DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azevedo (A Novel Methodology for Developing Troubleshooting Chatbots Applied to ATM Technical Maintenance Support) in view of HIROSE (JP 2024009055 A) ) and (JP 6495749 B2).
Re Claim 1: Azevedo discloses a method of assisting a management operation of a money handling machine (page 1: automated teller machines (ATMs)), the method comprising:
receiving, by a computer (page 3: The Google Dialogflow CX (Customer Experience) framework, a platform utilized for the development of AI-powered chatbots), an instruction related to the management operation for a money handling machine from an operator (page 14: User initiates the conversation);
performing, by the computer, natural language processing on the received instruction (page 14: Agent comprehends user input: The agent employs natural language understanding (NLU) to identify the user’s intent and extract relevant entities from the input provided.),
generating, by the computer, a response related to the received instruction by executing a chatbot program as the natural language processing in response to the received instruction during a chatbot session with the chatbot program;
outputting, by the computer, the response to the operator (page 3: AI-powered chatbots);
generating, by the computer, an operation command corresponding to the received instruction (page 14: Agent determines the next action: Using the identified intent and entities, and drawing from its knowledge base (Table 3), the agent leverages its trained machine learning models and conversational transition rules to determine the appropriate next course of action in response to the user’s input.), the operation command being a machine-executable command executed by the money handling machine;
outputting, by the computer, the operation command to an entity (page12-13: we can send images or videos from complex maintenance in the payload.).
However, Azevedo does not disclose that the response being generated according to an operation level of the operator.
JP 6495749 B2 however discloses that the response being generated according to an operation level of the operator (It is determined from the rank information included in the queue output information having the ID whether or not the operator's authority is a predetermined administrator authority (step Sc9: rank determination means). As a result of this determination, if it is determined that the user has the predetermined administrator authority (step Sc9: Yes), all the unprocessed queue output information stored in the cash management device storage unit 67 is displayed in the cash management device display unit 58. (Step Sc10)., On the other hand, when the authority of the operator is not the administrator authority (step Sc9: No), the cash management apparatus control unit 66 operates the operator among the queue output information stored in the cash management apparatus storage unit 67. Only the unprocessed queue output information including the user ID is limitedly displayed on the cash management apparatus display unit 58 (step Sc11). Examiner: This discloses the literal requirement of generating a response (UI screen) that is tailored according to the operator’s specific “operation level” (identified as administrator authority)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of JP 6495749 B2 in the method of Azevedo for the purpose of preventing unauthorized operations.
However, Azevedo modified by JP 6495749 B2 does not disclose that the entity is the money handling machine; and
performing, by the money handling machine, an operation corresponding to the operation command to execute the management operation as instructed by the operator.
HIROSE however discloses that the entity is the money handling machine; and performing, by the money handling machine, an operation corresponding to the operation command to execute the management operation as instructed by the operator (the telegram is a telegram related to closing processing for totaling up the money in the money handling device and performing predetermined management).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate HIROSE’s teaching in the method of Azevedo modified by JP 6495749 B2 for the purpose of improving efficiency and reliability of ATM maintenance at least in part by reducing human error.
Re Claim 3: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating, by the computer, the response by using an expression that corresponds to an expression contained in the instruction from the operator (page 14: The agent employs natural language understanding (NLU) to identify the user’s intent and extract relevant entities from the input provided.).
Re Claim 5: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1
However, Azevedo modified by HIROSE does not disclose that obtaining, by the computer, information on the operator based on authentication of the operator; and executing, by the computer, the chatbot program based on the information on the operator.
JP 6495749 B2 however discloses that obtaining, by the computer, information on the operator based on authentication of the operator; and executing, by the computer, the chatbot program based on the information on the operator (the cash management device controller 66 matches the operator ID input by the cash management device 12. It is determined from the rank information included in the queue output information having the ID whether or not the operator's authority is a predetermined administrator authority).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate JP 6495749 B2’s teaching in the device of Azevedo modified by HIROSE for the purpose of preventing unauthorized access.
Re Claim 7: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
outputting, by the computer, to the operator, the response that prompts the operator to provide information that is insufficient for creating the operation command (page 14: If the user’s entry does not match any intent in the system, an event handler
called “no-match” is triggered, prompting the user to rephrase the request.).
Re Claim 8: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying, by the money handling machine, on a display, a screen related to the management operation (page 14: the response is conveyed through textual
communication, such as steps to resolve the ATM dispenser issue, pages 12-23: we can send images or videos from complex maintenance instructions in the payload) and a chat screen accompanying the execution of the chatbot program (page 14: typing a message or speaking to a voice assistant device, page 6: guide the conversation with the user).
Re Claim 11: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
in a case where the instruction from the operator includes multiple instructions, generating, by the computer, multiple operation commands (page 3: complex conversations, page 6: A dialog flow represents a sequence of interactions between the user and the virtual assistant. These flows allow you to define a series of questions and answers to guide the conversation with the user and conditions to direct the conversation to different paths according to the user’s responses.) and outputting, by the computer, the operation commands to the money handling machine.
