DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding Claim 1, the term “the original tires” has no previous recitation in the claim. While the scope of the claim is reasonably ascertainable, the examiner recommends changing the term to “original tires”. Additionally, the limitation “to create a substitute electronic pulses” is grammatically incorrect; examiner recommends changing the limitation to “to create substitute electronic pulses.” Regarding Claim 8, the term “said standard tires” has no previous recitation in the claim, as the claim previously recites “original tires.” Examiner recommends using consistent terminology, such as changing “said standard tires” to “said original tires.” Regarding Claim 9, the limitation “said associated electronic modules includes a speedometer display” is grammatically incorrect; examiner recommends changing the limitation to “said associated electronic modules include a speedometer display.” Regarding Claim 10, the term “said speed scaler” is inconsistent with the previously recited term “speed scaler module.” Examiner recommends changing the term to “said speed scaler module” for consistency. Regarding Claim 11, the limitation “In a vehicle have tires supporting the vehicle on the ground” is grammatically incorrect; examiner recommends changing the limitation to “In a vehicle having tires supporting the vehicle on the ground.” Additionally, the term “the speed scaler” is inconsistent with the previously recited “speed scaler apparatus.” Examiner recommends changing the term to “said speed scaler apparatus.” Regarding Claim 14, the terms “said speed detection systems” and “all of the speed detection systems” have no previous plural recitation, as Claim 11 recites only “a speed detection system.” While the scope of the claim is reasonably ascertainable, examiner recommends revising the claim to consistently recite the plurality of speed detection systems. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"speed scaler module" in claims 1, 8, 10
"speed scaler apparatus" in claims 11, 12, 14
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruhara (US 20050065664 A1) in view of Ohata (US 5103413 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsuruhara teaches An apparatus for correcting vehicle operational speed as a function of the size of the tires mounted on the vehicle, comprising: a speed measuring device associated with one or more selected wheels of said vehicle, each said speed measuring device being operable to generate electronic pulses representative of the rotational speed of the associated wheel (See at least paragraph [0038], “For instance, with regard to the diameter correction of the front and rear wheels, the corrected vehicle speeds are stored based on, for example, setting of a flag inside the brake ECU 3. The corrected vehicle wheel speed setting read in the detection processing. Regarding noise detection, if any noise of predetermined frequencies is found to affect any of the detection signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d to be used in the vehicle speed calculation, the vehicle wheel speeds are stored in the same way as above in the brake ECU 3, and these stored results are read in the detection processing. Regarding detection of wire breakage of the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d, the fact that no detection signals have been received from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d is stored. Then, the vehicle wheel speeds are stored in the same way as above in the brake ECU 3 and these stored results are read in the detection processing. Regarding spare tire replacement, the detection signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d for both vehicle wheels attached to the same axle are compared and the determination is based on whether or not a significant difference exists between the pulse values of the signals.”); an electronic module including a processor that functions to receive electronic pulses representative of the rotational speed of said one or more selected vehicle wheels (See at least paragraph [0026], “The wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d are provided respectively on the wheels, not shown, of a vehicle and the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d are provided respectively on the wheels of the vehicle, and output pulse signals that become vehicle wheel speed signals of the corresponding wheels. The vehicle wheel speed signals are used in, for example, a vehicle wheel speed calculation of the respective wheels, a vehicle body speed calculation and a slip ratio calculation” and paragraph [0028], “The brake ECU 3 receives vehicle wheel speed signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d, calculates vehicle wheel speeds and a vehicle speed (vehicle body speed) based on the vehicle wheel speed signals, and outputs signals for the vehicle speed to the serial communication line 6. Based on a slip ratio obtained from the vehicle wheel speeds and vehicle speed, an acceleration slip or a locking tendency is detected. Then in order to perform the traction control for inhibiting the acceleration slip or the ABS control for inhibiting the locking tendency, a brake control signal is output to the ABS actuator. To perform the traction control, the pressures of wheel cylinders of driving wheels are increased to reduce the driving force transmitted to the driving wheels for control of acceleration slip. Alternatively, when the ABS control is performed, the pressures of the wheel cylinders of driving wheels that are likely to lock are reduced and maintained and pulsed at that level in order to inhibit the locking tendency.”); said speed scaler module receives the generated electronic pulses from said one or more speed measuring devices representative of the rotational speed of each associated wheel, according to a ratio of a circumference parameter of the original tires programmed into the electronic module and a circumference parameter of replacement tires mounted on the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0026], “The wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d are provided respectively on the wheels, not shown, of a vehicle and the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d are provided respectively on the wheels of the vehicle, and output pulse signals that become vehicle wheel speed signals of the corresponding wheels. The vehicle wheel speed signals are used in, for example, a vehicle wheel speed calculation of the respective wheels, a vehicle body speed calculation and a slip ratio calculation”, paragraph [0028], “The brake ECU 3 receives vehicle wheel speed signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d, calculates vehicle wheel speeds and a vehicle speed (vehicle body speed) based on the vehicle wheel speed signals, and outputs signals for the vehicle speed to the serial communication line 6”, paragraph [0030], “As the first method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained from a mean value of the vehicle wheel speeds of the respective driving wheels. However, if the spare tire is replaced, the vehicle speed cannot be obtained desirably from the vehicle wheel speeds. Thus, as the second method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained through correcting a mean value of the respective vehicle wheel speeds of driven wheels with a tire diameter ratio of the driving wheels and driven wheels (diameter correction)”, and paragraph [0040], “At 130, it is determined whether or not a diameter correction amount of the front and rear wheels is more than a reference value. In other words, whether or not a correction coefficient obtained from a diameter ratio of the driving wheels and the driven wheels is less than a reference value determines whether or not a difference between the vehicle speed obtained by the first method and the one obtained by the second method is significant.” Tire circumference is directly proportional to tire diameter; therefore, the disclosed tire diameter ratio corresponds to a tire circumference.).
