DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “wherein the first seal component is configured to rupture at a first pressure, wherein the second seal component configured to rupture at a second pressure, wherein the member seal is configured to rupture at a third pressure, and wherein the first pressure is greater than the third pressure, and wherein the second pressure is less than the third pressure” is unclear and indefinite. It is unclear and indefinite how many seals there are. Claim 11, which claim 14 depends from, states that the first seal component comprises a member seal. Therefore, the first seal component and member seal are the same. However, claim 14 appears to be claiming three separate seals.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “wherein, in the sealed configuration, a gap is defined in the interstitial space and between the first orifice and the second orifice, and wherein physical structures are not present in the gap” is unclear and indefinite. It is unclear and indefinite because the seal components would be present in the space/gap between the two orifices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-17, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20220134282 (hereinafter, KR).
Regarding claim 1, KR discloses:
An apparatus (1000) comprising:
a first wall (200) defining a first orifice (see Figure 2)
a first seal component 210 (see paragraph 0024)
a second wall (100) spaced away from the first wall (200) and defining an interstitial space (A) therebetween and defining a second orifice aligned with the first orifice (see Figure 2)
a second seal component 110 (see paragraph 0024)
wherein the apparatus (1000) has:
a sealed configuration in which the first seal component (210) extends across the first orifice and the second seal component (110) extends across the second orifice (see Figure 2)
a vented configuration in which the first seal component (210) does not extend across the first orifice, the second seal component (110) does not extend across the second orifice, in which a passage is defined between the first orifice and the second orifice, and wherein an interior of the passage is fluidically isolated from the interstitial space (A; see paragraphs 0024 and 0031)
Regarding claim 2, KR discloses:
a bridge portion (300, 310) operatively coupled to the second wall (100), wherein the passage is formed by the bridge portion (300, 310) and the first seal component 210
Regarding claim 3, KR discloses:
wherein the bridge portion (300, 310) extends from the second wall (100) toward the first wall 200 (see Figure 2)
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 4, KR discloses:
An apparatus (1000) comprising:
a first wall (200) defining a first orifice (see Figure 2)
a first seal component 210, 220 (see paragraph 0024)
a second wall (100) spaced away from the first wall (200) and defining an interstitial space (A) therebetween and defining a second orifice aligned with the first orifice (see Figure 2)
a second seal component 110 (see paragraph 0024)
wherein the apparatus (1000) has:
a sealed configuration in which the first seal component (210, 220) extends across the first orifice and the second seal component (110) extends across the second orifice (see Figure 2)
a vented configuration in which the first seal component (210, 220) does not extend across the first orifice, the second seal component (110) does not extend across the second orifice, in which a passage is defined between the first orifice and the second orifice, and wherein an interior of the passage is fluidically isolated from the interstitial space (A; see paragraphs 0024 and 0031)
a bridge portion (300, 310) operatively coupled to the second wall (100), wherein the passage is formed by the bridge portion (300, 310) and the first seal component 210, 220
wherein the bridge portion (300, 310) comprises a protrusion (310) which engages a portion of the first seal component (210, 220) in the vented configuration
Further regarding this limitation, protrusion 310 always contacts portion 220.
Regarding claim 5, KR discloses:
wherein the bridge portion (300, 310) and the first seal component (210) are not in direct contact in the sealed configuration (see Figure 3)
Regarding claim 6, KR discloses:
wherein, in the vented configuration, a portion of the first seal component (210, 220) engages the bridge portion (300, 310) to form the passage
Regarding claim 7, KR discloses:
An apparatus (1000) comprising:
a first wall (200) defining a first orifice (see Figure 2)
a first seal component 210, 220 (see paragraph 0024)
a second wall (100) spaced away from the first wall (200) and defining an interstitial space (A) therebetween and defining a second orifice aligned with the first orifice (see Figure 2; see paragraph 0024)
a second seal component 110 (see paragraph 0024)
a bridge portion (300, 310) operatively coupled to the second wall 100 (see Figures 2 and 3)
wherein the apparatus (1000) has:
a sealed configuration in which the first seal component (210, 220) extends across the first orifice and the second seal component (110) extends across the second orifice (see Figure 2; see paragraph 0024)
a vented configuration in which the first seal component (210, 220) does not extend across the first orifice, the second seal component (110) does not extend across the second orifice, in which a passage is defined between the first orifice and the second orifice, and the passage is formed by the bridge portion (300, 310) and at least a portion (220) of the first seal component (210, 220), and wherein an interior of the passage is fluidically isolated from the interstitial space (A; see paragraphs 0024 and 0031)
Regarding claim 15, KR discloses:
wherein, in the sealed configuration, a gap is defined in the interstitial space (A) and between the first orifice and the second orifice, and wherein physical structures are not present in the gap (see Figure 3)
Regarding claim 16, KR discloses:
wherein, in the sealed configuration, there is no path for conductive heat transfer between the first wall (200) and the second wall (100) through the interstitial space (A) between the first orifice and the second orifice (see Figure 2)
Further regarding this limitation, the background of the specification states that physical structures extending from the inner wall to the outer wall provide a pathway for conductive heat transfer. Therefore, since KR does not have physical structures between the first and second wall, there is no path for conductive heat transfer.
