DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filled on 07/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 24, 26, 28-35, 37, and 39-43 remain pending in the current application. The amendments to the specification and the claims have overcome the objections to the specification and the 35USC 112 rejections of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 24, 26, 28-30, 35, 37, 39-41, and 43 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strommer et al. (US 2005/0197566).
Regarding claim 24, Stommer teaches a medical system, comprising (para. 0021; a system which automatically controls the movements of a catheter to a desired location within a lumen of a patient,):
a catheter having a distal section comprising a steerable segment and a distal tip (paras. 0022 and 0048; It is noted that more than one position detector can be located at the distal portion of the catheter. This arrangement is crucial in case the distal portion of the catheter is provided with a "curve-back" functionality. The "curve-back" movement can be provided for example, by employing Electro Active Polymers (EAP). The moving mechanism is likewise provided with the necessary elements to apply an appropriate torque to the distal portion of the catheter, to bend the distal portion. The examiner notes that the catheter comprises a distal end and a steerable segment that can curve back or bend);
a sensor system configured to generate data indicating poses of the distal tip of the catheter (paras. 0026 and 0036-37; Position detector 114 is located at a distal portion of catheter 116. Position detector 114 sends a signal to MPS 108 via conductor 132, respective of the three-dimensional position of position detector 114. Alternatively, position detector 114 is coupled with MPS 108 wirelessly and without conductor 132, in which case position detector 114 sends this position signal to MPS 108 wirelessly.); and
a computing device and computer readable medium, the computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the computing device, cause the computing device to (para. 0025; Controller 104 includes a processor (not shown) and a storage unit (not shown) for storing information respective of a path 128, which catheter 116 should move according to, within a lumen 130 of the body (not shown) of a patient (not shown).):
determine a working configuration including a position and an orientation of the distal tip for conducting a medical procedure on a target tissue (paras. 0028-0029 and 0039; Path 128 is a three-dimensional curve between an origin 136 and a destination 138 of a distal portion (not shown) of catheter 116 relative to lumen 130. Both origin 136 and destination 138 are within a field of view of imaging system 112. Path 128 is determined during an imaging session prior to the medical operation, and stored in the storage unit. When the user indicates origin 136 and destination 138, the C-arm constructs path 128 in three dimensions. It is noted that controller 104 calculates path 128 based on one or more image processing algorithms, according to contrast variations of lumen 130 relative to the background. Instead of path 128, the controller can employ a topographical representation of the lumen system of the patient, in order to control the moving mechanism to maneuver the catheter through the lumen system, from an origin to a destination within the lumen system. In this case, the controller determines the best path for the catheter to reach the destination. It is noted that the controller may change the path in real-time, depending on findings during the navigation process (e.g., blocked passages, lumen which is narrower than expected). The controller modifies the path according to the feedback provided in real time by the position detector, and by comparing the actual position and orientation of the position detector with the expected position and orientation. The examiner notes that the working configuration is determined based on origin point and destination point and a path comprise the expected position and orientation to reach the destination.);
determine, based the data from the sensor system, a measured pose of the distal tip after movement of the distal tip away from the working configuration (para. 0039; In this case, the controller determines the best path for the catheter to reach the destination. It is noted that the controller may change the path in real-time, depending on findings during the navigation process (e.g., blocked passages, lumen which is narrower than expected). The controller modifies the path according to the feedback provided in real time by the position detector, and by comparing the actual position and orientation of the position detector with the expected position and orientation.);
determine a desired pose of the distal tip for conducting the medical procedure on the target tissue based on the working configuration, the desired pose having a position of the distal tip that is different from the position of the distal tip in the working configuration , wherein the position of the distal tip in the desired pose is nearer the measured pose than the position of the distal tip in the working configuration is to the measured pose (paras. 0051-0053 and 0059; With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 receives a signal from MPS 108 respective of the position of the distal portion of catheter 116, within lumen 130. In procedure 172, a new position to move the catheter to, is determined according to the received signal and according to a topological representation of the lumen system. With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 determines a new position for catheter 116 within lumen 130, according to the current position, and according to path 128. In procedure 174, a moving mechanism is operated to move the catheter to a second position, according to the new determined position. With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 sends a signal to moving mechanism 106 to move catheter 116 within lumen 130, to a second position, according to the new position determined in procedure 172, in order to advance catheter 116 within lumen 130 toward destination 138. For this purpose, the controller continuously determines successive incremental paths from the current position of the catheter to a user defined position located in front of, and closest to the current position of the catheter. The examiner notes that the controller uses the measured tip pose and planned route to select the next forward point closest to the tip position, moves towards it, and repeats as new measurements arrive until reaching the destination. Which means, an intermediate desired position that differs from and is closer to the measured position than the destination.); and
generate a control signal to move the catheter from the measured pose to the suitable desired pose (para. 0053; In procedure 174, a moving mechanism is operated to move the catheter to a second position, according to the new determined position.).
