DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08//01/2025, 08/19/2025, 09/15/2025, 09/23/2025, 10/06/2025, 10/22/2025, 11/06/2025, 11/25/2025, 12/16/2025, 01/08/2026 , 02/02/2026, 04/22/2026, 05/13/2026, 08/05/2026 and 08/17/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, But examiner made a best afford to consider the few thousand pages documents( Extremally large number of IDS).
Specification
Applicants are reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract included less than 50 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5,7-9,11,13-15, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,19-20 and 36-37, 40-44, and 47-50 of U.S. Patent No. 10,339,293. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1,19-20 and 36-37, 40-44, and 47-50 of U.S. Patent No. 10,339,293 include all the limitations of claims of the instant application.
Claims 1,19-20 and 36-37, 40-44, and 47-50 of U.S. Patent No. 10,339,293 as shown in the table below contains every element of claim(s) Claims of the instant application and as such anticipates claim(s) Claims of the instant application.
Instant application 19/276998
Patent No. US 10,339,293
1. An electronic device having a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state and is in the user-interface unlocked state, the electronic device comprising:one or more processors;a memory; andone or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:detecting, via wireless communication, an external device, wherein the external device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, and is in the user- interface locked state; andtransmitting, to the external device, unlocking data, wherein:a user interface of the external device unlocks in response to detecting user input at the external device and receiving the unlocking data; and the unlocking data is transmitted based on an indication that the electronic device is in the user-interface unlocked state.
2. The electronic device of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:displaying a visual indication on the electronic device indicating that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state, after the external device unlocks.
3. The electronic device of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:causing a haptic event on the electronic device indicating that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state, after the external device unlocks.
5. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is a reading from a biometric sensor of the external device and/or a biometric sensor of the electronic device.
7. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is a touch on a touch- sensitive input of the external device.
8. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is movement of a mouse coupled to the external device and/or a mouse coupled to the electronic device.
9. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is a keystroke on a keyboard of the external device.
11. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is executing a first application, the one or more programs further including instructions for:sending, to the external device, usage information indicating usage of the first application on the electronic device,wherein the usage information at least in part causes the external device to display an affordance for unlocking and launching a second application on the external device,wherein the second application corresponds to the first application.
13. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is associated with an e-mail address, and wherein the external device unlocks after confirming that the external device is associated with the same e-mail address as the e-mail address associated with the electronic device.
14. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein an association of the electronic device and the external device is stored on an authentication server, and wherein the external device unlocks after confirming, with the authentication server, the association.
15. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is associated with a security domain, andwherein the external device unlocks after confirming the external device is associated with the same security domain as the security domain associated with the electronic device.
18. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a wearable electronic device.
19. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device having a user- interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state and is in the user-interface unlocked state, the one or more programs including instructions for:
detecting, via wireless communication, an external device, wherein the external device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, and is in the user-interface locked state; and
transmitting, to the external device, unlocking data, wherein: a user interface of the external device unlocks in response to detecting user input at the external device and
receiving the unlocking data; and the unlocking data is transmitted based on an indication that the electronic device is in the user-interface unlocked state.
20. A method, comprising: at an electronic device, wherein the electronic device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state and is in the user-interface unlocked state: detecting, via wireless communication, an external device, wherein the external device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, and is in the user- interface locked state; and transmitting, to the external device, unlocking data, wherein: a user interface of the external device unlocks in response to detecting user input at the external device and receiving the unlocking data; and the unlocking data is transmitted based on an indication that the electronic device is in the user-interface unlocked state.
20. An electronic device having a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, comprising: one or more processors; a memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: detecting, via wireless communication, an external device, wherein the external device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state; receiving, from the external device, unlocking information for unlocking the electronic device; obtaining an indication that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state; detecting, while in the user-interface locked state, user input at the electronic device; and in response to detecting the user input at the electronic device and receiving the unlocking information from the external device, and based on the indication that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state, unlocking the electronic device.
36. The electronic device of claim 20, the one or more programs further including instructions for: displaying a visual indication on the electronic device indicating that it is in the user-interface unlocked state, after unlocking the electronic device.
37. The electronic device of claim 20, wherein: the external device displays a visual indication indicating that the electronic device is in the user-interface unlocked state, after the electronic device unlocks.
40. The electronic device of claim 20, wherein the input data comprises a reading from a biometric sensor of the electronic device and/or a biometric sensor of the external device.
41. The electronic device of claim 20, wherein the input data comprises a touch on a touch-sensitive input of the electronic device.
