DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment After Non-Final Rejection filed 08/03/2026. Claims 1-7 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Tracy (US 2018/0308301) does not disclose the claim limitation “a screen recording of the performance data displayed to the operator on said smartphone,” the examiner respectfully disagrees. Tracy explicitly discloses a smartphone receiving, recording a meaningful image of the data, and displaying to the user live CAN bus data, including speedometer data, tachometer data, timing data, etc. ([0032]-[0035]).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “record the smartphone's screen” and “a screen recording captures what is presented on the operator's display, not the underlying data merged into a video stream”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant’s argument that Tracy (US 2018/0308301) does not disclose the claim limitation “a composite video of a performance data screen recording overlaid on the sport vehicle video,” the examiner respectfully disagrees. Tracy explicitly discloses the smartphone recording the merged video and CAN bus data image as a single file. ([0032]-[0035]).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a “data-merge approach that the present application distinguishes in its background discussion”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tracy et al. (US 2018/0308301), herein Tracy.
Consider claim 1, Tracy clearly teaches a sport vehicle video system, (Fig. 1) comprising:
a sport vehicle; (Fig. 1: Vehicle 31 is in a vehicle race, [0012], [0029].)
a video of an operator controlling said sport vehicle; (A smartphone camera records video of the vehicle/driver viewpoint during the race, [0031], [0032], [0034].)
a smartphone mounted to said sport vehicle, (The smartphone is mounted to the vehicle, [0031].) said smartphone for sensing and displaying performance data to the operator of said sport vehicle; (The smartphone receives, records and displays CAN bus data of the vehicle in real-time, [0032], [0034], [0035].)
a screen recording of the performance data displayed to the operator on said smartphone; (The smartphone receives, records and displays CAN bus data of the vehicle in real-time, [0032], [0034], [0035].) and
a composite video of said performance data screen recording overlaid on said sport vehicle video. (The smartphone records the merged visual and CAN data as a single file, [0036].)
Consider claim 2, Tracy clearly teaches said sport vehicle video is taken with said smartphone. (A smartphone camera records video of the vehicle/driver viewpoint during the race, [0031], [0032], [0034].)
Consider claim 3, Tracy clearly teaches said composite video is made on said smartphone. (The smartphone records the merged visual and CAN data as a single file, [0036].)
Consider claim 4, Tracy clearly teaches said composite video is displayed on said smartphone. (The smartphone displays the video and CAN bus data in real-time, [0032].)
Consider claim 6, Tracy clearly teaches said sport vehicle video is an onboard video of the sport vehicle. (A smartphone camera records video of the vehicle/driver viewpoint during the race, [0031], [0032], [0034].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tracy et al. (US 2018/0308301) in view of Thompson et al. (US 2017/0293809), herein Thompson.
Consider claim 5, Tracy clearly teaches said smartphone takes a video. (A smartphone camera records video of the vehicle/driver viewpoint during the race, [0031], [0032], [0034].)
However, Tracy does not explicitly teach a selfie video of the operator, and wherein said selfie video is added as a third component to said composite video.
In an analogous art, Thompson, which discloses a video processing system, clearly teaches a selfie video of the operator, and wherein said selfie video is added as a third component to said composite video. (Video data of the driver of vehicle 110 is composited with vehicle data from sensors 112 and additional video data from onboard camera 114, [0014]-[0016].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Tracy by a selfie video of the operator, and wherein said selfie video is added as a third component to said composite video, as taught by Thompson, for the benefit of capturing driver actions while driving the vehicle.
Consider claim 7, Tracy combined with Thompson clearly teaches said sport vehicle video (A smartphone camera records video of the vehicle/driver viewpoint during the race, [0031], [0032], [0034] Tracy.) is a selfie video of the operator of the sport vehicle. (Video data of the driver of vehicle 110 is composited with vehicle data from sensors 112 and additional video data from onboard camera 114, [0014]-[0016] Thompson.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425