjusts the plan to singulate the item via partially picking up the item and dragging the item to the corresponding location on the conveyance structure (e.g., in contrast to wholly picking up the item and moving the arm to place the item on the conveyance structure). In some embodiments, in response to determining the weight of the item, the robotic structure adjusts the speed at which the robotic arm (and the item) is moved.”).
Regarding claim 14, Sun further teaches:
wherein the affected joint is driven by a direct drive joint motor ([0085] “robotic arm 202 is to be driven by one or more motors, e.g., one or more motors at each movable joint”).
Regarding claim 16, Sun further teaches:
wherein adapting the plan includes determining to place the item in a different orientation than as originally planned ([0085] “In some embodiments, in response to determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold, robotic system 200 adjusts the plan to singulate the item via partially picking up the item and dragging the item to the corresponding location on the conveyance structure (e.g., in contrast to wholly picking up the item and moving the arm to place the item on the conveyance structure).”).
Regarding claim 17, Sun further teaches:
wherein adapting the plan includes planning a trajectory through which the robotic arm can safely move the item to the destination using only one or more poses that can be achieved and maintained despite the overload condition ([0085] “The robotic system may perform an active measure to adapt to the weight of the item such as, for example, updating the path or trajectory in response to determining the weight of the item. In some embodiments, in response to determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold, robotic system 200 adjusts the plan to singulate the item via partially picking up the item and dragging the item to the corresponding location on the conveyance structure (e.g., in contrast to wholly picking up the item and moving the arm to place the item on the conveyance structure).”).
Regarding claim 18, Sun teaches:
A method to control a robotic arm having one or more links, one or more joints, and an end effector positioned at a distal free moving end of the robotic arm (Fig. 2A shows the robot arm 202 includes four links and joints positioned between each link; [0049] “ a robotic arm 202 equipped with a suction-based end effector 204”), the method comprising:
making and beginning to implement a plan to grasp an item, move the item through a planned trajectory, and place the item at a destination ([0030] “the plan or strategy includes an indication of an item (e.g., from the source pile/flow) to be singulated, a location on the conveyor at which the item is to be singly placed, and a path or trajectory along which the item is to be moved from the source pile/flow to the location on the conveyor ... As an example, the instructions provide an indication of the manner according to which the robotic structure is to control the corresponding robotic arm to pick the item from the chute, to move the item along the path or trajectory, and to place the item at the determined location on the conveyor.”);
detecting an overload condition ([0085] “determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold”) affecting a joint include in the one or more joints ([0079] “For example, relatively heavier items packaged in a polybag will generally experience “tenting” between end effector suction cups. Tenting can cause sub-optimal suction from the end effector of the robotic arm, and thus the grasping of such an item is sub-optimal. According to various embodiments, in response to determining that the item is relatively heavy (e.g., that the weight exceeds a predefined threshold) and that the item is packaged in a poly-bag, or in response to determining that tenting is being caused while grasping the item, the robotic structure performs an active measure to change or adapt to the “tenting” or to the determination of the type the packaging of the item”; [0085] “For example, in some embodiments, a weight of the item may be computed (or estimated) based on the work required to drive the robotic arm 202 while the item is in its grasp. In various embodiments, the work required to drive the robotic arm 202 is measured using a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a power sensor, and/or the like, or some combination thereof.”); and
adapting the plan in response to detecting the overload condition ([0085] “ In some embodiments, in response to determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold, robotic system 200 adjusts the plan to singulate the item via partially picking up the item and dragging the item to the corresponding location on the conveyance structure (e.g., in contrast to wholly picking up the item and moving the arm to place the item on the conveyance structure). In some embodiments, in response to determining the weight of the item, the robotic structure adjusts the speed at which the robotic arm (and the item) is moved.”).