42. The electronic device of claim 20, wherein the input data comprises movement of a mouse coupled to the electronic device and/or a mouse coupled to the external device.
43. The electronic device of claim 20, wherein the user input comprises a keystroke on a keyboard of the electronic device.
44. The electronic device of claim 20, the one or more programs further including instructions for: receiving, from the external device, usage information indicating usage of the first application on the external device; and after unlocking, launching a second application on the electronic device, the second application corresponding to the first application.
47. The electronic device of claim 20, wherein the unlocking information includes identification data based on an e-mail address associated with the electronic device, the one or more programs further including instructions for: unlocking the electronic device in response to the received unlocking information and the received user input, if the external device is associated with the e-mail address associated with the electronic device.
48. The electronic device of claim 20, wherein the unlocking information includes identification data identifying the external device, the one or more programs further including instructions for: transmitting, to an authentication server, at least a portion of the identification data; receiving, from the authentication server, an indication of whether the external device is authorized to unlock the electronic device; and unlocking the electronic device in response to the received unlocking information and the received user input, if the external device is authorized.
49. The electronic device of claim 20, wherein the unlocking information includes identification of a security domain associated with the external device, the one or more programs further including instructions for: unlocking the electronic device in response to the received unlocking information and the received user input, if the electronic device is associated with the same security domain.
50. The electronic device of claim 20, wherein the external device is a wearable electronic device.
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device having a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, cause the electronic device to:
detect, via wireless communication, an external device, wherein the external device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state;
receive, from the external device, unlocking information for unlocking the electronic device;
obtain an indication that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state;
detect, while in the user-interface locked state, user input at the electronic device; and
in response to detecting the user input at the electronic device and
receiving the unlocking information from the external device, and based on the indication that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state, unlock the electronic device.
19. A method, comprising: at an electronic device, wherein the electronic device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state: detecting, via wireless communication, an external device, wherein the external device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state; receiving, from the external device, unlocking information for unlocking the electronic device; obtaining an indication that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state; detecting, while in the user-interface locked state, user input at the electronic device; and in response to detecting the user input at the electronic device and receiving the unlocking information from the external device, and based on the indication that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state, unlocking the electronic device.
As per claims 1, 19 and 20, Patent discloses all the limitations of the claims 1,19 and 20, Patent fails to disclose transmitting, to the external device, unlocking data, wherein: a user interface of the external device unlocks in response to detecting user input at the external device.
However, Wang US 2015/0234473 discloses transmitting, to the external device, unlocking data (0030 The transmission unit 122 can transmit the motion information, i.e. unlocking data, corresponding to the second electronic device 120 to the first electronic device 110, and 0044 the wearable device 910(par 0028/0029 mobile phone) will transmit the detected motion information to the tablet 920,i.e. external device and FIG. 8. a user can wear a wearable device (second electronic device/ mobile phone , par 0028-0029) 810 equipped with at least one sensor on his/her hand 800, as shown in FIG. 8. When the user wants to unlock a mobile device (first electronic device) 820, such as a smart phone, the user can use the hand 800 wearing the wearable device 810 to hold the mobile device 820, and generate a motion, such as moving up and down. At this time, the wearable device 810, i.e. an electronic device, will transmit the detected motion information to the mobile device 820, i.e. the external device, and the mobile device 820 will compare the motion information received from the wearable device 810 with the motion information (input of the first electronic device) detected by the mobile device 820 itself If the motion information of the wearable device 810 conforms to the motion information of the mobile device 820, the mobile device 820 is unlocked, i.e. user unlocked interface from the user locked interface of the mobile device 820),
wherein: a user interface of the external device unlocks in response to detecting user input at the external device ( 0044 FIG. 10. When the user wants to unlock a notebook,i.e. external device (first electronic device) 1020, the user can use the hand 1000 wearing the wearable device 1010 to press at least one key. At this time, the wearable device 1010 will transmit the detected motion information to the notebook 1020, i.e. external device, and the notebook 1020 will determine whether the motion information received from the wearable device 1010 corresponds to the trigger of the pressed, i.e equal to the input at the external device, key received by the notebook 1020. The trigger of the pressed key can be seen as a detecting user input at the external device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patent to incorporate the teachings of Wang and provide unlocking the external device.
As per claim 2. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:displaying a visual indication on the electronic device indicating that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state, after the external device unlocks( patent claim 36).
As per claim 3. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:causing a haptic event on the electronic device indicating that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state, after the external device unlocks( Patent claim 37).
