DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 18/968,705, filed 12/04/2024, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application constitutes a continuation. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/21/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,583 and claims 1-9 of US 12,300,083 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is broader in scope and therefore the entire scope of the reference claims fall within the scope of the examined claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as not falling within one of the four statutory categories of invention because the claimed invention is directed to computer program per se, which is non-statutory. See MPEP 2106(I). A claim directed toward a computer-readable medium having the program encoded thereon establishes a sufficient functional relationship between the program and a computer so as to remove it from the realm of “program per se”. MPEP 2111.05(III). Hence, adding the limitation of “stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium” would resolve this issue.
Dependent claims 2-9 fall together accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 10, claim limitation “enable data captured by a remote device at a remote location to be viewable via an end- user device without transmitting the data to the end-user device” is not supported by the specification. The specification does not include a single recitation of enabling viewable data without transmitting said data. Paragraphs [0026], [0029] and [0041] support enabling data captured by a remote device at a remote location to be viewable via an end-user device through an access server which is periodically transmitted a time-stamped snapshot image and/or i-frame from the remote device.
While the data captured by a remote device is not directly transmitted to the end-user device to enable viewability, the data is still technically transmitted to the end-user device for viewability through the access server. Data must be transferred to a device in some capacity in order to display the data.
Dependent claims 2-9 and 10-15 fall together accordingly.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 10, claim limitation “enable data captured by a remote device at a remote location to be viewable via an end- user device without transmitting the data to the end-user device” is indefinite because it is unclear how data can be viewable to an end-user device without transmitting the data to the end-user device. Data must be transferred to a device in some capacity in order to display the data.
For the purpose of examining the limitation has been interpreted in line with the specification, specifically paragraphs [0026], [0029] and [0041] which support enabling data captured by a remote device at a remote location to be viewable via an end-user device through an access server which is periodically transmitted a time-stamped snapshot image and/or i-frame from the remote device.
Dependent claims 2-9 and 10-15 fall together accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meganathan US 2014/0232873 A1, hereafter Meganathan, in view of Yova et al. US 2013/0016213 A1, hereafter Yova.
Regarding claim 1, Meganathan discloses a video retrieval system (security system 10) [FIG. 1], comprising:
an application program configured to:
enable data captured by a remote device at a remote location (cameras 24, 26) [FIG. 1] to be viewable via an end- user device without transmitting the data to the end-user device (once uploaded to the cloud server 50, a user may access a website 54 of the cloud server and download the summary through the portable user device; included within the summary downloaded to the user device 56 may be a playback control 58) [0029; 0030]; and
after enabling the data to be viewable and in response to an input (the timeline window of the summary may be set up by the user of the portable device 56 to any appropriate time period…through the interface 60 of the playback control. The user may also set a time period including a start and stop time for data…the portable device 56 may receive real time data that is displayed on the device 56 substantially instantaneously after begin reported within the alarm system 10) [0034], cause a previously captured video associated with the data to be sent from the remote device via a connection (the apparatus may include a cloud server, an activity analysis processor that monitors the activities of a security system protecting a secured area and of a human operator of the security system and that evaluates the system's and operator's activities within a security system database based upon the deviation, trend, pattern and criticality of each respective activity, the activity analysis processor detects an event within the monitored activities and saves a summary of the event to the cloud server, the summary includes one or more of video, image, text, audio, charts and graphs relating to protection of the secured area, a user interface of the cloud server that detects a request from a user for a report of activities reported within a real time timeline window, the activity report including at least a content of the summary of the event associated with the secured area, the activity report further containing one or more of data, actions, warnings, help requests and recommendations generated by the activity analysis processor…the cloud server that downloads the activity report to the user, the activity report displayed to the user further comprises a playback control executing on a processor of the user and that controls playback of the summary, the playback control further including an interface that accepts requests for additional data from the user and the playback control downloads and displays the additional data to the user in response to the requests) [0046].
However, Meganathan fails to explicitly disclose a metered connection.
Yova, in an analogous environment, discloses a metered connection (cellular wireless connection 208) [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cellular connection, as disclosed by Yova, with the invention disclosed by Meganathan, the motivation being providing an improved system wherein data can be accessed from any other type of network such as a satellite network and/or a cellular network [0034].
Regarding claim 2, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Yova further discloses the remote device, wherein the remote device comprises at least one camera, at least one storage device communicatively coupled to the at least one camera, and a modem communicatively coupled to the at least one storage device, the at least one camera, or both (see elements 102, 106, 108) [FIG. 2].
Regarding claim 3, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Meganathan further discloses the application program is configured to retrieve the data and the previously captured video from the remote device (once uploaded to the cloud server 50, a user may access a website 54 of the cloud server and download the summary through the portable user device; included within the summary downloaded to the user device 56 may be a playback control 58) [0029; 0030].
