DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on July 22, 2025. Claims 1-11 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 22, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claims 1 and 10, the claims recite “the electric motor”, however this term had not been previously introduced and has therefore been interpreted as reciting -- an electric motor--.
In regards to claim 2, the claim recites “the transmission preloading phase”, however this wasn’t previously introduced. It is noted that claim 1 previously introduced “the transmission preloading step”, therefore claim 2 has been interpreted as though -- the transmission preloading step-- to further align with claim 1.
In regards to claims 3-9 and 11, the claims are dependent upon an objected claim and are therefore objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Terada et al. (US 20170015213; hereinafter Terada; already of record from IDS).
In regards to claim 1, Terada discloses of a method of controlling the electric motor of a road motor vehicle which comprises: a plurality of ground-resting wheels; and an electric motor which is mechanically connected to at least one drive wheel of the vehicle by means of a transmission, and is adapted to drive into rotation said at least one drive wheel (“A motor drive control device is capable of reducing gear rattling noise generated in a speed reducer without increasing size of the speed reducer and the number of components. A motor ECU controls a motor to generate a reverse set torque (Tn) when a target torque (T*) is reversed (at a time t1). The motor ECU sequentially calculates a backlash (B) in a counter gear mechanism, and sets a time period (D1) in which the reverse set torque (Tn) is generated by the motor and a time period (D2) in which a return set torque (Tp) is generated by the motor so that the backlash (B) at a current time becomes equal to a time integrated value (corresponding to an area A) of an estimated relative velocity (V2−V1) until a time of reabutment.” (Abstract), “Therefore, an abutment velocity (|moving velocity of the tooth of the output-side gear)-(moving velocity of the tooth of the input-side gear|) at which the tooth of the input-side gear comes into abutment against the tooth of the output-side gear can be reduced. In this manner, collision energy at the time of abutment of the tooth of the input-side gear against the tooth of the output-side gear can be reduced. As a result, according to one embodiment of the present invention, the gear rattling noise generated in the speed reducer can be reduced without increasing the speed reducer in size and/or increasing the number of components. The input-side gear is a gear to which the torque is input from the motor, whereas the output-side gear is a gear that transmits the torque to the wheel.” (Para 0015), see also Para 0007 and Figs 1-2));
the method of controlling the electric motor comprising a transmission preloading step in which the electric motor delivers a driving torque capable of bringing the teeth of the various gears of the transmission stably into abutment to one another, substantially without causing the rotation of said at least one drive wheel (“The counter gear mechanism 50 has a backlash formed between the first gear 51 and the second gear 52. When the direction of the torque of the motor 30 is reversed, the first gear 51 idles relative to the second gear 52 by the amount of the backlash. When the backlash is eliminated, a tooth 51t of the first gear 51 comes into abutment against a tooth 52t of the second gear 52 in a reverse direction. When the teeth 51t and 52t come into abutment against each other, gear rattling noise is generated. In this embodiment, the gear rattling noise due to the backlash in the counter gear mechanism 50 is reduced. Therefore, the counter gear mechanism 50 corresponds to a speed reducer of the present invention, which is a target whose gear rattling noise is to be reduced. The first gear 51 corresponds to an input-side gear of the present invention, whereas the second gear 52 corresponds to an output-side gear of the present invention. “ (Para 0046), “When the direction of the torque is reversed in a state in which the motor 30 generates the torque, the torque generated by the motor 30 is switched from the driving torque to the braking torque. Therefore, the abutment between the tooth 51t of the first gear 51 and the tooth 52t of the second gear 52 of the counter gear mechanism 50 is released (referred to as “abutment release”). When the first gear 51 rotates relative to the second gear 52 in the reverse direction by the amount of a backlash, the tooth 51t of the first gear 51 and the tooth 52t of the second gear 52 come into abutment against each other again (referred to as “re-abutment”). The gear rattling noise reduction control processing adjusts the motor torque (braking torque or driving torque) in the idling time period from the time of abutment release to the time of re-abutment to perform control so that a moving velocity of the tooth 51t of the first gear 51 in a circumferential direction becomes closer to that of the tooth 52t of the second gear 52 in the circumferential direction at the time of re-abutment, thereby reducing the gear rattling noise. Hereinafter, the moving velocity in the circumferential direction is referred to as “circumferential velocity”.” (Para 0062), see also Fig 4; wherein the idling time substantially doesn’t cause rotation of the drive wheel);
