DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-29 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al. (US 20230061933 A1, “Ke”) in view of Li et al. (US 20170331090 A1, “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Ke discloses a battery cell, wherein the battery cell comprises: a housing, having an inner cavity (see abstract “battery cell” & “wall” & “electrical cavity”; see [0084] “housing 211” & “inner cavity”) and having a first wall (see [0088] “first wall 21a”); an electrode assembly, disposed in the inner cavity (see FIG. 3 & [0086] describes “electrode assembly 22” and describes it in the inner cavity); and an exhaust structure, disposed between the first wall and the electrode assembly within the inner cavity of the housing and provided with a fluid channel (see FIG. 3 & [0092] “backing plate 24 is located between the electrode assembly 22 and a bottom wall of the housing 211” & describes “pressure relief mechanism 213” & “gas generated inside the battery cell 20 and the electrolytic solution can freely pass through the backing plate 24” which describes a fluid channel; FIG. 3 describes the exhaust structure “backing plate 24” is between the first wall “21a” and the electrode assembly “22” within the inner cavity of the housing (FIG. 3 describes inner cavity of housing “211” upon assembly and “213” describes a fluid channel), wherein the exhaust structure comprises a plate body (see FIG. 3 & see [0092] “battery cell 20 may further include a backing plate 24”), the plate body has a first surface facing the first wall and a second surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the plate body (see FIG. 3 describes “24” has a first surface & thickness direction (see annotated “1s” & “2s”) & describes “24” annotated 1s faces “21a” first wall).
Ke discloses the exhaust structure comprises at least one supporting block (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” & describes “215b” is provided integrally with the plate body “13 isolating component”).
Regarding the limitations the at least one supporting block is fixed to the plate body and protruding from the first surface and the fluid channel is formed around the at least one supporting block, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Li teaches location of the supporting block and the plate body (see FIG. 4 & [0043] describes “cell pallet 50 is set between the insulating film 40 and the housing 10, so as to support the bare cell 30 and the insulating film 40 as well as effectively prevent the insulating film 40 and the housing 10 from interfering with the rounded corners of the bottom of the housing 10”). Li teaches the location of the supporting block “50 cell pallet” is between the plate body “12 bottom surface” & “insulating film “40” in FIG. 2. Li teaches “50” is fixed to “12” upon assembly & protrudes up from “12” & is between the first surface “12” & the first wall “10” as shown in FIG. 2. Li teaches a fluid channel is formed around the supporting block (see [0044] “cell pallet 50 is provided with a first through-hole 52 aligned with the explosion proof valve 14 of the housing 10 to facilitate explosion proof exhaust” which reads on fluid channel.
Ke and Li are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries (see Li abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “cell pallet 50 is set between the insulating film 40 and the housing 10” as suggested by Li into the battery cell of Ke because doing so supports the cell as suggested by Li (see [0043]) & facilitates explosion proof exhaust, as suggested by Li (see [0043]).
Regarding the limitation wherein the thickness of the plate body is smaller than a thickness of the at least one supporting block, Ke discloses (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” & is provided integrally with the plate body “13 isolating component” & 13 reads on plate body & 215b reads on supporting block & “13” thickness is smaller than thickness of “215b” in FIG. 7d & see [0124] “a height of the second sealing component 215b is not limited”).
Ke discloses a recess is formed on the second surface at a position corresponding to the at least one supporting block, the at least one supporting block comprises a bottom wall and a side wall, the bottom wall abuts against the first wall (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” and recess (see annotated FIG. 7d “r” describes recess) & the second surface is the top of 215b).
Ke discloses the side wall is provided with a first hollow-through hole, and the first hollow-through hole is in communication with the recess (see FIG. 7d) & discloses the fluid channel is one or more grooves recessed in the first surface (see [0093] “the pressure relief mechanism 213”; see FIG. 3 describes “24” has a first surface & thickness direction (see annotated “1s” & “2s”) & describes “24” annotated 1s faces “21a first wall”; see FIG. 3 describes holes in “24” which reads on grooves recessed in the first surface (annotated “1s”)).
Regarding the limitation and the fluid channel forms a space for flowing of airflow on a side of the exhaust structure where the first surface is located, Ke discloses (see [0088] “a pressure relief mechanism 213 may also be disposed on a wall of the battery cell 20, such as a first wall 21a shown in FIG. 3”).
Regarding claim 2, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the fluid channel is in communication with an edge of the exhaust structure in a first direction, and the first direction intersects with a thickness direction of the first wall (see annotated FIG. 3 describes “213” is in communication with an edge of “24” & see annotated “1D” in FIG. 3 describes first direction and “1D” intersects with “21a first wall”; see [0093] “pressure relieve mechanism 213” describes the fluid channel).
Regarding the limitation wherein the housing comprises a second wall, Ke discloses in FIG. 3 (see annotated FIG. 3 describes “2w” second wall). Ke discloses a first gap is formed between an outer peripheral surface of the electrode assembly and the second wall (see [0126] describes “gap between the second wall of outermost battery cell 20 and a sidewall of the accommodating cavity 11c”; see annotated FIG. 8a describes “1g” which describes the first gap & “electrical cavity 11a”).
Regarding the limitation and the fluid channel is in communication with the first gap, Ke discloses in [0104] “pressure relief mechanism 213” & see [0156] describes through hole & emissions pass through; see FIG. 8c describes “213 pressure relief mechanism” and communicates with the gap.
Regarding claim 5, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the at least one supporting block is provided integrally with the plate body (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” is a rectangular block & describes “215b” is provided integrally with the plate body “13 isolating component”; see [0125] “a second sealing component 215b is disposed between a side wall of the accommodating cavity 11c and a second wall of the battery cell 20”; see FIG. 3 & see [0092] describes “the battery cell 20 may further include a backing plate 24”).
