Response to Amendments
The amendment and response filed on September 09, 2026, to the Non-Final Office Action dated June 10, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 3, and 6-7 are amended. Claims 1 – 7 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pages 5-9, filed September 09, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection based on PIZZATO et al (US-20240238978-A1) have been considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of claims 1-7 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of further limiting amendments made, changing the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections --35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PIZZATO et al (US-20240238978-A1)(“Pizzato”).
As per claim 1, Pizzato discloses robot control system (Figure 1)comprising:
an opening/closing section that opens or closes an access section configured to access a movable region of a robot having a robot arm (Pizzato at Figure 6, locking system to section with moveable region for robot, and Para. [0090] disclosing a lock with handle to regulate access to the robot section:” each safety switch 3 comprises a switching device 7 anchored to the fixed access frame and an actuator device 8 provided with a grip handle 10 and anchored to the movable part of the access.”);
an opening/closing detection section that detects an open state or a closed state of the opening/closing section (Pizzato at Para. [0091] disclosing an open or close state:” detect the proximity of the actuator device 8 and thus discriminating the open or closed access condition of the respective access A1, A2 to communicate it to the control unit.”);
an opening/closing signal transmission section that transmits an opening/closing signal including information on the open/closed state detected by the opening/closing detection section (Pizzato at Para. [0054] discloses transmitting access code and granting access to the robot section:” codes will be transmitted by the respective electronic drive 5 and will define the above actuation command, which the respective control device 2, 4 will transmit to the control unit, which will check whether an authorization to entry into the perimeter P is associated with this code to enable the opening of the interrogated access A1, A2 and/or the lock/unlock thereof.”); and
a robot control apparatus that outputs a drive signal to the robot and controls an operation of the robot (Pizzato at Figure 8, safety switch 3, and Para. [0043] disclosing operation of robot (machine) is based on determination at safety switch 3:” FIGS. 8 and 9 and indicated with 9, are also provided, each having a transponder with identification code and adapted to interact with the first control device 2 and/or the first safety switch 3 for sending respective activation commands.”) ,
wherein the robot control apparatus includes an opening/closing signal acquisition section that acquires the opening/closing signal (Pizzato at Figure 6, actuator 8, and at least Para. [0061] disclosing acquiring opening/closing signal:” actuator device 8 which will interact with the switching means upon opening/closing the access A1, A2 for opening/closing the above circuits.”),
a trigger signal acquisition section that acquires a trigger signal (Pizzato at Para. [0074] discloses a triggering signal in the form of a matching at the lock to allow the worker to enter the robot/machine room:” control unit 15 will receive the identification code and, if it checks that it matches one of the authorized codes, it will communicate with the corresponding switch 7 to unlock the manned access A1, A2.”), wherein the trigger signal comprises a safety confirmation signal transmitted from a transmission apparatus in response to an operator input indicating a safety confirmation is completed (At Para. [0057] Pizzato discloses that to ensure safety there is verification as evidenced by entry of codes by a user that the operator has exited the enclosure:” control unit will verify that it has received all the codes certifying both the entry and exit of all operators”.), the safety confirmation including the operator visually confirming or manually touching the opening/closing section to confirm that the opening/closing section is in the closed state when starting operation of the robot (At Para. [0081] Pizzato discloses requiring the operator to bring the actuator proximate the reader at an access point to verify exit from the enclosure:” Once exiting, the operator will bring his actuator 9 close to the reading head 6 of the first control device 2 located outside the exit access.”), and
a determination section that defines, as a safety confirmation state, a case where, when power is supplied to the robot control apparatus (Pizzato at Para. [0051] discloses a process in the controller for determining a safety confirmation state by insuring that all users that have entered the workspace have exited:” second control devices 4 may also be associated with safety switches placed within the perimeter P or with other verification means for verifying the entry/exit of the operators.”),
the opening/closing detection section detects that the closed state is achieved based on the opening/closing signal acquired by the opening/closing signal acquisition section (Pizzato at least Para. [0059] disclosing an opening/closing signal at locks 3 to enter and exit the workspace:” Both of the first control devices 2 are suitable for sending commands to stop and enable the machine or system following the opening/closing of the respective accesses A1, A2.”) , and