As per claim 5. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is a reading from a biometric sensor of the external device and/or a biometric sensor of the electronic device( Patent claim 40).
As per claim 7. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is a touch on a touch- sensitive input of the external device( patent claim 41).
As per claim 8. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is movement of a mouse coupled to the external device and/or a mouse coupled to the electronic device( Patent claim 42).
As per claim 9. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is a keystroke on a keyboard of the external device( Patent claim 43).
As per claim 11. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is executing a first application, the one or more programs further including instructions for:sending, to the external device, usage information indicating usage of the first application on the electronic device,wherein the usage information at least in part causes the external device to display an affordance for unlocking and launching a second application on the external device,wherein the second application corresponds to the first application( patent claim 44).
As per claim 13. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is associated with an e-mail address, and wherein the external device unlocks after confirming that the external device is associated with the same e-mail address as the e-mail address associated with the electronic device ( Patent claim 47).
As per claim 14. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein an association of the electronic device and the external device is stored on an authentication server, and wherein the external device unlocks after confirming, with the authentication server, the association ( patent claim 48).
As per claim 15. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is associated with a security domain, and wherein the external device unlocks after confirming the external device is associated with the same security domain as the security domain associated with the electronic device( Patent claim 49 ).
As per claim 18. Patent in view of wang discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a wearable electronic device ( patent claim 50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10,14,16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The independent claims 1, 19, and 20 recite “detecting … an external device. transmitting data and…. Inputting at the external device to unlock. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim limitations recited in the independent claims involve indication at the user interface of the electronic device of the claims limitation fall within the abstract idea, specifically the category of mental processes and transmitting and receiving data with the aid of a computer. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology". The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because claim 1’s limitations of “ involve indication at the user interface of the electronic device a” all recite a judicial exception, in particular, an insignificant extra-solution activity of inputting information and displaying information . In terms of subject matter eligibility, while step 1 is fulfilled with claim 1 being a method/ device / medium claim, Step 2A, Prong One is fulfilled, as the claim recites an abstract idea, with Step 2A, Prong Two failing, as the claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, as merely using interface of locking and unlocking Finally, Step 2B fails, as the additional the interface of locking and unlocking are not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself.
As per claim 2, this claim discloses displaying visual indication, those limitations are not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per claim 3, this claim recites causing a hepatic event on the device, those limitations are not significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per claim 4, this claim displays a visual indication, those limitations are not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per claim 5, this claim recites detecting your input is reading from biometric sensor, it can be seen as field of use but does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per claim 6, this claim recites unlocking and reading information from devices, it can be seen as field of use but does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per claim 7, this claim recites input is a touch on a touch sensitive , it can be seen as field of use but does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per claim 8, this claim recites movement of mouse, it can be seen as field of use but does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per claim 9, this claim recites keystroke , it can be seen as field of use but does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per claim 10, this claim recites device, it can be seen as field of use but does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per claim 14, this claim recites storing data in the authentication server, it can be seen as field of use but does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per 16, this claim recites the peer to peer communication, it can be seen as field of use but does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
As per claim 18, this claim recites wearable electronic device, it can be seen as field of use but does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As per claims 1 ,19, and 20, those claims recite detecting .. external device…when the external device is in the user interface locked state. Specification ( par’s 0256-0263 ) does not discloses what mechanism is executed to detect the external device. Moreover, the specification also does not disclose detecting the locked state of the interface of the external device.
In those claims, transmitting unlocking data to the external device, detecting user input at the external device and receiving the unlock data, Specification ( par’s 0256-0263 ) does not discloses the sequence of transmitting, receiving and inputting the data into the external device. Specification does not describe the input of unlocking data to the external device. Specification also does not describe how the user inputs at the external device.
In those claims, the unlocking data is transmitted based on an indication of the user interface unlock state, Specification does not disclose the unlock data is determined that state of the user interface.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As per claim 11, this claim recites “ usage information indicate usage ..” Specification does not describe the determination/ calculation of the usage information done by the application or the electronic device.
In this clam recites launching a second application, Specification (0240,0241) does not describe how the usage information to produce or generated or calculated to display affordance and launch the second application.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
AS in MPEP 2161.01 “For instance, generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349-50, 94 USPQ2d at 1171 ("[A]n adequate written description of a claimed genus requires more than a generic statement of an invention’s boundaries.") (citing Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1405-06); Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that generic claim language appearing in ipsis verbis in the original specification did not satisfy the written description requirement because it failed to support the scope of the genus claimed); Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1170, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (rejecting the argument that "only similar language in the specification or original claims is necessary to satisfy the written description requirement").”