Regarding claim 5, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Meganathan further discloses the previously captured video is sent to at least one of a server or the end-user device in response to the input (the apparatus may include a cloud server, an activity analysis processor that monitors the activities of a security system protecting a secured area and of a human operator of the security system and that evaluates the system's and operator's activities within a security system database based upon the deviation, trend, pattern and criticality of each respective activity, the activity analysis processor detects an event within the monitored activities and saves a summary of the event to the cloud server, the summary includes one or more of video, image, text, audio, charts and graphs relating to protection of the secured area, a user interface of the cloud server that detects a request from a user for a report of activities reported within a real time timeline window, the activity report including at least a content of the summary of the event associated with the secured area, the activity report further containing one or more of data, actions, warnings, help requests and recommendations generated by the activity analysis processor…the cloud server that downloads the activity report to the user, the activity report displayed to the user further comprises a playback control executing on a processor of the user and that controls playback of the summary, the playback control further including an interface that accepts requests for additional data from the user and the playback control downloads and displays the additional data to the user in response to the requests) [0046].
Regarding claim 6, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Meganathan further discloses the application program is configured to enable a user, via the end-user device, to view the data responsive to selection of a specific date and time (the apparatus may include a cloud server, an activity analysis processor that monitors the activities of a security system protecting a secured area and of a human operator of the security system and that evaluates the system's and operator's activities within a security system database based upon the deviation, trend, pattern and criticality of each respective activity, the activity analysis processor detects an event within the monitored activities and saves a summary of the event to the cloud server, the summary includes one or more of video, image, text, audio, charts and graphs relating to protection of the secured area, a user interface of the cloud server that detects a request from a user for a report of activities reported within a real time timeline window, the activity report including at least a content of the summary of the event associated with the secured area, the activity report further containing one or more of data, actions, warnings, help requests and recommendations generated by the activity analysis processor…the cloud server that downloads the activity report to the user, the activity report displayed to the user further comprises a playback control executing on a processor of the user and that controls playback of the summary, the playback control further including an interface that accepts requests for additional data from the user and the playback control downloads and displays the additional data to the user in response to the requests) [0046].
Regarding claim 7, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Yova further discloses the metered connection comprises a cellular connection, a satellite connection, or both (cellular or wireless connection 208) [0034].
Regarding claim 8, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Yova further discloses the application program is configured to periodically cause images captured via the remote device to be sent from the remote device via the metered connection (capture images, audio, or video segments in order to stream images, audio, and video segments to…one or more local remote servers, domain servers…for viewing or storage by users either in real time or a later time; camera is tasked to capture a ten second video segment every ten minutes…the final programmed duration and interval will depend on the end use application; the at least one camera 102 sends the ten second video segment…to the local remote server 106) [0011; 0025; 0026].
Regarding claim 9, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Meganathan further discloses the application program is stored on one or more of the remote device, a server, or the end-user device (computer program; security system 10) [FIG. 1; 0014].
Regarding claim 10, Meganathan discloses A method of retrieving video (method) [title], comprising:
enable data captured by a remote device at a remote location (cameras 24, 26) [FIG. 1] to be viewable via an end- user device without transmitting the data to the end-user device (once uploaded to the cloud server 50, a user may access a website 54 of the cloud server and download the summary through the portable user device; included within the summary downloaded to the user device 56 may be a playback control 58) [0029; 0030]; and
after enabling the data to be viewable and in response to a user input (the timeline window of the summary may be set up by the user of the portable device 56 to any appropriate time period…through the interface 60 of the playback control. The user may also set a time period including a start and stop time for data…the portable device 56 may receive real time data that is displayed on the device 56 substantially instantaneously after begin reported within the alarm system 10) [0034], causing a portion of a video associated with the data to be sent from the remote location via a connection (the apparatus may include a cloud server, an activity analysis processor that monitors the activities of a security system protecting a secured area and of a human operator of the security system and that evaluates the system's and operator's activities within a security system database based upon the deviation, trend, pattern and criticality of each respective activity, the activity analysis processor detects an event within the monitored activities and saves a summary of the event to the cloud server, the summary includes one or more of video, image, text, audio, charts and graphs relating to protection of the secured area, a user interface of the cloud server that detects a request from a user for a report of activities reported within a real time timeline window, the activity report including at least a content of the summary of the event associated with the secured area, the activity report further containing one or more of data, actions, warnings, help requests and recommendations generated by the activity analysis processor…the cloud server that downloads the activity report to the user, the activity report displayed to the user further comprises a playback control executing on a processor of the user and that controls playback of the summary, the playback control further including an interface that accepts requests for additional data from the user and the playback control downloads and displays the additional data to the user in response to the requests) [0046].