said method of controlling the electric motor being characterised in that said transmission preloading step includes a transient backlash compensation step, in which the rotation speed of the electric motor is controlled in such a way that the teeth of the various gears of the transmission come into contact to one the other with an approaching speed lower than a predetermined maximum threshold (“When the direction of the torque is reversed in a state in which the motor 30 generates the torque, the torque generated by the motor 30 is switched from the driving torque to the braking torque. Therefore, the abutment between the tooth 51t of the first gear 51 and the tooth 52t of the second gear 52 of the counter gear mechanism 50 is released (referred to as “abutment release”). When the first gear 51 rotates relative to the second gear 52 in the reverse direction by the amount of a backlash, the tooth 51t of the first gear 51 and the tooth 52t of the second gear 52 come into abutment against each other again (referred to as “re-abutment”). The gear rattling noise reduction control processing adjusts the motor torque (braking torque or driving torque) in the idling time period from the time of abutment release to the time of re-abutment to perform control so that a moving velocity of the tooth 51t of the first gear 51 in a circumferential direction becomes closer to that of the tooth 52t of the second gear 52 in the circumferential direction at the time of re-abutment, thereby reducing the gear rattling noise. Hereinafter, the moving velocity in the circumferential direction is referred to as “circumferential velocity”.” (Para 0062), “For example, in this embodiment, the rotation speed of the motor 30 is controlled so that the re-abutment is achieved at the timing at which the relative velocity V (approach velocity) becomes zero. However, the timing at which the relative velocity V becomes zero is not necessarily required to be set as target timing for the re-abutment. The rotation speed of the motor 30 only needs to be controlled so that the re-abutment is achieved in a state in which the relative velocity V is lowered to a preset set velocity Vref (velocity at which the gear rattling noise can be reduced). For example, the timing of end of the time period D2 only needs to be set to timing at which it is detected that the relative velocity Vnow becomes equal to or lower than the set velocity Vref. In this case, the time period D2 may be set shorter than the time period D2 of this embodiment by Vref/α. Even in this modification, the gear rattling noise can be reduced without increasing the size of the speed reduction mechanism 40 and the number of components.” (Para 0103), see also Para 0106).
In regards to claim 7, Terada discloses of the method of controlling the electric motor of a road motor vehicle according to Claim 1, wherein the rotation speed of the electric motor, during said mechanical backlash compensation transient step, is controlled implementing a proportional-integral type feedback control (“When the direction of the motor torque is reversed in a state in which the motor 30 is rotating in the first direction, the backlash B decreases from the initial backlash B0. It is assumed that the relative rotational position Θ immediately before the direction of the motor torque is reversed is an initial relative rotational position Θ0 and the relative rotational position Θ at the current time is a current relative rotational position Θx. Then, a value obtained by multiplying a difference (|Θx−Θ0|) between the current relative rotational position Θx and the initial relative rotational position Θ0 by the radius R (R.Math.(|Θx−ΘD|) is the amount of decrease in backlash. Therefore, the backlash B at the current time is expressed by Expression (3).” (Para 0072), “The value obtained by integrating the relative velocity V by time corresponds to the amount of decrease in the backlash B. Therefore, in order to control the relative velocity V to become zero at a moment at which the backlash B becomes zero, the time periods D1 and D2 need to be set so that a value obtained by integrating a predicted relative velocity V(=predicted approach velocity) from the current time to the time of re-abutment by time becomes equal to the backlash B at the current time. For example, when the current time is immediately after the output of the reverse request for the motor torque (at the time of abutment release), an area A0 of a solid gray region in part (a) of FIG. 6 corresponds to the value obtained by integrating the predicted relative velocity V from the current time to the time of re-abutment by time. In this case, by setting the time periods D1 and D2 so that the area A0 becomes equal to the initial backlash B0, the relative velocity V at the time of re-abutment (time t3) can be set to zero. The time periods D1 and D2 can be calculated geometrically. In this case, D1=D2 holds. Therefore, at the time when the backlash B becomes half the initial backlash B0 (B0/2), the reverse set torque Tn needs to be switched to the return set torque Tp. As a result, at the end of the time period D2, the relative velocity V becomes zero. After the re-abutment, the motor torque is set to the target torque T* at the time when the reverse request is output.” (Para 0077)).