Regarding claim 26, Stommer teaches the medical system of claim 24, wherein an orientation of the distal tip in the desired pose is different than the orientation of the distal tip in the working configuration (paras. 0022, 0049, and 0051-0053; The controller can reach this conclusion for example, by comparing the detected orientation of the position detector at a given point within the lumen, with the computed slope of the path at the same point within the lumen. In case the detected orientation and the computed slope do not match, the controller determines that the catheter has met an obstacle, thereby directing the moving mechanism to operate in order to move the catheter back from the obstacle. In procedure 172, a new position to move the catheter to, is determined according to the received signal and according to a topological representation of the lumen system. With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 determines a new position for catheter 116 within lumen 130, according to the current position, and according to path 128. In procedure 174, a moving mechanism is operated to move the catheter to a second position, according to the new determined position. With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 sends a signal to moving mechanism 106 to move catheter 116 within lumen 130, to a second position, according to the new position determined in procedure 172, in order to advance catheter 116 within lumen 130 toward destination 138. The term "position" herein below, refers either to the location, to the orientation or both the location and the orientation, of an object in a three-dimensional coordinate system. The examiner notes that the catheter expected orientation is determined by the planned path’s slope. For an intermediate desired pose on a curved path, that desired orientation may differ from the orientation at the working configuration).
Regarding claim 28, Stommer teaches the medical system of claim 24, wherein the instructions, when executed by the computing device, further cause the computing device to initiate a holding mode, wherein the desired pose is determined using one or more constraints based on the initiated holding mode (para. 0059; the controller continuously determines successive incremental paths from the current position of the catheter to a user defined position located in front of, and closest to the current position of the catheter. The examiner notes that the desired pose is a point on the path that is closest to the measured point based on the path following operation control mode to navigate the catheter along the path to the target destination).
Regarding claim 29, Stommer teaches the medical system of claim 28, wherein the initiated holding mode is selected from a plurality of holding modes, the plurality of holding modes including a first holding mode in which the one or more constraints comprises the position of the distal tip in the working configuration (paras. 0041- 0043 and 0059; The controller controls the moving mechanism according to the updated topological representation and the updated position of the catheter. Moving mechanism 106 operates according to the commands received from controller 104, to maneuver catheter 116 along path 128, from origin 136 to destination 138. For this purpose, the pair of angular movement rollers 124A and 124B twist catheter 116 clockwise and counterclockwise relative to the longitudinal axis (not shown) of catheter 116, and the pair of linear movement rollers 126A and 126B move catheter 116 forward and backward. Controller 104 constantly receives a signal from MPS 108 respective of three-dimensional coordinates of position detector 114 at any given time (i.e., a feedback), thereby allowing moving mechanism 106 to apply corrections to possible errors of movement along path 128. These corrections are applied in the following manner. The controller directs the moving mechanism to move the catheter within the lumen along the defined trail, according to the entire topological representation of the lumen system. For this purpose, the controller continuously determines successive incremental paths from the current position of the catheter to a user defined position located in front of, and closest to the current position of the catheter. The controller directs the moving mechanism to move the catheter within the lumen along the defined trail, according to the entire topological representation of the lumen system. For this purpose, the controller continuously determines successive incremental paths from the current position of the catheter to a user defined position located in front of, and closest to the current position of the catheter. The examiner notes that the control signal is initiated to control the moving mechanism to move the catheter forward using linear movement toward the desired pose to minimize a difference between desired and measured positions of the distal tip of the catheter.).
