DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the an obtuse angle (claim 9), the first housing further comprises another support disposed between the first cover and the second cover to be surrounded by the side surface (essentially another support/inclined surface in the first housing as mentioned in claims 11 and 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 15 states "configured to to elastically" should read "configured to elastically" . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4- rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the wearable ring device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5 directly or indirectly depend from claim 4 and are also rejected. The ring is never positively recited as part of the invention previously.
The term “the inclined surface of the support corresponds to a rotational surface formed by rotating a straight line on a plane comprising a central axis of the storage case about the central axis in ” in claim 6 renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the claim states a "product by process" limitation (the process to make the inclined surface). It does not appear that a straight line is rotated in order to make the inclined surface. The structural limitation being imposed by the claim is unclear. If the limitation imposes a "product by process" limitation, it doesn't appear that the process stated is actually used to create the inclined surface. What is the correlated rotational surface? It does not appear there is a separately correlated surface. Claim 7 directly or indirectly depend from claim 6 and are also rejected.
The term “wherein the inclined surface of the support corresponds to a rotational curved surface formed by rotating a curved line on a plane comprising a central axis of the storage case about the central axis in the folded state of the storage case” in claim 8 renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the claim states a "product by process" limitation (the process to make the inclined surface). It does not appear that a straight line is rotated in order to make the inclined surface. The structural limitation being imposed by the claim is unclear. If the limitation imposes a "product by process" limitation, it doesn't appear that the process stated is actually used to create the inclined surface. What is the correlated rotational curved surface? It does not appear there is a separately correlated surface. Also is the inclined surface now considered a “curved surface”? If so, it doesn’t appear that the specification redefines inclination to imply a curved surface. Inclination is defined as “slope at a particular angle” (Merriam Webster). A curve does not have an angle. Under the standard definition, curved surfaces are not considered inclined.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the coating or deposition layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the coating or deposition layer" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huynh (US 20150001103 A1 ).
With respect to claim 1, Hyunh discloses a storage case for a wearable ring device, the storage case comprising: a first housing (20) configured to support the wearable ring device, the first housing comprising a protrusion (14) configured to receive the wearable ring device to be fitted thereon; and a second housing rotatably connected to the first housing via a hinge (page 2 [0022]), the second housing (30) comprising: a light-transmissive member (housing that includes 42), comprising a light-transmissive material (abstract “transparent port” and page 2 [0024]), having a recess configured to receive the protrusion of the first housing and the wearable ring device in a folded state of the storage case, and a ring-shaped support (34, 36) coupled to the light-transmissive member to have a surface configured to surround the wearable ring device in the folded state of the storage case, surface of the support is configured to reflect light (abstract) so that the wearable ring device is visible through the light-transmissive member of the second housing in the folded state of the storage case .
Examiner Note: Rings can have many shapes and forms. Including a square/rectangular outer perimeter with a circular cut out. Further the light transmissive member does not mean that the entirety of the member is light transmissive. As interpreted, the light transmissive member has a portion (port) that has a light transmissive material.
Hyunh failed to disclose of a ring-shaped support coupled to the light-transmissive member to have an inclined surface. However, Hyunh teaches of a curved surface (32) that is used to reflect light. In this case, the surface is curved. Although an inclined surface is absent from Hyunhs invention, however, it is considered as a change of shape of Hyunh design and not novel in view of the guidelines established In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). The implementation of an inclined surface is only a modification in the shape of the curved surface of Hyunh and still provides the same results as Hyunh (i.e. allowing the redirection of light). Essentially, Hyunh and the present invention operate the same with the same working pieces, the only difference is the shape of Hyunhs surface is curved and the applications is an inclined surface. In re Dailey established that a "change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results." The application has presented no argument which shows that the particular configuration of their inclined surface for the actuating member is significant or is anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of refracting light from Hyunhs invention. See Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459.
With respect to claim 2, Hyunh discloses the storage case of claim 1, wherein the inclined surface of the support comprises a coating or a deposition layer of a reflective material. (abstract and page1 [0023])
With respect to claim 3, Hyunh discloses the storage case of claim 1, wherein the inclined surface of the support is formed by surface polishing. (page 1 [0023])
Examiner Note: the limitation “is formed by surface polishing” is considered to constitute a product by process limitation that does not materially affect structure. "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by- process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process" (See MPEP 2113; In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).)
With respect to claim 4, Hyunh discloses the storage case of claim 1, wherein, in the folded state of the storage case, a portion of the light-transmissive member (housing which include portion 46) is positioned between the inclined surface (32) of the support and the wearable ring device to face the inclined surface.
