DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2, “the” should be inserted immediately before “longitudinal”.
Claim 3, after “within”, “the” (repeated instance) should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“attachment feature” (i.e., a feature or means for attachment) in claim 7;
“driver engagement feature” (i.e., a feature or means for driver engagement) in claim 10;
“locking element engagement feature” (i.e., a feature or means for locking element engagement) in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 2, the claimed angular relationship is unclear. As best understood, “a central longitudinal axis of the” (or the like) should precede “capture ring” to clarify the angles being compared. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted in this manner.
Claim 15, line 2, “the oblique angle of the internal groove” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 15, line 2, “the internal groove” itself further lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 15, line 2, the claimed angular relationship is unclear. As best understood, “a central longitudinal axis of” (or the like) should precede “the internal groove” (once proper antecedent basis for this terminology is established; cf. supra) to clarify the angles being compared. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted in this manner.
Claim 17, line 2, “on one of the pair of arms” is unclear. The claim should read “on one arm of the pair of arms”. As best understood, and for purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted in this manner.
Claim 17, line 3, “on the other of the pair of arms” is unclear. The claim should read “on the other arm of the pair of arms”. As best understood, and for purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted in this manner.
Claim 19, the claimed angular relationship is unclear. As best understood, “a central longitudinal axis of the” (or the like) should precede “second capture ring” to clarify the angles being compared. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted in this manner.
Claim 20, the claimed angular relationship is unclear. As best understood, “a central longitudinal axis of” (or the like) should precede “the internal groove” to clarify the angles being compared. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted in this manner.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKinley et al. (2008/0177260).
Regarding claim 1, McKinley et al. disclose a spinal fixation system (Figs. 1 and 4) comprising:
a spinal rod 102; and
a bone anchor 100 configured to secure the spinal rod to the spine, wherein the bone anchor comprises:
a rod housing 106 configured to receive the spinal rod, wherein the rod housing comprises:
a base (Fig. 4; e.g., bottom of 132),
a pair of arms (Fig. 4) extending proximally from the base and separated by a rod channel 144 dimensioned to receive the spinal rod therein,
a longitudinal axis 136 extending through a distal opening 140 in the base, and a capture ring 108 disposed within the rod housing 106 (Figs. 4 and 7), the capture ring 108 including a frustospherical capture surface 160 (Fig. 4; para. 0058; note that the exterior surface is also frustospherical, i.e., convex); and
a bone fastener 104 comprising a fastener head 122 (Fig. 4) disposed within the base (Fig. 7), and a shank 126 (Fig. 4) integrally coupled to the fastener head 122 and configured to engage bone (para. 0056).
Regarding claim 2, a central longitudinal axis of the capture ring 108 is oriented at an oblique angle a relative to longitudinal axis that is more acute than a maximum deflection angle A of the bone fastener relative to the longitudinal axis (see annotated Fig. 8, below).
Regarding claim 3, the capture ring 108 is configured to rotate within the rod housing 106 (Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 4, the capture ring 108 comprises a slit 162 (Fig. 4) capable of enabling the capture ring to be transiently compressed if desired.
Regarding claim 5, the bone anchor 100 further comprises a load ring 114 (Fig. 4) disposed within the base proximal to the capture ring 108 (Fig. 7), wherein the load ring 114 is configured to exert a compressive force on the fastener head 122 (id.).
Regarding claim 6, the distal opening 140 in the rod housing 106 includes a minimum diameter that is greater than a maximum diameter of the fastener head 122 (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, each arm of the pair of arms of the rod housing 106 (Fig. 4) comprises an attachment feature (circumferential exterior slot; Figs. 1, 2 and 4) capable of engaging one or more tools if desired.
Regarding claim 9, a driving tool is configured drive the bone anchor 104 into bone (see para. 0060, discussing a driver engaging portion for a driver engagement feature; cf. 184 and driver engagement feature in head 122 of bone anchor 104 in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, the fastener head 122 comprises a driver engagement feature configured to receive a driving tool therein (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, a locking element 116 is configured to lock the spinal rod 102 to the bone anchor 100 (Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 12, the pair of arms (Fig. 4) comprise a locking element engagement feature configured 146 (threads) to engage the locking element 116 to lock the spinal rod 102 within the rod channel 144 (Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 13, the locking element engagement feature 144 comprises a threaded portion disposed on each arm of the pair of arms (Fig. 4), and wherein the locking element 116 comprises a locking cap having a threaded portion 182 configured to threadably engage the threaded portion 146 of the pair of arms (Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 16, the bone anchor 100 comprises a biocompatible material as it is fastened to bone (para. 0001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKinley et al. (2008/0177260) in view of Harvey et al. (2010/0145394).
McKinley et al. disclose the claimed invention except for explicitly reciting an indentation on a distal side of each circumferential slot.
Harvey et al. show a bone anchor 22 having an indentation on a distal facing side of a slot in the exterior of the arms (Fig. 1B) configured to receive one or more tools therein. The indentation facilitates retaining a corresponding tool in the slot.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the circumferential slot of McKinley et al. with an indentation on a distal facing side of each circumferential slot, in view of Harvey et al. to facilitate retaining a corresponding tool in the slot. It would have also been obvious to have positioned the indentation on the distal side, as this would amount to an obvious design choice and would provide an alternate equivalent configuration to facilitate retaining a corresponding tool in the slot.
