Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12, line 2, introduces the limitation of “a plurality of grooves”. It is not clear if the plurality of grooves introduced in claim 12 refers to the same structure as the “at least one groove” introduced in claim 1. For examination purposes, it is assumed that claim 12 further requires that the at least one groove of claim 1 are a plurality of grooves, and therefore are the same structure. Examiner recommends the language “wherein the at least one groove comprises a plurality of grooves”. Claims 13 and 14 are additionally rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 12.
The term “regular foam” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “regular” is not defined by the claim and the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree. Paragraph 0071 of Applicant’s specification discusses this limitation of “regular foam” and states that in “an example, the regular foam may be an injection-molded foam” and also implies that regular foam does not include memory foam (“however, the lower layer foam 40…can also be made of memory foam”). However, the specification does not limit regular foams to only injection-molded foam and does not otherwise provide a definition of what can be considered a regular foam such that one of ordinary skill in the art may be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Micklos (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0237113).
Regarding claim 1, Micklos discloses a pressure-relieving layer 120, comprising an integrally formed foam base 120 and a plurality of foam supports 124 (Figure 6), wherein the foam base 120 comprises at least one groove 122 extending in a first direction (Figure 6 and paragraph 0030), with the at least one groove 122 being open at an upper surface of the foam base 120 (Figure 6), and each groove 122 is embedded with multiple of the plurality of foam supports 124 (Figure 6 and paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 2, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Micklos further discloses wherein the at least one groove 122 and the plurality of foam supports 124 form at least one pressure-relieving zone 122a-f and a plurality of pressure-bearing zones on the foam base (the pressure bearing zones being defined by the foam extending between adjacent grooves 122, Figure 6), the at least one pressure-relieving zone 122a-f and the plurality of pressure-bearing zones being distributed at intervals along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 6), and each pressure-relieving zone 122a-f is adjacent to one of the pressure-bearing zones on either side thereof (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1-2. Micklos further discloses wherein the at least one pressure-relieving zone comprises a first region, a second region, and a third region (see annotated Figure 6, below), wherein the first region is located in a middle of the foam base, and the second region and the third region are located on both sides of the first region, respectively (see annotated Figure 6, below).
Regarding claim 4, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1-3. Micklos further discloses wherein the second region and the third region each comprise a plurality of grooves 124a-b and 124d-e therein (see annotated Figure 6, above), a width of the second region along the second direction is greater than a width of the first region along the second direction (see annotated Figure 6, above), and a width of the third region along the second direction is greater than the width of the first region along the second direction (see annotated Figure 6, above).
Regarding claim 5, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1-3. Micklos further discloses wherein a number of the grooves 122 in the second region is greater than a number of the grooves 122 in the first region (see annotated Figure 6, above), and a number of the grooves 122 in the third region is greater than the number of the grooves 122 in the first region (see annotated Figure 6, above).
Regarding claim 6, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1-3. Micklos further discloses wherein the second region and the third region each comprise at least two types of the foam supports 124 therein (see annotated Figure 6, above, and paragraph 0044, where each trench may comprise different numbers or other types of support elements 124, arranged in an alternating pattern).
Regarding claim 7, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Micklos further discloses wherein each of the foam supports 124 comprises a supporting surface and a bottom surface opposite to each other (see annotated Figure 6, above), wherein the bottom surface is in contact with the groove 122, and the supporting surface forms a supporting part that is flush with the upper surface of the foam base 120 (see annotated Figure 6, above).
Regarding claim 8, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 7. Micklos further discloses wherein an outer contour of the foam support 120 does not extend beyond the groove 122, and an area of the supporting part is not greater than an area of the bottom surface (see annotated Figure 6, above).
Regarding claim 9, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 7. Micklos further discloses wherein the foam support 124 comprises a plurality of slots or a plurality of protrusions on an upper portion thereof, the plurality of slots or the plurality of protrusions being uniformly distributed on the supporting surface (Figure 4, where each foam support forms a hole in the center of the support, defining the slot).
Regarding claim 10, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 7. Micklos further discloses wherein the supporting surface is planar, and an area of the supporting part is not greater than an area of the supporting surface (see annotated Figure 6, above).
Regarding claim 12, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Micklos further discloses wherein the foam base comprises a plurality of grooves 122 which extend through the foam base 120 along the first direction, and the plurality of grooves 122 have a same width along a second direction (Figure 6 and paragraph 0051); and the multiple foam supports 124 in each groove 122 are arranged in a row and in contact with each other in sequence (Figures 4, 6, and paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 13, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 12. Micklos further discloses wherein the multiple foam supports 124 in each groove have a same structure (Figures 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 14, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 12. Micklos further discloses wherein the plurality of foam supports in different grooves have different structures (paragraph 0044, where each trench may comprise different numbers or other types of support elements 124, arranged in an alternating pattern).
Regarding claim 16, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Micklos further discloses wherein the groove 122 extends through the foam base along the first direction, and the groove is provided with a foam 130 encased at both ends thereof (Figure 3), wherein the foam encased 130 is flush with side edges of the foam base 120 (Figure 3 and paragraphs 0032-0033).