“The Federal Circuit has explained that a specification cannot always support expansive claim language and satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112 "merely by clearly describing one embodiment of the thing claimed." LizardTech v. Earth Resource Mapping, Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1346, 76 USPQ2d 1731, 1733 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The issue is whether a person skilled in the art would understand applicant to have invented, and been in possession of, the invention as broadly claimed. In LizardTech, claims to a generic method of making a seamless discrete wavelet transformation (DWT) were held invalid under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification taught only one particular method for making a seamless DWT and there was no evidence that the specification contemplated a more generic method. "[T]he description of one method for creating a seamless DWT does not entitle the inventor . . . to claim any and all means for achieving that objective." LizardTech, 424 F.3d at 1346, 76 USPQ2d at 1733.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 1, 19 and 20, those claims recite that external device has a user -interface locked state and a user -interface unlocked state. How does the electronic device know what the state of the external device interface state is or the state of the external device? It is also not clear if unlocking would occur on the external device interface state or the device state.
As per independent claim, those claims are rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claims 1,19 and 20 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10,14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 2015/0234473 in view of Lee et al US 2014/0359454.
As per claim 1. Wang discloses an electronic device, the electronic device ( 0016, 0028, 0029 a first electronic device 110 and a second electronic device 120( those both devices can be mobile phone, by default mobile phone includes user interface locked state and user interface unlocked state ) ) an unlocking process for the first electronic device, an operational process for a user interface in the first electronic device, 0028 the system for commencing a process based on motion detection 100 comprises a first electronic device 110 and a second electronic device 120) comprising:
one or more processors (0047 general-purpose processor, ); a memory ( 0047 machine-readable storage medium, ); and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for ( 0028 the system for commencing a process based on motion detection 100 comprises a first electronic device 110 and a second electronic device 120) :
detecting, via wireless communication, an external device, ( 0028 The first electronic device 110 can perform the methods for commencing a process based on motion detection of the invention according to the information received from the second electronic device 120, and 0032 such as a wired network or a wireless network such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi network. 0042 The motion information of the second electronic device conforms to the input of the first electronic device when the items set in the association setting present, i.e. detecting each other’s ) wherein the external device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, and is in the user- interface locked state (0028, 0029 a first electronic device 110 and a second electronic device 120( those both devices can be mobile phone, by default mobile phone includes user interface locked state and user interface unlocked state ) ); and
transmitting, to the external device, unlocking data (0030 The transmission unit 122 can transmit the motion information, i.e. unlocking data, corresponding to the second electronic device 120 to the first electronic device 110, and 0044 the wearable device 910(par 0028/0029 mobile phone) will transmit the detected motion information to the tablet 920,i.e. external device and FIG. 8. a user can wear a wearable device (second electronic device/ mobile phone , par 0028-0029) 810 equipped with at least one sensor on his/her hand 800, as shown in FIG. 8. When the user wants to unlock a mobile device (first electronic device) 820, such as a smart phone, the user can use the hand 800 wearing the wearable device 810 to hold the mobile device 820, and generate a motion, such as moving up and down. At this time, the wearable device 810, i.e. an electronic device, will transmit the detected motion information to the mobile device 820, i.e. the external device, and the mobile device 820 will compare the motion information received from the wearable device 810 with the motion information (input of the first electronic device) detected by the mobile device 820 itself If the motion information of the wearable device 810 conforms to the motion information of the mobile device 820, the mobile device 820 is unlocked, i.e. user unlocked interface from the user locked interface of the mobile device 820),
wherein: a user interface of the external device unlocks in response to detecting user input at the external device ( 0044 FIG. 10. When the user wants to unlock a notebook,i.e. external device (first electronic device) 1020, the user can use the hand 1000 wearing the wearable device 1010 to press at least one key. At this time, the wearable device 1010 will transmit the detected motion information to the notebook 1020, i.e. external device, and the notebook 1020 will determine whether the motion information received from the wearable device 1010 corresponds to the trigger of the pressed, i.e equal to the input at the external device, key received by the notebook 1020. The trigger of the pressed key can be seen as a detecting user input at the external device) and
receiving the unlocking data ( 0030/ 0032 step S420, motion information is received from a second electronic device. 0033 If the motion information of the second electronic device conforms to the input of the first electronic device (Yes in step S430), in step S440, a process on the first electronic device is performed. It is understood that, in some embodiments, the process may be an unlocking process for the first electronic device. In some embodiments, the process may be an operational process for a user interface in the first electronic device ); and
the unlocking data is transmitted based on an indication that the electronic device is in the user-interface unlocked state ( 0044 FIG. 10. When the user wants to unlock a notebook (first electronic device) 1020, the user can use the hand 1000 wearing the wearable device 1010 to press at least one key( this can be seen as a wearable device is in the user -interface unlocked state for pressing one key on it ). At this time, the wearable device 1010 will transmit the detected motion information, i.e. the unlocking data, to the notebook 1020, and the notebook 1020 will determine whether the motion information received from the wearable device 1010 corresponds to the trigger of the pressed key received by the notebook 1020.).
