Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on August 11, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent 12,387,754 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Examiner Comments
The Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1).
As per claim 1, Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) discloses a head driving device (e.g., 200, 502, 504, 506 as the embodiment of Fig. 5 as applied to Fig. 2) configured to move a head member (e.g., R/W heads of head bar 220, 502 - see abstract) relative to tape as a recording medium (e.g., 115), the head driving device comprising: a base member (235) including a first frame portion (e.g., left-side portion of head support block 235 - see Fig. 2) and a second frame portion (e.g., right-side portion of head support block 235 - see Fig. 2); a head supporting member (head bar (220, 502) which supports the heads - see abstract "The head bar includes at least one read head and at least one write head") supporting the head member; a first end support beam (e.g., 504) arranged between a first end portion of the head member in a length direction (e.g., the vertical direction) and the base member (235); and a first skew driving piezoelectric unit (e.g., 506 and/or 508; see, inter alia, paragraphs [0069-0071 - see Fig. 5, as applied to Fig. 2)
configured to drive the head member (e.g., R/W heads of head bar 220, 502 - see abstract), the first skew driving piezoelectric unit (e.g., 506 and/or 508) being arranged in the first end support beam (504) and comprising piezoelectric elements configured to drive the head member (e.g., R/W heads of head bar 220, 502 - see abstract). See paragraphs [0069-0071] and Fig. 5, wherein: the first skew driving piezoelectric unit (e.g., 506 and/or 508) comprises a pair of piezoelectric elements (506 and 508) configured to drive the head member (e.g., R/W heads of head bar 220, 502 - see abstract) by causing displacement of a distal end of the first end support beam (504), and each of the piezoelectric elements (506 and 508) is configured to expand or contract in response to applied voltage such that one of the piezoelectric elements (e.g., 506 – see Fig. 5) expands in response to the applied voltage and another one of the piezoelectric elements (e.g., 508 – see Fig. 5) contracts in response to the same applied voltage to cause the distal end of the first end support beam (504) to be displaced to thereby drive the head member (502); see, inter alia, paragraphs [0045, 0051, 0069-0071], wherein the PZT actuators (506) and (508), respectively “extends or contracts” based on the applied voltage.
As per claim 3, wherein the pair of piezoelectric elements of the first skew driving piezoelectric unit (e.g., 506 and/or 508; see, inter alia, paragraphs [0069-0071 - see Fig. 5, as applied to Fig. 2) are arranged in a width direction of the head member (e.g., R/W heads of head bar 220, 502 - see abstract).
As per claim 6, further comprising: a reinforcement member (e.g., upper portion of the corresponding upper 235 and/or the upper portion of support 236, as depicted in Fig. 2) arranged between a second end portion the head member (e.g., upper vertical end of the R/W heads of head bar 220, 502 - see abstract) in the length direction and the base member (e.g. the upper portion of the base member (235) as seen in Fig. 2).
As per claim 9, wherein the distal end of the first end support beam (504) is displaceable in opposite directions. See Fig. 5, wherein the piezoelectric element (506) extends (expands) (represented by up-arrow) in an upward direction, and the piezoelectric element (508) contracts (represented by downward arrow), such that the head member (502) resting upon the beam (504), is tilted or skewed from the solid-line position, to the dashed-line position in Fig. 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) in view of Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2).
See the description of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1), supra.
As per claim 4, although Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) does not expressly disclose providing a mirror-image of first skew driving piezoelectric unit (506, 508) at a second, upper end of the head member (502) (Fig. 5), to arrive at the invention sets forth in claims 4 and 5, it is known in the art to provide such piezoelectric unit mirror image symmetry.
For example, as per claim 4, Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2) teaches providing a second head driving piezoelectric unit (e.g., 1000a, 1000b) which would correspond to a second skew driving piezoelectric unit of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1), when combined, arranged in the corresponding second end support beam (e.g., 1000) and comprising piezoelectric elements (1000a, 1000b - see col. 5, ll. 6-25) configured to drive the head member (1004) in a desired direction, which are symmetrically disposed about the corresponding first driving piezoelectric units 1002a, 1002b), corresponding to the first skew driving piezoelectric units (506, 508) of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1)). Such a combination and applicable teachings of Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2) to Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) would thus further yield the second skew driving piezoelectric unit (comprises a pair of uppermost piezoelectric elements (e.g., 1000a, 1000b) as taught by Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2)), which would correspond to a second skew driving piezoelectric unit of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1), when combined, arranged in a width direction of the head member (head bar 220, 502 of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) (as per claim 5).
Note the amended claim 4 limitations regarding the second skew driving piezoelectric unit as comprising a pai of piezoelectric elements and their function, are met by the teachings of providing such an upper second piezoelectric unit (as taught by Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2)) in combination with the function of the skew driving piezoelectric unit (which already discloses a pair of piezoelectric elements that expand/contract in opposition to the applied voltage (as taught by Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1)).
Additionally, regarding claim 10, when combined with Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2), Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) and Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2) would further (as combined) provide for wherein the distal end of the second end support beam is displaceable in opposite directions. See Fig. 5, analogous to the operation of the first support beam, wherein the piezoelectric element (506) extends (expands) (represented by up-arrow) in an upward direction, and the piezoelectric element (508) contracts (represented by downward arrow), such that the head member (502) resting upon the beam (504), is tilted or skewed from the solid-line position, to the dashed-line position in Fig. 5.
