DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application 19/274,841 filed on July 21, 2025. Claims 1-8 are pending in the application and have been examined by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saadat et al. (US 2015/0031946) in view of Pegman et al. (US 2021/0251654).
Consider claim 1, Saadat et al. teaches:
A method for cooling an imaging assembly (figures 1 and 4) comprising:
providing a shaft (probe shaft, 2, optically transparent needle tip, 3, paragraph 0056) which extends from a housing (probe handle, 8, paragraph 0056), said shaft (2, 3) being formed with a lumen (central lumen, 16) that extends from a distal portion of said shaft (2, 3) towards a proximal portion of said shaft (2, 3, see figure 4, paragraph 0056), wherein said shaft (2, 3) is formed with one gas-inlet aperture (fenestration, 9, figure 4) that is in fluid communication with said lumen (16, see figure 4, paragraphs 0057 and 0058);
providing an imaging device (CMOS camera with integral illumination, 12, paragraph 0058) located in said lumen (16) in said shaft (2, 3, see figure 4, paragraphs 0058 and 0059); and
causing said shaft (2, 3) to be introduced into a body cavity (“FIG. 6A is a schematic illustration of surgical probe 1 being inserted into the body of a patient 30 and being advanced in a distal direction through tissue 31 towards target distal region 32 under visual guidance.” Paragraph 0061) so that gas, which is found in said body cavity before said shaft (2, 3) has been introduced in said body cavity, is free to flow through said one gas-inlet aperture (9) into said lumen (16) and flow past said imaging device (12), thereby cooling said imaging device (It is clear in Saadat et al. that gas, which is found in said body cavity before said shaft (2, 3) has been introduced in said body cavity, is free to flow through said gas-inlet apertures (9) into said lumen (16) and flow past said imaging device (12), thereby cooling said imaging device. For instance, Saadat et al. shows how gas (51) is vented back through the central lumen (16) in figure 4, paragraph 0059. When the shaft (2, 3) is introduced into the body cavity, gas found in said body cavity before said shaft (2, 3) is introduced into said body cavity, would be free to flow past said imaging device (12), as the open aperture (9) would allow said gas to flow into said lumen (16) and past said imaging device (12).), wherein said gas-inlet aperture (9) is located at a distal tip of said distal portion of said shaft (2, 3, see figures 2-4).
However, Saadat et al. does not explicitly teach more than one gas in-let aperture, wherein the one gas-inlet aperture is located along a central longitudinal axis of said distal portion, and others of said gas-inlet apertures are located transverse to the central longitudinal axis of said distal portion, or that the gas is carbon dioxide.
Pegman et al. similarly teaches a device (shaft sleeve leak device, 1200, figures 12A-12C) for allowing a medical instrument to be inserted into a surgical cavity for fluid delivery and/or venting (see paragraph 0296), wherein the device (1200) includes a shaft (sleeve portion, 1266, paragraph 0297) insertable into the surgical cavity (see paragraph 0298). Like Saadat et al., Pegman et al. teaches a gas inlet aperture at a distal tip of a distal portion of said shaft (1266, i.e. for allowing passage of elongate shaft 104 therethrough, see figures 12A-12C, paragraph 0297).