Wang does not explicitly disclose the an electronic device having a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state and is in the user-interface unlocked state, the electronic device; wherein the external device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, and is in the user- interface locked state.
However, Lee discloses the an electronic device having a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state and is in the user-interface unlocked state, the electronic device ( [0281] Meanwhile, after the locked screen of the mobile terminal 100 has been unlocked by the process described with reference to FIGS. 5 to 14, while the communication with the external device 700 is maintained, if the screen of the mobile terminal 100 is locked again, a user can unlock the re-locked screen by inputting one of the touch gestures described with reference to FIGS. 5 to 14 to the re-locked screen.);
wherein the external device has a user-interface locked state and a user-interface unlocked state, and is in the user- interface locked state ([0282] Moreover, after the locked screens of the mobile terminal 100 and the external device 700 have been unlocked by the process described with reference to FIGS. 5 to 14, while the communication with the external device 700 is maintained, if the screens of the mobile terminal 100 and the external device 700 are locked again, a user can unlock the re-locked screens of the mobile terminal 100 and the external device 700 by inputting one of the touch gestures described with reference to FIGS. 5 to 14 to the re-locked screens of the mobile terminal 100 and the external device 700. ).
Wang and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of locking and unlocking of the devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Lee and provide interworking communication with the external device. Doing so would establish strong controlling connection with the external device, thereby increasing strong secure communication for interworking with the external device.
As per claim 2. Wang and Lee discloses The electronic device of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: displaying a visual indication on the electronic device indicating that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state, after the external device unlocks ( Lee 0282 Moreover, after the locked screens of the mobile terminal 100 and the external device 700 have been unlocked by the process described with reference to FIGS. 5 to 14, while the communication with the external device 700 is maintained, if the screens of the mobile terminal 100 and the external device 700 are locked again, a user can unlock the re-locked screens of the mobile terminal 100 and the external device 700 by inputting one of the touch gestures described with reference to FIGS. 5 to 14 to the re-locked screens of the mobile terminal 100 and the external device 700. And [0135] Referring to FIG. 6, if the item 220 indicating the found external device is displayed on the locked screen 210A, the controller 180 controls the UI 230 for unlock to be displayed within the locked screen 210A [S141A] of the connectable Device 1, i.e. external device, and 0143] In particular, while the UI 230 is touched, if a touch gesture of dragging the UI-touched point into the displayed region of the item 220 is inputted [FIG. 8 (a)], the controller 180 unlocks the locked screen 210A into an unlocked screen 210B , i.e. the external device, and also connects the communication with the external device corresponding to the item 220 at the same time [FIG. 8 (b)]. Displaying the unlock screen of the external device at the unlocks the locked screen 210A into an unlocked screen 210B of the mobile device 100 ).
As per claim 3. Wang and Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: causing a haptic event on the electronic device indicating that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state, after the external device unlocks ( Lee 0056 a haptic module 154, and a projector module 155. [0070] The haptic module 154 can generate various tactile effects that can be physically sensed by the user. For example, a tactile effect generated by the haptic module 154 can include vibration. The intensity and/or pattern of the vibration generated by the haptic module 154 can be controlled. For example, different vibrations can be combined and provided or sequentially provided.
[0071] The haptic module 154 can generate a variety of tactile effects in addition to a vibration. Such tactile effects include an effect caused by an arrangement of vertically moving pins that are in contact with the skin of the user; an effect caused by a force of air passing through an injection hole or a suction of air through a suction hole; an effect caused by skimming over the user's skin; an effect caused by contact with an electrode; an effect caused by an electrostatic force; and an effect caused by the application of cold and warm temperatures using an endothermic or exothermic device.