Re Claim 12: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
in a case where the money handling machine executes the operation corresponding to the operation command, performing, by the money handling machine, a guiding operation (HIROSE: The operation display unit 117 includes the functions of a display unit that displays a display screen for guiding operations by the operator, and a detection unit that performs operations by the operator and detects the operations.) for the operator to indicate an operation position (page 12: Check if you have cash screwed into the Presenter Mouthpiece (Shutter)… Check if you have cash screwed into the four power channels (place where the K7s fit).) of the money handling machine related to the management operation.
Re Claim 13: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the computer, from the operator, an instruction by at least one of text input, voice input (page 14: The user starts a conversation with the agent by either
typing a message or speaking to a voice assistant device.), handwriting input, or gesture input.
Re Claim 14: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
executing, by the money handling machine, a transaction including handling of money in response to a customer operation (page 1: 76% of bank drafts occur through automated teller machines (ATMs)).
Re Claim 15: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1, wherein
the instruction related to the management operation includes a collection instruction (page 12: Step 6: Check if the Reject K7 is full. - If positive, physically empty the Rejection K7.) that transfers a cassette storing money and being removed from the money handling machine installed in a financial institution, to a cash center, or a replenishment instruction (page 2: replenishing the cash supply) that attaches a cassette storing money in the cash center to the money handling machine installed in a financial institution, and the method further comprises:
performing, by the computer, the natural language processing on the collection instruction or the replenishment instruction received (page 14: Agent comprehends user input: The agent employs natural language understanding (NLU) to identify the user’s intent and extract relevant entities from the input provided.);
generating, by the computer, the operation command (page 14: Agent determines the next action: Using the identified intent and entities, and drawing from its knowledge base (Table 3), the agent leverages its trained machine learning models and conversational transition rules to determine the appropriate next course of action in response to the user’s input.) corresponding to the collection instruction or the replenishment instruction received; and
outputting, by the computer, the operation command (page 14: the response is conveyed through textual communication, such as steps to resolve the ATM dispenser issue) to the money handling machine.
Re Claim 16: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1, wherein
the instruction related to the management operation is an error clearing instruction (page 2: troubleshooting straightforward error messages, page 3: retrieval-based troubleshooting chatbot to resolve technical issues of the ATM maintenance process… the self-service maintenance, offering a problem expert chatbot for bank agents to solve issues that do not require the replacement of a hardware component) for the money handling machine, the method further comprising:
performing, by the computer, the natural language processing (page 14: Agent comprehends user input: The agent employs natural language understanding
(NLU) to identify the user’s intent and extract relevant entities from the input provided.) on the error clearing instruction received;
generating, by the computer, the operation command (page 14: Agent determines the next action: Using the identified intent and entities, and drawing from its knowledge base (Table 3), the agent leverages its trained machine learning models and conversational transition rules to determine the appropriate next course of action in response to the user’s input.) corresponding to the error clearing instruction received; and
outputting, by the computer, the operation command (page 14: the response is conveyed through textual communication, such as steps to resolve the ATM dispenser issue) to the money handling machine.
Re Claim 17: Azevedo discloses a money handling system (page 1: automated teller machines (ATMs)), comprising:
a money handling machine that executes a process including handling of money in response to a customer operation; and
a computer that assists a management operation of the money handling machine (page 3: The Google Dialogflow CX (Customer Experience) framework, a platform utilized for the development of AI-powered chatbots), wherein
the computer receives an instruction (page 3: The Google Dialogflow CX (Customer Experience) framework, a platform utilized for the development of AI-powered chatbots) related to the management operation for the money handling machine from an operator (page 14: User initiates the conversation),
the computer performs natural language processing on the received instruction (page 14: Agent comprehends user input: The agent employs natural language understanding (NLU) to identify the user’s intent and extract relevant entities from the input provided.),
the computer generates a response related to the received instruction by executing a chatbot program as the natural language processing, in response to the received instruction during a chatbot session with the chatbot program,
the computer outputs the response to the operator (page 3: AI-powered chatbots),
the computer generates an operation command corresponding to the received instruction (page 14: Agent determines the next action: Using the identified intent and entities, and drawing from its knowledge base (Table 3), the agent leverages its trained machine learning models and conversational transition rules to determine the appropriate next course of action in response to the user’s input.), the operation command being a machine-executable command executed by the money handling machine,
the computer outputs the operation command to an entity (page12-13: we can send images or videos from complex maintenance in the payload.).
However, Azevedo does not disclose that the response being generated according to an operation level of the operator.
JP 6495749 B2 however discloses that the response being generated according to an operation level of the operator (It is determined from the rank information included in the queue output information having the ID whether or not the operator's authority is a predetermined administrator authority (step Sc9: rank determination means). As a result of this determination, if it is determined that the user has the predetermined administrator authority (step Sc9: Yes), all the unprocessed queue output information stored in the cash management device storage unit 67 is displayed in the cash management device display unit 58. (Step Sc10)., On the other hand, when the authority of the operator is not the administrator authority (step Sc9: No), the cash management apparatus control unit 66 operates the operator among the queue output information stored in the cash management apparatus storage unit 67. Only the unprocessed queue output information including the user ID is limitedly displayed on the cash management apparatus display unit 58 (step Sc11). Examiner: This discloses the literal requirement of generating a response (UI screen) that is tailored according to the operator’s specific “operation level” (identified as administrator authority)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of JP 6495749 B2 in the device of Azevedo for the purpose of preventing unauthorized operations.