the trigger signal acquisition section acquires the trigger signal, and determines whether or not the safety confirmation state is achieved (Pizzato at Figure 6, actuator 8, and Para. [0061] discloses that actuator acquires a trigger signal indicating an entrance and exit of the workspace:” actuator device 8 which will interact with the switching means upon opening/closing the access A1, A2 for opening/closing the above circuits.”) , and
the robot control apparatus permits an operation of the robot arm when the determination section determines that the safety confirmation state is achieved (Pizzato at Para. [0083] disclosing a condition upon when restoration of operating condition is allowed like a locking of all entrances to the workspace:” restoration of the operating condition of steady operation will be allowed by the control unit 15 only when it has detected that all open accesses have been closed and possibly locked.”), and prohibits an operation of the robot arm when the determination section determines that the safety confirmation state is not achieved (Pizzato at Para. [0078] disclosing prohibiting operation until a safety condition is met like all worker have left the workspace:” the control unit 15, having not yet received the information that all the operators have left the perimeter P, will not allow the machine or plant M to return to operating conditions”.).
While Pizzato does not explicitly disclose that the operator is able to “visually confirm[ing]” the opening or closing of the exposure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that actions of holding the verification reader close to the reading head, located outside the exit access, and when light and/or sound signaling means for indicating “the condition of opening, closing or locking of the accesses” that the operator would have ample opportunities to visually confirm that the robot is secure in the enclosure and that harm to the operator is minimal.
As per claim 2, Pizzato discloses a robot control system according to claim 1, wherein when the opening/closing signal indicating that the opening/closing section is switched from the open state to the closed state is received, the determination section detects that the closed state is achieved (Pizzato at Para. [0083] disclosing a determination that all entries are closed:” restoration of the operating condition of steady operation will be allowed by the control unit 15 only when it has detected that all open accesses have been closed and possibly locked.”) .
As per claim 3, Pizzato discloses a robot control system according to claim 1, wherein the determination section defines, as the safety confirmation state, a case where, when power is supplied to the robot control apparatus (Pizzato at Para. [0056] disclosing safety conditions for operating of the robot/machine in the workspace:” To guarantee complete safety for the operators, the control unit 15 will be designed to enable the passage of the machine or plant M from the second operating condition, that could be a safety or other operating condition other than the steady one, to the first operating condition of full operativity only after receipt of codes or data certifying the exit of all operators from the perimeter P.”), the opening/closing detection section detects that the closed state is achieved, the trigger signal acquisition section acquires a safety confirmation signal as the trigger signal, and it is determined that an entering object is absent based on a signal transmitted from an entering object detection sensor that detects the entering object entering the movable region (Pizzato at Para. [0084] disclosing checking to determine if the entry codes match the exit codes before restoring the robot to an operating state:” the control unit 15 will check that the codes received by the first control devices 2 and the codes received by the second control devices 4 are equal in number and correspond to the same operator, so to be sure that all the operators have left the perimeter P.”).
As per claim 4, Pizzato discloses a robot control system according to claim 1, wherein the robot control apparatus further includes a notification section that notifies that the safety confirmation state is not achieved when the determination section determines that the safety confirmation state is not achieved (Pizzato at Para. [0108] disclosing the use of light/sound to confirm a state of the machine which would indicate the safety condition:” light and/or sound signaling means may be provided which are controlled by the control unit and are suitable to provide indications relating to the operating condition of the machine or plant M”.).
As per claim 5, Pizzato discloses a robot control system according to claim 4, wherein the notification section notifies that the safety confirmation state is not achieved and a cause of the safety confirmation state not being achieved (Pizzato at Para. [0108] disclosing an indication of safety confirmation:” light and/or sound signaling means … the condition of opening, closing or locking of the accesses and which may possibly also indicate the number of operators present inside the perimeter P.”).