Regarding claim 6, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the fluid channel is one or more grooves recessed in the first surface (see [0093] “the pressure relief mechanism 213”; see FIG. 3 describes “24” has a first surface & thickness direction (see annotated “1s” & “2s”) & describes “24” annotated 1s faces “21a first wall”; see FIG. 3 describes holes in “24” which reads on grooves recessed in the first surface (annotated “1s”)).
Regarding the limitation and the fluid channel is used for forming a space for flowing of airflow on a side of the exhaust structure where the first surface is located, Ke discloses (see [0088] “a pressure relief mechanism 213 may also be disposed on a wall of the battery cell 20, such as a first wall 21a shown in FIG. 3”).
Regarding claim 7, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the recess extends to an edge of the plate body (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” and recess (see annotated FIG. 7d “r” describes recess extends to an edge of the plate “13”) & see [0100] “the isolating component 13 (or a part thereof) may directly serve as a wall”).
Regarding claim 8, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 6 and further discloses wherein, the fluid channel is in communication with an edge of the plate body in a first direction, the first direction is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the first wall (see FIG. 7d).
Regarding claim 9, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the first wall is provided with a pressure relief mechanism (see [0123] “battery cell 20 may be provided with a pressure relief mechanism 213”; see [008] “a pressure relief mechanism 213 may also be disposed on a wall of the battery cell 20, such as a first wall 21a shown in FIG. 3”) and the first hollow-through hole allows the recess to be in communication with the pressure relief mechanism (see [0092] “one or more through holes may be disposed on the backing plate 24. For example, a plurality of through holes evenly arranged may be provided, or when the pressure relief mechanism 213 is disposed on the bottom wall of the housing 211, a through hole is disposed at a position corresponding to the pressure relief mechanism 213, so as to facilitate the guiding of a liquid and gas”).
Regarding claim 10, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the at least one supporting block comprises an edge supporting block, and the edge supporting block is disposed at an edge of the plate body (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” describes the supporting block & has an edge at the edge of the plate body “13”).
Regarding claim 11, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 10 and further discloses wherein the recess is formed on the second surface at a position corresponding to the edge supporting block, and the recess extends at least to the edge of the plate body in a width direction (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” & recess (see annotated FIG. 7d “r” describes recess) & the second surface is the top of 21b & “r” is on the edge of 215b & FIG. 7b describes “4” extends at least to the edge of the plate body (13) in the width direction).
Regarding claim 12, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 10 and further discloses wherein the edge supporting block is provided with a second hollow-through hole, and the second hollow-through hole penetrates through the edge supporting block along a direction intersecting with the thickness of the first wall (see FIG. 7d describes the side wall of 215b has a second hole & see FIG. 7d describes intersecting hollow-through holes (see annotated FIG. 7d items “1” and “2”)).
Regarding claim 13, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 12 and further discloses wherein the first wall is provided with a pressure relief mechanism (see [0092] “one or more through holes”; see [0123] “battery cell 20 may be provided with a pressure relief mechanism 213”; & see [0088] “a pressure relief mechanism 213 may also be disposed on a wall of the battery cell 20, such as a first wall 21a”), and the second hollow-through hole is disposed opposite to the pressure relief mechanism (see [0092] describes “one or more through holes” on the backing plate 24 & “213” is the pressure relief mechanism and FIG. 3 describes they are opposite).
Regarding claim 14, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the battery cell further comprises a pressure relief mechanism, the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the first wall (see [0092] “pressure relief mechanism 213”; see [0123] “the battery cell 20 may be provided with a pressure relief mechanism 213”; see [0088] “a pressure relief mechanism 213 may also be disposed on a wall of the battery cell 20, such as a first wall 21a shown in FIG.3”; see FIG. 3 describes “213” is on the bottom of “21a first wall”), and the fluid channel is used for allowing airflow in the inner cavity to flow toward the pressure relief mechanism (see [0104] “airflow path formed between the pressure relief mechanism 213 and the wall of the electrical cavity 11a”; see [0088] “the pressure relief mechanism 213 is configured to be actuated with the internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell 20 reaches a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure or temperature”; see [0068] “The pressure relief mechanism on the battery cell has an important impact on the safety of the battery. For example, when short circuit, overcharge and other phenomena occur, it may lead to thermal runaway in the interior of the battery cell, resulting in a sudden increase in pressure or temperature. In this case, the internal pressure and temperature can be released outward through the actuation of the pressure relief mechanism, to prevent the battery cell from exploding and catching fire” which describes to flow toward “213”).
Regarding claim 15, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 14 and further discloses wherein the housing further comprises a second wall, the second wall comprises a second sub-wall opposite to the first wall (see FIG. 3 describes housing “211” & describes second wall “212 cover plate” that is opposite to the first wall “21a”).
Regarding claim 16, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 15 and further discloses wherein the electrode assembly comprises a tab, and the tab faces the second sub-wall (see [0086] describes “electrode assembly 22” has first electrode tab 221a”; see FIG. 3 describes “221a” faces “cover plate 212”).
Regarding claim 17, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 15 and further discloses wherein the second sub-wall is an end cover (see FIG. 3 describes “cover plate 212” and describes “212” is an end cover).
Regarding claim 18, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 1 and further discloses a battery (see abstract “battery”).
Regarding claim 21, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein a thickness of the plate body is H (see FIG. 7d describes “13” thickness is smaller than thickness of 215b”). Ke does not explicitly disclose H is not smaller than 0.05 mm and not greater than 1.0 mm.