Tsuruhara does not explicitly disclose, however, Ohata, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and a speed scaler module supported on said vehicle and being operationally positioned between said one or more speed measuring devices and said electronic module such that said speed scaler module adjusts the timing of the generated electronic pulses … to create a substitute electronic pulses which are transmitted to the electronic module to represent a corrected operational speed of said vehicle (See at least Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, “With such an arrangement, the first pulse signal having a frequency in response to the vehicle speed is outputted from the travel pulse generating means 1. Also, correction data in accordance with a diameter of tires mounted on the vehicle are set by a setting means (setter) 2. Then, in the frequency converter 3, the frequency of the first pulse signal is converted in accordance with the correction data and is outputted as a second pulse signal in response to the actual vehicle travel. In accordance with the second pulse signal, the actual vehicle travel (travelled speed and vehicle speed) may be detected in conformity with the tire diameter. Referring now to FIG. 2, it is understood that a frequency converter 6 is made up of a CPU (central processing unit) 6a and a buffer 6b connected to an output port 01 of CPU 6a. A speed sensor 4 coupled to an automotive transmission is connected through an interface 8 to an input .port 11 of CPU 6a. A tire-size setting switch (whose details of structure and function are obvious for those skilled in the art) is connected to an input port 12 for setting a diameter of the tires. Also, an electric supply or automotive battery 9 is connected to an electric source terminal Vee of CPU 6a. Furthermore, the output terminal of the output buffer 6b is connected to an indicator 7 such as an electronic speedometer and/or an odometer. It should be noted that the speed sensor 4, the setting switch 5 and the frequency converter 6 correspond to travel pulse generator 1, the coefficient setting means (setter) 2 and the frequency converter 3 shown in FIG. 1, respectively. The operation of the foregoing arrangement will now be described. First of all, the correction data (i.e., coefficient for correction) are set by operating the setting switch 5 in order to correspond to the diameter of tires mounted on the automotive vehicle in advance. When, under this condition, the vehicle bas travelled, the first pulse signal will be generated in response to the RPM of the transmission from the speed sensor 4. The first pulse signal is inputted into the input port 11 of CPU 6a through the sensor interface 8. On the other hand, the information of the tires mounted on the vehicle have been inputted into the input port 12 by the setting switch 5. Then, in accordance with the correction data, the inputted pulse signal is converted into a pulse signal having a frequency that corresponds to the actual vehicle speed. The pulse signal processed with respect to the frequency is outputted as a second pulse signal into the output port 01 and is supplied to the indicator 7 through the output buffer 6b. In the indicator 7, the second pulse signal is used therein to indicate the vehicle speed and the totally travelled distance” and col. 3 lines 50-65, “The mutual timing between the first and second pulse signals will be explained with reference to FIGS. 3(a) and 3(b). The first pulse signal (input pulse signal) is in the form of a rectangular signal as shown in FIG. 3(a). 55 The pulse signals are generated from a time tO with cycles of Tl, T2, ... in this order. The CPU 6a measures the respective pulse signal cycles of Tl, T2 ... and a process such as these described in the paragraphs (1) and (2) is performed for calculating the second pulse 60 signal cycles TOI, T02, ... , representative of the actual vehicle speed corresponding to the respective cycles of the second pulse signals.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Tsuruhara with the teachings of Ohata such that the speedometer control system of Tsuruhara is further configured to utilize a speed scaler module supported on said vehicle and being operationally positioned between said one or more speed measuring devices and said electronic module such that said speed scaler module adjusts the timing of the generated electronic pulses … to create a substitute electronic pulses which are transmitted to the electronic module to represent a corrected operational speed of said vehicle, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 50-65.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to output pulse signals having a frequency corresponding to actual vehicle travel when the tire diameter changes, while minimizing or reducing the number of mechanical or electrical parts at a low cost, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 1 lines 40-50.).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsuruhara and Ohata teach The apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara teaches wherein said electronic module is an Anti-lock Brake System for said vehicle (See at least paragraph [0025], “The speedometer control system has a structure including wheel speed sensors 1a-1d provided on a vehicle, a brake ECU 3 for an ABS control and a traction control for driving an ABS actuator, a speedometer 5 and a serial communication line 6 for connecting these structural components.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsuruhara and Ohata teach The apparatus of Claim 5 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara teaches wherein said Anti-Lock Brake System calculates the operational speed of said vehicle (See at least paragraph [0028], “The brake ECU 3 receives vehicle wheel speed signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d, calculates vehicle wheel speeds and a vehicle speed (vehicle body speed) based on the vehicle wheel speed signals, and outputs signals for the vehicle speed to the serial communication line 6.”).