However, Meganathan fails to explicitly disclose a metered connection.
Yova, in an analogous environment, discloses a metered connection (cellular wireless connection 208) [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cellular connection, as disclosed by Yova, with the invention disclosed by Meganathan, the motivation being providing an improved system wherein data can be accessed from any other type of network such as a satellite network and/or a cellular network [0034].
Regarding claim 11, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Meganathan further discloses receiving the user input from the end- user device (the timeline window of the summary may be set up by the user of the portable device 56 to any appropriate time period…through the interface 60 of the playback control. The user may also set a time period including a start and stop time for data…the portable device 56 may receive real time data that is displayed on the device 56 substantially instantaneously after begin reported within the alarm system 10) [0034].
Regarding claim 12, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Meganathan further discloses causing the portion of the video to be sent comprises retrieving the portion of the video from a device at the remote location (the apparatus may include a cloud server, an activity analysis processor that monitors the activities of a security system protecting a secured area and of a human operator of the security system and that evaluates the system's and operator's activities within a security system database based upon the deviation, trend, pattern and criticality of each respective activity, the activity analysis processor detects an event within the monitored activities and saves a summary of the event to the cloud server, the summary includes one or more of video, image, text, audio, charts and graphs relating to protection of the secured area, a user interface of the cloud server that detects a request from a user for a report of activities reported within a real time timeline window, the activity report including at least a content of the summary of the event associated with the secured area, the activity report further containing one or more of data, actions, warnings, help requests and recommendations generated by the activity analysis processor…the cloud server that downloads the activity report to the user, the activity report displayed to the user further comprises a playback control executing on a processor of the user and that controls playback of the summary, the playback control further including an interface that accepts requests for additional data from the user and the playback control downloads and displays the additional data to the user in response to the requests) [0046].
Regarding claim 13, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Meganathan further discloses retrieving the portion of the video comprises retrieving the portion of the video without retrieving all other portions of the video (the apparatus may include a cloud server, an activity analysis processor that monitors the activities of a security system protecting a secured area and of a human operator of the security system and that evaluates the system's and operator's activities within a security system database based upon the deviation, trend, pattern and criticality of each respective activity, the activity analysis processor detects an event within the monitored activities and saves a summary of the event to the cloud server, the summary includes one or more of video, image, text, audio, charts and graphs relating to protection of the secured area, a user interface of the cloud server that detects a request from a user for a report of activities reported within a real time timeline window, the activity report including at least a content of the summary of the event associated with the secured area, the activity report further containing one or more of data, actions, warnings, help requests and recommendations generated by the activity analysis processor…the cloud server that downloads the activity report to the user, the activity report displayed to the user further comprises a playback control executing on a processor of the user and that controls playback of the summary, the playback control further including an interface that accepts requests for additional data from the user and the playback control downloads and displays the additional data to the user in response to the requests) [0046].
Regarding claim 14, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Yova further discloses sending the data to a cloud server independent of the user input (capture images, audio, or video segments in order to stream images, audio, and video segments to…one or more local remote servers, domain servers…for viewing or storage by users either in real time or a later time; camera is tasked to capture a ten second video segment every ten minutes…the final programmed duration and interval will depend on the end use application; the at least one camera 102 sends the ten second video segment…to the local remote server 106) [0011; 0025; 0026].
Regarding claim 15, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Meganathan further discloses causing the portion of the video to be sent from the remote location comprises causing the portion of the video to be sent to at least one of a cloud server or the end-user device via the connection (the apparatus may include a cloud server, an activity analysis processor that monitors the activities of a security system protecting a secured area and of a human operator of the security system and that evaluates the system's and operator's activities within a security system database based upon the deviation, trend, pattern and criticality of each respective activity, the activity analysis processor detects an event within the monitored activities and saves a summary of the event to the cloud server, the summary includes one or more of video, image, text, audio, charts and graphs relating to protection of the secured area, a user interface of the cloud server that detects a request from a user for a report of activities reported within a real time timeline window, the activity report including at least a content of the summary of the event associated with the secured area, the activity report further containing one or more of data, actions, warnings, help requests and recommendations generated by the activity analysis processor…the cloud server that downloads the activity report to the user, the activity report displayed to the user further comprises a playback control executing on a processor of the user and that controls playback of the summary, the playback control further including an interface that accepts requests for additional data from the user and the playback control downloads and displays the additional data to the user in response to the requests) [0046].
Yova further discloses a metered connection (cellular wireless connection 208) [0034].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meganathan and Yova further in view of Chang et al. WO 2009/088265 A2, hereafter Chang.