Li teaches “cell pallet 50 is seated at a bottom of the housing 10 and has a thickness of 0.3 to 5 mm” (see [0043]).
Li teaches a range of 0.3 to 5 mm, which overlaps with the claimed range of not smaller than 0.05 mm and not greater than 1.0 mm. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al. (US 20230061933 A1, “Ke”) in view of Li et al. (US 20170331090 A1, “Li”) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Pu et al. (US 20220416360 A1, “Pu”), Han et al. (KR 20170069641 A, “Han”), Omura et al. (CN 109417142 A, “Omura”) and Lei et al. (US 20230031476 A1, “Lei”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 3, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 2. Ke does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery cell further comprises an insulating film.
Pu teaches an insulating film (see [0025] describes “battery cell further includes an insulating film for covering the body portion to insulate the body portion from the casing”). Pu teaches “insulating film may insulate the body portion of the casing” & “risk of short circuit is reduced” (see [0026]).
Ke and Pu are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery cells (see title of Pu “battery cell”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the insulting film, as suggested by Pu into the battery cell of Ke because doing so reduces the risk of short circuit, as suggested by Pu (see [0026]).
Regarding the limitation the insulating film is wrapped outside the electrode assembly, and the insulating film is provided with a first through hole, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Pu teaches insulating film wrapped outside the electrode assembly (see [0025] “the battery cell further includes an insulating film for covering the body portion to insulate the body portion from the casing” & “insulating film surrounds an outer side of the insulating part and is connected to the insulating part”). Pu teaches the insulating film is provided with a first through hole (see [0025] “insulating film is provided with a second through hole”). Pu teaches the through hole allows the channel to flow (see [0026] “the second through hole is arranged to bypass the first channel of the insulating part, thereby reducing the area of the first channel blocked by the insulating film and ensuring the exhaust rate”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “through hole”, suggested by Pu into the battery cell of Ke because doing so ensures the exhaust rate, as suggested by Pu (see [0026]).
Regarding the limitation the exhaust structure is disposed between the insulating film and the first wall, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Pu teaches insulating film and pressure relief mechanism (see [0113] “pressure relief mechanism 40 may be arranged on the bottom plate 23” & see FIG. 12 describes “40 pressure relief mechanism” which describes the exhaust structure is on “23 bottom plate” which reads on first wall & FIG. 13 describes “60 insulating film” covers the electrode; FIG. 12 and FIG. 13 describe “40” is between “60” and “23”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the insulating film, as suggested by Pu into the battery cell of Ke because doing so reduces the risk of short circuit, as suggested by Pu (see [0026]).
Regarding the limitation the exhaust structure is provided with a second through hole, and the second through hole is aligned with the first through hole, wherein the second through hole is disposed on the supporting block, Ke does not explicitly disclose the second through hole and the first through hole are aligned.
Han teaches vent holes are aligned (see [0061] describes “first heat dissipation plate 311 includes a vent hole 311a formed in a region corresponding to the safety vent 153” & “first insulating film 311 may also have holes corresponding to the safety vent 153”; see FIG. 3 “311a” & “331a” & see FIG. 4 “153 safety vent” describes they align). Han teaches “heat transferred from the first dissipation plate 311, thereby allowing a heat dissipation function of the unit battery 100 to be performed in [0062].
Ke and Han are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery cells (see Han [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate through holes that align, as suggested by Han (see [0061], FIG. 3 and FIG. 4) into the battery cell of Ke because doing so allows for heat to be dissipated across the dissipation plate 311, as suggested by Han (see [0062]).
Regarding the limitation wherein the supporting block is a hollow structure protruding with respect to the plate body, Ke discloses (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” is a rectangular block & see FIG. 7d describes “215b” is a hollow structure protruding with respect to “43 box lower cover”).
Regarding the limitation the second through hole is disposed on a bottom wall of the supporting block, and the bottom wall of the supporting block abuts against the first wall, Ke discloses (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” describes the supporting block and “43” describes the bottom wall has a second through hole; see [0091] describes “the first wall 21a may be a bottom wall of the battery cell 20”; see FIG. 7d describes “215b” when assembled would abut against the bottom wall “43”; see [0138] “first sealing component 215a and the second sealing component 215b are connected at a position where the first wall and the second wall of the battery cell 20 intersect”).
Regarding the limitation the battery cell further comprises an insulating sheet, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Han teaches an insulating sheet (see [0069] “second insulating film 332 may be interposed between the second heat dissipation plate 321 and the case 140. The second insulating film 332 may be bent and extended from the first insulating film “331” & insulating film reads on insulating sheet). Han teaches insulating prevents short circuit (see [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate insulating film suggested by Han (see [0069]) into the battery cell of Ke because doing so would prevent short circuit of the battery, as suggested by Han (see [0053]).
Regarding the limitation the insulating sheet comprises a first portion, and the first portion is disposed at least partially on a side of the exhaust structure distal to the electrode assembly, and covers the second through hole, wherein the first portion is attached at an opening of the second through hole, in the width direction of the plate body, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Omura teaches insulating sheet (see [0124] describes “cover member 408 included in the battery module 401 includes a second bent portion 74 that extends along the distal end surface 68a of the first bent portion 68 included in the support portion 54 and abuts against the front end surface 68a” which describes the insulating sheet (“408a cover member” in FIG. 15) is attached to a first portion (“68a first bending portion” in FIG. 15) and “68a” is on a side). Omura teaches in [0125] “This further increases the contact area between the cover member 408 and the battery stack 2, and further suppresses the intrusion of dust and the like into the space between the battery stack 2 and the cover member 408”.