Tsuruhara does not explicitly disclose, however, Ohata, in the same field of endeavor, teaches from the substitute electronic pulses transmitted from said speed scaler module (See at least Col. 2 lines 20-35, “With such an arrangement, the first pulse signal having a frequency in response to the vehicle speed is outputted from the travel pulse generating means 1. Also, correction data in accordance with a diameter of tires mounted on the vehicle are set by a setting means (setter) 2. Then, in the frequency converter 3, the frequency of the first pulse signal is converted in accordance with the correction data and is outputted as a second pulse signal in response to the actual vehicle travel. In accordance with the second pulse signal, the actual vehicle travel (travelled speed and vehicle speed) may be detected in conformity with the tire diameter.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Tsuruhara with the teachings of Ohata such that the speedometer control system of Tsuruhara is further configured to utilize a speed scaler module supported on said vehicle and being operationally positioned between said one or more speed measuring devices and said electronic module such that said speed scaler module adjusts the timing of the generated electronic pulses … to create a substitute electronic pulses which are transmitted to the electronic module to represent a corrected operational speed of said vehicle, the substitute electronic pulses transmitted from said speed scaler module, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 50-65.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to output pulse signals having a frequency corresponding to actual vehicle travel when the tire diameter changes, while minimizing or reducing the number of mechanical or electrical parts at a low cost, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 1 lines 40-50.).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsuruhara and Ohata teach The apparatus of Claim 6 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara teaches wherein said Anti-Lock Brake System transmits to various components of said vehicle the calculated operational speed of said vehicle (See at least paragraph [0025], “The speedometer control system has a structure including wheel speed sensors 1a-1d provided on a vehicle, a brake ECU 3 for an ABS control and a traction control for driving an ABS actuator, a speedometer 5 and a serial communication line 6 for connecting these structural components”, paragraph [0028], “The brake ECU 3 receives vehicle wheel speed signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d, calculates vehicle wheel speeds and a vehicle speed (vehicle body speed) based on the vehicle wheel speed signals, and outputs signals for the vehicle speed to the serial communication line 6”, and paragraph [0033], “The speedometer 5 that displays the vehicle speed is included in a display unit that is provided inside an instrument panel. After the brake ECU 3 calculates the vehicle speed with reference to the detection signals from the wheel speed sensor 3, the signal for the vehicle speed is transmitted from the brake ECU 3 to the speedometer 5.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsuruhara teaches A method of correcting the operational speed indication of a vehicle when replacement tires are mounted on the vehicle which are differently sized with respect to original tires recommended for the vehicle, comprising the steps of: generating electronic pulses from a speed measuring device mounted on at least one wheel of said vehicle (See at least paragraph [0038], “For instance, with regard to the diameter correction of the front and rear wheels, the corrected vehicle speeds are stored based on, for example, setting of a flag inside the brake ECU 3. The corrected vehicle wheel speed setting read in the detection processing. Regarding noise detection, if any noise of predetermined frequencies is found to affect any of the detection signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d to be used in the vehicle speed calculation, the vehicle wheel speeds are stored in the same way as above in the brake ECU 3, and these stored results are read in the detection processing. Regarding detection of wire breakage of the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d, the fact that no detection signals have been received from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d is stored. Then, the vehicle wheel speeds are stored in the same way as above in the brake ECU 3 and these stored results are read in the detection processing. Regarding spare tire replacement, the detection signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d for both vehicle wheels attached to the same axle are compared and the determination is based on whether or not a significant difference exists between the pulse values of the signals.”); intercepting said electronic pulses generated by said speed measuring device by a speed scaler module that is pre-programmed with dimensional parameters relating to the original tires and said differently sized replacement tires, from which a ratio of the circumference of said standard tires relative to said replacement tires can be generated and/or stored, according to the ratio of the circumferences of the original tires relative to the replacement tires (See at least paragraph [0026], “The wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d are provided respectively on the wheels, not shown, of a vehicle and the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d are provided respectively on the wheels of the vehicle, and output pulse signals that become vehicle wheel speed signals of the corresponding wheels. The vehicle wheel speed signals are used in, for example, a vehicle wheel speed calculation of the respective wheels, a vehicle body speed calculation and a slip ratio calculation”, paragraph [0028], “The brake ECU 3 receives vehicle wheel speed signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d, calculates vehicle wheel speeds and a vehicle speed (vehicle body speed) based on the vehicle wheel speed signals, and outputs signals for the vehicle speed to the serial communication line 6”, paragraph [0030], “As the first method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained from a mean value of the vehicle wheel speeds of the respective driving wheels. However, if the spare tire is replaced, the vehicle speed cannot be obtained desirably from the vehicle wheel speeds. Thus, as the second method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained through correcting a mean value of the respective vehicle wheel speeds of driven wheels with a tire diameter ratio of the driving wheels and driven wheels (diameter correction)”, and paragraph [0040], “At 130, it is determined whether or not a diameter correction amount of the front and rear wheels is more than a reference value. In other words, whether or not a correction coefficient obtained from a diameter ratio of the driving wheels and the driven wheels is less than a reference value determines whether or not a difference between the vehicle speed obtained by the first method and the one obtained by the second method is significant.” Tire circumference is directly proportional to tire diameter; therefore, the disclosed tire diameter ratio corresponds to a tire circumference.), and transmission of the actual operational speed of the vehicle to associated electronic modules requiring accurate operational speed data (See at least paragraph [0028], “The brake ECU 3 receives vehicle wheel speed signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d, calculates vehicle wheel speeds and a vehicle speed (vehicle body speed) based on the vehicle wheel speed signals, and outputs signals for the vehicle speed to the serial communication line 6” and paragraph [0033], “The speedometer 5 that displays the vehicle speed is included in a display unit that is provided inside an instrument panel. After the brake ECU 3 calculates the vehicle speed with reference to the detection signals from the wheel speed sensor 3, the signal for the vehicle speed is transmitted from the brake ECU 3 to the speedometer 5.”).