However, Azevedo modified by JP 6495749 B2 does not disclose that the entity is the money handling machine; and the money handling machine performs an operation corresponding to the operation command to execute the management operation as instructed by the operator.
HIROSE however discloses that the entity is the money handling machine; and the money handling machine performs an operation corresponding to the operation command to execute the management operation as instructed by the operator (the telegram is a telegram related to closing processing for totaling up the money in the money handling device and performing predetermined management).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate HIROSE’s teaching in the device of Azevedo modified by JP 6495749 B2 for the purpose of improving efficiency and reliability of ATM maintenance at least in part by reducing human error.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azevedo (A Novel Methodology for Developing Troubleshooting Chatbots Applied to ATM Technical Maintenance Support) modified by HIROSE (JP 2024009055 A) in view of Toyoda (US 20150206402 A1).
Re Claim 4: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Azevedo modified by HIROSE does not disclose that before outputting the operation command, generating, by the computer, a response that includes a content of the operation command and confirms consent by the operator, and outputs the response to the operator; and outputting, by the computer, the operation command to the money handling machine after receiving the consent from the operator.
Toyoda however discloses that before outputting the operation command, generating, by the computer, a response that includes a content of the operation command and confirms consent by the operator, and outputs the response to the operator; and outputting, by the computer, the operation command to the money handling machine after receiving the consent from the operator (p81: when the acceptance instruction is inputted by the operator through the display and input unit 5 (specifically, when the operator presses down the return key of the display and input unit 5),).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Toyoda’s teaching in the device of Azevedo modified by HIROSE for the purpose of ensuring that the operation command reflect the right operation to be performed.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azevedo (A Novel Methodology for Developing Troubleshooting Chatbots Applied to ATM Technical Maintenance Support) modified by HIROSE (JP 2024009055 A) in view of YAMADE (JP 2018036858 A).
Re Claim 9: Azevedo modified by HIROSE discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying, by the money handling machine, on a display, a screen related to the management operation (page 14: the response is conveyed through textual
communication, such as steps to resolve the ATM dispenser issue, pages 12-23: we can send images or videos from complex maintenance instructions in the payload).
However, Azevedo modified by HIROSE does not disclose displaying, by a tablet device, a chat screen accompanying the execution of the chatbot program.
YAMADE however disclose displaying, by a tablet device (the tablet terminal 72), a chat screen accompanying the execution of the chatbot program.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate YAMADE’s teaching in the device of Azevedo modified by HIROSE for the purpose of portability and ergonomics.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azevedo (A Novel Methodology for Developing Troubleshooting Chatbots Applied to ATM Technical Maintenance Support) modified by HIROSE (JP 2024009055 A) and YAMADE (JP 2018036858 A) in view of Ethington (US 8837806 B1).
Re Claim 10: Azevedo modified by HIROSE and YAMADE discloses the method of claim 9.
However, Azevedo modified by HIROSE and YAMADE does not disclose transmitting, by the tablet device, to the computer, an image taken by a camera of the tablet device, the image relating to the money handling machine; and processing, by the computer, the image and generating, by the computer, the response based on a processing result.
Ethington however discloses transmitting, by the tablet device, to the computer, an image taken by a camera of the tablet device, the image relating to the money handling machine; and processing, by the computer, the image and generating, by the computer, the response based on a processing result (col 5 ll 21+: the user 101b may use a mobile device equipped with a camera 133b to capture a copy of the check, such as a: cellphone, PDA, smartphone, tablet, etc. Once a copy of the check is captured, the user's client 133 sends a check deposit message 102a, 102b to the user's, i.e., the payee's, bank 165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Ethington’s teaching in the device of Azevedo modified by HIROSE and YAMADE for the purpose of replacing manual data entry with automated image recognition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In contrary to the applicant's arguments, JP 6495749 B2 discloses that the response being generated according to an operation level of the operator (It is determined from the rank information included in the queue output information having the ID whether or not the operator's authority is a predetermined administrator authority (step Sc9: rank determination means). As a result of this determination, if it is determined that the user has the predetermined administrator authority (step Sc9: Yes), all the unprocessed queue output information stored in the cash management device storage unit 67 is displayed in the cash management device display unit 58. (Step Sc10)., On the other hand, when the authority of the operator is not the administrator authority (step Sc9: No), the cash management apparatus control unit 66 operates the operator among the queue output information stored in the cash management apparatus storage unit 67. Only the unprocessed queue output information including the user ID is limitedly displayed on the cash management apparatus display unit 58 (step Sc11).
This discloses the literal requirement of generating a response (UI screen) that is tailored according to the operator’s specific “operation level” (identified as administrator authority).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAE W KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876