Regarding claim 22, Sun teaches:
A computer program product ([0026] “ computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium; and/or a processor, such as a processor configured to execute instructions stored on and/or provided by a memory coupled to the processor”) to control a robotic arm having one or more links, one or more joints, and an end effector positioned at a distal free moving end of the robotic arm (Fig. 2A shows the robot arm 202 includes four links and joints positioned between each link; [0049] “ a robotic arm 202 equipped with a suction-based end effector 204”), the computer program product being embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium and computer instructions for:
making and beginning to implement a plan to grasp an item, move the item through a planned trajectory, and place the item at a destination ([0030] “the plan or strategy includes an indication of an item (e.g., from the source pile/flow) to be singulated, a location on the conveyor at which the item is to be singly placed, and a path or trajectory along which the item is to be moved from the source pile/flow to the location on the conveyor ... As an example, the instructions provide an indication of the manner according to which the robotic structure is to control the corresponding robotic arm to pick the item from the chute, to move the item along the path or trajectory, and to place the item at the determined location on the conveyor.”);
detecting an overload condition ([0085] “determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold”) affecting a joint include in the one or more joints ([0079] “For example, relatively heavier items packaged in a polybag will generally experience “tenting” between end effector suction cups. Tenting can cause sub-optimal suction from the end effector of the robotic arm, and thus the grasping of such an item is sub-optimal. According to various embodiments, in response to determining that the item is relatively heavy (e.g., that the weight exceeds a predefined threshold) and that the item is packaged in a poly-bag, or in response to determining that tenting is being caused while grasping the item, the robotic structure performs an active measure to change or adapt to the “tenting” or to the determination of the type the packaging of the item”; [0085] “For example, in some embodiments, a weight of the item may be computed (or estimated) based on the work required to drive the robotic arm 202 while the item is in its grasp. In various embodiments, the work required to drive the robotic arm 202 is measured using a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a power sensor, and/or the like, or some combination thereof.”); and
adapting the plan in response to detecting the overload condition ([0085] “ In some embodiments, in response to determining that the weight of the item is greater than a predefined threshold, robotic system 200 adjusts the plan to singulate the item via partially picking up the item and dragging the item to the corresponding location on the conveyance structure (e.g., in contrast to wholly picking up the item and moving the arm to place the item on the conveyance structure). In some embodiments, in response to determining the weight of the item, the robotic structure adjusts the speed at which the robotic arm (and the item) is moved.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2022/0289502 A1), in view of Nakamoto et al. (US 2021/0170589 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Sun does not specifically teach wherein the responsive action includes on or more of the following: disengaging a clutch, engaging a brake, adjusting a control gain, and changing a torque applied at an affect joint.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakamoto teaches:
wherein the responsive action includes changing a torque applied at an affect joint ([0045] “In addition, the arm unit 30 can achieve necessary torque reduction through these horizontal rotation joints when the object T held by the grasping part 32 is a heavy object having a weight equal to or heavier than a threshold value.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sun to change a torqued applied at an affected joint, as taught by Nakamoto, in order to allow the robot arm to hold the object stably.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2022/0289502 A1), in view of Georgiev et al. (US 2018/0283503 A1).
Regarding claim 11 and similarly cited claim 19, Sun further teaches wherein the affected joint ([0050] “information pertaining to an amount of current, voltage, and/or power used by one or more motors driving movement of the robotic arm can be used to determine the weight (or an estimated weight) of the item.” – The affected joint corresponds with the joint motor that detects the weight of the item to be exceeded a predetermined weight) is associated with a joint motor ([0085] “robotic arm 202 is to be driven by one or more motors, e.g., one or more motors at each movable joint”).
Sun does not specifically teach the output of which is coupled to the joint via a backdrivable gearbox.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Georgiev teaches:
wherein a joint is associated with a joint motor the output of which is coupled to the joint via a backdrivable gearbox ([0066] “FIGS. 13A-13D illustrate a low reduction (1:10), high torque, backdrivable gearbox robotic joint 1300 comprising a gearbox 1302.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sun to include a backdrivable gearbox coupled to the joint motor, as taught by Georgiev. Such modification provides high reduction gearbox that is attractive for realistic high performance robotic applications, as stated by Georgiev in [0096].
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2022/0289502 A1), in view of Geating et al. (US 2023/0182287 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Sun further teaches:
wherein the affected joint ([0050] “information pertaining to an amount of current, voltage, and/or power used by one or more motors driving movement of the robotic arm can be used to determine the weight (or an estimated weight) of the item.” – The affected joint corresponds with the joint motor that detects the weight of the item to be exceeded a predetermined weight) is associated with a joint motor ([0085] “robotic arm 202 is to be driven by one or more motors, e.g., one or more motors at each movable joint”). Sun does not specifically teach the output of which drives a gearbox that is coupled to the joint via a clutch or other mechanism operable to selectively couple or decouple the joint to the output of the gearbox.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Geating teaches:
wherein a joint is associated with a joint motor the output of which drives a gearbox that is coupled to the joint via a clutch or other mechanism ([0075] “An output of the actuator 412 is connected to the output link 420 through a clutch.”) operable to selectively couple or decouple the joint to the output of the gearbox ([0074]-[0075]; [0076] “ In some embodiments, the clutch provides overload protection via a tolerance ring assembly located radially between an output of the actuator and a distal link housing. A tolerance ring assembly may include an inner shaft, the tolerance ring itself, and an outer housing. The tolerance ring may include a split metal ring formed with waves. By pressing the ring together with the housing and the shaft, the ring may be compressed into a small radial gap between the two parts, compressing the waves of the ring and creating a large radial preload force that is sized based on the housing diameter, length, and friction to slip at a given torque. When the input torque exceeds that amount, the ring will slip in the housing. Additionally, the tolerance ring provides compensation for any axial misalignment of the actuator output and output joint.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sun to include a joint motor the output of which drives a gearbox that is coupled to the joint via a clutch or other mechanism operable to selectively couple or decouple the joint to the output of the gearbox, as taught by Geating, in order to provide compensation for any axial misalignment of the actuator output and output joint.
Regarding claim 13, Sun does not specifically teach a brake operable to hold the joint in a position.
However, Geating teaches:
a brake operable to hold the joint in a position ([0075] “The actuator 412 may include a brake (e.g., integrated brake 432) configured to arrest rotation of the actuator.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sun, in view of Geating, to include a brake operable to hold the joint in a position, as taught by Geating, in order to provide safety for the robot.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 9-10, 15, and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NHI Q BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656