Regarding the limitation and covers the second through hole, Omura teaches insulating sheet covers hole (see [0125] “cover member 408 facing the battery stack 2” & “cover member 408 and the battery stack 2 and further suppresses the intrusion of dust and the like into the space between the battery stack 2 and the cover member 408”; see FIG. 15 describes 52 overlaps 408a & 52 covers hole; see FIG. 6 describes “76 through hole of wall part 14b”).
Regarding the limitation wherein the first portion is attached at an opening of the second through hole, in the width direction of the plate body, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Omura teaches a first portion (see [0124] “second bending portion 74” in FIG. 15 and see “76 through hole of wall part 14b” in FIG.6 describes they are attached).
Ke and Omura are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries (see Omura [0045] “battery”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “cover member 408” & “distal end surface 68a”, as suggested by Omura (see [0124] & FIG. 15) into the battery cell of Ke because doing so “suppresses the intrusion of dust and the like into the space”, as suggested by Omura (see [0125]).
Regarding the limitation the first portion is at a preset distance from at least one edge of the plate body in the width direction, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Omura teaches a first portion (“second bending portion 74”) in FIG. 15 & describes “74” is a distance from the edge & FIG. 15 describes “74” is at a preset distance.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “preset distance” because during manufacture of the battery cell, the “second bending portion 74”, as suggested by Omura would have a preset distance.
Regarding the limitation in the width direction of the plate body, the at least one supporting block is at a preset distance from at least one edge of the plate body in the width direction, Ke discloses (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” is a rectangular block; see FIG. 7d describes “215b” is hollow structure protruding with respect to “43 box lower cover” & upon manufacturing the structure would have a preset distance).
Regarding the limitation the insulating film is folded to wrap the electrode assembly, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Pu teaches insulating film (see [0025] “insulating film for covering the body portion to insulate the body portion from the casing” & “surrounds an outer side of the insulating part”; see FIG. 13 describes “60” & see [0169] describes “insulating film 60 for covering the body portion 16 to insulate the body portion from the casing”). Pu teaches “to reduce the risk of short circuit” in [0171].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate insulating film, suggested by Pu (see [0025] & [0169]) into the battery cell of Ke because doing so reduces the risk of short circuit, as suggested by Pu (see [0171]).
Regarding the limitation and forms a first folded edge and a second folded edge overlapping each other at a side of the electrode assembly, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Lei teaches overlapping insulating film (see annotated FIG. 20 describes 50 overlaps and has two folded edges that overlap at a side (annotated “1” describes a first folded edge and annotated “2” describes a second folded edge)).
Lei teaches in FIG. 21 “502” overlaps on the side of the electrode assembly & in [0152] “insulating film 50 is configure to wrap a portion of the electrode assembly 10 and separate the electrode assembly 10 and the housing 21” & see [0153] describes “gas generated in the electrode assembly 10 wrapped by the insulating film 50 can be connected to the first intermediate flow channel 215 through the second through hole 5011” & “improve the exhaust efficiency”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate insulating film overlapping on the side edge, as suggested by Lei (see FIG. 20, FIG. 21 & [0152-0153]) into the battery cell of Ke because doing so allows for the flow to be controlled and connected to the through hole & “improve the exhaust efficiency”, as suggested by Lei (see [0153]).
Regarding the limitation the insulating sheet further comprises a second portion, the second portion is connected to the first portion, and the second portion fixes the first folded edge and the second folded edge, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Omura teaches insulating sheet (“cover member 408” in [0125]) and describes “cover member 408 and the battery stack 2, and further suppresses the intrusion of dust and the like into the space between the battery stack 2 and the cover member 408” in [0125]. FIG. 15 describes “52 fastening member” overlaps “408a” & “52” covers hole. Omura teaches “fastening member 52 is a member for fixing the battery stack 2 and the cover member 8” in [0051] and “52” describes the second portion.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Omura to include “fastening member 52” and “cover member 408” in to the battery cell of Ke because doing so “suppresses the intrusion of dust”, as suggested by Omura.
Regarding the limitation the at least one supporting block, the plate body, and the insulating film are connected, Ke discloses a supporting block (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” is a rectangular block. Ke discloses the plate body (see [0092] “backing plate 24”). Ke does not explicitly disclose insulating film.
Li teaches supporting block connected to insulating film (see FIG. 4 describes “cell pallet 50” is set between the insulating film 50 and the housing 10, so as to support the bare cell 30 and the insulating film 40 as well as effectively prevent the insulating film 40 and the housing 10 from interfering with the rounded corners of the bottom of the housing 10”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the supporting block connected to the insulating film, as suggested by Li (see FIG. 4 and [0043]) into the battery cell of Ke because doing so supports the cell, as suggested by Li (see [0043]).
Regarding the limitation and the second through hole penetrates through the at least one supporting block and the plate body, Ke discloses in FIG. 7d “215b” which describes the supporting block and “43” describes the plate body has a second through hole; see [0091] “the first wall 21a may be a bottom wall of the battery cell 20”; see [0128] describes “first sealing component 215a and the second sealing component 215b are provided, and the airflow path”; see [0126] “215a may have a through hole”; see [0092] describes backing plate 24 & “backing plate 24 is located between the electrode assembly 22 and a bottom wall of the housing 211” & see FIG. 3 describes “24” has holes.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al. (US 20230061933 A1, “Ke”) in view of Li et al. (US 20170331090 A1, “Li”), Pu et al. (US 20220416360 A1, “Pu”), Han et al. (KR 20170069641 A, “Han”), Omura et al. (CN 109417142 A, “Omura”) and Lei et al. (US 20230031476 A1, “Lei”) as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Marchio et al. (US 20120129024 A1, “Marchio”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 4, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 3 and further discloses the plate body (see FIG. 3 “24 backing plate” has holes). Ke does not explicitly disclose wherein a center of the second through hole is disposed on one side of a center line of the plate body in a length direction of the plate body; a center of the second through hole is disposed on one side of a center line of the plate body in the width direction of the plate body.
