DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of foreign application KR10-2024-0133672, as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8, 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
"when the user touches the screen" should read "when [[the]] a user touches [[the]] a screen" (Claim 7)
"when the user touches the screen or makes the gesture to push up the screen" should read "when [[the]] a user touches [[the]] a screen or makes [[the]] a gesture to push up the screen" (claim 8)
"when the user touches the screen or makes the gesture" should read "when [[the]] a user touches [[the]] a screen or makes [[the]] a gesture" (claims 16-18)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the controller is further configured to control the first area and the second area to be combined into one screen and the detailed information displayed in the first area to be displayed on the combined screen when the user touches the screen or makes the gesture to push up the screen” (emphasis added). Recitation of “the screen” near the end of the claim renders the limitation indefinite, because it is unclear whether “the screen” refers to the combined screen that was created after the user’s input or some other screen. Additionally, it would not make sense for a user’s input on a combined screen to initiate the creation of the combined screen, because the displays are not combined to create the combined screen until the user’s input is received. As such, claim 8 is rendered indefinite.
Claim 18 is indefinite for similar recitations and reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 21 recites “A computer program having stored thereon a computer-readable recording medium…”. One of ordinary skill in the art could interpret the product as software, per se. As defined in the specification, it is clear that each of the steps is a software instruction to be executed, thus constitutes functional descriptive material. When recorded on some computer-readable medium it becomes structurally and functionally interrelated to the medium and will be statutory in most cases since use of technology permits the function of the descriptive material to be realized. While the claim recites a storage medium in the program product, it is noted that storage medium can also take the form of transitory medium such as carrier waves, i.e., electromagnetic waves that can be modulated, as in frequency, amplitude, or phase, to transmit information signals. Additionally, propagation medium can take the form of acoustic or light waves, such as those generated during radio wave and infrared data communications. Therefore, claims 21 is not limited to a statutory subject matter and is therefore non-statutory.
The Examiner notes that, should the applicant amend claim 21 to direct it to something other than software per se, an additional issue may arise regarding the recitation of “a computer-readable recording medium” as it relates to 35 U.S.C. § 101.
The Examiner suggests that the Applicant replace the term “a computer-readable recording medium” with the term “a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium” to the medium as recited in the claim(s) in order to properly render the claim(s) in statutory form in view of their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the originally filed specification. Applicant is suggested to review the Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Aug. 24, 2009, under section II. Subsection (c), which describes a “non-transitory computer readable storage medium” being patent-eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 11, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210284021 A1 CHENG; CHIA-CHIEH (hereinafter Cheng), in view of US 20150363087 A1 LEE; Seunghwan (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches: A vehicle control apparatus (see Cheng at least [0012] a vehicular central control display system) comprising:
a vehicle body (see Cheng at least [0008] the vehicle); and
a display device provided in the vehicle body (see Cheng at least [0008] the vehicular central control display system in the vehicle),
wherein the display device comprises:
a display configured to display visual information (see Cheng at least [0012] an embodiment of a vehicular central control display system 100 includes a display device 10);
a drive assembly configured to change at least one of a shape of the display and a position of the display (see Cheng at least [0014] The rotator 30 is used to receive a signal from the control module 20 and drive the second display area 12 to rotate to fold the display device 10); and
a controller configured to control the display and the drive assembly (see Cheng at least [0014] The rotator 30 is communicatively connected to the control module 20 and the display device 10), and
wherein a display area of the display is divided into a first area, a second area, and a third area arranged on a same surface, the second area is positioned above the first area, and the third area is positioned under the first area (see Cheng at least [0012] The display device 10 includes a first display area 11 and a second display area 12… the first display area 11 is disposed above the second display area 12 and [0028] The display device 10 may further include a third display area rotationally connected to the first display area 11 or on the second display area 12),
at least one of the second area and the third area is folded or unfolded at a specific angle by the drive assembly (see Cheng at least [0015] The control module 20 drives the second display area 12 to change a position relative to the first display area 11 according to the operation instruction to form an angle between the first display area 11 and the second display area 12).