In regards to claim 8, Terada discloses of the method of controlling the electric motor of a road motor vehicle according to Claim 1, wherein said predetermined maximum threshold allows a soft contact of the teeth of the various gears of said transmission (“For example, in this embodiment, the rotation speed of the motor 30 is controlled so that the re-abutment is achieved at the timing at which the relative velocity V (approach velocity) becomes zero. However, the timing at which the relative velocity V becomes zero is not necessarily required to be set as target timing for the re-abutment. The rotation speed of the motor 30 only needs to be controlled so that the re-abutment is achieved in a state in which the relative velocity V is lowered to a preset set velocity Vref (velocity at which the gear rattling noise can be reduced). For example, the timing of end of the time period D2 only needs to be set to timing at which it is detected that the relative velocity Vnow becomes equal to or lower than the set velocity Vref. In this case, the time period D2 may be set shorter than the time period D2 of this embodiment by Vref/α. Even in this modification, the gear rattling noise can be reduced without increasing the size of the speed reduction mechanism 40 and the number of components (Para 0103)).
In regards to claim 9, Terada discloses of a road motor vehicle provided with ground-resting wheels and comprising: at least one electric motor which is mechanically connected to at least one wheel of said ground-resting wheels by means of a transmission, and is adapted to drive into rotation said at least one wheel an electric-energy accumulator which is adapted to store therein a given amount of electric energy to be supplied to said at least one electric motor; and an electronic motor-control equipment, which powers and commands the electric motor according to commands it receives from the vehicle driver (“The motor drive control device according to one embodiment of the present invention is mountable in the in-wheel motor driven automobile for transmitting the torque of the motor to the wheel through an intermediation of the speed reducer, and controls the driving of the motor so that the torque of the motor follows the target torque. The target torque is a target value of the motor torque, which is set, for example, in accordance with the amount of operation by a driver and a motion state of a vehicle, and is calculated in predetermined calculation cycles. In the in-wheel motor driven automobile, when the direction of the motor torque is reversed, there is a fear in that gear rattling noise may be generated due to the backlash in the speed reducer and be audible to the driver. Therefore, the motor drive control device according to one embodiment of the present invention includes the relative-position detection means and the motor-speed control means to reduce the gear rattling noise.” (Para 0011), “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the motor unit 20 is provided in a cylindrical space surrounded by a rim portion 101 and a disc portion 102 of the wheel 10. The term “in-wheel” herein means interior of the cylindrical space or the interior of the cylindrical space including the vicinity of the cylindrical space. The motor unit 20 includes a motor 30 and a speed reduction mechanism 40, which are provided inside a housing 21. The motor 30 is, for example, a three-phase brushless motor, and is connected to a motor driver 85 provided to the vehicle body b to generate a driving torque by power supplied from the motor driver 85 to a stator 31. Further, the motor 30 also functions as a power generator that generates power by rotation of a rotor 32 with a rotating force of the wheel 10 and regenerates the generated power in a battery 86 through the motor driver 85. A magnitude of the torque and a direction in which the torque is generated by the motor 30 are controlled by an electronic control unit 80 for motor control provided to the vehicle body b.” (Para 0044), “The motor ECU 80 calculates a driver-requested driving force Freq based on the accelerator operation amount detected by the operation state detection device 83, and calculates a control braking/driving force Fc independently for each of the wheels 10 based on the vehicle motion state detected by the motion state detection device 84. The motor ECU 80 distributes the driver-requested driving force Freq to the four wheels (divides into quarters, for example) to calculate a driver-requested distributed driving force Fd on the each wheel 10. Then, the motor ECU 80 sets a sum of the driver-requested distributed driving force Fd and the control braking/driving force Fc as a target braking/driving force F*(=Fd+Fc) for each of the wheels 10. The motor ECU 80 calculates a target torque T* corresponding to the target braking/driving force F* and controls a switching element of the motor driver 85 so that each of the motors 30 generates the target torque T*.” (Para 0058), see also Para 0052 and 0055-0056));
the road motor vehicle being characterised in that said electronic motor-control equipment is programmed to implement a control method of said electric motor according to Claim 1 (“The motor ECU 80 calculates a driver-requested driving force Freq based on the accelerator operation amount detected by the operation state detection device 83, and calculates a control braking/driving force Fc independently for each of the wheels 10 based on the vehicle motion state detected by the motion state detection device 84. The motor ECU 80 distributes the driver-requested driving force Freq to the four wheels (divides into quarters, for example) to calculate a driver-requested distributed driving force Fd on the each wheel 10. Then, the motor ECU 80 sets a sum of the driver-requested distributed driving force Fd and the control braking/driving force Fc as a target braking/driving force F*(=Fd+Fc) for each of the wheels 10. The motor ECU 80 calculates a target torque T* corresponding to the target braking/driving force F* and controls a switching element of the motor driver 85 so that each of the motors 30 generates the target torque T*.” (Para 0058), “Next, gear rattling noise reduction control processing executed by the motor ECU 80 is described. FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a gear rattling noise reduction control routine. Here, prior to description of the gear rattling noise reduction control routine, a principle of reduction of the gear rattling noise and definitions of terms are first described.” (Para 0061)).
