DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the Continuation filed 7/22/2025. Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-7 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,384,008 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each limitation of the instant application is recited nearly identically in U.S. Patent No. 12,384,008 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Po (US 2013/0255447 A1) in view of Rajzer (US 2022/0305603 A1) and Tsai (US 2020/0391367 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Po discloses a fastening tool (Fig. 2) comprising: a bit holding portion (see annotated Fig. 2) which detachably holds a driver bit and is configured to rotate in a circumferential direction of the driver bit and move in an axial direction of the driver bit (although not expressly discussed, it is clear from Fig. 2 and the description of the invention that it rotates and moves in an axial direction since it must translate forward and rotate with the bit); a motor (32, 62 – Fig. 2) configured to perform movement of the bit holding portion along the axial direction (para. 0033, lines 1-21); a contact member (71 – Fig. 2) which contacts a fastening target (para. 0033, lines 1-8) and is configured to move in the axial direction (para. 0032, Po); a control unit (the control circuit, para. 0019, last line) configured to actuate the motor based on a movement amount of the contact member in the axial direction when the contact member contacts the fastening target (para. 0032); a contact arm (the arm of 71 extending rearward from 711 – Fig. 7, Po) which is movable in the axial direction in conjunction with the contact member (para. 0032, Po); and a position detection unit (72 – Fig. 7, Po) configured to detect a position of the contact arm (para. 0032, Po); and the control unit configured to determine, based on the position of the contact arm detected by the position detection unit, whether the contact arm is ON or OFF (para. 0032, Po).
However, Po does not disclose that the control unit controls a timing at which the driving of the motor is stopped based on actuation of the motor.
Rajzer teaches a fastening tool comprising a motor (114 – Fig. 2) and a control unit (116 – Fig. 2), wherein the control unit controls a timing at which the driving of the motor is stopped based on actuation of the motor (para. 0020) in order to reduce the chance that the tool is unintentionally actuated and causes damage (para. 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the control unit of Po such that it controls a timing at which the driving of the motor is stopped based on actuation of the motor as taught by Rajzer in order to reduce the chance that the tool is unintentionally actuated and causes damage. Note that the combination of Po and Rajzer teach the limitation “a control unit configured to control a timing at which driving of the motor is stopped based on a movement amount of the contact member in the axial direction when the contact member contacts the fastening target” since Po discloses actuating a motor when the contact member contacts the fastening target and Rajzer teaches controlling a timing when a motor is actuated.
Further note that the combination of Po and Rajzer would result in the control unit being configured to control a timing at which driving of the motor is stopped based on an ON or OFF state of the contact arm (para. 0032, Po, in view of para. 0020 of Rajzer).
However, Po, as modified by Rajzer does not teach that the control unit is configured to, when a condition of both ON of a trigger and ON of the contact arm is satisfied, drive the motor.
Tsai teaches fastening tool comprising a control unit configured to when a condition of both ON of a trigger and ON of a contact arm is satisfied, drive a motor (para. 0024-0026). One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teaching of Tsai, would have recognized that this provides enhances safety from accidently actuating a motor as compared to the invention of Po which actuates the motor if the condition of ON of the contact arm is satisfied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the fastening tool of Po, as already modified by Rajzer, such that when a condition of both ON of a trigger and ON of the contact arm is satisfied, drive the motor as taught by Tsai in order to provide enhanced safety.
Annotated Fig. 2, taken from Po
Regarding claims 2-5, Po, as modified by Rajzer and Tsai teaches essentially all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 1.
However, Po, as modified by Rajzer and Tsai does not expressly teach the implementation of the position detection unit and the contact arm.
In this case, it is noted that the contact arm and position detection unit of Po is simple a switch unit that activates when a first member approaches a sensor. In the Office action dated 12/17/2024 for the parent application 17/942754, the examiner took Official Notice that was unchallenged by applicant in the response dated 3/10/2025. Therefore, it has become applicant admitted prior art that switch units of various kinds are old and well-known in the art including switch units that determine if a switch is activated by comparing a detected position of a first member to a threshold value, switch units comprised of a magnet on the first member and a sensor that outputs a voltage based on a magnetic field generated by the magnet with a control unit that compares the voltage to a threshold value set in advance to determine the switch state, and switch units that are implemented by a distance sensor measuring the distance to a first member with a control unit that determines the switch state by comparing the distance outputted from the distance sensor and a threshold value set in advance. In the event that applicant argues that the above is not applicant admitted prior art, then the examiner takes Official Notice that the above is old and well-known.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have implemented the contact arm and position detection unit using any of the switch units noted above, along with the relevant changes to the control unit, since each of those switch units are known alternatives to the switch unit of Po and it is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known alternative with another.
Regarding claim 6, Po, as modified by Rajzer and Tsai, further teaches the motor (32, 62 – Fig. 2, Po) includes a first motor (62 – Fig. 2, Po) configured to rotate the bit holding portion (para. 0026, Po), and a second motor (32 – Fig. 2, Po) configured to move the bit holding portion along the axial direction (para. 0024, Po), and the control unit is configured to control a position of the bit holding portion along the axial direction by the number of rotations of the second motor (para. 0024, Po).
Conclusion
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
6/9/2026