Cheng does not teach: the controller is further configured to control brief information displayed in the second area to be specified and displayed as detailed information in the first area or control detailed information displayed in the first area to be simplified and displayed as brief information in the second area.
However, Lee teaches: the controller is further configured to control brief information displayed in the second area to be specified and displayed as detailed information in the first area or control detailed information displayed in the first area to be simplified and displayed as brief information in the second area (see Lee at least [0089] if a driver selects the upper region by rotating the scroll wheel 161 in the upward direction r1 or detailed information needs to be displayed on the first display region 210 according to predetermined settings, the first display region 210 may be expanded and the second display region 220 may be contracted as shown in FIG. 7. In this case, similar to the above description, the detailed information 212 may be displayed on the first display region 210, and the brief information 221 may be displayed on the second display region 220).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display apparatus disclosed by Cheng to include the increase and/or decrease of amount of information displayed in a vehicle’s display of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such adjustability allows the driver or other user of the vehicle to see the information they need while traveling in the vehicle, as suggested by Lee (see Lee at least [0007] a display apparatus for a vehicle enabling a user, i.e., a driver or a passenger, to easily obtain required information during traveling of a vehicle by providing the information effectively and efficiently).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng and Lee teach: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to control the brief information displayed in the second area to be specified and displayed as detailed information in the first area when a user touches a screen or makes a gesture to push down the screen using a finger (see Lee at least [0068] The second input units 130 and 131 may include at least one of a scroll wheel, a button, a knob, a touchscreen... A user may adjust the display region or change information displayed on the first display unit 200 by manipulating the second input units 130 and 131 and [0088] if a driver selects the lower region by rotating the scroll wheel 161 in the downward direction r2 or detailed information needs to be displayed on the third display region 230 according to predetermined settings, the third display region 230 may be expanded and the second display region 220 may be contracted as shown in FIG. 12. Similar to the above description, the detailed information 232 may be displayed on the third display region 230, and the brief information 221 may be displayed on the second display region 220).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display apparatus disclosed by Cheng to include the increase and/or decrease of amount of information displayed in a vehicle’s display of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such adjustability allows the driver or other user of the vehicle to see the information they need while traveling in the vehicle, as suggested by Lee (see Lee at least [0007] a display apparatus for a vehicle enabling a user, i.e., a driver or a passenger, to easily obtain required information during traveling of a vehicle by providing the information effectively and efficiently).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng and Lee teach: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to control the detailed information displayed in the first area to be simplified and displayed as brief information in the second area when the user touches a screen or makes a gesture to push up the screen (see Lee at least [0068] The second input units 130 and 131 may include at least one of a scroll wheel, a button, a knob, a touchscreen... A user may adjust the display region or change information displayed on the first display unit 200 by manipulating the second input units 130 and 131 and [0089] if a driver selects the upper region by rotating the scroll wheel 161 in the upward direction r1 or detailed information needs to be displayed on the first display region 210 according to predetermined settings, the first display region 210 may be expanded and the second display region 220 may be contracted as shown in FIG. 7. In this case, similar to the above description, the detailed information 212 may be displayed on the first display region 210, and the brief information 221 may be displayed on the second display region 220).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display apparatus disclosed by Cheng to include the increase and/or decrease of amount of information displayed in a vehicle’s display of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such adjustability allows the driver or other user of the vehicle to see the information they need while traveling in the vehicle, as suggested by Lee (see Lee at least [0007] a display apparatus for a vehicle enabling a user, i.e., a driver or a passenger, to easily obtain required information during traveling of a vehicle by providing the information effectively and efficiently).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng teaches: A vehicle control method (see Cheng at least [0001] a vehicular central control display method) comprising:
changing at least one of a shape of a display of a display device provided in a vehicle and a position of the display (see Cheng at least [0014] The rotator 30 is used to receive a signal from the control module 20 and drive the second display area 12 to rotate to fold the display device 10); and
displaying information on the display (see Cheng at least [0012] an embodiment of a vehicular central control display system 100 includes a display device 10),
wherein a display area of the display is divided into a first area, a second area, and a third area arranged on a same surface (see Cheng at least [0012] The display device 10 includes a first display area 11 and a second display area 12… the first display area 11 is disposed above the second display area 12 and [0028] The display device 10 may further include a third display area rotationally connected to the first display area 11 or on the second display area 12),
the second area is positioned above the first area, and the third area is positioned under the first area (see Cheng at least [0012] The display device 10 includes a first display area 11 and a second display area 12… the first display area 11 is disposed above the second display area 12 and [0028] The display device 10 may further include a third display area rotationally connected to the first display area 11 or on the second display area 12),
at least one of the second area and the third area is folded or unfolded at a specific angle by the drive assembly (see Cheng at least [0015] The control module 20 drives the second display area 12 to change a position relative to the first display area 11 according to the operation instruction to form an angle between the first display area 11 and the second display area 12).