Regarding claim 30, Stommer teaches the medical system of claim 29, wherein the plurality of holding modes includes a second holding mode in which the one or more constraints comprises the orientation of the distal tip in the working configuration (paras. 0041-0044 and 0049; Moving mechanism 106 operates according to the commands received from controller 104, to maneuver catheter 116 along path 128, from origin 136 to destination 138. For this purpose, the pair of angular movement rollers 124A and 124B twist catheter 116 clockwise and counterclockwise relative to the longitudinal axis (not shown) of catheter 116, and the pair of linear movement rollers 126A and 126B move catheter 116 forward and backward. Controller 104 constantly receives a signal from MPS 108 respective of three-dimensional coordinates of position detector 114 at any given time (i.e., a feedback), thereby allowing moving mechanism 106 to apply corrections to possible errors of movement along path 128. For example, if the controller detects that the distal portion of the catheter has unexpectedly bent, then the controller determines that the tip of the catheter has made contact with an obstacle in the lumen. The controller can reach this conclusion for example, by comparing the detected orientation of the position detector at a given point within the lumen, with the computed slope of the path at the same point within the lumen. In case the detected orientation and the computed slope do not match, the controller determines that the catheter has met an obstacle, thereby directing the moving mechanism to operate in order to move the catheter back from the obstacle. The examiner notes that the control signal is initiated to control the moving mechanism to reorient the catheter toward a desired position using the angular movement actuators to minimize a difference between desired and measured orientation of the distal tip).
Regarding claim 35, Stommer teaches a method comprising (para. 0021; a system which automatically controls the movements of a catheter to a desired location within a lumen of a patient):
determining a working configuration including a position and an orientation of a distal tip of a catheter for conducting a medical procedure on a target tissue (paras. 0028-0029 and 0039; Path 128 is a three-dimensional curve between an origin 136 and a destination 138 of a distal portion (not shown) of catheter 116 relative to lumen 130. Both origin 136 and destination 138 are within a field of view of imaging system 112. Path 128 is determined during an imaging session prior to the medical operation, and stored in the storage unit. When the user indicates origin 136 and destination 138, the C-arm constructs path 128 in three dimensions. It is noted that controller 104 calculates path 128 based on one or more image processing algorithms, according to contrast variations of lumen 130 relative to the background. Instead of path 128, the controller can employ a topographical representation of the lumen system of the patient, in order to control the moving mechanism to maneuver the catheter through the lumen system, from an origin to a destination within the lumen system. In this case, the controller determines the best path for the catheter to reach the destination. It is noted that the controller may change the path in real-time, depending on findings during the navigation process (e.g., blocked passages, lumen which is narrower than expected). The controller modifies the path according to the feedback provided in real time by the position detector, and by comparing the actual position and orientation of the position detector with the expected position and orientation. The examiner notes that the working configuration is determined based on origin point and destination point and a path comprise the expected position and orientation to reach the destination.);
determining, based on data from a sensor system indicating poses of the distal tip, a measured pose of the distal tip after movement of the distal tip away from the working configuration (para. 0039; In this case, the controller determines the best path for the catheter to reach the destination. It is noted that the controller may change the path in real-time, depending on findings during the navigation process (e.g., blocked passages, lumen which is narrower than expected). The controller modifies the path according to the feedback provided in real time by the position detector, and by comparing the actual position and orientation of the position detector with the expected position and orientation.);