Claims 14, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKinley et al. (2008/0177260) in view of Biedermann et al. (2019/0038321).
Regarding claim 14, McKinley et al. disclose the claimed invention, except wherein the base of the rod housing comprises a recess dimensioned to complement the bone fastener, wherein the recess is configured to increase a maximum deflection angle of the bone fastener relative to the longitudinal axis.
Biedermann et al. disclose a rod housing comprising an angled recess defined by and beneath an angled 51b (Fig. 15) capture area (e.g., the base 5b, groove 54, and other capture components; Fig. 14). The recess complements a bone fastener 2 by increasing a maximum deflection angle Β1 of the bone fastener 2 relative to the longitudinal axis (id.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the rod housing 106 of McKinley et al. with an angled recess defined by and beneath an angled capture area (e.g., the comparable base of the rod housing, frustospherical groove 142, and other capture components; Fig. 5), in view of Biedermann et al., to complement the bone fastener and increase a maximum deflection angle of the bone fastener relative to the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 15, the angled recess of the combination forms an oblique angle with the longitudinal axis (i.e., angle B1; supra) that is greater than the oblique angle θ of a central longitudinal axis of the internal frustospherical groove 142 of the combination (supra; cf. Biedermann et al. annotated Fig. 15, below).
Regarding claim 17, the rod housing 106 of the combination (cf. supra) includes an internal frustospherical groove 142 (McKinley; Fig. 5) wherein a first side (e.g., left; cf. annotated Fig. 15, supra) of the internal frustospherical groove 142 of the combination is on one of the pair of arms and a second side (e.g., right; id.) of the internal groove is on the other of the pair of arms, wherein the first side is positioned vertically above the second side of the internal groove relative to the distal opening (e.g., at portion adjacent to label 5b; id.) in the base of the combination (see second annotated Fig. 15, below, showing the relevant portions with horizontal bars).
Regarding claim 18, McKinley et al. disclose a second bone anchor (Fig. 1). Therefore, the system of the combination (cf. supra) would include a second bone anchor 100 configured to secure the spinal rod 102 to the spine, wherein the second bone anchor would comprise:
a second rod housing 106 configured to receive the spinal rod 102,
wherein the second rod housing would comprise a base (Fig. 4), a pair of arms extending proximally from the base and separated by a rod channel 144 dimensioned to receive the spinal rod 102 therein (Figs. 1 and 4), a second longitudinal axis 136 extending through a distal opening 140 in the base, and an internal frustospherical groove disposed within the base between the pair of arms and the distal opening,
wherein the internal frustospherical groove 142 of the combination (supra) is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the second longitudinal axis 136 (supra; cf. first annotated Fig. 15, supra);
a second capture ring 108 disposed within the internal frustospherical groove 142 (McKinley, Fig. 7); and
a second bone fastener 104 comprising a fastener head 122 (Fig. 4) disposed within the base, and a shank 126 integrally coupled to the fastener head 122 and configured to engage bone (McKinley et al., para. 0056).
Regarding claim 19, a central longitudinal axis of the second capture ring 108 of the second bone anchor 100 of the combination (cf. supra) is oriented at an oblique angle a that is more acute than a maximum deflection angle A of the second bone fastener relative to the second longitudinal axis (see annotated Fig. 8, supra).
Regarding claim 20, the base of the second rod housing 106 of the combination (cf. supra) comprises an angled recess (supra) dimensioned to complement the second bone fastener 104 of the combination, wherein the angled recess is configured to increase a maximum deflection angle of the second bone fastener 104 relative to the second longitudinal axis 136, and wherein the recess forms an oblique angle θ with the second longitudinal axis 136 that is greater than the oblique angle of the internal frustospherical groove 142 in the second rod housing 106 of the combination (supra).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,364,517. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences amount to minor changes in the arrangement and phraseology of the claim limitations. The only substantive difference between the application claims and the patent claims resides in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are more specific (e.g., the proximal opening, the internal groove and its orientation, the frustoconical external contour, the bone fastener extending through the distal opening and comprising a mating surface). Thus, the invention of the patent claims is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Regarding independent application claim 1, patent claim 1 sets forth a spinal fixation system comprising:
a spinal rod; and
a bone anchor configured to secure the spinal rod to the spine, wherein the bone anchor comprises:
a rod housing configured to receive the spinal rod, wherein the rod housing comprises:
a base, a pair of arms extending proximally (to an upper proximal end) from the base and separated by a rod channel dimensioned to receive the spinal rod therein, a longitudinal axis extending through a distal opening in the base, and a capture ring disposed within the rod housing, the capture ring including a frustospherical capture surface; and
a bone fastener comprising a fastener head disposed within the base, and a shank coupled to the fastener head and configured to engage bone.
The dependent application claims are also directly mapped to the patent claims as set forth in the table below:
Appl. 19/274,852
Pat. 12,364,517
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
11
11
12
12
13
13
14
14
15
15
16
16
17
17
18
18
19
19
20
20
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see attached PTO-892).
DAVID C. COMSTOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 3773
/DAVID C COMSTOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773