DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: OPTICAL ASSEMBLY FOR MOUNTING TO A FIREARM HAVING FLEXURE SHAFTS THAT ENABLE ADJUSTMENT OF THE OPTICAL ASSEMBLY.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-, 11-14 and 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,629,935. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application 19/276,147
Claim
US Patent No. 11,629,935
Corresponding Claim
Reasons or Explanation of Double Patenting
1
1
Pending Claim is broadly claiming the same invention with the exception of an optical source with VCSEL which is seen to be an obvious substitution in aiming modules.
2
2
Reciting the equivalent function
3
2
Reciting generally the equivalent function and structure
4
7
Pending claim is slightly broader in an obvious sense with respect to compound threaded adjustment means
6
3,4
Windage and elevation adjustment using flexure shafts are claimed
7
7
Identically recited compound threaded adjustment systems
11
1,8
VCSEL is claimed
12
5
Identical recitation
13
14
Identical recitation
14
1
VCSEL Claim 14 is obvious choice for radiation source of pending claim.
16
1
Pending Claim is broadly claiming the same invention with the exception of an optical source with VCSEL which is seen to be an obvious substitution in aiming modules.
17
3
Pending claim recites adjusting property as being azimuth and or windage that is in patent Claim 3
18
2
Both claims fix or secure the optics position axially
19
1
Pending Claim is broadly claiming the same invention with the exception of an optical source with VCSEL which is seen to be an obvious substitution in aiming modules.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claims 1, 4-7, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Collin (U.S. PG Publication No. 2016/0313089).
Regarding Claims 1 and 19, Collins discloses in Figures 1-2, an optical assembly or system 10, comprising: flexure shafts (windage adjustment mechanism 46 with shaft 68); an optical source 18 (HOE) configured to emit multiple radiation types ; and optics configured to allow the transmission of radiation from the optical source, wherein the flexure shafts 46 are configured to mount the optics 18 and the optical source under tension and enable zero-play adjustment of an orientation of the optical assembly, and wherein the optical assembly is configured to be mounted to a firearm.
Regarding Claims 4 and 16, Collins discloses in Figures 1-2, the optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the flexure shafts comprise a threaded flexure shaft 66 that is adjustable to facilitate alignment of the optical assembly.
Regarding Claim 5, Collins discloses in Figures 1-2, the optical assembly of claim 4, wherein the orientation of the optical assembly is a first orientation, and wherein the threaded flexure shaft facilitates adjustment of a second orientation of the optical source, resulting in the optical source emitting the radiation in a direction parallel to a bore axis of the firearm (Para 0042).
Regarding Claim 6, Collins discloses in Figures 1-2, The optical assembly of claim 4, wherein the threaded flexure shaft is adjustable to facilitate alignment of a property of the optics and the optical source, the property being selected from a group of properties comprising a windage of the optics and the optical source and an elevation of the optics and the optical source (Para’s 0040-0042).
Regarding Claim 7, Collins discloses in Figures 1-2, the optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the flexure shafts comprise respective compound threaded adjustment systems (Para’s 0040-0042).
Regarding Claim 15, Collin inherently discloses the flexure shafts prevent movement of the optics relative to the optical assembly due to recoil created by the firearm (the HOI device is secured to a firearm that inherently prevents movement Para 0002).
Regarding Claim 17, Collin inherently discloses in Figures 1-2, the method of claim 16, wherein the one or more elements of the optical assembly comprise an optical source configured to emit light and optics that facilitate transmission of the light from the optical source, and wherein the facilitating of the zero-play adjustment comprises facilitating modifying a property of the optics and the optical source via the adjustment of the threaded flexure shaft, the property being selected from a group of properties comprising an azimuth of the optics and the optical source and an elevation of the optics and the optical source (Para 0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claim 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collin (U.S. PG Publication No. 2016/0313089).
Collins does not disclose the optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical source comprises a radiation source selected from a group of radiation sources comprising an array of vertical cavity surface emission lasers, a light emitting diode, a solid-state laser source, and an arc lamp and wherein the radiation is of a type selected from a group of types comprising an illumination radiation type and an aiming radiation type and wherein the optical source comprises a radiation source selected from a group of radiation sources comprising a light emitting diode, a solid-state laser source, and an arc lamp.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a light source as claimed for illuminating in low levels of ambient light because the known technique of using LEDs, lasers, arc lamps or VCSEL was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
. Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collin (U.S. PG Publication No. 2016/0313089) in view of Sauter (U.S. PG Publication No. 2008/0043322).
Collins does not explicitly disclose the optics further comprise Risley prisms wherein the Risley prisms are configured to steer the radiation from the optical source.
Sauter discloses the optics of a gun aiming and vision system as having a Riley prism to adjust the mission direction of the light (Para 0031, 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a Risley prism into the optical assembly of the system. All the claimed elements in Collins and Collins were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the Risley prisms with the night vision system 200 as claimed with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result adjust the light beam to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are allowable subject to a terminal disclaimer be filed to obviate the double patent rejection asserted in this office action.
Claims 2-3, 8-10 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims along with filing a terminal disclaimer to obviate the double patenting rejection asserted in this action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 2-3 and 18-19, the prior art does not teach or suggest alone or in combination a main flexure shaft securing the optics in an axial direction relative to the firearm in combination with a light source and a second threaded flexure shaft element that facilitates adjustment of an elevation of the optics system relative to the firearm.
Regarding Claim 8, The prior art does not teach or suggest alone or in combination, each respective compound threaded adjustment system of the respective compound threaded adjustment systems comprises a respective first threaded flexure shaft element having a first thread pitch and a respective second threaded flexure shaft element having a second thread pitch that is different from the first thread pitch, resulting in an increase of an effective thread pitch of the respective compound threaded adjustment system based on a differential between the first thread pitch and the second thread pitch.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J MAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875