determine a desired pose of the distal tip for conducting the medical procedure on the target tissue based on the working configuration, the desired pose having a position of the distal tip that is different from the position of the distal tip in the working configuration , wherein the position of the distal tip in the desired pose is nearer the measured pose than the position of the distal tip in the working configuration is to the measured pose (paras. 0051-0053 and 0059; With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 receives a signal from MPS 108 respective of the position of the distal portion of catheter 116, within lumen 130. In procedure 172, a new position to move the catheter to, is determined according to the received signal and according to a topological representation of the lumen system. With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 determines a new position for catheter 116 within lumen 130, according to the current position, and according to path 128. In procedure 174, a moving mechanism is operated to move the catheter to a second position, according to the new determined position. With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 sends a signal to moving mechanism 106 to move catheter 116 within lumen 130, to a second position, according to the new position determined in procedure 172, in order to advance catheter 116 within lumen 130 toward destination 138. For this purpose, the controller continuously determines successive incremental paths from the current position of the catheter to a user defined position located in front of, and closest to the current position of the catheter. The examiner notes that the controller uses the measured tip pose and planned route to select the next forward point closest to the tip position, moves towards it, and repeats as new measurements arrive until reaching the destination. Which means, an intermediate desired position that differs from and is closer to the measured position than the destination.); and
generate a control signal to move the catheter from the measured pose to the suitable desired pose (para. 0053; In procedure 174, a moving mechanism is operated to move the catheter to a second position, according to the new determined position.).
Regarding claim 37, Stommer teaches the method of claim 35, wherein an orientation of the distal tip in the desired pose is different than the orientation of the distal tip in the working configuration (paras. 0022, 0049, and 0051-0053; The controller can reach this conclusion for example, by comparing the detected orientation of the position detector at a given point within the lumen, with the computed slope of the path at the same point within the lumen. In case the detected orientation and the computed slope do not match, the controller determines that the catheter has met an obstacle, thereby directing the moving mechanism to operate in order to move the catheter back from the obstacle. In procedure 172, a new position to move the catheter to, is determined according to the received signal and according to a topological representation of the lumen system. With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 determines a new position for catheter 116 within lumen 130, according to the current position, and according to path 128. In procedure 174, a moving mechanism is operated to move the catheter to a second position, according to the new determined position. With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 sends a signal to moving mechanism 106 to move catheter 116 within lumen 130, to a second position, according to the new position determined in procedure 172, in order to advance catheter 116 within lumen 130 toward destination 138. The term "position" herein below, refers either to the location, to the orientation or both the location and the orientation, of an object in a three-dimensional coordinate system. The examiner notes that the catheter expected orientation is determined by the planned path’s slope. For an intermediate desired pose on a curved path, that desired orientation may differ from the orientation at the working configuration).
Regarding claim 39, Stommer teaches the method of claim 35, further comprising initiating a holding mode, wherein one or more constraints for determining the desired pose are based on the initiated holding mode (para. 0059; the controller continuously determines successive incremental paths from the current position of the catheter to a user defined position located in front of, and closest to the current position of the catheter. The examiner notes that the desired pose is a point on the path that is closest to the measured point based on the path following operation control mode to navigate the catheter along the path to the target destination).