Given the express teachings and motivations, as espoused by Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the features of a mirror image second skew driving piezoelectric unit (along vertical direction), as set forth in claims 4 and 5, by applying the teachings of Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2) to Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1), in order to advantageously provide head driving piezoelectric symmetry about the head member of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1), thus ensuring accurate micropositioning of the head member, in the manner taught and suggested by Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2).
In an obviousness analysis, it is not necessary to find precise disclosure directed to the specific subject matter claimed because inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ can be taken into account. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). In this regard, "[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." Id. at 421.
As the U.S. Supreme Court has stated, obviousness requires an "expansive and flexible" approach that asks whether the claimed improvement is more than a "predictable variation" of "prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 415, 417.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) in view of Imai (US 2015/0213818 A1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) in view of Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2), as applied to claim 4, and further in view of Imai (US 2015/0213818 A1).
See the description of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1)/Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2), supra.
As per claims 7 and 8, although Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) (and/or Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2)) does not expressly disclose wherein the piezoelectric elements of the first (and/or second) skew driving piezoelectric unit have opposite polarity to cause the one of the piezoelectric elements of the first (and/or second) skew driving piezoelectric unit to expand and the another one of the piezoelectric elements of the first (and/or second) skew driving piezoelectric unit to contract in response to the applied voltage or vice versa, such features of PZT piezoelectric elements are well-known and ubiquitous in the magnetic recording/reproducing art.
For example, as per claims 7 (and analogously, claim 8), Imai (US 2015/0213818 A1) teaches providing a pair of analogous PZT piezoelectric elements (e.g., 316a, 316b), to move a magnetic recording/reproducing head in a swing (skew) direction, wherein the piezoelectric elements (316a, 316b) of the driving piezoelectric unit have opposite polarity to cause the one of the piezoelectric elements of the skew driving piezoelectric unit to expand and the another one of the piezoelectric elements of the skew driving piezoelectric unit to contract in response to the applied voltage or vice versa (see, inter alia, paragraph [0030] of Imai (US 2015/0213818 A1)).
Given the express teachings and motivations, as espoused by Imai (US 2015/0213818 A1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide wherein the piezoelectric elements of the first skew driving piezoelectric unit of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) (and/or in combination with Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2) for the analogous second skew driving piezoelectric unit of claim 8) to have opposite polarity to cause the one of the piezoelectric elements of the first/second skew driving piezoelectric unit to expand and the another one of the piezoelectric elements of the first/second skew driving piezoelectric unit to contract in response to the applied voltage or vice versa, in order to simply move the driven head member in the well-known, expanding/contracting piezoelectric elements manner n applied voltage, as is well-known, established and appreciated in the art, as evidenced by Imai (US 2015/0213818 A1).
In an obviousness analysis, it is not necessary to find precise disclosure directed to the specific subject matter claimed because inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ can be taken into account. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). In this regard, "[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." Id. at 421.
As the U.S. Supreme Court has stated, obviousness requires an "expansive and flexible" approach that asks whether the claimed improvement is more than a "predictable variation" of "prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 415, 417.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, as it pertains to the rejected claims, supra.
Applicant alleges:
Hanaoka et al does not disclose the feature of the present invention as recited in amended independent claim 1 whereby "the first skew driving piezoelectric unit comprises a pair of piezoelectric elements configured to drive the head member by causing displacement of a distal end of the first end support beam, each of the piezoelectric elements being configured to expand or contract in response to applied voltage such that one of the piezoelectric elements expands in response to the applied voltage and another one of the piezoelectric elements contracts in response to the same applied voltage to cause a distal end of the first end support beam to be displaced to thereby drive the head member".
The Examiner disagrees. As set forth in the rejection, Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) does indeed show such a feature. More concretely, Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) discloses the first skew driving piezoelectric unit (e.g., 506 and/or 508) as including a pair of piezoelectric elements (506 and 508) configured to drive the head member (e.g., R/W heads of head bar 220, 502 - see abstract) by causing displacement of a distal end of the first end support beam (504), and each of the piezoelectric elements (506 and 508) is configured to expand or contract in response to applied voltage such that one of the piezoelectric elements (e.g., 506 – see Fig. 5) expands in response to the applied voltage and another one of the piezoelectric elements (e.g., 508 – see Fig. 5) contracts in response to the same applied voltage to cause the distal end of the first end support beam (504) to be displaced to thereby drive the head member (502); see, inter alia, paragraphs [0045, 0051, 0069-0071], wherein the PZT actuators (506) and (508), respectively “extends or contracts” based on the applied voltage.
Moreover, in combination with Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2), the combination of Weng et al. (US 7,474,495 B2) to Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) would indeed provide for the analogous second skew driving piezoelectric unit to have such a similar feature (as discussed in the rejection).
Regarding the newly presented claims 7-10, see the rejection of such claims in the rejection, above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 11, and 12 are tentatively objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but, pending an updated search, amendments or arguments presented by the Applicant and considered by the Examiner in reply to this office communication, would be favorably considered if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM J KLIMOWICZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688