DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (claims 3-4, 13-14 and 18-19) in the reply filed on 07/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-9, 15 and 20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/30/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 10-14 and 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,673579 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4, 10-14 and 16-19 are being anticipated by claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,673579 B1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Price et al. (US 2021/0405185 A1).
As to claims 1/11/16, Price discloses a system/method/computer -readable storage medium, comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 6); and a memory (Fig. 6) operably coupled to the at least one processor and storing instructions to cause the system to perform operations comprising: navigating a vehicle including a truck and a trailer (Fig. 1); capturing sensor data by sensors disposed on the truck (sensor 200); based on the sensor data, determining an axle of a plurality axles of the trailer associated with a faulty component (para. 0070-0077); and adjusting navigation of the vehicle to perform a remedial action based on the determined axle (para. 0071, 0074-0075).
As to claims 2, 12 and 17, Price further discloses wherein the trailer does not include sensors configured to provide sensor data to determine the faulty component on the axle of the plurality of axles (Fig. 1 & 3).
As to claim 10, Price further discloses wherein adjustment of the navigation of the vehicle inhibits the vehicle from operating in an autonomous driving mode (para. 0071, 0074-0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 13-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price in view of Takeo et al. (JP 2021-073131 A).
As to claims 3-4, 13-14 and 18-19, Price does not explicitly disclose the sensor data is associated with behavior of at least one second vehicle in an environment of the vehicle; the behavior of the at least one second vehicle includes at least one of honking and distancing from the vehicle. However, Takeo teaches the sensor data is associated with behavior of at least one second vehicle in an environment of the vehicle; the behavior of the at least one second vehicle includes at least one of honking and distancing from the vehicle (Translation para. 0064, 0188-0189, 0221, 0264). Therefore, given the teaching of Takeo, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method/medium/system of Price by incorporating the feature of detecting honking from another vehicle, to determine malfunction of faulty component of the vehicle to stop autonomous driving mode.
Conclusion
CE LI . LI
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661