However, Pegman et al. additionally teaches that the device (1200) includes more than one gas in-let aperture (i.e. the inlet aperture in the distal tip discussed above and inlet apertures in the form of distal vents 1248, figures 12A and 12B, paragraphs 0297 and 0298), wherein the one gas-inlet aperture is located along a central longitudinal axis of said distal portion (i.e. the inlet aperture in the distal tip discussed above, see figures 12A and 12B), and others of said gas-inlet apertures (i.e. the distal vents (1248) surrounding the distal tip aperture) are located transverse to the central longitudinal axis of said distal portion (see figures 12A and 12B). Pegman et al. additionally teaches a device (insertable filter device, 1400, figures 14 and 14B) including a shaft (sleeve portion, 1466) having plural gas-inlet apertures including a central distal tip aperture (see figure 14B) and other transverse apertures (holes, 1478, see figure 14B, paragraphs 0312-0314), and that the gas is carbon dioxide (see “carbon dioxide”, paragraphs 0230 and 0235).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shaft taught by Saadat et al. include multiple gas-inlet apertures configured in the manner taught by Pegman et al. as this only involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as providing venting of gases and/or surgical smoke from inside the surgical cavity (Pegman et al., paragraph 0298), and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the gas taught by Saadat et al. be carbon dioxide as taught by Pegman et al. for the benefit of improving visibility of the body cavity (Pegman et al., paragraph 0230).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Saadat et al. further teaches that said imaging device comprises an illumination source and further comprising using said imaging device to illuminate a portion of said body cavity (“CMOS camera with integral illumination”, 12, paragraph 0058. “The camera images the proximal end of the coherent optical fiber bundle of imaging probe 64, and the light source provides illumination to the distal surgical field, with the light being transmitted distally by a second optical fiber or fiber bundle.” paragraph 0065).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Saadat et al. does not explicitly teach using a vacuum to increase convection cooling of the carbon dioxide by becoming forced convection.
Pegman et al. further teaches using a vacuum (“suction unit”, paragraph 0275) to increase convection cooling of the carbon dioxide by becoming forced convection (“The suction unit can actively suck the gases from the surgical cavity via the venting cannula 22 into the filtering system. The filtered gases can diffuse into the atmosphere.” paragraph 0275).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method taught by the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. comprise using a vacuum as taught by Pegman et al. for the benefit of eliminating the need of medical personnel to release gases from inside the surgical cavity through deflation and re-insufflation of the surgical cavity (Pegman et al., paragraph 0009).
Claims 2, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saadat et al. (US 2015/0031946) in view of Pegman et al. (US 2021/0251654), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Staid et al. (US 2021/0137612).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Saadat et al. further teaches tilting said housing (8) about one or more rotation axes (“Surgical probe 1 may be manipulated in torsional and lateral directions as represented by the crossed arrows in order to find a facial boundary between two or more discrete anatomical structures through which surgical probe 1 may be safely advanced in the distal direction towards the target distal region 32.” Paragraph 0061, figure 6A).
However, the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. does not explicitly teach that said housing is tilted about a joint.
Staid et al. similarly teaches an imaging assembly (figures 2, 4A, 4B, 5A-5C, 6 and 8) comprising: a shaft (The deflectable tip (462, figure 5A) is a “flexible elongate tubular member” (i.e. a shaft), paragraph 0065.) which extends from a housing (i.e. the treatment probe (450) housing, figure 5A, paragraphs 0065, 0070 and 0071), said shaft (462) comprising a distal portion (see figure 5A); and an imaging device (camera, 614) located in said shaft or in said housing (450, see paragraph 0070).
However, Staid et al. further teaches an actuator (442) coupled to said housing (450) and operative to tilt said housing (450) about a joint (443 or 445, paragraph 0055) about one or more rotation axes (The housing (450) is coupled to a first robotic arm (442, paragraph 0050) which comprise a “controllable actuator” (paragraph 0055) and moves with six degrees of freedom, paragraphs 0034, 0037, 0055 and 0062.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the housing taught by the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. be tilted about a joint as taught by Staid et al. for the benefit of providing an improved method for tissue resection (Staid et al., paragraph 0004).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. does not explicitly teach using a skin adhering fastening member coupled to said housing to adhere said housing to a portion of a patient.
Staid et al. similarly teaches an imaging assembly (figures 2, 4A, 4B, 5A-5C, 6 and 8) comprising: a shaft (The deflectable tip (462, figure 5A) is a “flexible elongate tubular member” (i.e. a shaft), paragraph 0065.) which extends from a housing (i.e. the treatment probe (450) housing, figure 5A, paragraphs 0065, 0070 and 0071), said shaft (462) comprising a distal portion (see figure 5A); and an imaging device (camera, 614) located in said shaft or in said housing (450, see paragraph 0070).