Tsuruhara does not explicitly disclose, however, Ohata, in the same field of endeavor, teaches said electronic pulses having a timing parameter between consecutive pulses (See at least Col. 3 lines 50-65, “The mutual timing between the first and second pulse signals will be explained with reference to FIGS. 3(a) and 3(b). The first pulse signal (input pulse signal) is in the form of a rectangular signal as shown in FIG. 3(a). 55 The pulse signals are generated from a time tO with cycles of Tl, T2, ... in this order. The CPU 6a measures the respective pulse signal cycles of Tl, T2 ... and a process such as these described in the paragraphs (1) and (2) is performed for calculating the second pulse 60 signal cycles TOI, T02, ... , representative of the actual vehicle speed corresponding to the respective cycles of the second pulse signals.”), adjusting the timing between said electronic pulses (See at least Col. 3 lines 50-65, “The mutual timing between the first and second pulse signals will be explained with reference to FIGS. 3(a) and 3(b). The first pulse signal (input pulse signal) is in the form of a rectangular signal as shown in FIG. 3(a). 55 The pulse signals are generated from a time tO with cycles of Tl, T2, ... in this order. The CPU 6a measures the respective pulse signal cycles of Tl, T2 ... and a process such as these described in the paragraphs (1) and (2) is performed for calculating the second pulse 60 signal cycles TOI, T02, ... , representative of the actual vehicle speed corresponding to the respective cycles of the second pulse signals.”); and generating substitute electronic pulses incorporating the adjusted timing between said electronic pulses, and transmitting said substitute electronic pulses to an electronic module for calculation of the actual operational speed of the vehicle (See at least Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, “With such an arrangement, the first pulse signal having a frequency in response to the vehicle speed is outputted from the travel pulse generating means 1. Also, correction data in accordance with a diameter of tires mounted on the vehicle are set by a setting means (setter) 2. Then, in the frequency converter 3, the frequency of the first pulse signal is converted in accordance with the correction data and is outputted as a second pulse signal in response to the actual vehicle travel. In accordance with the second pulse signal, the actual vehicle travel (travelled speed and vehicle speed) may be detected in conformity with the tire diameter. Referring now to FIG. 2, it is understood that a frequency converter 6 is made up of a CPU (central processing unit) 6a and a buffer 6b connected to an output port 01 of CPU 6a. A speed sensor 4 coupled to an automotive transmission is connected through an interface 8 to an input .port 11 of CPU 6a. A tire-size setting switch (whose details of structure and function are obvious for those skilled in the art) is connected to an input port 12 for setting a diameter of the tires. Also, an electric supply or automotive battery 9 is connected to an electric source terminal Vee of CPU 6a. Furthermore, the output terminal of the output buffer 6b is connected to an indicator 7 such as an electronic speedometer and/or an odometer. It should be noted that the speed sensor 4, the setting switch 5 and the frequency converter 6 correspond to travel pulse generator 1, the coefficient setting means (setter) 2 and the frequency converter 3 shown in FIG. 1, respectively. The operation of the foregoing arrangement will now be described. First of all, the correction data (i.e., coefficient for correction) are set by operating the setting switch 5 in order to correspond to the diameter of tires mounted on the automotive vehicle in advance. When, under this condition, the vehicle bas travelled, the first pulse signal will be generated in response to the RPM of the transmission from the speed sensor 4. The first pulse signal is inputted into the input port 11 of CPU 6a through the sensor interface 8. On the other hand, the information of the tires mounted on the vehicle have been inputted into the input port 12 by the setting switch 5. Then, in accordance with the correction data, the inputted pulse signal is converted into a pulse signal having a frequency that corresponds to the actual vehicle speed. The pulse signal processed with respect to the frequency is outputted as a second pulse signal into the output port 01 and is supplied to the indicator 7 through the output buffer 6b. In the indicator 7, the second pulse signal is used therein to indicate the vehicle speed and the totally travelled distance” and col. 3 lines 50-65, “The mutual timing between the first and second pulse signals will be explained with reference to FIGS. 3(a) and 3(b). The first pulse signal (input pulse signal) is in the form of a rectangular signal as shown in FIG. 3(a). 55 The pulse signals are generated from a time tO with cycles of Tl, T2, ... in this order. The CPU 6a measures the respective pulse signal cycles of Tl, T2 ... and a process such as these described in the paragraphs (1) and (2) is performed for calculating the second pulse 60 signal cycles TOI, T02, ... , representative of the actual vehicle speed corresponding to the respective cycles of the second pulse signals.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Tsuruhara with the teachings of Ohata such that the speedometer control system of Tsuruhara is further configured to utilize said electronic pulses having a timing parameter between consecutive pulses, adjusting the timing between said electronic pulses, and generating substitute electronic pulses incorporating the adjusted timing between said electronic pulses, and transmitting said substitute electronic pulses to an electronic module for calculation of the actual operational speed of the vehicle, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 50-65.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to output pulse signals having a frequency corresponding to actual vehicle travel when the tire diameter changes, while minimizing or reducing the number of mechanical or electrical parts at a low cost, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 1 lines 40-50.).
