Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 7-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 12, and 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,393,269. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 1 is met by patented claim 1.
Claim 7 is met by patented claim 7.
Claim 8 is met by patented claim 8.
Claim 9 is met by patented claim 10.
Claim 10 is met by patented claim 12.
Claim 11 is met by patented claim 16.
Claim 12 is met by patented claim 17.
Claim 13 is met by patented claim 18.
Claim 14 is met by patented claim 19.
Claim 20 is met by patented claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-12, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alonso (2019/0258857).
Regarding claim 1, Alonso discloses a method comprising:
at a device including a display, a gaze tracker, a non-transitory memory and one or more processors coupled with the display and the non-transitory memory:
displaying, on the display, a cursor (inherently included; par. 33);
setting a first display region corresponding to the cursor as an expected gaze target that indicates where a user of the device intends to gaze (402);
determining, using the gaze tracker, a second display region corresponding to a measured gaze target on the display where the user is measuredly gazing (410); and
adjusting a calibration parameter (422) of the gaze tracker based on a difference between the first display region and the second display region without prompting a guided calibration (par. 23 and 52).
It should be noted that the gaze location in Alonso is intended to be any graphics symbol, including the cursor in the computer display 102. For instance, the user can use the computer input means to move the cursor to attract the user’s attention as the gaze target (note par. 46, 47, 50, 53 and 57).
Regarding claim 2, Alonso discloses setting the first display region corresponding to the cursor as the expected gaze target includes: detecting, via a physical input device, an input directed to the first display region; and setting the first display region as the expected gaze target in response to detecting the input directed to the first display region (note par. 42, 47, 86 and 94).
Regarding claim 7, Alonso discloses adjusting the calibration parameter comprises adjusting the calibration parameter when a distance between the first display region and the second display region is greater than a threshold (note par. 69-71).
Regarding claim 8, Alonso discloses the adjustment to the calibration parameter is proportional to a distance between the first display region and the second display region (note par. 80).
Regarding claim 9, Alonso discloses the expected gaze target is associated with a confidence score, and wherein adjusting the calibration parameter comprises: adjusting the calibration parameter in response to the confidence score being greater than a threshold confidence score; and forgoing adjustment of the calibration parameter in response to the confidence score being less than the threshold confidence score (note par. 78-85).
Regarding claim 10, Alonso discloses the confidence score is a function of a distance between the first display region and the second display region (note par. 78-85).
Regarding claim 11, Alonso discloses adjusting the calibration parameter comprises adjusting the calibration parameter in response to the second display region corresponding to a blank space (note the change color in par. 47 does not have a shape).
Regarding claim 12, Alonso discloses adjusting the calibration parameter comprises adjusting the calibration parameter in response to the first display region having a first saliency value that is greater than a second saliency value of the second display region (note the difference values and thresholds in par. 78-85).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, see rejection to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alonso (2019/0258857).
Regarding claim 3, Alonso discloses setting the first display region corresponding to the cursor as the expected gaze target includes: detecting, via a mouse, a mouse click while the first display region corresponds to the cursor (par. 42, 47, 86, 94); except
setting the expected gaze target to the cursor in response to detecting the mouse click.
However, according to paragraph 47, Alonso teaches that the portion 312 can be changed to different shapes or colors in temporal manner.
Therefore, based on the input availabilities as described in par. 42, 86 and 94, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the mouse as the input device to change or setting the shapes or color of the portion 312 as desired.
Regarding claim 4, Alonso discloses setting the first display region corresponding to the cursor as the expected gaze target includes: detecting, via a touch-sensitive surface, a tap input while the first display region corresponds to the cursor (par. 42, 47, 86 and 94); except
setting the expected gaze target to the cursor in response to detecting the tap input.
However, according to paragraph 47, Alonso teaches that the portion 312 can be changed to different shapes or colors in temporal manner.
Therefore, based on the input availabilities as described in par. 42, 86 and 94, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the touch screen as the input device to change or setting the shapes or color of the portion 312 as desired.
Regarding claim 5, Alonso discloses setting the first display region corresponding to the cursor as the expected gaze target includes: detecting, via a keyboard, a key press while the first display region corresponds to a focus indicator; except
setting the first display region as the expected gaze target in response to detecting the key press.
However, according to paragraph 47, Alonso teaches that the portion 312 can be changed to different shapes or colors in temporal manner.
Therefore, based on the input availabilities as described in par. 42, 86 and 94, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the keyboard as the input device to change or setting the shapes or color of the portion 312 as desired.
Regarding claim 6, Alonso discloses setting the first display region corresponding to the cursor as the expected gaze target includes: detecting, via an audio sensor, a voice input including a selection command while the first display region corresponds to a focus indicator (par. 42, 47, 86, 94); except
setting the first display region as the expected gaze target in response to detecting the voice input including the selection command.
However, according to paragraph 47, Alonso teaches that the portion 312 can be changed to different shapes or colors in temporal manner.
Therefore, based on the input availabilities as described in par. 42, 86 and 94, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the audio sensor and microphone as the input device to change or setting the shapes or color of the portion 312 as desired.
Regarding claim 13, Alonso does not disclose the expected gaze target is determined based on the measured gaze target when a selection input is received.
However, according to paragraph 47, Alonso teaches that the portion 312 can be changed to different shapes or colors in temporal manner.
Therefore, based on the input availabilities as described in par. 42, 86 and 94, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the input device to change or select the shapes or color of the portion 312 as desired.
Regarding claims 15-19, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Williams et al. (2019/0107884) discloses a calibration process.
Larsen (2015/0085251) discloses a gaze tracking system.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422