DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Pertinent Prior Art
Prior art that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not currently relied upon:
US 9159327
C. 4, ll. 30-60
Modify existing audio fingerprint to generate multiple adjusted fingerprints
US 20230252074
Pars. 32-39
Determine whether audio file segment and the stored audio segment correspond to alternate versions of a same song based on fingerprints
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12393629 and claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14, and 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12056185. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims encompass the instant claims.
Instant claims
Patent US 12393629 claims
Patent US 12056185 claims
21
8
17
22
9
18
23
10
19
24
11
20
25
12
14
26
13
13
27
14
16
28
1
9
29
2
10
30
3
11
31
4
12
32
5
14
33
6
13
34
7
16
35
15
1
36
17
2
37
18
4
38
18
6
39
19
5
40
20
8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 21-40 are directed to one of the eligible categories of subject matter.
With respect to independent claims 21, 28, 35, the applying, generate, determine, indicate, match cover performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). The receiving, transmission limitations are recited at a high level of generality and do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea; these limitations are directed to insignificant extra solution activities. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to dependent claims 24, 25, 26, 27, 31, 32, 33, 34, 37, 38, 39, 40, the generate, compare cover performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). No additional elements are recited and so the claims do not provide a practical application and are not considered to be significantly more. The claims are not eligible.
With respect to dependent claims 22, 23, 29, 30, 36 comprises song title/audio signal, are recited at a high level of generality and do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodhead et al., Pub. No.: US 20160132600 A1, hereinafter Woodhead, in view of Bilobrov et al., Pub. No.: US 20160300579 A1, hereinafter Bilobrov.
As per claim 21, Woodhead discloses A computer-implemented method comprising: in response to receiving a query comprising one or more suspected alterations applied to a media signal associated with a sample fingerprint from a client device, applying one or more adjustments to the sample fingerprint to generate one or more adjusted sample fingerprints, wherein the one or more suspected alterations corresponds to at least one of a suspected pitch shift applied to the media signal, a suspected time shift applied to the media signal, or a suspected resample ratio applied to the media signal (pars. 29, 89, 113, 114, 121-124 disclose receiving, from a client device, a content recognition query with a media sample, determining a common distortion such as suspected time stretch or pitch shift, modifying a fingerprint to be “time stretched or shifted” or “pitch shifted”, and “pre-warp content inserted into the micro database is to apply the time and/or frequency stretch ratios to the raw media file (e.g., resampling and/or pitch-bending)”);
determining a match between at least one of the one or more adjusted sample fingerprints and at least one reference fingerprint (pars. 40, 45-46, 80-82 disclose that the “query comparator” matches the adjusted fingerprint to a reference fingerprint); and
causing transmission of a communication to the client device, wherein the communication indicates an identification of the media signal (pars. 36, 106-107 disclose returns identity of content, information identifying the media recording to the client) Woodhead does not expressly disclose however Bilobrov, in the related field of endeavor of media analysis, discloses and at least one of the one or more adjustments that, when applied to the sample fingerprint, caused the at least one of the adjusted sample fingerprints to match the at least one reference fingerprint (Bilobrov, pars. 52, 55, 56, claims 9, 10 disclose “determines the degree of pitch shifting” that produced the match and sends identifying information to the requesting client).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Bilobrov would have allowed Woodhead’s system that reports, to a client device, a media signal identification to also report identifying information about the pitch shift degree that produced a match. This would provide a client with more relevant information in a simultaneous manner. Transmitting multiple known pieces of data in a single communication to a client device is an obvious, predictable combination of the known data; such a combination of known elements yields predictable results.
As per claim 22, Woodhead as modified discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the identification of the media signal comprises a title of a song (Bilobrov, par. 27, Woodhead, par. 24, 33, 53).
As per claim 23, Woodhead as modified discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the media signal comprises an audio signal (Woodhead, par. 28, 34, 42, Bilobrov, par. 27).
As per claim 24, Woodhead as modified discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the applying the one or more adjustments to the sample fingerprint comprises:
when the one or more suspected alterations corresponds to a suspected pitch shift, generating a pitch shifted sample fingerprint to accommodate for the suspected pitch shift (Woodhead, pars. 121-124);
when the one or more suspected alterations corresponds to a suspected time shift, generating a time shifted sample fingerprint to accommodate for the suspected time shift (Woodhead, pars. 113-114, 122, 124); and
when the one or more suspected alterations corresponds to a suspected resample ratio, generating a resampled sample fingerprint to accommodate for the suspected resample ratio (Woodhead, par. 124).
As per claim 25, Woodhead as modified discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 24, wherein the determining the match comprises: when the one or more suspected alterations corresponds to a suspected pitch shift, comparing the pitch shifted sample fingerprint to the at least one reference fingerprint; when the one or more suspected alterations corresponds to a suspected time shift, comparing the time shifted sample fingerprint to the at least one reference fingerprint; and when the one or more suspected alterations corresponds to a suspected resample ratio, comparing the resampled sample fingerprint to the at least one reference fingerprint (Woodhead, pars. 40, 45-46, 80-82 wherein the same “query comparator” matches each adjusted fingerprint type against a reference fingerprint).
As per claim 26, Woodhead as modified discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the one or more adjusted sample fingerprints are generated in parallel (Woodhead, pars. 86, 102, 111, note that par. 111 says, with respect to fig. 10 “…blocks 1002-1008. Although the blocks are illustrated in a sequential order, these blocks may also be performed in parallel...”).
As per claim 27, Woodhead as modified discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the determining the match comprises: comparing the at least one of the one or more adjusted sample fingerprints and the at least one reference fingerprint based on at least one comparison criteria, wherein the at least one comparison criteria comprises one or more of a cross-correlation value between the at least one of the one or more adjusted sample fingerprints and the at least one reference fingerprint or a Hamming distance between the at least one of the one or more adjusted sample fingerprints and the at least one reference fingerprint (Woodhead, par. 46 discloses histogram based scoring and that other algorithms may be substituted; Bilobrov, pars. 5, 47-52, 59-61 disclose Hamming distance-based comparisons, and correlation values).
As per claims 28-40, they are analogous to claims above and therefore likewise rejected.
Conclusion
/SYED H HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154