[0072] For example, the haptic module 154 can enable a user to sense the tactile effects through a muscle sense of the user's finger or arm, as well as to transfer the tactile effect through direct contact. Optionally, the mobile terminal 100 can include at least two haptic modules 154 according to the configuration of the mobile terminal 100).
As per claim 4. Wang and Lee disclose The electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the external device displays a visual indication indicating that the external device is in the user-interface unlocked state, after the external device unlocks ( Lee 0011 0011] An object of the present invention is to provide a mobile terminal and controlling method thereof. In particular, if a screen of a touchscreen is locked, the present invention automatically searches for at least one communication-connectable external devices and then displays the found at least one communication connectable external device on the locked screen. In doing so, if a user performs a touch gesture on the touchscreen, the locked screen can be unlocked and a communication with the found external device can be connected as well. Displaying the unlock screen of the external device at the unlocks the locked screen 210A into an unlocked screen 210B of the mobile device 100).
As per claim 5. Wang and Lee disclose The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is a reading from a biometric sensor of the external device and/or a biometric sensor of the electronic device ( Wang 0006 More recently, biometric authentication technology, such as fingerprint, retina or iris recognition has started to be adopted as the security mechanism for electronic devices. Since biometric authentication technology recognizes users according to exclusive physiological and/or behavior characteristics of the respective users, the security of electronic devices are elevated to a much higher level. However, in all of the above security mechanisms, users must perform a preliminary setup procedure. For example, users must input related data, such as password, track input or biometric characteristic to the electronic device in advance and 0030The second electronic device 120 can comprise at least one sensor 121, a transmission unit 122, and a processing unit 123. The sensor 121 can detect a motion of the second electronic device 120 to generate the motion information. And 0032 the input may be data output by at least one sensor. The sensor can detect a motion of the first electronic device to generate the input. ).
As per claim 7. Wang in view of Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is a touch on a touch- sensitive input of the external device (Wang 0010 the input is a track corresponding to a movement of an object on an input unit of the first electronic device, the input is a track detected by an input unit of the first electronic device, the input is a trigger of an event in the first electronic device, or the input is a trigger of at least one input unit of the first electronic device. ).
As per claim 6. Wang in view of Lee discloses The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the electronic device is unlocked based on the reading from the biometric sensor ( Lee 0061] When the display unit 151 and a sensor for sensing a user touch (hereinafter referred to as a "touch sensor") are configured as a layered structure to form a touch screen, the display unit 151 can be used as an input device in addition to an output device. For example, the touch sensor can be in the form of a touch film, a touch sheet, or a touch pad. ) and a proximity of the external device to the electronic device( Lee [0064] The proximity sensor 141 of the sensing unit 140 can be located in an internal region of the mobile terminal 100 and either enclosed by the touch screen or around the touch screen. The proximity sensor 141 can sense an object approaching a prescribed detecting surface or an object located near the proximity sensor 141 without any physical contact using an electromagnetic field or infrared rays. The longevity of the proximity sensor 141 can substantially exceed the longevity of a contact sensor and, therefore, can have wide applications in the mobile terminal 100.
[0065] The proximity sensor 141 can include a transmittive photo-electric sensor, a direct reflection photo-electric sensor, a mirror reflection photo-electric sensor, a radio frequency oscillation proximity sensor, an electrostatic capacity proximity sensor, a magnetic proximity sensor, and/or an infrared proximity sensor. In one embodiment, the touch screen can include an electrostatic capacity proximity sensor, such that a proximity of a pointer can be detected through a variation in an electric field according to the proximity of the pointer. Accordingly, the touch screen or touch sensor can be classified as the proximity sensor 141 ).
As per claim 7, Wang in view of Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is a touch on a touch sensitive input of the external device ( Lee 0044 FIG. 10. When the user wants to unlock a notebook,i.e. external device (first electronic device) 1020, the user can use the hand 1000 wearing the wearable device 1010 to press at least one key. At this time, the wearable device 1010 will transmit the detected motion information to the notebook 1020, i.e. external device, and the notebook 1020 will determine whether the motion information received from the wearable device 1010 corresponds to the trigger of the pressed key, i.e. input received by the notebook 1020, i.e. equal to the a touch sensitive input of the external device . The trigger of the pressed key can be seen as a detecting user input at the external device ).