Cheng does not teach: the displaying of the information comprises specifying brief information displayed in the second area and displaying the specified information as detailed information in the first area or simplifying the detailed information displayed in the first area and displaying the simplified information as brief information in the second area.
However, Lee teaches: the displaying of the information comprises specifying brief information displayed in the second area and displaying the specified information as detailed information in the first area or simplifying the detailed information displayed in the first area and displaying the simplified information as brief information in the second area (see Lee at least [0089] if a driver selects the upper region by rotating the scroll wheel 161 in the upward direction r1 or detailed information needs to be displayed on the first display region 210 according to predetermined settings, the first display region 210 may be expanded and the second display region 220 may be contracted as shown in FIG. 7. In this case, similar to the above description, the detailed information 212 may be displayed on the first display region 210, and the brief information 221 may be displayed on the second display region 220).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method disclosed by Cheng to include the increase and/or decrease of amount of information displayed in a vehicle’s display of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such adjustability allows the driver or other user of the vehicle to see the information they need while traveling in the vehicle, as suggested by Lee (see Lee at least [0007] a display apparatus for a vehicle enabling a user, i.e., a driver or a passenger, to easily obtain required information during traveling of a vehicle by providing the information effectively and efficiently).
Regarding claim 16, Cheng and Lee teach: The vehicle control method of claim 11, wherein the displaying of the information comprises specifying the brief information displayed in the second area and displaying the specified information as detailed information in the first area when the user touches the screen or makes the gesture to push down the screen using a finger (see Lee at least [0068] The second input units 130 and 131 may include at least one of a scroll wheel, a button, a knob, a touchscreen... A user may adjust the display region or change information displayed on the first display unit 200 by manipulating the second input units 130 and 131 and [0088] if a driver selects the lower region by rotating the scroll wheel 161 in the downward direction r2 or detailed information needs to be displayed on the third display region 230 according to predetermined settings, the third display region 230 may be expanded and the second display region 220 may be contracted as shown in FIG. 12. Similar to the above description, the detailed information 232 may be displayed on the third display region 230, and the brief information 221 may be displayed on the second display region 220).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method disclosed by Cheng to include the increase and/or decrease of amount of information displayed in a vehicle’s display of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such adjustability allows the driver or other user of the vehicle to see the information they need while traveling in the vehicle, as suggested by Lee (see Lee at least [0007] a display apparatus for a vehicle enabling a user, i.e., a driver or a passenger, to easily obtain required information during traveling of a vehicle by providing the information effectively and efficiently).