Regarding claim 40, Stommer teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the initiated holding mode is selected from a plurality of holding modes, the plurality of holding modes including a first holding mode in which the one or more constraints comprises the position of the distal tip in the working configuration (paras. 0041- 0043 and 0059; The controller controls the moving mechanism according to the updated topological representation and the updated position of the catheter. Moving mechanism 106 operates according to the commands received from controller 104, to maneuver catheter 116 along path 128, from origin 136 to destination 138. For this purpose, the pair of angular movement rollers 124A and 124B twist catheter 116 clockwise and counterclockwise relative to the longitudinal axis (not shown) of catheter 116, and the pair of linear movement rollers 126A and 126B move catheter 116 forward and backward. Controller 104 constantly receives a signal from MPS 108 respective of three-dimensional coordinates of position detector 114 at any given time (i.e., a feedback), thereby allowing moving mechanism 106 to apply corrections to possible errors of movement along path 128. These corrections are applied in the following manner. The controller directs the moving mechanism to move the catheter within the lumen along the defined trail, according to the entire topological representation of the lumen system. For this purpose, the controller continuously determines successive incremental paths from the current position of the catheter to a user defined position located in front of, and closest to the current position of the catheter. The controller directs the moving mechanism to move the catheter within the lumen along the defined trail, according to the entire topological representation of the lumen system. For this purpose, the controller continuously determines successive incremental paths from the current position of the catheter to a user defined position located in front of, and closest to the current position of the catheter. The examiner notes that the control signal is initiated to control the moving mechanism to move the catheter forward using linear movement toward the desired pose to minimize a difference between desired and measured positions of the distal tip of the catheter.).
Regarding claim 41, Stommer teaches the method of claim 40, wherein the plurality of holding modes includes a second holding mode in which the one or more constraints comprises the orientation of the distal tip in the working configuration (paras. 0041-0044 and 0049; Moving mechanism 106 operates according to the commands received from controller 104, to maneuver catheter 116 along path 128, from origin 136 to destination 138. For this purpose, the pair of angular movement rollers 124A and 124B twist catheter 116 clockwise and counterclockwise relative to the longitudinal axis (not shown) of catheter 116, and the pair of linear movement rollers 126A and 126B move catheter 116 forward and backward. Controller 104 constantly receives a signal from MPS 108 respective of three-dimensional coordinates of position detector 114 at any given time (i.e., a feedback), thereby allowing moving mechanism 106 to apply corrections to possible errors of movement along path 128. For example, if the controller detects that the distal portion of the catheter has unexpectedly bent, then the controller determines that the tip of the catheter has made contact with an obstacle in the lumen. The controller can reach this conclusion for example, by comparing the detected orientation of the position detector at a given point within the lumen, with the computed slope of the path at the same point within the lumen. In case the detected orientation and the computed slope do not match, the controller determines that the catheter has met an obstacle, thereby directing the moving mechanism to operate in order to move the catheter back from the obstacle. The examiner notes that the control signal is initiated to control the moving mechanism to reorient the catheter toward a desired position using the angular movement actuators to minimize a difference between desired and measured orientation of the distal tip).
Regarding claim 43, Stommer teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to (paras. 0021 and 0025; a system which automatically controls the movements of a catheter to a desired location within a lumen of a patient. Controller 104 includes a processor (not shown) and a storage unit (not shown) for storing information respective of a path 128, which catheter 116 should move according to, within a lumen 130 of the body (not shown) of a patient (not shown).):
determine a working configuration including a position and an orientation of a distal tip of a catheter for conducting a medical procedure on a target tissue (paras. 0028-0029 and 0039; Path 128 is a three-dimensional curve between an origin 136 and a destination 138 of a distal portion (not shown) of catheter 116 relative to lumen 130. Both origin 136 and destination 138 are within a field of view of imaging system 112. Path 128 is determined during an imaging session prior to the medical operation, and stored in the storage unit. When the user indicates origin 136 and destination 138, the C-arm constructs path 128 in three dimensions. It is noted that controller 104 calculates path 128 based on one or more image processing algorithms, according to contrast variations of lumen 130 relative to the background. Instead of path 128, the controller can employ a topographical representation of the lumen system of the patient, in order to control the moving mechanism to maneuver the catheter through the lumen system, from an origin to a destination within the lumen system. In this case, the controller determines the best path for the catheter to reach the destination. It is noted that the controller may change the path in real-time, depending on findings during the navigation process (e.g., blocked passages, lumen which is narrower than expected). The controller modifies the path according to the feedback provided in real time by the position detector, and by comparing the actual position and orientation of the position detector with the expected position and orientation. The examiner notes that the working configuration is determined based on origin point and destination point and a path comprise the expected position and orientation to reach the destination.);