Marchio teaches holes off center line (see [0047] describes “vent channel assembly 40” & “vent channel assembly 40 routes gas released from the cells away from the battery pack”). Marchio teaches in FIG. 5 the holes are disposed on one side of a center line of the plate body in the length direction of the plate body & in [0047] describes cell and housing.
Ke and Marchio are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely cell and housing (see Marchio [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate holes off center line as suggested by Marchio (see FIG. 5 & [0047]) into the battery cell of Ke because doing so allows for the gas to be release from the cells away from the battery pack as suggested by Marchio (see [0047]).
Regarding the limitation the exhaust structure comprises a plurality of second through holes, the plurality of second through holes are disposed on both sides of the center line of the plate body in the length direction of the plate body, and the exhaust structure comprises a plurality of second through holes, the plurality of second through holes are disposed on both sides of the center line of the plate body in the width direction, Ke discloses (see FIG. 3 & see [0092] “the battery cell 20 may further include a backing plate 24” & “one or more through holes may be disposed on the backing plate 24”).
Regarding the limitation and the plurality of second through holes are asymmetric with respect to the center line of the plate body in the length direction, and the plurality of second through holes are asymmetric with respect to the center line of the plate body in the width direction, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Huang teaches plurality of holes at intervals around the first hole (see [0008]). Huang teaches in [0009] “plurality of the second through holes are provided around the first through hole, the portion of the edge part is embedded into the plurality of second through holes, and the edge part of the gas permeable membrane can be firmly connected to the fixing member, so that when the gas permeable membrane is installed on the cover plate by the fixing member, the gas permeable membrane is not prone to separate from the cover plate”; see [0101] “A length direction of the cover plate 41 extends along the X direction, a width direction extends along the Y direction” which describes directions.
Ke and Huang are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries & cover assembly (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate plurality of holes at intervals as suggested by Huang into the battery cell of Ke because doing so prevents the membrane from separating from the plate upon installation, as suggested by Huang (see [0009]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al. (US 20230061933 A1, “Ke”) in view of Li et al. (US 20170331090 A1, “Li”) and in further view of Zeng et al. (US 20220021068 A1, “Zeng”).
Regarding claim 19, Ke discloses a battery cell, wherein the battery cell comprises: a housing, having an inner cavity and having a first wall; an electrode assembly, disposed in the inner cavity (see abstract “battery cell”; see [0084] “housing 211”; see [0084] describes “housing 211 has an opening, so that the one or more electrode assemblies 22 may be placed in the housing 211” which describes inner cavity; see [0088] describes “first wall 21a”; see FIG. 3 & [0086] describes “electrode assembly 22” and describes it in the inner cavity); and an exhaust structure, disposed between the first wall and the electrode assembly and provided with a fluid channel (see FIG. 3 & [0092] “backing plate 24 is located between the electrode assembly 22 and a bottom wall of the housing 211” & describes “pressure relief mechanism 213” & “gas generated inside the battery cell 20 and the electrolytic solution can freely pass through the backing plate 24” which describes a fluid channel; FIG 3 describes the exhaust structure “backing plate 24” is between the first wall “21a” and the electrode assembly “22” within the inner cavity of the housing & FIG. 3 describes inner cavity of housing “211” upon assembly and “213” describes a fluid channel), wherein the exhaust structure comprises a plate body (see FIG. 3 & see [0092] “the battery cell 20 may further include a backing plate 24”), the plate body has a first surface facing the first wall and a second surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the plate body (see FIG. 3 describes “24” has a first surface & thickness direction (see annotated “1s” & “2s”) & describes “24” annotated 1s faces “21a” first wall).
Regarding the limitations the plate body comprises a plurality of supporting blocks, each one of the plurality of supporting blocks is a cylinder protruding from the first surface and disposed between the first surface of the plate body and the first wall, the fluid channel is formed between the plurality of supporting blocks, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Li teaches location of the supporting block and the plate body (see FIG. 4 & [0043] describes “cell pallet 50 is set between the insulating film 40 and the housing 10, so as to support the bare cell 30 and the insulating film 40 as well as effectively prevent the insulating film 40 and the housing 10 from interfering with the rounded corners of the bottom of the housing 10”). Li teaches the location of the supporting block “50 cell pallet” is between the plate body “12 bottom surface” & “insulating film “40” in FIG. 2. Li teaches “50” is fixed to “12” upon assembly & protrudes up from “12” & is between the first surface “12” & the first wall “10” as shown in FIG. 2. Li teaches a fluid channel is formed around the supporting block (see [0044] “cell pallet 50 is provided with a first through-hole 52 aligned with the explosion proof valve 14 of the housing 10 to facilitate explosion proof exhaust” which reads on fluid channel.
Ke and Li are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries (see Li abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “cell pallet 50 is set between the insulating film 40 and the housing 10” as suggested by Li into the battery cell of Ke because doing so supports the cell as suggested by Li (see [0043]) & facilitates explosion proof exhaust, as suggested by Li (see [0043]).
