DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s election filed on 8/7/26.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group 1, claims 1-9 and 13-17, in the reply filed on 8/7/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the slider being on the handle seat and the handle with the grooves, as claimed in claims 4 and 14 (since the drawings shows one configuration), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires the following:
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite. Without the controller, the angle detector device and the sensor, there is no operation of the handle as claimed. Correction is required.\
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Pat Application Publication No 20170275930 to Aerts et al (Aerts).
Regarding claim 1, Aerts discloses a door handle assembly (200) for a vehicle door having a door surface (202).
The door handle assembly comprises a handle seat (102); a handle (206) having a retracted position (fig 2a) and a deployed position (fig 2c), wherein the handle is flush with the door surface when the handle is in the retracted position, and the handle protrudes outwardly relative to the door surface when the handle is in the deployed position; a driving device (214, 216, 118); a handle shaft (210) being configured to rotate under the drive of the driving device; and a transmission device (208) connecting the handle shaft to the handle, such that the handle is movable under the drive of the handle shaft between the retracted position and the deployed position relative to the handle seat, wherein the driving device is configured such that when the handle is in the retracted position or in the deployed position, the driving device is activated in response to the rotation of the handle shaft by a preset angle when the handle is pushed by an operator (at 218), so as to deploy or retract the handle.
As to claims 3 and 13, Aerts discloses that the handle (206) is slidably mounted on the handle seat.
As to claim 9, Aerts discloses that the door handle assembly further comprises a control device (140) being communicatively connected to the driving device and configured to control the driving device to rotate in a first rotating direction so as to deploy the handle or to rotate in a second rotating direction opposite to the first rotating direction so as to retract the handle.
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Pat No 11,248,403 to Boberschmidt et al (Boberschmidt).
Regarding claim 1, Boberschmidt discloses a door handle assembly (1) for a vehicle door having a door surface (100).
The door handle assembly comprises a handle seat (101); a handle (102) having a retracted position (fig 1a) and a deployed position (fig 1c), wherein the handle is flush with the door surface when the handle is in the retracted position, and the handle protrudes outwardly relative to the door surface when the handle is in the deployed position; a driving device (3, 4); a handle shaft (22) being configured to rotate under the drive of the driving device; and a transmission device (21) connecting the handle shaft to the handle, such that the handle is movable under the drive of the handle shaft between the retracted position and the deployed position relative to the handle seat, wherein the driving device is configured such that when the handle is in the retracted position or in the deployed position, the driving device is activated in response to the rotation of the handle shaft by a preset angle when the handle is pushed by an operator (at P, fig 1d), so as to deploy or retract the handle.
As to claim 2 and 17, Boberschmidt discloses that the handle shaft (22) is fixedly connected to an output end of the driving device.
As to claims 3 and 13, Boberschmidt discloses that the handle (102) is slidably mounted on the handle seat (moving smoothly along the seat surface).
As to claim 9, Boberschmidt discloses that the door handle assembly further comprises a control device (4) being communicatively connected to the driving device and configured to control the driving device to rotate in a first rotating direction so as to deploy the handle or to rotate in a second rotating direction opposite to the first rotating direction so as to retract the handle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would also be allowed since the claims depend from claim 15 above.
Claims 4 and 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-8 would also be allowed since the claims depend from claim 5 above.
Conclusion
,,Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CARLOS LUGO whose telephone number is (571)272-7058. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-6pm.
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
September 7, 2026