Regarding claim 17, Cheng and Lee teach: The vehicle control method of claim 11, wherein the displaying of the information comprises simplifying the detailed information displayed in the first area and displaying the simplified information as brief information in the first area when the user touches the screen or makes the gesture to push up the screen using a finger (see Lee at least [0068] The second input units 130 and 131 may include at least one of a scroll wheel, a button, a knob, a touchscreen... A user may adjust the display region or change information displayed on the first display unit 200 by manipulating the second input units 130 and 131 and [0089] if a driver selects the upper region by rotating the scroll wheel 161 in the upward direction r1 or detailed information needs to be displayed on the first display region 210 according to predetermined settings, the first display region 210 may be expanded and the second display region 220 may be contracted as shown in FIG. 7. In this case, similar to the above description, the detailed information 212 may be displayed on the first display region 210, and the brief information 221 may be displayed on the second display region 220).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method disclosed by Cheng to include the increase and/or decrease of amount of information displayed in a vehicle’s display of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such adjustability allows the driver or other user of the vehicle to see the information they need while traveling in the vehicle, as suggested by Lee (see Lee at least [0007] a display apparatus for a vehicle enabling a user, i.e., a driver or a passenger, to easily obtain required information during traveling of a vehicle by providing the information effectively and efficiently).
Claim(s) 2, 12, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Lee, and further in view of US 20180292980 A1 Noro; Hideo et al. (hereinafter Noro).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the controller is further configured to control a message comprising a text indicating an event to be displayed as brief information in the second area, upon identifying occurrence of the event.
However, Noro teaches: wherein the controller is further configured to control a message comprising a text indicating an event to be displayed as brief information in the second area, upon identifying occurrence of the event (see Noro at least [0095] The summary information generation unit 23 generates an object such as a drawing and a character string (e.g., a text message and a message image of “the Eiffel Tower”) as the summary information and [0096] Further, for example, the summary information generation unit 23 may detect a plurality of objects and events from an image captured by the image capturing unit 126 and generate summary information of each of the detected objects and events. In other words, the summary information generation unit 23 may generates a plurality of summary information pieces).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display apparatus disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the generation and displaying of a summarized event message based on detected events of Noro. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because displaying messages regarding events applied in various display situations, including inside a vehicle, as suggested by Noro (see Noro at least [0063] the detailed information display device 3 may include, for example, an on-vehicle display in a car entertainment system and a multifunctional television).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control method of claim 11.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the displaying of the information comprises displaying a message comprising a text indicating an event as brief information in the second area, upon identifying occurrence of the event.
However, Noro teaches: wherein the displaying of the information comprises displaying a message comprising a text indicating an event as brief information in the second area, upon identifying occurrence of the event (see Noro at least [0095] The summary information generation unit 23 generates an object such as a drawing and a character string (e.g., a text message and a message image of “the Eiffel Tower”) as the summary information and [0096] Further, for example, the summary information generation unit 23 may detect a plurality of objects and events from an image captured by the image capturing unit 126 and generate summary information of each of the detected objects and events. In other words, the summary information generation unit 23 may generates a plurality of summary information pieces).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the generation and displaying of a summarized event message based on detected events of Noro. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because displaying messages regarding events applied in various display situations, including inside a vehicle, as suggested by Noro (see Noro at least [0063] the detailed information display device 3 may include, for example, an on-vehicle display in a car entertainment system and a multifunctional television).
Regarding claim 21, Cheng and Lee disclose: the vehicle control method of claim 11.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: A computer program having stored thereon a computer-readable recording medium to execute the vehicle control method of claim 11 in connection to a computer which is hardware.
However, Noro teaches: A computer program having stored thereon a computer-readable recording medium to execute the vehicle control method of claim 11 in connection to a computer which is hardware (see Noro at least [0337] Embodiment(s) of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the computer hardware and software of Noro. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because processing and operation of such methods requires computation in order to perform the methods, as suggested by Noro (see Noro at least [0337] to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s)).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Lee, further in view of Noro, and further in view of FR 3135807 A1 JARJOR HAMZA (hereinafter Jarjor).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng, Lee, and Noro disclose: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 2.
Cheng, Lee, and Noro do not teach: wherein the controller is further configured to identify that the event occurs when at least one warning light is displayed on a cluster of the vehicle body.