As per claim 8. Wang in view of Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is movement of a mouse coupled to the external device and/or a mouse coupled to the electronic device (Wang 0032 [0032] In step S410, a first electronic device obtains an input. It is noted that, in some embodiments, the input may be a track corresponding to a movement of an object such as a finger on an input unit, such as a touch-sensitive unit or a touch-sensitive screen of the first electronic device. In some embodiments, the input may be a trigger of at least one input unit, such as a physical button or a pointing device such as mouse of the first electronic device. In some embodiments, the input may be a track detected by the input unit, such as a ultrasonic sensor, a radar or a camera of the first electronic device. In some embodiments, the input may be a trigger of an event in the first electronic device).
As per claim 9. Wang in view of Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is a keystroke on a keyboard of the external device ( Wang 0044 The motion information of the wearable device 1010 corresponds to the input of the notebook 1020 when the items set in the association setting present. If the motion information corresponds to the trigger of the pressed key received by the notebook 1020, the notebook 1020 is unlocked.).
As per claim 10. Wang in view of Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the detected user input is an input on the external device ( Wang 0044 FIG. 10. When the user wants to unlock a notebook,i.e. external device (first electronic device) 1020, the user can use the hand 1000 wearing the wearable device 1010 to press at least one key. At this time, the wearable device 1010 will transmit the detected motion information to the notebook 1020, i.e. external device, and the notebook 1020 will determine whether the motion information received from the wearable device 1010 corresponds to the trigger of the pressed key received by the notebook 1020. The trigger of the pressed key can be seen as a detecting user input at the external device).
As per claim 14. Wang in view of Lee discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein an association of the electronic device and the external device is stored on an authentication server, and wherein the external device unlocks after confirming, with the authentication server, the association ( Wang 0042 an association setting between the input for the first electronic device and the motion of the second electronic device can be preset in the first electronic device. The motion information of the second electronic device conforms to the input of the first electronic device when the items set in the association setting present. If the motion information of the second electronic device does not conform to the input of the first electronic device (No in step S730), the procedure is completed. If the motion information of the second electronic device conforms to the input of the first electronic device (Yes in step S730), in step S740, it is determined whether the received input conforms to a predefined pattern in the first electronic device. It is noted that, a predefined pattern can be set in the first electronic device. In some embodiments, the predefined pattern may be passwords, a track of movement, a motion, and/or a trigger of a physical button. If the input received by the first electronic device conforms to the predefined pattern, an authentication process of the first electronic device is passed. If the received input does not conform to the predefined pattern in the first electronic device (No in step S740), the procedure is completed. If the received input conforms to the predefined pattern in the first electronic device (Yes in step S740), in step S750, a process on the first electronic device is performed. It is understood that, the present invention is not limited to any process. ).
As per claim 16. Wang in view of Lee discloses The electronic device of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: detecting, via a peer-to-peer wireless communication, the external device ( Wang par 0028 The second electronic device 120 can couple to the first electronic device 110, and transmit related information to the first electronic device 110. And 0029 a wired network or a wireless network such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi network ).
As per claim 17. Wang in view of Lee discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication comprises Bluetooth communication ( Wang 0029 a wireless network such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi network.) .
As per claim 18. Wang in view of Lee discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a wearable electronic device ( Wang [0028] FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram illustrating an embodiment of a system for commencing a process based on motion detection of the invention. As shown in FIG. 1, the system for commencing a process based on motion detection 100 comprises a first electronic device 110 and a second electronic device 120. In some embodiments, the first electronic device 110 may be a computer, or a portable device, such as a mobile phone, a smart phone, a PDA (Personal Digital Assistant), a GPS (Global Positioning System), a notebook, a tablet computer, or a wearable device) .
As per claim 19, this is a medium claim and it includes all the limitation of the independent device claim 1, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 1.
As per claim 20, this is a method claim and it includes all the limitation of the independent device claim 1, this claim is rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 1.
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 2015/0234473 in view of Lee et al US 2014/0359454 in view of Kumar et al US 2013/0167093.
As per clam 11. Wang and Lee discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is executing a first application, the one or more programs further including instructions for: sending, to the external device, usage information indicating usage of the first application on the electronic device, ( Lee 0210 In particular, referring to FIGS. 18 to 25, while the locked screen is unlocked and the connection with the external device 700 is connected by the processes shown in FIGS. 5 to 17, the controller 180 controls at least one function item, which is interworkable with the communication-connected external device 700 among functions provided to the mobile terminal 100, to be displayed on the unlocked screen. If the function item is selected, the controller 180 can control the function corresponding to the selected function item to interwork with the external device 700. In this case, the interworkable function can include such a function interworkable with the external device 700 in the mobile terminal 100 as an application providing a specific function, a widget, a content, a menu function and the like. And 0078] A recent use history or a cumulative usage frequency of each type of data can be stored in the memory unit 160, such as usage frequency of each phonebook, message or multimedia, i.e. application . Moreover, data for various patterns of vibration and/or sound output when a touch input is performed on the touch screen can be stored in the memory unit 160). The combination does not disclose wherein the usage information at least in part causes the external device to display an affordance for unlocking and launching a second application on the external device, wherein the second application corresponds to the first application.
