DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Specifically, in claim 2, line 5, “dental adhesion means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 14, lines 1 and 2, “is of a color of the dentition of the patient” is indefinite. This limitation relies on a relationship with teeth of a patient, and since teeth vary in color from patient to patient, there is no way to determine the metes and bounds of this claim.
In claim 20, lines 2-3, “preferably” and “more preferably” render the claim indefinite, as the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined. For purposes of this action, this claim will be interpreted as “…wherein the material comprises filler materials.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,8,9,10,12,13,15,16,17,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barth 20180304541 in view of Hung 20180303582.
With regard to claim 1, Barth discloses a dental aligner (fig. 1) comprising means for applying a displacement force, identical or different, on each tooth of the dentition of a patient, wherein said means comprising at least one active portion on the aligner (the aligner applies a force), and wherein said dental aligner is made using a material comprising a photoinitiator and/or a thermoinitiator. See paragraphs 29 (which discloses photoinitiators) and 46 (which discloses thermoinitiators). It is noted that the recitation in line 6 “by directly 3D printing” is considered to be a product by process limitation which does not carry structural weight in an apparatus claim. Since the final product required by claim 1 only requires a material having either a photoinitator or a thermoinitiator, Barth is considered to meet this limitation.
Barth does not disclose a thickness ranging from 0.3 mm to 6 mm.
Hung discloses a dental aligner which may have a thickness between 0.5 – 1.5mm. See paragraph 31.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the aligner of Barth with a thickness 0.5 to 1.5mm, which includes values that fall within applicant’s claimed range, in view of the teaching of Hung that such values are appropriate for the thickness of a dental aligner.
With regard to claim 2, note that Barth discloses a surface condition selected from smooth surface, rough surface, and surface comprising dental adhesion means. Specifically, Barth discloses a “smooth” surface. See surface 12 in figure 1, for example.
With regard to claims 3 and 8, note that Barth discloses that the material may comprise a photoinitiator, which may be benzophenone. See paragraph 59.
With regard to claim 4, note that Barth discloses that the material may comprise a thermoinitiator, which may be a peroxide. See paragraph 46.
With regard to claim 9, note that Barth/Hung discloses a range of 0.5 to 1.5mm for the thickness (paragraph 31 of Hung) which includes values recited in this claim.
With regard to claim 10, note that Barth/Hung discloses a range of 0.5 to 1.5mm for the thickness (paragraph 31 of Hung) which includes values recited in this claim.
With regard to claim 12, note that dental aligner of Barth/Hung is made of a biocompatible matter (the aligner is worn in the mouth, therefore is made of biocompatible matter).
With regard to claim 13, note that the dental aligner of Barth/Hung is configured to reconstruct a shape of a tooth or teeth. This occurs when the aligner is worn in the mouth and moves the teeth in the mouth, thus reconstructing the shape of the teeth as a set.
With regard to claim 15, note that the aligner of Barth/Hung comprises at least at least two different materials. See paragraph 83 of Barth.
With regard to claim 16, note that Barth discloses that the dental aligner may be colored. See paragraph 53 of Barth which discloses that a pigment may be included.
With regard to paragraph 17, note that the dental aligner of Barth/Hung is transparent. See paragraph 83 of Barth.
With regard to claim 19, note that Barth discloses that the material may comprise a polymer such as polyurethane. See paragraph 63.
With regard to claim 20, note that Barth discloses that the material of the aligner may comprise a filler, such as a pigment. See paragraph 53.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barth 20180304541 in view of Hung 20180303582 and further in view of Mizuguchi et al 4140664.
With regard to claim 5, Barth/Hung does not disclose the thermoinitiator to be an azoic such as 4,4'-azobis(4-cyanovaleric) acid, nor a peroxide such as benzoyl peroxide.
Mizuguchi et al discloses a thermosetting resin which may include 4,4'-azobis(4-cyanovaleric) acid, or benzoyl peroxide as a thermoinitiator. See col. 5, lines 60-63.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use 4,4'-azobis(4-cyanovaleric) acid as a thermoinitiator in the material used to form the aligner of Barth/Hung, in view of the teaching of Mizuguchi et al that 4,4'-azobis(4-cyanovaleric) acid or benzoyl peroxide may be used as a thermoinitator in a thermosetting resin.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barth 20180304541 in view of Hung 20180303582 and further in view of Shiobara et al 5340851.
With regard to claim 7, Barth/Hung do not disclose that the thermoinitiator is a tert-butyl peracetate.
Shiobara et al discloses a thermosetting resin that may include tert-butyl peracetate as a thermoinitiator. See col. 14, line 16.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize tert-butyl peracetate as a thermoinitiator in the material used to form the aligner of Barth/Hung, in view of the teaching of Shiobara et al that tert-butyl peracetate is suitable for use as a thermoinitator in a thermosetting resin.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barth 20180304541 in view of Hung 20180303582 and Boronkay 20160199157.
With regard to claim 18, Barth/Hung do not disclose that the applied displacement force ranges from 0.0098 N.mm to 8 N.mm.
Boronkay discloses a dental positioning system in which an applied force (rotational moment) may be 5 N.mm (see paragraph 72), which falls within applicant’s claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the aligner of Barth/Hung to be capable of applying a displacement force of between 0.0098 to 8 N.mm, in view of the teaching of Boronkay that a force of 5 N.mm is suitable for a corrective force within the oral cavity. One skilled in the art would recognize that applying forces within this claimed range would be obvious as a matter of routine optimization.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barth 20180304541 in view of Hung 20180303582 and Kuo et al 20080138767.
With regard to claim 14, Barth/Hung do not disclose the aligner to be a color of the dentition of the patient.
Kuo et al disclose a dental aligner (see fig. 4) which may be a color of the dentition of a patient. See paragraphs 55 and 56.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the aligner of Barth/Hung with a color of the dentition of a patient, as taught by Kuo et al, if one wished to give portions of the aligner the appearance of natural teeth of the patient.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barth 20180304541 in view of Hung 20180303582 and Andreiko et al 20130095446.
With regard to claim 11, Barth/Hung do not disclose the parameters recited in this claim. It is noted that the claim only requires any (1) of the recited parameters.
Andreiko et al discloses a dental aligner which may have a tensile strength of 58-68 MPa, which falls within applicant’s claimed range. See paragraph 88.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the aligner of Barth/Hung out of a material having a tensile strength of 58-68 MPa, in view of the teaching of Andreiko et al that a material with a tensile strength in this range is suitable for a dental aligner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772