determine, based on data from a sensor system indicating poses of the distal tip, a measured pose of the distal tip after movement of the distal tip away from the working configuration (para. 0039; In this case, the controller determines the best path for the catheter to reach the destination. It is noted that the controller may change the path in real-time, depending on findings during the navigation process (e.g., blocked passages, lumen which is narrower than expected). The controller modifies the path according to the feedback provided in real time by the position detector, and by comparing the actual position and orientation of the position detector with the expected position and orientation.);
determine a desired pose of the distal tip for conducting the medical procedure on the target tissue based on the working configuration, the desired pose having a position of the distal tip that is different from the position of the distal tip in the working configuration , wherein the position of the distal tip in the desired pose is nearer the measured pose than the position of the distal tip in the working configuration is to the measured pose (paras. 0051-0053 and 0059; With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 receives a signal from MPS 108 respective of the position of the distal portion of catheter 116, within lumen 130. In procedure 172, a new position to move the catheter to, is determined according to the received signal and according to a topological representation of the lumen system. With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 determines a new position for catheter 116 within lumen 130, according to the current position, and according to path 128. In procedure 174, a moving mechanism is operated to move the catheter to a second position, according to the new determined position. With reference to FIG. 1, controller 104 sends a signal to moving mechanism 106 to move catheter 116 within lumen 130, to a second position, according to the new position determined in procedure 172, in order to advance catheter 116 within lumen 130 toward destination 138. For this purpose, the controller continuously determines successive incremental paths from the current position of the catheter to a user defined position located in front of, and closest to the current position of the catheter. The examiner notes that the controller uses the measured tip pose and planned route to select the next forward point closest to the tip position, moves towards it, and repeats as new measurements arrive until reaching the destination. Which means, an intermediate desired position that differs from and is closer to the measured position than the destination.); and
generate a control signal to move the catheter from the measured pose to the suitable desired pose (para. 0053; In procedure 174, a moving mechanism is operated to move the catheter to a second position, according to the new determined position.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 31-34 and 42 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Strommer et al. (US 2005/0197566) in the view of Olson et al. (US 2010/0073150).
Regarding claim 31, Strommer teaches the medical system of claim 29, however, fails to explicitly teach further comprising a medical probe insertable through the catheter, wherein the instructions, when executed by the computing device, further cause the computing device to identify a type of the medical probe.
Olson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a medical probe insertable through the catheter, wherein the instructions, when executed by the computing device, further cause the computing device to identify a type of the medical probe (paras. 0043 and 0049; Sheath cartridge 404 may be designed in a similar manner as the catheter cartridge 402, but will typically be configured to provide for the passage of catheter 406. Robotic catheter system 10 may be useful for a variety of procedures and in connection with a variety of tools and/or catheters. Such tools and/or catheters may include, without limitation, spiral catheters, ablation catheters, mapping catheters, balloon catheters, needle/dilator tools, cutting tools, cauterizing tools, and/or gripping tools. The system may additionally include a means of identifying the nature and/or type of catheter/tool cartridge that is installed for use, and/or position or connection related information. The system may automatically access/obtain additional information about the cartridge, such as, without limitation, its creation date, serial number, sterilization date, prior uses, etc. Haptic feedback system 900 may provide feedback based on the aforementioned variables, such as the nature and/or type of catheter/tool cartridge, the position or connection related information, and additional exemplary. The examiner notes that an ablation catheter or other tools can be passed through the sheath and the system identifies the type and nature of the catheter or tool being used to initiate control modes.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the system of Strommer to incorporate the teaching of Olson to include providing the type of tool/catheter identification information to control the system. Doing so would enable the control system to select a specific control mode for that type of instrument and procedure and to avoid using wrong settings. Additionally, identifying the instrument/procedure being preformed allows the system to select desired working configuration, plan a path, selects control modes to advance the identified tool type to the region safely. For instance, if the tool identified requires constant contact with the tissue, the system will be able to control the tip of the tool pose to maintain contact with the tissue.