Regarding the limitation the plate body is provided with a plurality of vias, Ke discloses (see FIG. 3 describes “24” has holes with reads on vias), each one of the plurality of vias penetrates through the plate body along the thickness direction of the plate body in communication with the fluid channel (see FIG. 3 describes the holes in “24” in thickness direction & communicate with fluid channel & “pressure relief mechanism 213”), the plurality of vias is arranged in an at least partially staggered manner relative to the plurality of supporting blocks (see FIG. 3 describes holes in “24” are arranged in an at least partially staggered manner & FIG. 7d describes “215b” which reads on supporting block and holes in “13” are partially staggered relative to “215b”).
Regarding the limitation each one of the plurality of supporting blocks is a cylinder, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Zeng teaches supporting block is a cylinder (see FIG. 25 “13 thermal management component” & “134b bottom avoidance wall” reads on a cylinder). Zeng teaches in [0141] “In order to enable the emissions to pass through the thermal management component 13 smoothly, the thermal management component 13 may be provided with a through hole or a relief mechanism at the position opposite to the pressure relief mechanism 213. For example, in some embodiments, a relief mechanism may be provided on the bottom avoidance wall 134b, that is, on the second thermally conductive plate 132.”.
Ke and Zeng are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries (see Zeng title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate supporting blocks is a cylinder, as suggested by Zeng because doing so allows for emissions to pass through smoothly, as suggested by Zeng (see [0141]).
Regarding the limitation wherein a thickness of the plate body is smaller than a thickness of each one of the plurality of supporting blocks, Ke discloses (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” & “13 isolating component” & “13” thickness is smaller than thickness of “215b” & see [0124] “height of the second sealing component 215b is not limited”).
Ke discloses a recess is formed on the second surface at a position corresponding to the supporting block, each one of the plurality of supporting block comprises a bottom wall and a side wall, the bottom wall abuts against the first wall (see FIG. 7d describes “215b” and recess (see annotated FIG. 7d “r” describes recess) & the second surface is the top of 215b).
Ke discloses the side wall is provided with a first hollow-through hole, and the first hollow-thorough hole, and the first hollow-through hole is in communication with the recess (see FIG. 7d) & discloses the fluid channel is one or more grooves recessed in the first surface (see [0093] “the pressure relief mechanism 213”; see FIG. 3 describes “24” has a first surface & thickness direction (see annotated “1s” & “2s”) & describes “24” annotated 1s faces “21a first wall”; see FIG. 3 describes holes in “24” which reads on grooves recessed in the first surface (annotated “1s”)).
Regarding the limitation and the fluid channel is used for forming a space for flowing of airflow on a side of the exhaust structure where the first surface is located, Ke discloses (see [0088] “a pressure relief mechanism 213 may also be disposed on a wall of the battery cell 20, such as a first wall 21a shown in FIG. 3”).
Regarding claim 20, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 19 and further discloses wherein the plurality of supporting blocks are arranged in an array (see FIG. 7b describes “215b” are arranged in an array); the plate body is provided with a plurality of vias (see FIG. 3 describes “24” is provided with holes), each one of the plurality of vias penetrates through the plate body along the thickness direction of the plate body in communication with the fluid channel (see FIG. 3describes the holes in “24” in thickness direction & communicate with fluid channel & “pressure relief mechanism 213”), the plurality of supporting blocks are arranged in columns along a width direction of the plate body (see FIG. 7d), the plurality of vias is arranged in an at least partially staggered manner relative to the plurality of supporting blocks (see FIG. 3 describes holes in “24” are arranged in an at least partially staggered manner & in FIG. 7d “215b” reads on supporting block and holes in “13” are partially staggered relative to “215b”), and each one of the plurality of vias is disposed between two adjacent columns of supporting blocks (see FIG. 7d).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al. (US 20230061933 A1, “Ke”) in view of Li et al. (US 20170331090 A1, “Li”) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Yoon et al. (US 20060286450 A1, “Yoon”), and Shaffer et al. (US 20210143514 A1, “Shaffer”).
Regarding claim 22, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 21. Ke does not explicitly disclose wherein a thickness H0 of the supporting block is not smaller than 0.1 mm and not greater than 5 mm.
Yoon teaches in [0017] “predetermined thickness” & “Preferably, the molding part has a thickness greater than that of the battery cell. In the case that the thickness of the molding part is greater than that of the battery cell, as described above, batteries can be stably stacked one on another while the batteries are spaced a predetermined distance from each other due to the molding part. As a result, a shock-absorbing region for accepting the change in thickness of the battery cell during the charge and discharge of the battery is formed, and, furthermore, a coolant flow channel for removing heat generated from the battery cell during the charge and discharge of the battery is formed” & see [0022] “the molding part may be provided with at least one depression having relatively small thickness”.
Shaffer teaches in [0052] “The channels may be spread out evenly through the stack to better handle the stresses. The plurality of channels may have a cross-sectional size of about 2 mm or greater”.
Ke and Shaffer are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries (see abstract) & “gasses evolved during operation” (see Shaffer [0052] & [0048]).
The specification of the instant invention in [0288] describes the thickness of the supporting block is equivalent to the fluid channel thickness.
Shaffer teaches a range of 2 mm or greater, which overlaps with the claimed range of not smaller than 0.1 mm and not greater than 5 mm. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cross-sectional size of about 2mm for the channel as suggested by Shaffer (see [0052]) would result in a thickness of the supporting block within the claimed range because the specification of the instant invention provides evidence that the thickness of the supporting block is equivalent to the thickness of the fluid channel (see [0288]) and doing so “better handle[s] the stresses”, as suggested by Shaffer (see [0052]).
Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al. (US 20230061933 A1, “Ke”) in view of Li et al. (US 20170331090 A1, “Li”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shaffer et al. (US 20210143514 A1, “Shaffer”).