Regarding Claim 9, Tsuruhara and Ohata teach The method of Claim 8 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara teaches wherein said associated electronic modules includes a speedometer display (See at least paragraph [0033], “The speedometer 5 that displays the vehicle speed is included in a display unit that is provided inside an instrument panel. After the brake ECU 3 calculates the vehicle speed with reference to the detection signals from the wheel speed sensor 3, the signal for the vehicle speed is transmitted from the brake ECU 3 to the speedometer 5.”).
Regarding Claim 10, Tsuruhara and Ohata teach The method of Claim 8 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara teaches wherein said speed scaler creates a ratio of the original tire circumference relative to the replacement tire circumference for each replacement tire placed onto said vehicle (See at least paragraph [0030], “As the first method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained from a mean value of the vehicle wheel speeds of the respective driving wheels. However, if the spare tire is replaced, the vehicle speed cannot be obtained desirably from the vehicle wheel speeds. Thus, as the second method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained through correcting a mean value of the respective vehicle wheel speeds of driven wheels with a tire diameter ratio of the driving wheels and driven wheels (diameter correction)”, paragraph [0038], “Regarding spare tire replacement, the detection signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d for both vehicle wheels attached to the same axle are compared and the determination is based on whether or not a significant difference exists between the pulse values of the signals”, and paragraph [0040], “At 130, it is determined whether or not a diameter correction amount of the front and rear wheels is more than a reference value. In other words, whether or not a correction coefficient obtained from a diameter ratio of the driving wheels and the driven wheels is less than a reference value determines whether or not a difference between the vehicle speed obtained by the first method and the one obtained by the second method is significant.” Tire circumference is directly proportional to tire diameter; therefore, the disclosed tire diameter ratio corresponds to a tire circumference.).
Regarding Claim 11, Tsuruhara teaches In a vehicle have tires supporting the vehicle on the ground, a speed detection system associated with at least one tire to record the rate of revolution of said at least one tire and to produce a signal in the form of electronic pulses, and an anti-lock brake system operable to convert the electronic pulses into an indication of speed of the vehicle and to transmit the indication of speed to components of said vehicle needing to know the vehicle speed to properly operate (See at least paragraph [0025], “The speedometer control system has a structure including wheel speed sensors 1a-1d provided on a vehicle, a brake ECU 3 for an ABS control and a traction control for driving an ABS actuator, a speedometer 5 and a serial communication line 6 for connecting these structural components”, paragraph [0026], “The wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d are provided respectively on the wheels, not shown, of a vehicle and the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d are provided respectively on the wheels of the vehicle, and output pulse signals that become vehicle wheel speed signals of the corresponding wheels. The vehicle wheel speed signals are used in, for example, a vehicle wheel speed calculation of the respective wheels, a vehicle body speed calculation and a slip ratio calculation”, paragraph [0028], “The brake ECU 3 receives vehicle wheel speed signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d, calculates vehicle wheel speeds and a vehicle speed (vehicle body speed) based on the vehicle wheel speed signals, and outputs signals for the vehicle speed to the serial communication line 6”, and paragraph [0033], “The speedometer 5 that displays the vehicle speed is included in a display unit that is provided inside an instrument panel. After the brake ECU 3 calculates the vehicle speed with reference to the detection signals from the wheel speed sensor 3, the signal for the vehicle speed is transmitted from the brake ECU 3 to the speedometer 5.”), the anti-lock brake system (See at least paragraph [0025], “The speedometer control system has a structure including wheel speed sensors 1a-1d provided on a vehicle, a brake ECU 3 for an ABS control and a traction control for driving an ABS actuator, a speedometer 5 and a serial communication line 6 for connecting these structural components.”), according to a comparison of parameters of original tires stored in the speed scaler and parameters of replacement tires placed on the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0030], “As the first method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained from a mean value of the vehicle wheel speeds of the respective driving wheels. However, if the spare tire is replaced, the vehicle speed cannot be obtained desirably from the vehicle wheel speeds. Thus, as the second method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained through correcting a mean value of the respective vehicle wheel speeds of driven wheels with a tire diameter ratio of the driving wheels and driven wheels (diameter correction)”, paragraph [0038], “Regarding spare tire replacement, the detection signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d for both vehicle wheels attached to the same axle are compared and the determination is based on whether or not a significant difference exists between the pulse values of the signals”, and paragraph [0040], “At 130, it is determined whether or not a diameter correction amount of the front and rear wheels is more than a reference value. In other words, whether or not a correction coefficient obtained from a diameter ratio of the driving wheels and the driven wheels is less than a reference value determines whether or not a difference between the vehicle speed obtained by the first method and the one obtained by the second method is significant.”).