Regarding claim 17, KR discloses:
wherein the first wall (200) and the second wall (100) form at least a portion of a double walled insulated fuel tank (1000), wherein, in the sealed configuration, a partial vacuum is formed in the interstitial space (A; see paragraph 0024)
Further regarding the limitation “and wherein the fuel tank is arranged within an aircraft or spacecraft”, please note that a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 2010060290 (hereinafter, DE) in view of KR.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5, DE discloses an apparatus comprising: a first wall (107) defining a first orifice (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1); a first seal component 270/2 (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1); a second wall (106) spaced away from the first wall (107) and defining an interstitial space (121) therebetween and defining a second orifice aligned with the first orifice (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1); a second seal component 270/1 (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1); wherein the apparatus has: a sealed configuration in which the first seal component (270/2) extends across the first orifice and the second seal component (270/1) extends across the second orifice (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1); and a vented configuration in which the first seal component (270/2) does not extend across the first orifice, the second seal component (270/1) does not extend across the second orifice, in which a passage is defined between the first orifice and the second orifice (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1).
DE fails to disclose wherein an interior of the passage is fluidically isolated from the interstitial space; a bridge portion operatively coupled to the second wall, wherein the passage is formed by the bridge portion and the first seal component; wherein the bridge portion extends from the second wall toward the first wall; wherein the bridge portion and the first seal component are not in direct contact in the sealed configuration; wherein, in the vented configuration, a portion of the first seal component engages the bridge portion to form the passage.
KR teaches a double walled tank (200, 100) wherein an interior of a passage is fluidically isolated from an interstitial space A (see Figure 2; see paragraphs 0024 and 0031); a bridge portion (300, 310) operatively coupled to a second wall (100), wherein the passage is formed by the bridge portion (300, 310) and a first seal component 210 (see paragraphs 0024 and 0031); wherein the bridge portion (300, 310) extends from the second wall (100) toward the first wall 200 (see Figure 2); wherein the bridge portion (300, 310) and the first seal component (210) are not in direct contact in the sealed configuration (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified DE to provide wherein an interior of the passage is fluidically isolated from the interstitial space; a bridge portion operatively coupled to the second wall, wherein the passage is formed by the bridge portion and the first seal component; wherein the bridge portion extends from the second wall toward the first wall; wherein the bridge portion and the first seal component are not in direct contact in the sealed configuration; wherein, in the vented configuration, a portion of the first seal component engages the bridge portion to form the passage, as taught by KR. Doing so would prevent escaping fluid from getting trapped between the two walls.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and the combination further teaches wherein the bridge portion (300, 310 of KR) comprises a protrusion (310 of KR) which engages a portion of the first seal component (270/2 from DE) in the vented configuration; wherein, in the vented configuration, a portion of the first seal component (270/2) engages the bridge portion (300, 310) to form the passage.
Further regarding these limitations, the bridge portion 300, 310 is modified into Figure 1 of DE. Therefore, when the disc 270/2 ruptures, portions of the disc will engage the bridge portion.
Regarding claim 7, DE discloses an apparatus comprising: a first wall (107) defining a first orifice (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1); a first seal component 270/2 (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1); a second wall (106) spaced away from the first wall and defining an interstitial space (121) therebetween and defining a second orifice aligned with the first orifice (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1); a second seal component 270/1 (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1); wherein the apparatus has: a sealed configuration in which the first seal component (270/2) extends across the first orifice and the second seal component (270/1) extends across the second orifice (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1); and a vented configuration in which the first seal component (270/2) does not extend across the first orifice, the second seal component (270/1) does not extend across the second orifice, in which a passage is defined between the first orifice and the second orifice (see paragraphs 0036-0038; see Figure 1).
DE fails to disclose a bridge portion operatively coupled to the second wall; and the passage is formed by the bridge portion and at least a portion of the first seal component, and wherein an interior of the passage is fluidically isolated from the interstitial space.
KR teaches a double walled tank (200, 100) comprising a bridge portion (300, 310) operatively coupled to a second wall 100 (see paragraphs 0024 and 0031); and the passage is formed by the bridge portion (300, 310) and at least a portion of a first seal component (210), and wherein an interior of the passage is fluidically isolated from the interstitial space A (see paragraphs 0024 and 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified DE to provide a bridge portion operatively coupled to the second wall; and the passage is formed by the bridge portion and at least a portion of the first seal component, and wherein an interior of the passage is fluidically isolated from the interstitial space, as taught by KR. Doing so would prevent escaping fluid from getting trapped between the two walls.
