DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawase (US 2021/0063324).
Regarding claim 14, Kawase discloses an X-ray generation apparatus (fig. 5) comprising: an X-ray generation tube (102) including an insulating tube (4) with a first opening end and a second opening end, a cathode (104) arranged to close the first opening end of the insulating tube and including an electron emitting portion (23), and an anode (103) arranged to close the second opening end and including a target (1) that generates X-rays when electrons from the electron emitting portion collide; a driving circuit (112) configured to drive the X-ray generation tube; and an accommodating container (130) configured to accommodate the X-ray generation tube and the driving circuit, wherein the accommodating container has a third opening end (for 4), and the X-ray generation tube (102) is arranged to close the third opening end, the accommodating container is filled with an insulating liquid (108), the accommodating container defines a first space (SP1) storing the driving circuit, and a second space (SP2) protruding from the first space (SP1) and storing the X-ray generation tube (102), the accommodating container includes a protrusion portion (132) surrounding the second space, and one end of the second space forms the third opening end (at the bottom of fig. 5), a side surface of the cathode (104) is surrounded by a member (121) arranged between the cathode and the accommodating container, the accommodating container includes a convex portion (135) protruding toward an interior of the accommodating container in a section including an axis of the X-ray generation tube (fig. 5), and the member has a first region (with 1211) and a second region (1212), wherein the second region (1212) is within the second space (SP2) and the first region (with 1211) is within both the first space (SP1) and the second space (SP2), and all of the first region (with 1211) has a thickness that is larger than a maximum thickness of the second region (1212) .
Regarding claim 16, Kawase discloses wherein the member is made of one of glass epoxy, polycarbonate, glass, and a ceramic (par. 20).
Regarding claim 18, Kawase discloses an X-ray imaging apparatus (fig. 6) comprising: an X-ray generation apparatus (100); and an X-ray detector (212) configured to detect X-rays emitted from the X-ray generation apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawase as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Ishii et al. (US 2021/0029809; hereinafter Ishii).
Kawase discloses claim 14.
However, Kawase fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the member in the first region is larger than a radius of the insulating tube.
Ishii teaches wherein a thickness of the member in the first region (at 51e) is larger than a radius of the insulating tube (3).
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kawase with the teaching of Ishii, since one would have been motivated to make such a modification for a more stable device (Ishii: par. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 and 17 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 29, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kawase does not disclose the thicker region extending into the second space that stores the X-ray generation tube. The Examiner disagrees. Kawase discloses the thicker region (1212) extending into the second space (SP2) that stores the X-ray generation tube (102). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and at least claim 14 remains rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chih-Cheng Kao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884