DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 128. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-3, 5, 7-15 and 18-20 of prior U.S. Patent No. US 12366123. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 12 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-3, 10, 15, 16, 23 and 25-28 of prior U.S. Patent No. US 11512538. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5931511, DeLange.
In regards to claim 1, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, DeLange discloses a tubular connection comprising: a first joint of casing (14) comprising an integral box end with an internal female threaded zone having internal female threads disposed on the integral box end; and a second joint (24) of casing comprising: an integral pin end with an external male threaded zone having external male threads (18) disposed on the integral pin end, the external male threads configured to engage with the internal female threads such that the first joint of casing connects directly to the second joint of casing, and a metal-to-metal sealing surface (32) disposed between the external male threaded zone and a terminal end of the integral pin end; wherein said second joint of casing has an internal diameter D1, said second joint of casing further comprising an internal annular recess (see Figure 1 below) having an internal diameter D2, wherein D2 is greater than D1, the internal annular recess disposed longitudinally along an inner surface of the integral pin end.
[AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
In regards to claim 3, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, DeLange discloses the external male threads are configured to sealingly engage with the internal female threads.
In regards to claim 4, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, DeLange discloses the internal annular recess is not disposed longitudinally along an inner surface of the second joint of casing radially adjacent to the portion of the external male threads disposed on an upper portion of the integral pin end.
In regards to claim 6, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, DeLange discloses the internal diameter D2 of the internal annular recess is the same along an entire longitudinal length of the internal annular recess L1.
In regards to claim 8, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, DeLange discloses the internal annular recess extends to the terminal end of the integral pin end.
In regards to claim 10, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, DeLange discloses the internal annular recess is disposed radially adjacent to the metal-to-metal sealing surface of the integral pin end.
In regards to claim 12, in Figure 1, DeLange discloses a method for forming a tubular, the method comprising: providing a joint of casing having an integral pin end with an external male threaded zone having external male threads positioned thereon and a metal-to-metal sealing surface disposed between the external male threaded zone and a terminal end of the integral pin end; and forming an internal annular recess into the joint of casing at the integral pin end, the internal annular recess having an internal diameter D2 that is greater than an internal diameter D1 of the joint of casing, the internal annular recess disposed longitudinally along an inner surface of the integral pin end.
Note, DeLange illustrates the claimed structure and provides the structure in Figure 1.
In regards to claim 13, in Figure 1, DeLange discloses forming the internal annular recess into the joint of casing comprises forming the internal annular recess with a longitudinal length that is less than a longitudinal length of the external male threaded zone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLange.
In regards to claims 9 and 14, DeLange discloses the claimed invention except for the longitudinal length of the internal annular recess being approximately half the longitudinal length of the external male threaded zone. The DeLange invention is fully capable of having the longitudinal length of the internal annular recess being modified to approximately half the longitudinal length of the external male threaded zone. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the longitudinal length of the internal annular recess to approximately half the longitudinal length of the external male threaded zone, since a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLange in view of US 20160160575, Hou.
In regards to claims 2 and 7, DeLange discloses the claimed invention except for internal and external wedge dove tail threads. Hou relates to tubular connections. Hou teaches a thread system that has been used in this field is known as a “wedge” thread, which is formed by a system of dovetail threads of varying width or varying pitch, and this type of thread arrangement allows threads to easily be engaged and assembled, and yet to develop positive interference between opposing flanks of the thread in the fully assembled position ([0007]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide a thread system that has been used in this field is known as a “wedge” thread, which is formed by a system of dovetail threads of varying width or varying pitch, and this type of thread arrangement allows threads to easily be engaged and assembled, and yet to develop positive interference between opposing flanks of the thread in the fully assembled position, as taught by Hou.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679