With respect to claim 5, Hyunh discloses the storage case of claim 4, wherein an air gap is formed between the inclined surface of the support and the portion of the light-transmissive member. (there are multiple air gaps between 46 and 32)
With respect to claim 6, Hyunh discloses the storage case of claim 1, wherein the inclined surface of the support corresponds to a rotational surface formed by rotating a straight line on a plane comprising a central axis of the storage case about the central axis in the folded state of the storage case, and wherein the protrusion (14) is positioned on the central axis and protrudes in a direction parallel to the central axis. (see 112b, above, unclear the structural limitation being stated but this limitation could be considered a product-by-process limitation)
With respect to claim 7, Hyunh discloses the storage case of claim 6, wherein the inclined surface forms an angle of 35 degrees to 55 degrees with respect to a protruding direction of the protrusion. (this would be the result of optimization and change of shape rational described in the rejection of claim1)
With respect to claim 8, Hyunh discloses the storage case of claim 1, wherein the inclined surface of the support corresponds to a rotational curved surface formed by rotating a curved line on a plane comprising a central axis of the storage case about the central axis in the folded state of the storage case, and wherein the protrusion (14) is positioned on the central axis and protrudes in a direction parallel to the central axis. (see 112b, above, unclear the structural limitation being stated but this limitation could be considered a product-by-process limitation)
With respect to claim 9, Hyunh discloses the storage case of claim 1, wherein the light-transmissive member forms a second outer side surface (exterior surface with 42) of the second housing, wherein the support (34) forms a second inner side surface of the second housing configured to be visible through the second outer side surface (can be seen through port 42), wherein the second inner side surface (34) is positioned between the second outer side surface and the inclined surface (32), and wherein the inclined surface (32) and the second inner side surface (34) form an acute angle or an obtuse angle.
With respect to claim 10, Hyunh discloses the storage case of claim 9, wherein the coating or deposition layer of a reflective material (abstract and page1 [0023]) that forms the inclined surface (32) of the support extends to the second inner side surface (34).
With respect to claim 11, the references as applied to claim 9, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims, Hyunh further teaches wherein the first housing comprises: a first cover (22) facing the second housing in the folded state of the storage case and comprises a plate portion (22) and the protrusion (14) extending from the plate portion (locationally the protrusion extends from the plate portion); a second cover (24) disposed opposite to the first cover; and a side surface (side walls) surrounding a space between the first cover and the second cover, wherein the side of the first housing forms a first outer side surface aligned with a second outer side surface of the second housing in the folded state of the storage case. Hyunh failed to teach wherein the side of the first housing comprises a same light-transmissive material as the light-transmissive member of the second housing. However, Hyunh teaches of this structure in the second housing in order to allow for displaying an image of an article. Although Hyunhs display is one sided, it would be obvious to incorporate a port and light transmissive member in order to enable viewing on both sides of the case. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the case of Hyunh to include a light transmissive member and display portion in the first housing as taught by Hyunh (in the second housing) in order to allow for viewing from both sides of the case.
With respect to claim 12, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims, Hyunh further teaches wherein the first housing further comprises another support disposed between the first cover and the second cover to be surrounded by the side surface, wherein the another support forms a first inner side surface of the first housing aligned with the second inner side surface of the second housing in the folded state of the storage case, and the first inner side surface is configured to be visible through the first outer side surface, wherein the coating or deposition layer forming the inclined surface of the support extends to the second inner side surface of the second housing, and wherein the first inner side surface of the first housing is formed by a coating or deposition layer made of the same material as the deposition layer that forms the inclined surface. (This is taught by the combination rationale as explained in claim 11s rejection. The claimed configuration is a result of the addition of the second housings features on the first housing.)
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huynh (US 20150001103 A1 ) in view of LilyCraft (see webpage attached).
With respect to claim 13, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for further comprising: a plurality of light sources circularly arranged in the first housing and configured to emit light between the wearable ring device and the inclined surface of the support in the folded state of the storage case. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely jewelry cases, LilyCraft taught of a ring box that used a light in the first housing (specifically LED). Although the specific pattern is not shown, it is understood that the light is intended to emit light in a circular patter to illuminate the stored jewelry. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the jewelry case of Huynh to include lights in the first housing as taught by LilyCraft in order to allow for illumination of the stored jewelry.
With respect to claim 14, the references as applied to claim 13, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the first housing comprises a first cover comprising a plate portion (22 of Hyunh) and the protrusion (can consider 14 of Hyunh, which is synonymous with the ring of LilyCraft) extending from the plate portion, and wherein the storage case further comprises: a ring-shaped light waveguide (can consider the circular groove/edge of LilyCraft) disposed between the plurality of light sources and the plate portion of the first cover; and a light-shielding layer (bottom felt layer of Lilycraft) disposed in the first cover and comprising a ring- shaped slit (opening between wooden edge and felt cover of LilyCraft) between the plate portion of the first cover and the light waveguide. For combination rationale, refer to claim 13 rejections above.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huynh (US 20150001103 A1 ) in view of DiMaggio (US 8991776 B1).
With respect to claim 15, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for further comprising: one or more flexible supports disposed on the protrusion and configured to elastically support the wearable ring device. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely jewelry cases, DiMaggio taught of case with a first housing that has protrusion (28) with flexible supports that elastically support a ring. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the case of DiMaggio to include a protrusion with flexible supports as taught by DiMaggio in order to allow for storage of rings.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20160178168-A1 OR US-20160029761-A1 OR US-20150001103-A1 OR US-20200391926-A1 OR US-20190281937-A1 OR US-20190208880-A1 OR US-20170021987-A1 OR US-20090200183-A1 OR US-20070151878-A1 OR US-20070144921-A1 OR US-20050167287-A1 OR US-20040195114-A1 OR US-20230361587-A1 OR US-20240275190-A1 OR US-20210292058-A1 OR US-8991776-B1 OR US-5467869-A OR US-4322834-A OR US-3817025-A OR US-4595095-A OR US-RE45179-E OR US-7537109-B1 OR US-7325940-B2
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735