However, Kumar discloses wherein the usage information at least in part causes the external device to display an affordance for unlocking and launching a second application on the external device, wherein the second application corresponds to the first application( [0050-0059] The unlocked view displayed after the affordance object is changed can be implemented in various shapes according to embodiments of the present invention. For example, the unlocked view can be an execution view generated by the execution of a particular application. When the lock is released, the execution view of an application used before the display apparatus enters the locked state, a default application, or an application frequently used can be displayed immediately. When the line connected to one affordance object is cut as shown in FIG. 5, the execution view of the function corresponding to the affordance object may be used as the unlocked view.).
Wang and Lee and Kumar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of locking and unlocking of the devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Lee, including the Kumar and provide interworking communication with the external device. Doing so would establish a strong controlling connection with the external device, thereby increasing strong secure communication for interworking with the external device.
As per claim 12. Wang and Lee and Kumar discloses the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the usage information indicates a state of the first application, and wherein the state is invoked in the second application when the second application is launched on the external device ( Kumar 0059] The unlocked view displayed after the affordance object is changed can be implemented in various shapes according to embodiments of the present invention. For example, the unlocked view can be an execution view generated by the execution of a particular application. When the lock is released, the execution view of an application used before the display apparatus enters the locked state, a default application, or an application, i.e. second application, frequently used can be displayed immediately. When the line connected to one affordance object is cut as shown in FIG. 5, the execution view of the function corresponding to the affordance object may be used as the unlocked view).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 2015/0234473 in view of Lee et al US 2014/0359454 in view of Livnat et al US 2009/0100529.
As per claim 13. Wang in view of Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is associated with an e-mail address, and wherein the external device unlocks after confirming that the external device is associated with the same e-mail address as the e-mail address associated with the electronic device. the combination fails to disclose the same e-mail address as the e-mail address associated with the electronic device.
However, Livnat disclose the same e-mail address as the e-mail address associated with the electronic device(0101 server application 104 and/or client application 140 may be capable of linking between a computing device of computing devices 112, 114, 122, 124 and/or 132 ("the linked device") and at least one email address ("the linked email address" same email address for multiple devices ), which may be associated with a user of the computing device, e.g., as described in detail below. ).
Wang and Lee and Livnat are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of associating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Lee, including the Livnat and provision of performing an initial user verification and/or authentication process including verifying that the user of device is authorized to access an electronic mail account represented by the linked email address( par 0102).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 2015/0234473 in view of Lee et al US 2014/0359454 in view of Ruiz US 8,706,816.
As per claim 15. Wang in view of Lee discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is associated with a security , and wherein the external device unlocks after confirming the external device is associated with the same security associated with the electronic device( Wang 0006, biometric authentication technology, such as fingerprint, retina or iris recognition has started to be adopted as the security mechanism for electronic devices. Since biometric authentication technology recognizes users according to exclusive physiological and/or behavior characteristics of the respective users, the security of electronic devices are elevated to a much higher level. However, in all of the above security mechanisms, users must perform a preliminary setup procedure. For example, users must input related data, such as password, track input or biometric characteristic to the electronic device in advance, so that the data can be used for subsequent comparison. These behaviors need extra effort of users. Since the electronic device needs a processing time for performing the security mechanism based on respective authentication data, users must wait for a longer time when the security level is higher. ).
The combination does not teach a security domain of the electronic device and external device.
However, Ruiz discloses a security domain of the electronic device and external device ( claim 1, wherein said first recipient and said second recipient share a single email address associated with a single shared domain name and said email message was sent to said single email address. And col 4, lines 55-65 sample system for delivering email messages to email addresses associated with shared domain names may comprise one or more Senders, one or more Recipients, and a Routing Mail Server. The Routing Mail Server may determine the geographical location of the Sender and route the email messages to the Recipient associated with that geographical location. ).
Wang and Lee and Ruiz are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of locking and unlocking of the devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Lee, including the Ruiz and provide interworking communication with the external device. Doing so would establish a strong controlling connection with the external device, thereby increasing strong secure communication for interworking with the external device.
Conclusion
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496