Regarding claim 23, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the at least one supporting block has a shape of a long strip (see FIG. 7d), a length direction of the supporting block is parallel to a length direction of the plate body (see FIG. 7d), a length of the plate body, and a length of the supporting block (see FIG. 7d escribes “215b” & “13” and upon assembly has a length). Ke does not explicitly disclose L0 nor L1 nor L1 is not smaller than 0.25L0.
Shaffer teaches “one or more rib structures may have a length about less than…a length or width of a base of the end plate” & “about 50% or less of an area of a surface of the base may include one or more rib structures” in [0059] & describes in [0058] “An internal reinforcement structure may include one or more rib structures. The one or more rib structures may function to distribute one or more deformation loads throughout an end plate, providing light weight reinforcement to a base of an end plate”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate rib structure as suggested by Shaffer & “may have a length about less than… a length or width of a base of the end plate” & “about 50% or less of an area of a surface of the base may include one or more rib structures” as suggested by Shaffer (see [0059]) reads on a range that overlaps L1 is not smaller than 0.25L0 as required by the claim. Doing so “distribute[s] one or more deformation loads throughout an end plate, providing light weight reinforcement to a base of an end plate”, as suggested by Shaffer (see [0058]).
Regarding claim 24, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 23 and further discloses wherein in a width direction of the plate body, a width of the plate body is A0 (see FIG. 7d describes “13” has a width). Ke does not explicitly disclose a total width of the at least one supporting block is not smaller than 0.2A0 and not greater than 0.8 A0.
Shaffer teaches in [0059] “The one or more rib structures may have a height, a width, and a thickness” & “One or more rib structures may have a length about less than, equal to, or greater than a length or width of a base of the end plate.” & describes “about 50% or less of an area of a surface of the base may include one or more rib structures”. Shaffer teaches in [0058] “An internal reinforcement structure may include one or more rib structures. The one or more rib structures may function to distribute one or more deformation loads throughout an end plate, providing light weight reinforcement to a base of an end plate”.
Li teaches “cell pallet 50 is seated at a bottom of the housing 10” in [0043] & describes “so as to increase the exhaust area”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate rib structure as suggested by Shaffer & “may have a length about less than… a length or width of a base of the end plate” & “about 50% or less of an area of a surface of the base may include one or more rib structures” as suggested by Shaffer (see [0059]) reads on a range that overlaps 0.2A0 and not greater than 0.8A0 as required by the claim. Doing so “distribute[s] one or more deformation loads throughout an end plate, providing light weight reinforcement to a base of an end plate”, as suggested by Shaffer (see [0058]) & further doing so increases the exhaust area as suggested by Li (see [0046]).
Regarding claim 25, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein a plurality of supporting blocks are provided, the plate body and the plurality of supporting blocks are projected in a plane parallel to the first surface (see FIG. 7d), a total width of the plate body in a width direction of the plate body (see FIG. 7d), a distance in the width direction between a supporting block located at an edge of the plate body and an edge of the plate body (see FIG. 7d), a width of each supporting block in the width direction, a distance between opposite end surface of two adjacent supporting blocks in the width direction, and a distance between surface of two supporting blocks facing away from each other in the width direction (see FIG. 7d). Ke does not explicitly disclose values for A1, A2, A3, nor A4, nor wherein A1 is not smaller than 0.5mm and not greater than 300 mm, A2 is not smaller than 0.5 mm and not greater than 300 mm, A3 is not smaller than 0.5 mm and not greater than 300 mm, and A4 is not smaller than 1mm and not greater than 300 mm.
Shaffer teaches in [0059] “One or more rib structures may have a length about less than, equal to, or greater than a length or width of a base of the end plate” & “One or more rib structures may have a length of about 1 mm” & “One or more rib structures may have a length of about 300 mm or less” & in [0058] “An internal reinforcement structure may include one or more rib structures. The one or more rib structures may function to distribute one or more deformation loads throughout an end plate, providing light weight reinforcement to a base of an end plate”.
Regarding the limitations of A1, A2 and A3, Shaffer teaches a range of 1 mm and 300 mm or less, which lies within the claimed range of not smaller than 0.5 mm and not greater than 300mm. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Regarding the limitation and A4 is not smaller than 1mm and not greater than 300 mm, Shaffer teaches a range of 1 mm and 300 mm or less, which overlaps the claimed range of not smaller than 1 mm and not greater than 300mm. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “1mm” & 300 mm or less” as suggested by Shaffer into the battery cell of Ke because doing so “distribute[s] one or more deformation loads through an end plate, providing light weight reinforcement to a base of an end plate”, as suggested by Shaffer (see [0058]).
Regarding claim 26, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 25. Ke does not explicitly disclose wherein A4 is not greater than A0, a difference between A0 and A4 is greater than 0 and not greater than 50mm.
Shaffer teaches “one or more rib structures may have a length about less than, equal to, or greater than a length or width of a base of the end plate” & “one or more rib structures may have a length of about 1mm” & “one or more rib structures may have a length of about 300 mm or less” (see [0059]) & Shaffer teaches “an internal reinforcement structure may include one or more rib structures. The one or more rib structures may function to distribute one or more deformation loads throughout an end plate, providing light weight reinforcement to a base of an end plate” (see [0058]) & describes “internal reinforcement structures may include one or more rib structures” (see [0057]). Shaffer teaches FIG. 1 “10” & “16”.
Therefore, a skilled artisan would recognize before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “internal reinforcement structures may include one or more rib structures” as suggested by Shaffer (see [0057]) & see FIG. 1 “16 reinforcement rib” & “10 end plate” describes A4 is not greater than A0 into the battery cell of Ke because doing so “distribute[s] one or more deformation loads through an end plate, providing light weight reinforcement to a base of an end plate”, as suggested by Shaffer (see [0058]). Regarding the limitation a difference between A0 and A4 is greater than 0 and not greater than 50 mm, Ke does not explicitly disclose.
