DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-l.isp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,907,398. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 – 20 of 10,907,398disclose every limitation of claims 1-20 in the instant application.
The similar rationale apply to application to US Patent 12,428,900 and US Patent 11,851,939
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rodriguez et al. (US 2007/0146118).
Regarding claim 1: Rodriguez disclose a movable barrier operator comprising:
a communication interface (Fig. 1, item 20, ¶0025: The network 20 may utilize either wired or wireless communication protocols, or a combination of both); and
a computer-readable medium storing instructions operative by a processor
communicatively (Fig. 1. Item 14, ¶0024: Each operator system includes an operator controller 14 which is a microprocessor-based device that receives and generates wired or wireless signals; and includes the necessary hardware, software and memory for enabling the system. ) coupled to the communication interface to:
receive, from a remote control, a communication utilizing a first security protocol,
the communication configured to cause an operation of the movable barrier operator (¶0028);
receive, from a network entity, an update package including a second security
protocol (¶0028: The wireless receiver 48 usually receives one type or format of frequency signal, but it will be appreciated that multiple frequency signals or different frequency signals (and hence different protocols) may be received and then processed by the controller 14.); and
update a communication compatibility of the communication interface for communicating with the remote control from the first security protocol to the second security protocol (¶0040: NORM 210 includes a plurality of antennas that enable it to transmit and receive various remote communication signals, including local and network communication signals of various frequencies and signal/data protocols. So each communication received, the system will update its communication capability to the correspondent protocol (different frequency)).
Regarding claim 2: Rodriguez disclose the movable barrier operator of claim 1, wherein the computer-readable medium further
stores instructions operative by a processor to:
update the communication compatibility in response to receiving a communication from
the remote control utilizing the second security protocol (¶0040: NORM 210 includes a plurality of antennas that enable it to transmit and receive various remote communication signals, including local and network communication signals of various frequencies and signal/data protocols. So each communication received, the system will update its communication capability to the correspondent protocol (different frequency)).
Regarding claim 3: Rodriguez disclose the movable barrier operator of claim 1, wherein the computer-readable medium further stores instructions operative by a processor to:
update the communication compatibility in response to receiving an acknowledgement communication from the remote control indicating the remote control updated to the second security protocol (¶0029: Upon confirmation of the transmitter's position, the controller 14 may initiate movement of the barrier 16 depending upon the status of the barrier 16 and the direction of its movement).
Regarding claim 5: Rodriguez disclose the movable barrier operator of claim 1, wherein the computer-readable medium further stores instructions operative by a processor to:
update the communication compatibility in response to receiving an acknowledgement communication from the network entity indicating the remote control updated to the second security protocol. (¶0029: Upon confirmation of the transmitter's position, the controller 14 may initiate movement of the barrier 16 depending upon the status of the barrier 16 and the direction of its movement).
Regarding claim 6: Rodriguez disclose the movable barrier operator of claim 1, wherein the computer-readable medium further stores instructions operative by a processor to:
receive, from a second remote control, a second communication utilizing the first security protocol; and maintain the communication compatibility of the communication interface for communicating with the second remote control utilizing the first security protocol until receiving information indicating the second remote control has updated to the second security protocol. (¶0040: multiple remote entities local keyless entry transmitter 240 and remote transmitter at the same carrier frequency, hence a second remote control could communicate with the same protocol. The updating comes when another device with another protocol would try to communicate which then the updating of communication protocol will occur. ).
Regarding claim 7: Rodriguez disclose the movable barrier operator of claim 1, wherein the update package including the second security protocol includes information regarding at least one of:
modulation; frequency; encryption method; cryptographic method; unidirectional or bidirectional communication; and multi-factor authentication.(¶0040).
Regarding claim 8: Claim 8 recite a method with the functional limitation of claim 1 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9: Claim 9 recite a method with the functional limitation of claim 2 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons of claim 2.
Regarding claim 10: Claim 10 recite a method with the functional limitation of claim 3 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons of claim 3.
Regarding claim 12: Claim 12 recite a method with the functional limitation of claim 5 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons of claim 5.
Regarding claim 13: Claim 13 recite a method with the functional limitation of claim 6 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons of claim 6.
Regarding claim 14: Claim 7 recite a method with the functional limitation of claim 7 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons of claim 7.
Regarding claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16: Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17: Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons of claim 3.
Regarding claim 19: Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons of claim 5.
Regarding claim 20: Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez et al. (US 2007/0146118) in view of Vandrunen et al. (US 2005/0195066)
Regarding claim 4: Rodriguez disclose the movable barrier operator of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the computer-readable medium further stores instructions operative by a processor to: update the communication compatibility after a predetermined time period.
In analogous art regarding operation of a movement barrier. Vandrunen disclose wherein the computer-readable medium further stores instructions operative by a processor to: update the communication compatibility after a predetermined time period.(¶0011 and ¶0029)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of wherein the computer-readable medium further stores instructions operative by a processor to: update the communication compatibility after a predetermined time period, as disclose by Vandrunen, to the system of Rodriguez. The motivation is to allow the system to potentially finish up a command of one protocol to the communicate with the other protocol.
Regarding claim 11: Claim 11 recite a method with the functional limitation of claim 4 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons of claim 4.
Regarding claim 18: Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons of claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record cited in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OMAR CASILLASHERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689