As per claim 6, Pizzato discloses a robot control apparatus that outputs a drive signal to a robot having a robot arm and controls an operation of the robot (Figures 1-4), the robot control apparatus comprising:
an opening/closing signal acquisition section that acquires an opening/closing signal including information on an open/closed state of an opening/closing section that opens or closes an access section configured to access a movable region of the robot (Pizzato at Figure 6, locking system to section with moveable region for robot, and Para. [0090] disclosing a lock with handle to regulate access to the robot section:” each safety switch 3 comprises a switching device 7 anchored to the fixed access frame and an actuator device 8 provided with a grip handle 10 and anchored to the movable part of the access.”);
a trigger signal acquisition section that acquires a trigger signal (Pizzato at Para. [0074] discloses a triggering signal in the form of a matching at the lock to allow the worker to enter the robot/machine room:” control unit 15 will receive the identification code and, if it checks that it matches one of the authorized codes, it will communicate with the corresponding switch 7 to unlock the manned access A1, A2.”), wherein the trigger signal comprises a safety confirmation signal transmitted from a transmission apparatus in response to an operator input indicating a safety confirmation is completed (At Para. [0057] Pizzato discloses that to ensure safety there is verification as evidenced by entry of codes by a user that the operator has exited the enclosure:” control unit will verify that it has received all the codes certifying both the entry and exit of all operators”.), the safety confirmation including the operator visually confirming or manually touching the opening/closing section to confirm that the opening/closing section is in the closed state when starting operation of the robot (At Para. [0081] Pizzato discloses requiring the operator to bring the actuator proximate the reader at an access point to verify exit from the enclosure:” Once exiting, the operator will bring his actuator 9 close to the reading head 6 of the first control device 2 located outside the exit access.”); and
a determination section that defines, as a safety confirmation state, a case where, when power is supplied to the robot control apparatus (Pizzato at Figure 8, safety switch 3, and Para. [0043] disclosing operation of robot (machine) is based on determination at safety switch 3:” FIGS. 8 and 9 and indicated with 9, are also provided, each having a transponder with identification code and adapted to interact with the first control device 2 and/or the first safety switch 3 for sending respective activation commands.”), an opening/closing detection section detects that the closed state is achieved based on the opening/closing signal acquired by the opening/closing signal acquisition section (Pizzato at Figure 6, actuator 8, and at least Para. [0061] disclosing acquiring opening/closing signal:” actuator device 8 which will interact with the switching means upon opening/closing the access A1, A2 for opening/closing the above circuits.”), and
the trigger signal acquisition section acquires the trigger signal, and determines whether or not the safety confirmation state is achieved (Pizzato at Para. [0074] discloses a triggering signal in the form of a matching at the lock to allow the worker to enter the robot/machine room:” control unit 15 will receive the identification code and, if it checks that it matches one of the authorized codes, it will communicate with the corresponding switch 7 to unlock the manned access A1, A2.”),
wherein an operation of the robot arm is permitted when the determination section determines that the safety confirmation state is achieved (Pizzato at Para. [0083] disclosing a condition upon when restoration of operating condition is allowed like a locking of all entrances to the workspace:” restoration of the operating condition of steady operation will be allowed by the control unit 15 only when it has detected that all open accesses have been closed and possibly locked.”), and an operation of the robot arm is prohibited when the determination section determines that the safety confirmation state is not achieved (Pizzato at Para. [0078] disclosing prohibiting operation until a safety condition is met like all worker have left the workspace:” the control unit 15, having not yet received the information that all the operators have left the perimeter P, will not allow the machine or plant M to return to operating conditions”.).