Regarding claim 32, Strommer teaches the medical system of claim 31, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the initiated holding mode is selected from the plurality of holding modes based on the identified type of the medical probe..
Olson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the initiated holding mode is selected from the plurality of holding modes based on the identified type of the medical probe (paras. 0043 and 0049; Sheath cartridge 404 may be designed in a similar manner as the catheter cartridge 402, but will typically be configured to provide for the passage of catheter 406. Robotic catheter system 10 may be useful for a variety of procedures and in connection with a variety of tools and/or catheters. Such tools and/or catheters may include, without limitation, spiral catheters, ablation catheters, mapping catheters, balloon catheters, needle/dilator tools, cutting tools, cauterizing tools, and/or gripping tools. The system may additionally include a means of identifying the nature and/or type of catheter/tool cartridge that is installed for use, and/or position or connection related information. The system may automatically access/obtain additional information about the cartridge, such as, without limitation, its creation date, serial number, sterilization date, prior uses, etc. Haptic feedback system 900 may provide feedback based on the aforementioned variables, such as the nature and/or type of catheter/tool cartridge, the position or connection related information, and additional exemplary. The examiner notes that an ablation catheter or other tools can be passed through the sheath and the system identifies the type and nature of the catheter or tool being used to initiate control modes.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the system of Strommer to incorporate the teaching of Olson to include providing the type of tool/catheter identification information to control the system. Doing so would enable the control system to select a specific control mode for that type of instrument and procedure and to avoid using wrong settings. Additionally, identifying the instrument/procedure being performed allows the system to select desired working configuration, plan a path, selects control modes to advance the identified tool type to the region safely. For instance, if the tool identified requires constant contact with the tissue, the system will be able to control the tip of the tool pose to maintain contact with the tissue.
Regarding claim 33, Strommer teaches the medical system of claim 32, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the type of the medical probe comprises a biopsy probe
Olson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the type of the medical probe comprises a biopsy probe (paras. 0043 and 0049; Sheath cartridge 404 may be designed in a similar manner as the catheter cartridge 402, but will typically be configured to provide for the passage of catheter 406. Robotic catheter system 10 may be useful for a variety of procedures and in connection with a variety of tools and/or catheters. Such tools and/or catheters may include, without limitation, spiral catheters, ablation catheters, mapping catheters, balloon catheters, needle/dilator tools, cutting tools, cauterizing tools, and/or gripping tools. The system may additionally include a means of identifying the nature and/or type of catheter/tool cartridge that is installed for use, and/or position or connection related information. The system may automatically access/obtain additional information about the cartridge, such as, without limitation, its creation date, serial number, sterilization date, prior uses, etc. Haptic feedback system 900 may provide feedback based on the aforementioned variables, such as the nature and/or type of catheter/tool cartridge, the position or connection related information, and additional exemplary. The examiner notes that an ablation catheter or biopsy needle can be passed through the sheath and the system identifies the type and nature of the catheter or tool being used to initiate control modes.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the system of Strommer to incorporate the teaching of Olson to include providing the type of tool/catheter identification information to control the system. Doing so would enable the control system to select a specific control mode for that type of instrument and procedure and to avoid using wrong settings. Additionally, identifying the instrument/procedure being performed allows the system to select desired working configuration, plan a path, selects control modes to advance the identified tool type to the region safely. For instance, if the tool identified requires constant contact with the tissue, the system will be able to control the tip of the tool pose to maintain contact with the tissue.