Tsuruhara does not explicitly disclose, however, Ohata, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the improvement comprising: a speed scaler apparatus operatively positioned between the speed detection system and the … system to receive the electronic pulses from the speed detection system and adjust the time between pulses (See at least Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, “With such an arrangement, the first pulse signal having a frequency in response to the vehicle speed is outputted from the travel pulse generating means 1. Also, correction data in accordance with a diameter of tires mounted on the vehicle are set by a setting means (setter) 2. Then, in the frequency converter 3, the frequency of the first pulse signal is converted in accordance with the correction data and is outputted as a second pulse signal in response to the actual vehicle travel. In accordance with the second pulse signal, the actual vehicle travel (travelled speed and vehicle speed) may be detected in conformity with the tire diameter. Referring now to FIG. 2, it is understood that a frequency converter 6 is made up of a CPU (central processing unit) 6a and a buffer 6b connected to an output port 01 of CPU 6a. A speed sensor 4 coupled to an automotive transmission is connected through an interface 8 to an input .port 11 of CPU 6a. A tire-size setting switch (whose details of structure and function are obvious for those skilled in the art) is connected to an input port 12 for setting a diameter of the tires. Also, an electric supply or automotive battery 9 is connected to an electric source terminal Vee of CPU 6a. Furthermore, the output terminal of the output buffer 6b is connected to an indicator 7 such as an electronic speedometer and/or an odometer. It should be noted that the speed sensor 4, the setting switch 5 and the frequency converter 6 correspond to travel pulse generator 1, the coefficient setting means (setter) 2 and the frequency converter 3 shown in FIG. 1, respectively. The operation of the foregoing arrangement will now be described. First of all, the correction data (i.e., coefficient for correction) are set by operating the setting switch 5 in order to correspond to the diameter of tires mounted on the automotive vehicle in advance. When, under this condition, the vehicle bas travelled, the first pulse signal will be generated in response to the RPM of the transmission from the speed sensor 4. The first pulse signal is inputted into the input port 11 of CPU 6a through the sensor interface 8. On the other hand, the information of the tires mounted on the vehicle have been inputted into the input port 12 by the setting switch 5. Then, in accordance with the correction data, the inputted pulse signal is converted into a pulse signal having a frequency that corresponds to the actual vehicle speed. The pulse signal processed with respect to the frequency is outputted as a second pulse signal into the output port 01 and is supplied to the indicator 7 through the output buffer 6b. In the indicator 7, the second pulse signal is used therein to indicate the vehicle speed and the totally travelled distance” and col. 3 lines 50-65, “The mutual timing between the first and second pulse signals will be explained with reference to FIGS. 3(a) and 3(b). The first pulse signal (input pulse signal) is in the form of a rectangular signal as shown in FIG. 3(a). 55 The pulse signals are generated from a time tO with cycles of Tl, T2, ... in this order. The CPU 6a measures the respective pulse signal cycles of Tl, T2 ... and a process such as these described in the paragraphs (1) and (2) is performed for calculating the second pulse 60 signal cycles TOI, T02, ... , representative of the actual vehicle speed corresponding to the respective cycles of the second pulse signals.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Tsuruhara with the teachings of Ohata such that the speedometer control system of Tsuruhara is further configured to utilize a speed scaler apparatus operatively positioned between the speed detection system and the … system to receive the electronic pulses from the speed detection system and adjust the time between pulses, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 50-65.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to output pulse signals having a frequency corresponding to actual vehicle travel when the tire diameter changes, while minimizing or reducing the number of mechanical or electrical parts at a low cost, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 1 lines 40-50.).
Regarding Claim 12, Tsuruhara and Ohata teach The vehicle of Claim 11 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara teaches to said anti-lock brake system from which the anti-lock brake system calculates actual vehicle speed using parameters of the original tires placed on the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0025], “The speedometer control system has a structure including wheel speed sensors 1a-1d provided on a vehicle, a brake ECU 3 for an ABS control and a traction control for driving an ABS actuator, a speedometer 5 and a serial communication line 6 for connecting these structural components”, paragraph [0028], “The brake ECU 3 receives vehicle wheel speed signals from the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d, calculates vehicle wheel speeds and a vehicle speed (vehicle body speed) based on the vehicle wheel speed signals, and outputs signals for the vehicle speed to the serial communication line 6”, and paragraph [0030], “As the first method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained from a mean value of the vehicle wheel speeds of the respective driving wheels. However, if the spare tire is replaced, the vehicle speed cannot be obtained desirably from the vehicle wheel speeds. Thus, as the second method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained through correcting a mean value of the respective vehicle wheel speeds of driven wheels with a tire diameter ratio of the driving wheels and driven wheels (diameter correction).”).
Tsuruhara does not explicitly disclose, however, Ohata, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein said speed scaler apparatus transmits adjusted pulses (See at least Col. 2 lines 20-35, “With such an arrangement, the first pulse signal having a frequency in response to the vehicle speed is outputted from the travel pulse generating means 1. Also, correction data in accordance with a diameter of tires mounted on the vehicle are set by a setting means (setter) 2. Then, in the frequency converter 3, the frequency of the first pulse signal is converted in accordance with the correction data and is outputted as a second pulse signal in response to the actual vehicle travel. In accordance with the second pulse signal, the actual vehicle travel (travelled speed and vehicle speed) may be detected in conformity with the tire diameter.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Tsuruhara with the teachings of Ohata such that the speedometer control system of Tsuruhara is further configured to utilize a speed scaler apparatus operatively positioned between the speed detection system and the … system to receive the electronic pulses from the speed detection system and adjust the time between pulses, wherein said speed scaler apparatus transmits adjusted pulses, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 50-65.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to output pulse signals having a frequency corresponding to actual vehicle travel when the tire diameter changes, while minimizing or reducing the number of mechanical or electrical parts at a low cost, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 1 lines 40-50.).