Regarding claim 19, Miklos discloses a method of manufacturing a pressure-relieving layer 120, comprising: providing a foam base 120, and processing a plurality of parallel grooves 122 in the foam base (Figure 6), wherein the plurality of parallel grooves 122 extend along a first direction and are open at an upper surface of the foam base 120 (Figure 6 and paragraph 0051); providing a plurality of foam supports 124; and embedding multiple of the plurality of foam supports 124 in each groove to form the pressure-relieving layer 120 (Figure 6 and paragraphs 0053-0054); wherein the foam supports 124 have a first height, and the parallel grooves 122 have a depth, and the first height is less than or equal to the depth (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 20, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Micklos further discloses wherein the groove 122 extends through the foam base along the first direction, an outer contour of the foam support 120 does not extend beyond the groove, and the foam support 124 is affixed to the groove 122 (Figure 6 and paragraphs 0053-0054); and top portions of the foam supports 124 form a plurality of supporting parts that are flush with the upper surface of the foam base 120 (see annotated Figure 6, above), the plurality of supporting parts being uniformly distributed above the groove 122 and are arranged at intervals from each other (Figures 4 and 6 and paragraphs 0054-0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miklos in view of Nakamura (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0251823)
Regarding claim 11, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 7. Micklos does not disclose wherein the supporting surface is curved, and an area of the supporting part is less than an area of the supporting surface.
Nakamura teaches wherein the supporting surface 38 (of support 30) is curved (Figure 2), and an area of the supporting part is less than an area of the supporting surface 38 (Figure 2 and paragraph 0048, where the supporting surface 38 curves away from the upper layer 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Micklos with Nakamura (both being directed to mattress comprising supports positioned in grooves) such that the supporting surface is curved, and an area of the supporting part is less than an area of the supporting surface. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the shape of the support of Nakamura improves the ability of the cushion to deform with the shape of an overlying user (paragraphs 0048 and 0050).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miklos in view of Fisher (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0367042).
Regarding claim 15, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Micklos further discloses wherein a thickness of the foam base 120 is greater than or equal to a depth of each groove 122, and the depth of the groove 122 is equal to a height of the foam support 124 located in the groove 122 (Figure 6). Micklos does not disclose wherein the depth of the groove ranges from 7cm to 11cm, and a volume of the foam support ranges from 2cm3 to 7cm3.
Fisher (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0367042) teaches wherein the depth of the groove ranges from 7cm to 11cm (paragraph 0050, where the pocket height can be 2-5 inches), and a volume of the foam support ranges from 2cm3 to 7cm3 (where the height of the foam support can range from 1-10inches, and the height to diameter ratio may be 2:1 or 3:1, paragraphs 0034 and 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Mickos with Fisher (both being directed to mattresses comprising foam supports) such that the depth of the groove ranges from 7cm to 11cm, and a volume of the foam support ranges from 2cm3 to 7cm3. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the heights of the groove and volume of the foam supports can be varied to support a desired a desired ergonomic configuration (paragraphs 0034 and 0050).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miklos in view of Rasmussen (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0167753).
Regarding claim 17, Micklos discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Micklos further discloses a multi-layer cushion, comprising an upper-layer foam 130 and the pressure-relieving layer according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1, above, also see Figure 6); wherein the pressure-relieving layer 120 is located below the upper-layer foam 130. Micklos does not teach a lower-layer foam.
Rasmussen teaches a lower-layer foam 110 (Figure 3 and paragraph 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Micklos with Rasmussen (both being directed to multilayer foam mattresses) and arrived at a lower-layer foam. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the base layer of Rasmussen provides a base sufficient to support the multiple layers of the mattress (paragraphs 0019-0020).
Regarding claim 18, Micklos, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 17. Micklos, as modified, further discloses wherein the upper-layer foam 130 is made of memory foam (see Micklos, paragraph 0036) the lower-layer foam is made of regular foam (see Rasmussen, paragraph 0019, where the base layer may be polyurethane or latex foam).
Micklos, as modified, does not disclose wherein the multi-layer cushion further comprises a spring layer and a supporting layer, and the supporting layer and the spring layer are arranged in sequence from top to bottom between the pressure-relieving layer and the lower-layer foam.
Rasmussen teaches wherein the multi-layer cushion further comprises a spring layer 120 and a supporting layer 140 (Figure 3 and paragraphs 0020 and 0034), and the supporting layer 140 and the spring layer 120 are arranged in sequence from top to bottom between the pressure-relieving layer 130 and the lower-layer foam 110 (Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further combined Micklos, as modified, with Rasmussen (both being directed to multilayer foam mattresses) and arrived at a spring layer and a supporting layer, and the supporting layer and the spring layer are arranged in sequence from top to bottom between the pressure-relieving layer and the lower-layer foam. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the spring layer and supporting layer of Rasmussen provide additional support to a user (paragraphs 0020-0023 and 0034).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chunglo (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0087762) which discloses a foam mattress comprising trenches containing foam supports
Boyd (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0250327) which discloses a foam mattress comprising trenches containing foam supports.
Hoffman (U.S. Patent No. 6,061,856) which discloses foam supports of various types.
Micklos (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0156507) which discloses alternating type of foam supports within a trench.
/ALISON N LABARGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679