Regarding claim 34, Strommer teaches the medical system of claim 33, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the type of the medical probe comprises an ablation probe
Olson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the type of the medical probe comprises an ablation probe (paras. 0043 and 0049; Sheath cartridge 404 may be designed in a similar manner as the catheter cartridge 402, but will typically be configured to provide for the passage of catheter 406. Robotic catheter system 10 may be useful for a variety of procedures and in connection with a variety of tools and/or catheters. Such tools and/or catheters may include, without limitation, spiral catheters, ablation catheters, mapping catheters, balloon catheters, needle/dilator tools, cutting tools, cauterizing tools, and/or gripping tools. The system may additionally include a means of identifying the nature and/or type of catheter/tool cartridge that is installed for use, and/or position or connection related information. The system may automatically access/obtain additional information about the cartridge, such as, without limitation, its creation date, serial number, sterilization date, prior uses, etc. Haptic feedback system 900 may provide feedback based on the aforementioned variables, such as the nature and/or type of catheter/tool cartridge, the position or connection related information, and additional exemplary. The examiner notes that an ablation catheter or biopsy needle can be passed through the sheath and the system identifies the type and nature of the catheter or tool being used to initiate control modes.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the system of Strommer to incorporate the teaching of Olson to include providing the type of tool/catheter identification information to control the system. Doing so would enable the control system to select a specific control mode for that type of instrument and procedure and to avoid using wrong settings. Additionally, identifying the instrument/procedure being performed allows the system to select desired working configuration, plan a path, selects control modes to advance the identified tool type to the region safely. For instance, if the tool identified requires constant contact with the tissue, the system will be able to control the tip of the tool pose to maintain contact with the tissue.
Regarding claim 42, Strommer teaches the method of claim 40, however, fails to explicitly teach identifying a type of a medical probe insertable through the catheter, wherein the initiated holding mode is selected from the plurality of holding modes based on the identified type of the medical probe.
Olson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying a type of a medical probe insertable through the catheter, wherein the initiated holding mode is selected from the plurality of holding modes based on the identified type of the medical probe (paras. 0043 and 0049; Sheath cartridge 404 may be designed in a similar manner as the catheter cartridge 402, but will typically be configured to provide for the passage of catheter 406. Robotic catheter system 10 may be useful for a variety of procedures and in connection with a variety of tools and/or catheters. Such tools and/or catheters may include, without limitation, spiral catheters, ablation catheters, mapping catheters, balloon catheters, needle/dilator tools, cutting tools, cauterizing tools, and/or gripping tools. The system may additionally include a means of identifying the nature and/or type of catheter/tool cartridge that is installed for use, and/or position or connection related information. The system may automatically access/obtain additional information about the cartridge, such as, without limitation, its creation date, serial number, sterilization date, prior uses, etc. Haptic feedback system 900 may provide feedback based on the aforementioned variables, such as the nature and/or type of catheter/tool cartridge, the position or connection related information, and additional exemplary. The examiner notes that an ablation catheter or other tools can be passed through the sheath and the system identifies the type and nature of the catheter or tool being used to initiate control modes.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the system of Strommer to incorporate the teaching of Olson to include providing the type of tool/catheter identification information to control the system. Doing so would enable the control system to select a specific control mode for that type of instrument and procedure and to avoid using wrong settings. Additionally, identifying the instrument/procedure being performed allows the system to select desired working configuration, plan a path, selects control modes to advance the identified tool type to the region safely. For instance, if the tool identified requires constant contact with the tissue, the system will be able to control the tip of the tool pose to maintain contact with the tissue.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed on 07/23/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112 rejections and amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112 rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20080103362, to Couvillon, titled “Programmable brake control system for use in medical device”.
US 20100130854, to Shachar, titled “System and method for a catheter impedance seeking device”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAINAB MOHAMMED ALDARRAJI/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797