DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 10/15/2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This application has PRO 63/673,899 filed on 07/22/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verona (US 2007/0205286) in view of Dooley et al. (US 2013/0124277).
Re Claims 1 and 17: Verona teaches portable multiple bar and other code display, which includes a body having a first side, a second side, and a third side (see figs.# 1 &), the body {herein housing 8} including: an optical scanner, the optical scanner {herein the optical recording device is the camera lens 12} configured to read the code (¶ 13+); a display, the display 20 configured to visually present data corresponding to the code (¶ 16+); a control, the control configured to allow the user to control the digital scanning device (¶ 17+); at least one receiving means {herein the receiving means can include a loop 50 that enables the user to attach the device 10 to his or her key chain, hook, a ring or a slot} (see fig.# 1; ¶ 20-24+). Verona discloses in fig.# 1 wherein the optical scanner is disposed opposite the display {herein the front/third side of the display20 appears greater that bottom side with camera lens 12}, and the third side has a greater surface area than the first side and the second side (see fig.# 1).
Verona fails to specifically teach an attachment means configured to be received by the receiving means to thereby couple the digital scanning device to the user.
Dooley et al. teaches system and method for an electronic gift key, which includes an attachment means {herein chain 13} configured to be received by the receiving means to thereby couple the digital scanning device to the user (see figs.# 2 & 3a-3b; ¶ 69+).
In view of Dooley et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Verona an attachment means configured to be received by the receiving means to thereby couple the digital scanning device to the user, wherein the optical scanner is disposed opposite the display, and the third side has a greater surface area than the first side and the second side so as to enable a user to means of wearing the hands-free device around the neck are through a chain/strap. Such modification would be beneficial for facilitating attachment of the portable device within the neck and/or wrist area of the user while enabling use of said device at any desired moment without any obstruction.
Re Claim 2: Verona as modified by Dooley et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the code is a machine-readable code selected from a group consisting of a bar code, a QR code, a Data Matrix code, an Aztec code, and combinations thereof (¶ 19+).
Re Claims 3-7: Verona as modified by Dooley et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the body further includes a fourth side, a fifth side, and a sixth side, wherein the optical scanner 12 is disposed on the second side, wherein the display 20 is disposed on the first side, wherein the control is disposed on the third side, wherein the at least one receiving means 50 is disposed on the first side (see fig.# 1).
Re Claim 9: Verona as modified by Dooley et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the display is disposed on the first side, whereby the display is intermediate to a line of sight of the user and the code (see fig.# 1).
Re Claim 10: Verona as modified by Dooley et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the digital scanning device 12 is disposed substantially intermediate to a line of sight of the user and the code (see fig.# 1).
Re Claim 11: Verona as modified by Dooley et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the control includes a scanning button {herein button 32}, a directional pad {herein interpreted as the scrolling wheel 30} (D-pad), and a plurality of navigation buttons (¶ 17+).
Re Claim 15: Verona as modified by Dooley et al. teaches method and apparatus, further comprising a wireless communication module configured to transmit scanning data to an external computing system, the external computing system including a member selected from a group consisting of a local server, a remote database, a smartphone, a networked inventory system, and combinations thereof (¶ 13+).
Re Claim 18: Verona as modified by Dooley et al. teaches method and apparatus, further comprising activating {herein manipulating at least one finger-actuatable button on the device} the optical scanner (¶ 7+, 17+).
Re Claim 19: Verona as modified by Dooley et al. teaches method and apparatus, further comprising scanning the code (¶ 13+).
Re Claim 20: Verona as modified by Dooley et al. teaches method and apparatus, further comprising the user viewing the code to confirm the code was scanned (¶ 20-24+).
Claim(s) 8 and 12-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verona (US 2007/0205286) as modified by Dooley et al. (US 2013/0124277) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0183009).
Re Claim 8: The teachings of Verona have been discussed above. Verona also teaches a light source {herein light-emitting diode or flashlight 70} (¶ 16-24+).
Verona fails to specifically teach a sensor.
Kim et al. teaches method for controlling function based on battery information and electronic device thereof, which includes a sensor {herein sensor module 240} (¶ 60-63+, 74+).
In view of Kim et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Verona a sensor so as to detect and respond to a particular operation. The use of sensors in the art vary from function to functions such as light sensor, proximity/motion sensor and the like. Such modification would be beneficial by recognizing events in its surrounding and generate a corresponding signal.
Re Claims 12-14 and 16: The teachings of Verona have been discussed above. Verona also teaches that Power can be supplied by a battery 102 or other source, such as a photovoltaic cell (not shown) (¶ 15+).
Verona fails to specifically teach a wireless charging module and a speaker.
Kim et al. teaches method for controlling function based on battery information and electronic device thereof, which includes a wireless charging module {herein the electronic device 201 includes a power management module 295 with wireless charging method} and a speaker 282 (see fig.# 2; ¶ 80+).
In view of Kim et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Verona a wireless charging module and a speaker so as to charge the device without plug-in and output an audible. Such modification would be beneficial by enabling means of wirelessly charging while in use or placing the device on a charger platform.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sikorski (US 2004/0245334) teaches inverted terminal presentation scanner and holder.
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876