However, Jarjor teaches: wherein the controller is further configured to identify that the event occurs when at least one warning light is displayed on a cluster of the vehicle body (see Jarjor at least [pg. 4, para. 3, beginning with “Finally, according to a fourth”] the driver is informed via screen 4 on which a text is broadcast listing the history of warning lights which have been displayed on the instrument cluster up to the current time and highlighting the warning lights which are displayed on the instrument cluster 2 at the current time).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display apparatus disclosed by Cheng, Lee, and Noro to include the driver notification in response to a light occurring on the instrument panel of the vehicle of Jarjor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this is a good way to apprise the driver of the status of their vehicle and the necessary warnings, as suggested by Jarjor (see Jarjor at least [pg. 4, para. 4, beginning with “Consequently”] a solution is provided for informing the driver of a motor vehicle in a relevant and effective manner about warning lights which are displayed on the instrument panel).
Claim(s) 4, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Lee, further in view of Noro, and further in view of US 20060050018 A1 Hutzel; Barry W et al. (hereinafter Hutzel).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng, Lee, and Noro disclose: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 2.
Cheng, Lee, and Noro do not teach: wherein the controller is further configured to control the drive assembly to unfold the second area and the message to be displayed in the second area when the second area is in a folded state upon occurrence of the event.
However, Hutzel teaches: wherein the controller is further configured to control the drive assembly to unfold the second area and the message to be displayed in the second area when the second area is in a folded state upon occurrence of the event (see Hutzel at least [0090] The display screen device may be linked to the triggering event and thus may be operable to display information or video images or the like pertaining to the system or device or function associated with the activating or triggering event… if a telephone call is received by the telephone or communication system, the display screen may extend to display a caller identification function or other pertinent information).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display apparatus disclosed by Cheng, Lee, and Noro to include the changing exposure of a display area based on a triggering event of Hutzel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because adjusting the display’s visibility in response to event occurrence allows for timely display of relevant information that will capture the driver’s attention as necessary, as suggested by Hutzel (see Hutzel at least The outward movement or extension of the display screen not only provides the display of information at a position that is readily viewable by the driver of the vehicle, but the outward movement of the display screen also provides a visual cue or prompt, and optionally an audible sound associatable with a sliding motion, to catch the driver's attention and reinforce viewing of the display screen so that the driver can readily view the information being displayed at the display screen).
Regarding claim 14, Cheng, Lee, and Noro disclose: The vehicle control method of claim 12.
Cheng, Lee, and Noro do not teach: wherein the second area is unfolded and the message is displayed in the second area when the second area is in a folded state upon occurrence of the event.
However, Hutzel teaches: wherein the second area is unfolded and the message is displayed in the second area when the second area is in a folded state upon occurrence of the event (see Hutzel at least [0090] The display screen device may be linked to the triggering event and thus may be operable to display information or video images or the like pertaining to the system or device or function associated with the activating or triggering event… if a telephone call is received by the telephone or communication system, the display screen may extend to display a caller identification function or other pertinent information).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method disclosed by Cheng, Lee, and Noro to include the changing exposure of a display area based on a triggering event of Hutzel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because adjusting the display’s visibility in response to event occurrence allows for timely display of relevant information that will capture the driver’s attention as necessary, as suggested by Hutzel (see Hutzel at least The outward movement or extension of the display screen not only provides the display of information at a position that is readily viewable by the driver of the vehicle, but the outward movement of the display screen also provides a visual cue or prompt, and optionally an audible sound associatable with a sliding motion, to catch the driver's attention and reinforce viewing of the display screen so that the driver can readily view the information being displayed at the display screen).
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Lee, further in view of US 9575628 B2 Meegan; Robert et al. (hereinafter Meegan).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the brief information displayed in the second area comprises at least one on/off-settable item.
However, Meegan teaches: wherein the brief information displayed in the second area comprises at least one on/off-settable item (see Meegan at least [Fig. 2A] and [col. 8, lines 59-63] The button 270b indicates the state of field operation recording and allows the operator to manually toggling the recording state on and off. The button 270c indicates the state of the automatic guidance system and allows the operator to toggle activation on and off).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display apparatus disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the on-off toggleable vehicle operation shortcut buttons of Meegan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it allows for adaptable system controls without cumbersome clusters of physical controls, as suggested by Meegan (see Meegan at least [col. 10, lines 61-65] The retractable shortcut bar allows for a display of state indicators and system toggles. The retractable shortcut bar allows for access to low-take-rate vehicle and implement features without the costs and clutter of physical buttons).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control method of claim 11.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the brief information displayed in the second area comprises at least one on/off-settable item.