Regarding Claim 13, Tsuruhara and Ohata teach The vehicle of Claim 12 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara teaches wherein said parameters include the circumference of the respective tires (See at least paragraph [0030], “As the first method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained from a mean value of the vehicle wheel speeds of the respective driving wheels. However, if the spare tire is replaced, the vehicle speed cannot be obtained desirably from the vehicle wheel speeds. Thus, as the second method, for instance, the vehicle speed may be obtained through correcting a mean value of the respective vehicle wheel speeds of driven wheels with a tire diameter ratio of the driving wheels and driven wheels (diameter correction)” and paragraph [0040], “At 130, it is determined whether or not a diameter correction amount of the front and rear wheels is more than a reference value. In other words, whether or not a correction coefficient obtained from a diameter ratio of the driving wheels and the driven wheels is less than a reference value determines whether or not a difference between the vehicle speed obtained by the first method and the one obtained by the second method is significant.” Tire circumference is directly proportional to tire diameter; therefore, the disclosed tire diameter ratio corresponds to a tire circumference.).
Regarding Claim 14, Tsuruhara and Ohata teach The vehicle of Claim 12 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara teaches wherein each tire on said vehicle has associated therewith one of said speed detection systems, all of said speed detection systems sending electronic pulses to said speed scaler apparatus (See at least paragraph [0026], “The wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d are provided respectively on the wheels, not shown, of a vehicle and the wheel speed sensors 1a to 1d are provided respectively on the wheels of the vehicle, and output pulse signals that become vehicle wheel speed signals of the corresponding wheels. The vehicle wheel speed signals are used in, for example, a vehicle wheel speed calculation of the respective wheels, a vehicle body speed calculation and a slip ratio calculation.”).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruhara (US 20050065664 A1) in view of Ohata (US 5103413 A) and Djama (US 20090021242 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsuruhara and Ohata teach The apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara and Ohata do not explicitly disclose, however, Djama, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein said speed measuring device includes a device formed with a plurality of equally spaced signal producing members, said device being secured to the associated wheel for rotation therewith and an adjacent stationary sensor that generates said electronic pulse in response to each respective signal producing member passing by said sensor (See at least paragraph [0069], “The sensor 22ag has an encoding disk 30 formed by a succession of alternating north 32 and south 24 magnetic poles. This disk 30 is mounted on the axle 16”, paragraph [0070], “The sensor 22ag also comprises a sensor housing 36 fixed on a spindle 37 of the wheel 14ag facing the encoding disk 30 and separated therefrom by a gap distance g”, paragraph [0072], “Housing 36 has a parallelepiped shape and houses a printed circuit board on a longitudinal plane CI, as will be explained in more details below. Active elements are mounted on the printed circuit board and are adapted to measure electromagnetic field variations triggered by the successive passages of north and south poles 32, 34 as well as an acceleration of the wheel 14a along a predetermined axis”, and paragraph [0076], “In the area of the front face 48 of the housing 36, which faces the encoding disk 30, a Hall effect encoding cell 50 is mounted on the printed circuit board 44. As is known in itself, this cell 50 is sensitive to magnetic field variations generated by the successive passage of the magnetic poles 32, 34 of the disk 30 in front of the front face 48. The cell 50 thus produces an electric current in the form of substantially crenelated pulses whose frequency depends on the spatial period of poles on the disk 30 and the rotation speed of the wheel 14ag. The disk 30 and the cell 50 constitute a magnetic encoder of the rotation speed of the wheel 14ag.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Tsuruhara with the teachings of Ohata and Djama such that the speedometer control system of Tsuruhara is further configured to utilize a speed scaler module supported on said vehicle and being operationally positioned between said one or more speed measuring devices and said electronic module such that said speed scaler module adjusts the timing of the generated electronic pulses … to create a substitute electronic pulses which are transmitted to the electronic module to represent a corrected operational speed of said vehicle, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 50-65.), and wherein said speed measuring device includes a device formed with a plurality of equally spaced signal producing members, said device being secured to the associated wheel for rotation therewith and an adjacent stationary sensor that generates said electronic pulse in response to each respective signal producing member passing by said sensor, as taught by Djama (See paragraph [0069], [0070], [0072], [0076].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to output pulse signals having a frequency corresponding to actual vehicle travel when the tire diameter changes, while minimizing or reducing the number of mechanical or electrical parts at a low cost, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 1 lines 40-50.), and to avoid the calculation being distorted when a wrong tire has been mounted on the wheel, such that the applications using the calculated frequency are based on a wrong value, as taught by Djama (See paragraph [0006].).
