DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kondo et al. (US 2022/0059752; “Kondo”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo teaches a method of manufacturing an oscillator (1c; figure 9) including a container (30) in which a resonator (43) is accommodated and a base substrate (10), the method comprising:
forming a first projecting portion (50) on the container (30);
forming a second projecting portion (16) on the base substrate (10); and
bonding the first projecting portion (50) and the second projecting portion (16) with a bonding material (17) interposed therebetween to mount the container (30) on the base substrate (10).
As for claim 2, Kondo teaches wherein the first projecting portion (50) is formed by applying an insulating adhesive (para. [0032]) to the container (30) and curing the insulating adhesive (inherent step in forming resin bonding member), and
the second projecting portion (16) is formed by applying an insulating adhesive (para. [0049]) to the base substrate (10) and curing the insulating adhesive (inherent step in forming resin bonding member).
As for claim 3, Kondo teaches wherein the container (30) includes a base (31) and a lid (32), and
the first projecting portion (50) is formed on the lid (32).
Regarding claim 4, Kondo teaches wherein the container (30) includes a terminal (37) formed on the base (31), and
the terminal (37) and the base substrate (10) are electrically connected to each other via a bonding wire (52).
As for claim 5, Kondo teaches wherein the second projecting portion (16) includes a plurality of projections (see plurality of bumps 16), and
the first projecting portion (50) includes a projection having a larger area in a plan view than any of the plurality of projections (16) of the second projecting portion (see dimensions in figure 9).
As for claim 6, Kondo teaches wherein the projection of the first projecting portion (50) is bonded to each of the plurality of projections of the second projecting portion (16).
Regarding claim 7, Kondo teaches wherein the projection of the first projecting portion (50) is bonded to any one of the plurality of projections of the second projecting portion (16).
As for claim 8, Kondo teaches wherein the oscillator includes an integrated circuit (41) including an oscillation circuit (61) accommodated in the container (30).
Regarding claim 9, Kondo teaches wherein the integrated circuit (41) further includes a temperature compensation circuit (62) and a temperature sensor (63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo.
Regarding claim 10, Kondo teaches the method of manufacturing an oscillator according to claim 9, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the oscillator further includes a heater fixed to the container.
The embodiment in figures 10-11 of Kondo includes a heater (80) fixed to container (30) that maintains the oscillator at a constant temperature to improve frequency stability of the oscillator. See paragraph [0055] of Kondo.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a heater to figure 9 of Kondo because such a modification would have provided the benefit of stabilizing the oscillation frequency of Kondo against temperature fluctuations.
Conclusion
The prior art references made of record and not relied upon teach oscillator manufacturing methods, comprising: forming resonators in containers including bases and lids, forming first and second projections on containers and base substrates, bonding the first and second projections together, and utilizing bonding wires, ICs, temperature compensation circuits, temperature sensors, and heaters.
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 July 10, 2026