In regards to claim 10, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 11, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 9 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada in view of Engman et al. (US 2020026984; hereinafter Engman; already of record from IDS).
In regards to claim 2, Terada discloses of the method of controlling the electric motor of a road motor vehicle according to Claim 1.
However, Terada does not specifically disclose of wherein said transmission preloading phase moreover comprises a stabilised preloading step, consecutive to said mechanical backlash compensation transient step, wherein the electric motor is substantially motionless and delivers a first driving torque such as to maintain the teeth of the various gears of said transmission stably in abutment to one another.
Engman in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein said transmission preloading phase moreover comprises a stabilised preloading step, consecutive to said mechanical backlash compensation transient step, wherein the electric motor is substantially motionless and delivers a first driving torque such as to maintain the teeth of the various gears of said transmission stably in abutment to one another (“FIGS. 6a-c illustrate an embodiment which utilizes a combined use of the shaft brake and the at least one electrical machine for keeping the backlash eliminated. Here, the torque provided by the electrical machine is according to an embodiment initially increased 601 to the above mentioned backlash torque T.sub.backlash. The backlash torque T.sub.backlash is provided 602 until the backlash has been eliminated 606. Then, a braking torque T.sub.brake is applied on a shaft 109, 902, 905 of the gearbox 103, and the torque of the electrical machine is decreased 603 to a holding torque T.sub.hold. The braking torque T.sub.brake and the holding torque T.sub.hold together have a combined value ensuring that the backlash is kept eliminated. The braking torque T.sub.brake and the holding torque T.sub.hold are applied 604 until the drive-off indication is given 607 a value (on) corresponding to a drive-off. After the drive-off indication 607, the torque provided by the electrical machine increases again 605, in relation to the requested drive-off torque. Thus, according to the embodiment illustrated in FIGS. 6a-c, the backlash is eliminated by the at least one electrical machine 101b, 101c, 101d, and the backlash is kept eliminated by a combined use of the shaft brake and the at least one electrical machine 101b, 101c, 101d.” (Para 0141), see also Para 0030 and 0111).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission preloading phase, as taught by Terada, to include a stabilized preloading state consecutive to the backlash compensation transient step that has the motor substantially motionless and maintains the abutment of the gears of the transmission, as taught by Engman, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure that the backlash is kept eliminated (Engman Para 0141).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 3, the closest prior art of record is Terada et al. (US 20170015213; hereinafter Terada; already of record from IDS) in view of Ozawa et al. (US 20180118035; hereinafter Ozawa). Terada in view of Ozawa teaches of the method of controlling the electric motor of a road motor vehicle according to Claim 1.
However, the prior art does not fully teach of wherein during said transient backlash compensation step the driving torque delivered by the electric motor is varied so as to maintain the angular speed of the motor substantially equal to a predetermined target speed. It is noted that the prior art teaches of adjusting a rotation speed of the motor to be at a set speed where the teeth of the gears come into contact with each other at a speed less than a threshold and of maintaining a constant rotational speed of a motor while the motor torque is increasing. However, the prior art does not fully teach of the electric motor maintaining an angular speed equal to a predetermined speed while varying the torque of the electric motor during the backlash compensation step that includes having the teeth of the gears coming in contact with each other at a approaching speed less than a maximum threshold, when combined with the remaining claim limitations. Therefore the claim contains allowable subject matter.
In regards to claims 4-6, the claims are dependent upon a claim containing allowable subject matter and are therefore allowable subject matter as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 20210086622) discloses of a backlash compensation control module to adjust the speed of an electric motor.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663