However, Meegan teaches: wherein the brief information displayed in the second area comprises at least one on/off-settable item (see Meegan at least [Fig. 2A] and [col. 8, lines 59-63] The button 270b indicates the state of field operation recording and allows the operator to manually toggling the recording state on and off. The button 270c indicates the state of the automatic guidance system and allows the operator to toggle activation on and off).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the on-off toggleable vehicle operation shortcut buttons of Meegan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it allows for adaptable system controls without cumbersome clusters of physical controls, as suggested by Meegan (see Meegan at least [col. 10, lines 61-65] The retractable shortcut bar allows for a display of state indicators and system toggles. The retractable shortcut bar allows for access to low-take-rate vehicle and implement features without the costs and clutter of physical buttons).
Claim(s) 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Lee, and further in view of EP 3243687 A1 SOH YOONNA et al. (hereinafter Soh).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the controller is further configured to control the first area and the second area to be combined into one screen and the detailed information displayed in the first area to be displayed on the combined screen when the user touches a screen or makes the gesture to push up the screen.
However, Soh teaches: wherein the controller is further configured to control the first area and the second area to be combined into one screen and the detailed information displayed in the first area to be displayed on the combined screen when the user touches a screen or makes the gesture to push up the screen (see Soh at least [0215] When it is difficult to apply a touch to a graphic object currently output on the first display, the driver may move the second display to a predetermined position to which the driver can easily apply a touch input, and thus apply a touch input to the graphic object using the second display and [0114] the display unit 151 may form a touch screen together with the touch sensor, and in this instance, the touch screen may function as the user input unit 123 (see FIG. 1A) and [0139] While the first and second displays 210 and 220 operate individually in the separated state, when they are connected to each other again, information output on the second display 220 may disappear and information output on the first display 210 may extend even to the second display 220 for output).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display apparatus disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the combination of a display of multiple screen segments into one combined screen display segment of Soh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because then the display is more adaptable to the vehicle user’s needs and they are able to control the displays for optimal information output, as suggested by Soh (see Soh at least [0140] This may provide an effect of extension or separation of a display area on which information is output. Therefore, the driver or a passenger who is sitting next to the driver can change a position of a display to extend or separate the display to be suitable for a situation).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control method of claim 11.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the displaying of the information comprises combining the first area and the second area into one screen and displaying the detailed information displayed in the first area on the combined screen when the user touches the screen or makes the gesture to push up the screen.
However, Soh teaches: wherein the displaying of the information comprises combining the first area and the second area into one screen and displaying the detailed information displayed in the first area on the combined screen when the user touches the screen or makes the gesture to push up the screen (see Soh at least [0215] When it is difficult to apply a touch to a graphic object currently output on the first display, the driver may move the second display to a predetermined position to which the driver can easily apply a touch input, and thus apply a touch input to the graphic object using the second display and [0114] the display unit 151 may form a touch screen together with the touch sensor, and in this instance, the touch screen may function as the user input unit 123 (see FIG. 1A) and [0139] While the first and second displays 210 and 220 operate individually in the separated state, when they are connected to each other again, information output on the second display 220 may disappear and information output on the first display 210 may extend even to the second display 220 for output).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the combination of a display of multiple screen segments into one combined screen display segment of Soh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because then the display is more adaptable to the vehicle user’s needs and they are able to control the displays for optimal information output, as suggested by Soh (see Soh at least [0140] This may provide an effect of extension or separation of a display area on which information is output. Therefore, the driver or a passenger who is sitting next to the driver can change a position of a display to extend or separate the display to be suitable for a situation).
