U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on July 21, 2025, in which claims 1-12 were presented for examination, of which claims 5 and 7-12 were withdrawn as to not being drawn to the elected embodiment, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I (Fig. 1A-2 and 3, Claims 1-4 and 6) in the reply filed on May 12, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sinker surface of the knitted fabric (claim 2)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Waldman et al. “Waldman” (US Patent 12,104,297).
Regarding claim 1, Waldman discloses a swimsuit (Col. 2, lines: 5-6, and Col. 14, lines: 58-62) comprising a warp knitted fabric that has elasticity (Abstract) and comprises: an elastic yarn (200, Fig. 1-5); and a non-elastic yarn (100), wherein the swimsuit has, in at least a portion thereof, a stripe pattern (see annotated Fig. 2 below) that is continuous in one direction (as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and includes a recessed stripe portion (see annotated Fig. 4 below) and a protruding stripe portion (see annotated Fig. 4 below), and at least a portion of the stripe pattern includes a warp knitted fabric portion formed by a herringbone structure (see annotated Fig. 5 below, examiner notes in annotated Fig. 5 the “herringbone structure” is created by the pattern of non-elastic yarn, 100).
Fig. 2-Examiner Annotated
Fig. 4-Examiner Annotated
Fig. 5-Examiner Annotated
Regarding claim 2, Waldman discloses a front surface of the herringbone structure is a sinker surface of the knitted fabric (examiner notes the “sinker surface of the knitted fabric” is shown in Fig. 2 and 4, where the surface of the fabric is recessed), and the herringbone structure includes at least two courses in which a direction of the non-elastic yarn is the same (as shown in Fig. 5, where at least two course of non-elastic yarn, 100, is shown to be the same).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldman.
Regarding claim 3, Waldman discloses an average height difference between the recessed stripe portion and the protruding stripe portion (see annotated Fig. 4 above).
Waldman does not explicitly disclose an average height difference between the recessed stripe portion and the protruding stripe portion is 50 to 500 um.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have an average height difference between the recessed stripe portion and the protruding stripe portion is 50 to 500 um, since the claimed value is merely an optimum or workable range, in order to achieve an optimal configuration. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, Waldman discloses an average pitch (D1, Fig. 4) between the protruding stripe portion and an adjacent protruding stripe portion (as shown in Fig. 4).
Waldman does not explicitly disclose an average pitch between the protruding stripe portion and an adjacent protruding stripe portion is 300 to 1500 um.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have an average pitch between the protruding stripe portion and an adjacent protruding stripe portion is 300 to 1500 um, since the claimed value is merely an optimum or workable range, in order to achieve an optimal configuration. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldman in view of Almog (US PG Pub. 2022/0030960).
Regarding claim 6, Waldman discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
Waldman does not disclose a water repellent is applied to at least a portion of the swimsuit.
However, Almog teaches yet another swimsuit (Par. 0040, Col. 2, lines: 24-27 and Par. 0056, lines: 1-11), wherein Almog teaches a water repellent is applied to at least a portion of the garment (Par. 0032, lines: 1-6 and 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the swimsuit disclosed by Waldman, by applying a water repellant as taught by Almog, in order to reduce drag while the swimsuit is in-use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent (See PTO-892) to applicant's disclosure.
/DAKOTA MARIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA J TOMPKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732