However, Staid et al. further teaches a skin adhering fastening member coupled to said housing to adhere said housing to a portion of a patient (Staid et al. teaches an enclosure (602) which may be a “suction cup” coupled to the housing (450), paragraphs 0062, 0064 and 0081, figures 5A and 8. The tissue (600) to which the fastening member (602) is coupled (see figure 8) may be “skin”, paragraph 0031.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the housing taught by the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. be coupled to a skin adhering fastening member as taught by Staid et al. for the benefit of providing an improved method for tissue resection (Staid et al., paragraph 0004).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 1 above, Saadat et al. further teaches “connecting additional sensors mounted within surgical probe 1 that may include sensors”, paragraph 0056.
However, the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. does not explicitly teach that the additional sensors comprise using a position sensor coupled to said housing to sense a position of the housing.
Staid et al. similarly teaches an imaging assembly (figures 2, 4A, 4B, 5A-5C, 6 and 8) comprising: a shaft (The deflectable tip (462, figure 5A) is a “flexible elongate tubular member” (i.e. a shaft), paragraph 0065.) which extends from a housing (i.e. the treatment probe (450) housing, figure 5A, paragraphs 0065, 0070 and 0071), said shaft (462) comprising a distal portion (see figure 5A); and an imaging device (camera, 614) located in said shaft or in said housing (450, see paragraph 0070).
However, Staid et al. further teaches using a position sensor coupled to said housing to sense a position of the housing (i.e. via “angle sensors”, paragraph 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method taught by the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. comprise using a position sensor coupled to said housing to sense a position of the housing as taught by Staid et al. for the benefit of providing an improved method for tissue resection (Staid et al., paragraph 0004).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 1 above, Saadat et al. further teaches “connecting additional sensors mounted within surgical probe 1 that may include sensors”, paragraph 0056.
However, the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. does not explicitly teach that the additional sensors comprise using an inclination sensor coupled to said housing to sense an inclination of the housing.
Staid et al. similarly teaches an imaging assembly (figures 2, 4A, 4B, 5A-5C, 6 and 8) comprising: a shaft (The deflectable tip (462, figure 5A) is a “flexible elongate tubular member” (i.e. a shaft), paragraph 0065.) which extends from a housing (i.e. the treatment probe (450) housing, figure 5A, paragraphs 0065, 0070 and 0071), said shaft (462) comprising a distal portion (see figure 5A); and an imaging device (camera, 614) located in said shaft or in said housing (450, see paragraph 0070).
However, Staid et al. further teaches using an inclination sensor coupled to said housing to sense an inclination of the housing (i.e. via “accelerometers”, paragraph 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method taught by the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. comprise using an inclination sensor coupled to said housing to sense a position of the housing as taught by Staid et al. for the benefit of providing an improved method for tissue resection (Staid et al., paragraph 0004).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saadat et al. (US 2015/0031946) in view of Pegman et al. (US 2021/0251654), as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Gross et al. (US 2009/0147924).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, Saadat et al. further teaches that a distal portion of said shaft (2, 3) is rotatable, and further comprising tilting or rotating said distal portion of said shaft (“Surgical probe 1 may be manipulated in torsional and lateral directions as represented by the crossed arrows in order to find a facial boundary between two or more discrete anatomical structures through which surgical probe 1 may be safely advanced in the distal direction towards the target distal region 32.” Paragraph 0061, figure 6A).
However, the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. does not explicitly that the movement of the shaft is about a swivel joint.
Gross et al. similarly teaches a medical examination device (figure 1) comprised of a robot arm (6) movable in a rotational fashion (paragraph 0012).
However, Gross et al. additionally teaches that the movement of the arm (6) is about a swivel joint (“swivel joints”, 18, paragraph 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shaft taught by the combination of Saadat et al. and Pegman et al. be rotational about a swivel joint as taught by Gross et al. as this only involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling motion in multiple rotational degrees of freedom (Gross et al., paragraph 0012).
Conclusion
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637