DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schulz (US PG-pub 2020/0224817).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Schulz teaches an outer pipe 118 (fig. 2) and an inner pipe (best seen as 102) within the outer pipe, the inner pipe distanced from the outer pipe to provide a space, the space (best seen as 126) evacuated to define a vacuum; an annular wall (portion 120) extending inwardly from the outer pipe and defining an aperture (nearest line portion 104) about a central axis, the annular wall defining a closed end of the space; a first connector 106, 110 connected to the inner pipe; and a second connector 108 extending through the aperture and connected to the first connector, wherein the first connector and the second connector are each hollow and connected such that the inner pipe is in fluid communication with the second connector through the aperture; wherein the second connector is connected in an interference fit with the first connector (the connector means is an interference fit with couplings 106 and 108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz(US PG-pub 2020/0224817), as applied to claims 1 and 3, above, in view of Fullner (US PG-pub 2020/0224817).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Schulz teaches essentially all claimed features, but fails to disclose an aircraft comprising: the aircraft fuel system.
Fullner teaches an inner connector 48 (fig. 1) and outer connector 50 included in an aircraft fuel system, for the purpose of permitting high pressure fluid to travel from side to side (para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to employ in Schulz the combination of the pipe assembly an aircraft comprising: the aircraft fuel system, for the purpose of permitting high pressure fluid to travel from side to side.
Claims 14-17 are allowed.
Claims 2 and 4-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Schulz fails to disclose (claim 2) wherein the first connector and the second connector comprise reciprocal threaded portions connecting the first connector to the second connector; (claim 4) wherein one of the first connector and the second connector comprises a material with a higher coefficient of thermal expansion than the other of the first connector and the second connector, and wherein the one of the first connector and the second connector with the material with the higher coefficient of thermal expansion forms an interference fit with the other of the first connector and the second connector; (claim 5) wherein the annular wall comprises a ring extending around the aperture, and wherein the first connector comprises a head engaged with the ring such that an opening of the first connector is aligned with the aperture along a common central axis; (claim 9) wherein the fluid handling component comprises a component connector and a fluid carrying portion, wherein the outer pipe comprises an outer connector connected to the component connector of the fluid handling component, and wherein the second connector is fluidically coupled to the fluid carrying portion; (claim 14) the method steps including passing at least a part of the second hollow connector through the aperture from an opposite side of the annular wall to the first connector.
Conclusion
/P. MACADE NICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753