Regarding claim 8, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the first seal component (270/2) comprises a first orifice seal (270/2) extending across the first orifice in the sealed configuration, and wherein, in the vented configuration, the first orifice seal (270/2) extends toward the second wall (106) and does not extend across the first orifice (see paragraphs 0036-0038).
Regarding claim 9, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the first seal component (270/2) is configured to rupture at a first pressure, wherein the second seal component (270/1) configured to rupture at a second pressure, and wherein the first pressure is greater than the second pressure (see paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 10, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and the combination further teaches wherein the first seal component (270/2) comprises a first orifice seal (270/2) extending across the first orifice in the sealed configuration, and wherein the first orifice seal (270/2) is the portion of the first seal component (270/2) which engages the bridge portion (300, 310 of KR).
Regarding claim 11, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the first seal component (270/2) comprises a member (270/2) and a member seal (weld / flat portion of 270/2 as seen in Figure 1), and wherein the member (270/2) is configured to translate toward the second wall (106) when the apparatus is transitioning from the sealed configuration to the vented configuration.
Regarding claim 12, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein pressure urges the member (270/2) to translate toward the second wall 106 (see paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 13, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and the combination further teaches wherein, in the vented configuration, the member (270/2) or the member seal engages the bridge portion (300, 310 from KR) to form the passage.
Regarding claim 14, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the first seal component (270/2) is configured to rupture at a first pressure, wherein the second seal component (270/1) configured to rupture at a second pressure (see paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 15, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein, in the sealed configuration, a gap is defined in the interstitial space (121) and between the first orifice and the second orifice, and wherein physical structures are not present in the gap (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein, in the sealed configuration, there is no path for conductive heat transfer between the first wall (107) and the second wall (106) through the interstitial space between the first orifice and the second orifice.
Further regarding this limitation, as seen in Figure 1, there are no physical structures between the first and second orifice and therefore, no path for conductive heat transfer.
Regarding claim 17, DE as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the first wall (107) and the second wall (106) form at least a portion of a double walled insulated fuel tank, wherein, in the sealed configuration, a partial vacuum is formed in the interstitial space 121 (see paragraph 0004).
Further regarding the limitation “and wherein the fuel tank is arranged within an aircraft or spacecraft”, please note that a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation.
Regarding claims 18-20, DE discloses a method comprising: rupturing a part of a first seal component (270/2) of an apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises a first wall (107) defining a first orifice, a second wall (106) spaced away from the first wall (107) and defining an interstitial space (121) therebetween and defining a second orifice aligned with the first orifice, and, in a sealed configuration, the first seal component (270/2) extending across the first orifice and a second seal component (270/1) extending across the second orifice (see Figure 2); and rupturing the second seal component.
DE fails to disclose a bridge portion operatively coupled to the second wall; forming a passage between the first orifice and the second orifice to fluidically isolate an interior of the passage from the interstitial space; wherein the apparatus further comprises the bridge portion operatively coupled to the second wall, and wherein the forming the passage comprises engaging a portion of the first seal component with the bridge portion; wherein the engaging the portion of the first seal component with the bridge portion forms at least a partial seal which fluidically isolates the interior of the passage from the interstitial space.
KR teaches a double walled tank (200, 100) comprising a bridge portion (300, 310) operatively coupled to a second wall 100 (see paragraphs 0024 and 0031); forming a passage between the first orifice and the second orifice to fluidically isolate an interior passage from the interstitial space A (see paragraphs 0024 and 0031); wherein the apparatus further comprises the bridge portion (300, 310) operatively coupled to the second wall (100), and wherein the forming the passage comprises engaging a portion of a first seal component (210, 220) with the bridge portion 300, 310; wherein the engaging the portion of the first seal component (210, 220) with the bridge portion (300, 310) forms at least a partial seal which fluidically isolates the interior of the passage from the interstitial space A (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified DE to provide a bridge portion operatively coupled to the second wall; forming a passage between the first orifice and the second orifice to fluidically isolate an interior of the passage from the interstitial space; wherein the apparatus further comprises the bridge portion operatively coupled to the second wall, and wherein the forming the passage comprises engaging a portion of the first seal component with the bridge portion; wherein the engaging the portion of the first seal component with the bridge portion forms at least a partial seal which fluidically isolates the interior of the passage from the interstitial space, as taught by KR. Doing so would prevent escaping fluid from getting trapped between the two walls.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Draper et al. (U.S. 2010/0170573) discloses a burst disc vent valve.
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753