While Pizzato does not explicitly disclose that the operator is able to “visually confirm[ing]” the opening or closing of the exposure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that actions of holding the verification reader close to the reading head, located outside the exit access, and when light and/or sound signaling means for indicating “the condition of opening, closing or locking of the accesses” that the operator would have ample opportunities to visually confirm that the robot is secure in the enclosure and that harm to the operator is minimal.
As per claim 7, Pizzato discloses a control method of a robot control apparatus (Figures 7-8) that includes an opening/closing signal acquisition section that acquires an opening/closing signal including information on an open/closed state of an opening/closing section that opens or closes an access section configured to access a movable region of a robot having a robot arm, and a trigger signal acquisition section that acquires a trigger signal, and that outputs a drive signal to the robot to control an operation of the robot (Pizzato at Figure 8, Para. [0043], and Para. [0054] discloses transmitting access code and granting access to the robot section:” codes will be transmitted by the respective electronic drive 5 and will define the above actuation command, which the respective control device 2, 4 will transmit to the control unit, which will check whether an authorization to entry into the perimeter P is associated with this code to enable the opening of the interrogated access A1, A2 and/or the lock/unlock thereof.”), wherein the trigger signal comprises a safety confirmation signal transmitted from a transmission apparatus in response to an operator input indicating a safety confirmation is completed (At Para. [0057] Pizzato discloses that to ensure safety there is verification as evidenced by entry of codes by a user that the operator has exited the enclosure:” control unit will verify that it has received all the codes certifying both the entry and exit of all operators”.), the safety confirmation including the operator visually confirming or manually touching the opening/closing section to confirm that the opening/closing section is in the closed state when starting operation of the robot (At Para. [0081] Pizzato discloses requiring the operator to bring the actuator proximate the reader at an access point to verify exit from the enclosure:” Once exiting, the operator will bring his actuator 9 close to the reading head 6 of the first control device 2 located outside the exit access.”), the method comprising:
a first step of defining, as a safety confirmation state, a case where, when power is supplied to the robot control apparatus (Pizzato at Para. [0051] discloses a process in the controller for determining a safety confirmation state by insuring that all users that have entered the workspace have exited:” second control devices 4 may also be associated with safety switches placed within the perimeter P or with other verification means for verifying the entry/exit of the operators.”), an opening/closing detection section detects that the closed state is achieved based on the opening/closing signal acquired by the opening/closing signal acquisition section (Pizzato at least Para. [0059] disclosing an opening/closing signal at locks 3 to enter and exit the workspace:” Both of the first control devices 2 are suitable for sending commands to stop and enable the machine or system following the opening/closing of the respective accesses A1, A2.”), and the trigger signal acquisition section acquires the trigger signal, and determining whether or not the safety confirmation state is achieved (Pizzato at Figure 6, actuator 8, and Para. [0061] discloses that actuator acquires a trigger signal indicating an entrance and exit of the workspace:” actuator device 8 which will interact with the switching means upon opening/closing the access A1, A2 for opening/closing the above circuits.”); and
a second step of permitting an operation of the robot arm when it is determined that the safety confirmation state is achieved (Pizzato at Para. [0083] disclosing a condition upon when restoration of operating condition is allowed like a locking of all entrances to the workspace:” restoration of the operating condition of steady operation will be allowed by the control unit 15 only when it has detected that all open accesses have been closed and possibly locked.”), and prohibiting an operation of the robot arm when it is determined that the safety confirmation state is not achieved in the first step (Pizzato at Para. [0078] disclosing prohibiting operation until a safety condition is met like all worker have left the workspace:” the control unit 15, having not yet received the information that all the operators have left the perimeter P, will not allow the machine or plant M to return to operating conditions”.).
While Pizzato does not explicitly disclose that the operator is able to “visually confirm[ing]” the opening or closing of the exposure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that actions of holding the verification reader close to the reading head, located outside the exit access, and when light and/or sound signaling means for indicating “the condition of opening, closing or locking of the accesses” that the operator would have ample opportunities to visually confirm that the robot is secure in the enclosure and that harm to the operator is minimal.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658