Shaffer teaches “one or more rib structures may have a length of about 1m” (see [0059]) which lies within the claimed range of greater than 0 and not greater than 50mm.
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al. (US 20230061933 A1, “Ke”) in view of Li et al. (US 20170331090 A1, “Li”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zeng et al. (US 20220021068 A1, “Zeng”).
Regarding claim 27, and claim 28, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first hollow-through hole penetrates through the side wall, one end of the first hollow-through hole is in communication with the recess, another end of the first hollow-through hole is in communication with the fluid channel, and the first hollow-through hole is configured to allow airflow in the recess to flow toward the fluid channel, nor wherein the first hollow-through hole is disposed parallel to the first surface of the plate body to the first surface of the plate body, and the first hollow-through hole is a straight hole.
Zeng teaches through hole through a side wall (see FIG. 38 describes “2111 first opening” which is a through hole & penetrates through the side wall “21b second wall”) & teaches “in this way, only one aperture needs to be processed at the intersection position of two adjacent walls of the battery cell 20, which is convenient for processing” (see [0216]).
Ke and Zeng are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries (see Zeng title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “2111 first opening” as suggested by Zeng (see FIG. 38) into the battery cell of Ke because doing so makes it convenient for processing, as suggested by Zeng (see [0216]).
Regarding claim 29, Ke discloses the battery cell of claim 27 and further discloses wherein the first wall is provided with a pressure relief mechanism, the fluid channel is in communication with the pressure relief mechanism (see [0088] & FIG. 3 & [0089]), and the recess is in communication with at least one of an edge in a length direction of the plate body and an edge in a width direction of the plate body (see FIG. 7d describes 215b and recess). Ke does not explicitly disclose such that airflow at the edge of the plate body is allowed to flow toward the pressure relief mechanism along the recess, the first hollow-through hole, and the fluid channel.
Zeng teaches through hole through a side wall (see FIG. 38 describes “2111 first opening” which is a through hole & penetrates through the side wall “21b second wall”) & teaches “in this way, only one aperture needs to be processed at the intersection position of two adjacent walls of the battery cell 20, which is convenient for processing” (see [0216]).
Ke and Zeng are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries (see Zeng title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “2111 first opening” as suggested by Zeng (see FIG. 38) into the battery cell of Ke because doing so makes it convenient for processing, as suggested by Zeng (see [0216]). A skilled artisan would recognize incorporating the first opening suggested by Zeng (see FIG. 38) allows for the airflow to flow along the recess disclosed by Ke (see FIG. 7d).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s arguments on P12 “Ke fails to teach or suggest the claimed battery cell” & “Ke does not teach or suggest that the sealing component 215b or isolating component 13 is fixed to backing plate 24 and protrudes from a first surface of backing plate 24 facing the first wall” is persuasive because Ke discloses “24” in FIG. 3 which reads on plate body & FIG. 7d describes “215b” reads on supporting block because [0100] of Ke discloses the battery may further include an isolating component “13” & in [0127] discloses the battery may further include the sealing component “215b” in FIG. 7d & describes in [0217] “the battery 100 may include the first sealing component 215a and the second sealing component 215b, that is, the first sealing component 215a may be disposed between the first wall of the battery cell 20 provided with the pressure relief mechanism 213 and the isolating component 13, and the first sealing component 215a may have a through hole at the position corresponding to the pressure relief mechanism 213, and when the pressure relief mechanism 213 is actuated, the emissions pass through the through hole and the isolating component 13 and enter the collecting cavity 11b.” & FIG. 8c describes “213” is above “215a”.
However, Li teaches the location of the supporting block “50 cell pallet” is between the plate body “12 bottom surface” & “insulating film “40” in FIG. 2
Ke and Li are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries (see Li abstract).
In response to Applicant’s arguments on P12 par 1 & par 2, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to Applicant’s arguments on P12 par 2, are not persuasive because Li teaches the newly added features. In Response to Applicant’s arguments on P12 par 3 “Li does not cure these deficiencies… Li does not teach or suggest a supporting block having a bottom wall abutting against a first wall and a side wall provided with a first hollow-through hole that communicates with a recess on a second surface of the plate body. Thus, Li does not teach the claimed recess/first hollow-though-hole/groove airflow path” is unpersuasive because Li teaches in FIG. 2 describes the supporting block “50” & when assembled is fixed to a plate body and protrudes from a first surface of the plate body & has a bottom wall abutting against the first wall and a side wall provided with a first hollow-through hole “52” & FIG. 5 describes “52” in “50”.
Applicant’s arguments, see P13, filed 06/17/2026, with respect to claim 19 & regarding Lee about the teaching of cylindrical structures & “Lee’s receiving part 212A/212B is not a supporting block of an exhaust structure” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 19 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference Zeng et al. (US 20220021068 A1).
In response to Applicant’s arguments on P13 regarding claims 23-26 regarding Shaffer & “they are not airflow-guiding supporting blocks of an exhaust structure, and therefore are unrelated to the claimed supporting blocks”, are unpersuasive because Ke and Shaffer are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries (see abstract) & “gasses evolved during operation” (see Shaffer [0052] & [0048]).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on P14 “regarding new claims 27-29, the cited references do not teach or suggest the additional features recited” is unpersuasive because Ke in view of newly applied reference Zeng teaches the claimed features of newly added claims 27-29.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 08/21/2026