Regarding claim 4, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
However, the combination fails to explicitly disclose the application program is further configured to combine two or more video clips to generate the previously captured video.
Chang, in an analogous environment, discloses the application program is further configured to combine two or more video clips to generate the previously captured video (a video merge server that reconfigures a binding video provided from a plurality of the playback servers; and a display server that configures the binding video reconfigured and transmitted by the video merge server into a full video and delivers a final output video to the display device) [15].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the video merging process, as disclosed by Chang, with the invention disclosed by Meganathan and Yova, the motivation being to display the [multiple] videos whenever necessary [8].
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meganathan and Yova further in view of Selvarajan et al. US 2011/0293246 A1, hereafter Selvarajan.
Regarding claim 16, Meganathan discloses a system for retrieving video from a remote device (security system 10) [FIG. 1], the system configured to:
enable an image captured at the remote device (cameras 24, 26) [FIG. 1] to be accessed via an end-user device (portable device 56; the summary includes one or more of video, image, text, audio, charts and graphs relating to protection of the secured area and a user interface of the cloud server that detects a request from a user for a report of activities occurring within a real time timeline window and downloads the activity report to the user, the activity report including at least a content of the summary of the event associated with the secured area) [0034; 0047];
receive, from the end-user device, an input; and responsive to the input, retrieve from the remote device and via a connection, a previously captured video (the apparatus may include a cloud server, an activity analysis processor that monitors the activities of a security system protecting a secured area and of a human operator of the security system and that evaluates the system's and operator's activities within a security system database based upon the deviation, trend, pattern and criticality of each respective activity, the activity analysis processor detects an event within the monitored activities and saves a summary of the event to the cloud server, the summary includes one or more of video, image, text, audio, charts and graphs relating to protection of the secured area, a user interface of the cloud server that detects a request from a user for a report of activities reported within a real time timeline window, the activity report including at least a content of the summary of the event associated with the secured area, the activity report further containing one or more of data, actions, warnings, help requests and recommendations generated by the activity analysis processor…the cloud server that downloads the activity report to the user, the activity report displayed to the user further comprises a playback control executing on a processor of the user and that controls playback of the summary, the playback control further including an interface that accepts requests for additional data from the user and the playback control downloads and displays the additional data to the user in response to the requests) [0046].
However, Meganathan fails to explicitly disclose a metered connection; receive, from the end-user device, an input associated with the image; and responsive to the input, retrieve from the remote device and via a connection, a previously captured video associated with the image.
Yova, in an analogous environment, discloses a metered connection (cellular wireless connection 208) [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cellular connection, as disclosed by Yova, with the invention disclosed by Meganathan, the motivation being providing an improved system wherein data can be accessed from any other type of network such as a satellite network and/or a cellular network [0034].
Further, Selvarajan in an analogous environment discloses receive, from the end-user device, an input associated with the image (see images with timestamps displayed in FIG. 5) [FIG. 5]; and responsive to the input, retrieve from the remote device and via a connection, a previously captured video associated with the image (once the network video recording system has interfaced with the end user's operating system, the method 100 can manage the network video recording system by executing any of the following: playing video streams associated with the network video recording system as in 145; as can be seen in FIG. 5, the window 400 can display thumbnails associated with the files of the network video recording system for quickly browsing through the files) [0026; 0035].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the graphical user interface using multiple thumbnails with timestamps to display an associated video for selection and viewing, as disclosed by Selvarajan, with the invention disclosed by Meganathan and Yova, the motivation being an improved system to manage a network recording system using an everyday operating system [0003].
Regarding claim 17, Meganathan, Yova, and Selvarajan address all of the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above.
Yova further discloses the remote device comprising: a camera; a storage device communicatively coupled to the camera and for storing the image and the previously captured video; and a communication device communicatively coupled to at least one of the end-user device or a server via the metered connection (see elements 102, 106, 108) [FIG. 2].
Regarding claim 18, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above.
Meganathan further discloses the input is received from the end-user device, the input being associated with selection of the image, a time, or a combination thereof (the timeline window of the summary may be set up by the user of the portable device 56 to any appropriate time period…through the interface 60 of the playback control. The user may also set a time period including a start and stop time for data…the portable device 56 may receive real time data that is displayed on the device 56 substantially instantaneously after begin reported within the alarm system 10) [0034].
Regarding claim 19, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above.
Yova further discloses the metered connection comprises a cellular connection, a satellite connection, or a combination thereof (cellular or wireless connection 208) [0034].
Regarding claim 20, Meganathan and Yova address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Meganathan further discloses a server communicatively coupled to the remote device (cloud server) [0046].
Conclusion
STEFAN GADOMSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2485
/STEFAN GADOMSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485