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruhara (US 20050065664 A1) in view of Ohata (US 5103413 A), Djama (US 20090021242 A1), and Moser (US 20060006994 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsuruhara, Ohata, Djama teach The apparatus of Claim 2 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara, Ohata, and Djama do not explicitly disclose, however, Moser, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein each said signal producing member is a ferrous member that causes an induced electronic pulse from said sensor for the passage of each member (See at least paragraph [0020], “The magnetic actuator will rotate with each revolution of the wheel and comes into close proximity to the sensor, including a silicon chip or semi-conductor permanently mounted in the auto-body frame, and will induce a voltage, the Hall voltage, thereby producing a voltage that can be used as a signal to indicate the presence or the absence of the magnet” and paragraph [0021], “One specific preferred embodiment of the present invention utilizes a ferrous or rare earth magnet mounted on the rim of the vehicle to provide a pass/fail or on/off system to provide a dashboard indication. Another preferred embodiment has other features including the use of electromagnets, and/or electronic devices for measuring tire pressure.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Tsuruhara with the teachings of Ohata, Djama, and Moser such that the speedometer control system of Tsuruhara is further configured to utilize a speed scaler module supported on said vehicle and being operationally positioned between said one or more speed measuring devices and said electronic module such that said speed scaler module adjusts the timing of the generated electronic pulses … to create a substitute electronic pulses which are transmitted to the electronic module to represent a corrected operational speed of said vehicle, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 50-65.), wherein said speed measuring device includes a device formed with a plurality of equally spaced signal producing members, said device being secured to the associated wheel for rotation therewith and an adjacent stationary sensor that generates said electronic pulse in response to each respective signal producing member passing by said sensor, as taught by Djama (See paragraph [0069], [0070], [0072], [0076].), and wherein each said signal producing member is a ferrous member that causes an induced electronic pulse from said sensor for the passage of each member, as taught by Moser (See paragraph [0020], [0021].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to output pulse signals having a frequency corresponding to actual vehicle travel when the tire diameter changes, while minimizing or reducing the number of mechanical or electrical parts at a low cost, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 1 lines 40-50.), to avoid the calculation being distorted when a wrong tire has been mounted on the wheel, such that the applications using the calculated frequency are based on a wrong value, as taught by Djama (See paragraph [0006].), and to maintain proper tire conditions as a critical factor for safe operation of the vehicle, as taught by Moser (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 4, Tsuruhara, Ohata, Djama, and Moser teach The apparatus of Claim 3 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Tsuruhara, Ohata, and Djama do not explicitly disclose, however, Moser, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein each said sensor induces an electromagnetic signal for each ferrous member passing said sensor (See at least paragraph [0035], “In accordance with the most preferred embodiment of the present invention, there is generally disclosed a Hall effect sensor as shown in concept form in FIG. 1 where the actuator 1 includes a magnet 4 having a magnetic field to induce a voltage 5 in a sensor 3. Sensor 3 preferably includes a semi-conductor, or silicon chip 8, generally, but may be any other type of magnetic sensor. Essentially, a tire pressure 6 is exerted against magnet 4 which is held in back by spring pressure 7. If the tire pressure 6 becomes too slight, spring pressure 7 will push magnet 4 away from Hall effect sensor 3, and the voltage 5 which is generated by magnetic field 2 will decrease to a point where it is noted that the tire pressure is to low for safe operation” and paragraph [0039], “At least one stationary field sensor is permanently mounted in a face-to-face relationship with the rotating magnetic actuator, where it rotates around at a physical distance gap between the rotating magnetic actuator and the field sensor of from about 0.01 mm to about 50 mm, preferably about 1 to 2 mm apart. The field sensor detects the signal generated by the rotating magnetic actuator each time it rotates past the field sensor as the wheel makes a revolution and converts that information into a signal emitted for communicating the information about the tire pressure.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Tsuruhara with the teachings of Ohata, Djama, and Moser such that the speedometer control system of Tsuruhara is further configured to utilize a speed scaler module supported on said vehicle and being operationally positioned between said one or more speed measuring devices and said electronic module such that said speed scaler module adjusts the timing of the generated electronic pulses … to create a substitute electronic pulses which are transmitted to the electronic module to represent a corrected operational speed of said vehicle, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 2 lines 20-69 and col. 3 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 50-65.), wherein said speed measuring device includes a device formed with a plurality of equally spaced signal producing members, said device being secured to the associated wheel for rotation therewith and an adjacent stationary sensor that generates said electronic pulse in response to each respective signal producing member passing by said sensor, as taught by Djama (See paragraph [0069], [0070], [0072], [0076].), and wherein each said signal producing member is a ferrous member that causes an induced electronic pulse from said sensor for the passage of each member, wherein each said sensor induces an electromagnetic signal for each ferrous member passing said sensor, as taught by Moser (See paragraph [0020], [0021], [0035], [0039].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to output pulse signals having a frequency corresponding to actual vehicle travel when the tire diameter changes, while minimizing or reducing the number of mechanical or electrical parts at a low cost, as taught by Ohata (See Col. 1 lines 40-50.), to avoid the calculation being distorted when a wrong tire has been mounted on the wheel, such that the applications using the calculated frequency are based on a wrong value, as taught by Djama (See paragraph [0006].), and to maintain proper tire conditions as a critical factor for safe operation of the vehicle, as taught by Moser (See paragraph [0006].).
Conclusion
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666