DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12364501. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application and patent claim a method of online testing of an efficiency or a treatment efficacy of an ultrasonic transducer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 18-20 it is not clear how an impulse is applied to the transducer, and what the steps are for applying an impulse to the transducer, is it an electrical signal that's an impulse or some other means. Furthermore, the steps of measuring the response are also not clearly defined, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 b as being anticipated by U. S. Publication No. 2008/0221448 to Khuri-Yakub et al. (Khuri)
Regarding Claim 1, Khuri teaches a dual-use dual use ultrasonic transducer device for combined sensing and power transmission, the power transmission being for tissue ablation, comprising: a first piezoelectric transducer sized for placement in a body lumen (abstract and fig. 1 teaches a dual use ultrasound inside a blood vessel for imaging and hifu treatment); a power unit enabling an ultrasonic power beam for tissue ablation in a tissue ablation region (para 011 and 029 teaches a power for hifu treatment); and a sensing unit enabling an ultrasonic sensing beam for sensing at said tissue ablation region (abstract and para 0031 teaches imaging he treatment area after hifu treatment).
Regarding Claim 2, Khuri teaches that the ultrasonic power beam and the ultrasonic sensing beam are enabled through the first piezoelectric transducer (para 032 teaches the transducers are piezoelectric transducers).
Regarding Claim 3 and 4, Khuri teaches comprising: a catheter for supporting the first piezoelectric transducer (abstract and fig. 1 and claim 1 teaches a catheter to support the transducers, and all ultrasounic systems have a control processor for imaging/therapy).
Regarding Claim 5, Khuri teaches that the control system is configured to cause the power unit to output the ultrasonic power beam in bursts with a gap between each burst and cause the sensing unit to output the ultrasonic sensing beam during the gap (para 11 teaches high frequency output).
Regarding Claim 6, Khuri teaches that the control system is configured to determine a distance between the first piezoelectric transducer and a wall of a vessel based on reflected signals sensed by the sensing unit (fig. 1 and 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Khuri teaches that the control system continuously tests an efficiency of the first piezoelectric transducer during a treatment procedure in which one or both of the ultrasonic power beam and the ultrasonic sensing beam are emitted (abstract and fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Khuri teaches that the control system is configured to monitor a treatment with the ultrasonic power beam during a treatment procedure by identifying changes in echo signals over time during the treatment procedure (para 025, 027 and claim 11).
Regarding Claim 9, Khuri teaches that the control system is configured to map tissue treated with the ultrasonic power beam (claims 1 and 11).
Regarding Claim 10, Khuri teaches that the first piezoelectric transducer is configured to provide the power transmission as a non-focused beam (abstract and claim 1 teaches imaging transducer which is is a non focused beam).
Regarding Claim 11, Khuri teaches that the first piezoelectric transducer comprises a first surface from which the ultrasonic sensing beam is emitted and a second surface from which the ultrasonic power beam is emitted (figs. 1 and 5 teaches multiple surfaces for emitting ultrasound).
Regarding Claim 12, Khuri teaches that the ultrasonic power beam is configured to provide a thermal effect to tissue and the ultrasonic sensing beam is configured to provide imaging of the thermal effect (abstract and claim 1 teaches HIFU ultrasonic therapy which cause tissue heating).
Regarding Claim 13, Khuri teaches that the sensing unit is configured to detect reflected signals from the ultrasonic sensing beam (abstract and claims 1 and 11 teaches sensing unit for detecting ultrasound signals to generate image).
Regarding Claim 14, Khuri teaches a method of using an ultrasonic transducer for simultaneous heating and monitoring of a target, the method comprising: providing a first ultrasonic transmission in bursts for heating a target site , with a gap between each burst (abstract and fig. 1 teaches a dual use ultrasound inside a blood vessel for imaging and hifu treatment); and providing a second ultrasonic transmission during each gap for monitoring the target, wherein the second ultrasonic transmission has a lower power level than a power level of the first ultrasonic transmission (abstract and para 0031 teaches imaging the treatment area after hifu treatment).
Regarding Claim 15, Khuri teaches comprising: using a surface of a piezoelectric transducer to produce the first ultrasonic transmission and the second ultrasonic transmission.
Regarding Claim 16, Khuri teaches that the surface comprises a first damping region having a first damping level and a second damping region having a second damping level that is less than the first damping level, the method comprising using the first damping region for monitoring the target and the second damping region for heating the target (abstract and claims 1 and 11 teaches imaging the treatment area after hifu treatment, where in the imaging transducer and the hifu transducers both have a damping region).
Regarding Claim 17, Khuri teaches comprising placing the ultrasonic transducer in a body lumen and carrying out the heating of the target and the measuring of the target while the ultrasonic transducer is in the body lumen (abstract and para 0031 teaches imaging the treatment area after hifu treatment; figs. 1 and 5 teaches the catheter is within the lumen for imaging and hifu therapy).
Conclusion
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798