Claim(s) 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Lee, and further in view of US 20040233186 A1 Kobayashi, Hiroshi (hereinafter Kobayashi).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the vehicle body further comprises a hidden area hidden by a partial area of the display, and the drive assembly is further configured to expose or avoid exposing the hidden area by changing the position of the display.
However, Kobayashi teaches: wherein the vehicle body further comprises a hidden area hidden by a partial area of the display, and the drive assembly is further configured to expose or avoid exposing the hidden area by changing the position of the display (see Kobayashi at least [0047] the control unit 9 and display unit 10 are located on the front of the main housing KK, and when the display panel 7 is removed from the storage unit K in the main housing KK and is in the usable state, they are hidden behind the display panel 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display apparatus disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the display hiding and/or uncovering vehicle areas past the display of Kobayashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such an arrangement allows users to use either physical or digital controls for various vehicle functions while viewing or not viewing the display as they desire, as suggested by Kobayashi (see Kobayashi at least [0009] it is possible to realize the functions of a control unit and a display unit by the control unit and display unit that are displayed on the display screen of a display panel, even when the control unit and display unit are hidden due to the movement of the display panel, so it is possible to eliminate problems such as not being able to perform controls (or being difficult to perform controls) on the control unit, and not being able to see (or being difficult to see) the display unit).
Regarding claim 19, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control method of claim 11.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the vehicle body further comprises a hidden area hidden by a partial area of the display, and the vehicle control method further comprises exposing or avoiding exposing the hidden area by changing the position of the display.
However, Kobayashi teaches: wherein the vehicle body further comprises a hidden area hidden by a partial area of the display, and the vehicle control method further comprises exposing or avoiding exposing the hidden area by changing the position of the display (see Kobayashi at least [0047] the control unit 9 and display unit 10 are located on the front of the main housing KK, and when the display panel 7 is removed from the storage unit K in the main housing KK and is in the usable state, they are hidden behind the display panel 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the display hiding and/or uncovering vehicle areas past the display of Kobayashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because such an arrangement allows users to use either physical or digital controls for various vehicle functions while viewing or not viewing the display as they desire, as suggested by Kobayashi (see Kobayashi at least [0009] it is possible to realize the functions of a control unit and a display unit by the control unit and display unit that are displayed on the display screen of a display panel, even when the control unit and display unit are hidden due to the movement of the display panel, so it is possible to eliminate problems such as not being able to perform controls (or being difficult to perform controls) on the control unit, and not being able to see (or being difficult to see) the display unit).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Lee, and further in view of FR 3135807 A1 JARJOR HAMZA (hereinafter Jarjor).
Regarding claim 13, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control method of claim 11.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the displaying of the information comprises identifying that the event occurs when at least one warning light is displayed on a cluster of the vehicle body.
However, Jarjor teaches: wherein the displaying of the information comprises identifying that the event occurs when at least one warning light is displayed on a cluster of the vehicle body (see Jarjor at least [pg. 4, para. 3, beginning with “Finally, according to a fourth”] the driver is informed via screen 4 on which a text is broadcast listing the history of warning lights which have been displayed on the instrument cluster up to the current time and highlighting the warning lights which are displayed on the instrument cluster 2 at the current time).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method by Cheng and Lee to include the driver notification in response to a light occurring on the instrument panel of the vehicle of Jarjor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this is a good way to apprise the driver of the status of their vehicle and the necessary warnings, as suggested by Jarjor (see Jarjor at least [pg. 4, para. 4, beginning with “Consequently”] a solution is provided for informing the driver of a motor vehicle in a relevant and effective manner about warning lights which are displayed on the instrument panel).
Claim(s) 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Lee, further in view of US 20210212225 A1 SONG; Seunghwan et al. (hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the drive assembly is further configured to change the shape of the display by folding or unfolding a part of the display at a specific angle.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the drive assembly is further configured to change the position of the display by moving the display upwardly or downwardly through sliding.
However, Song teaches: wherein the drive assembly is further configured to change the position of the display by moving the display upwardly or downwardly through sliding (see Song at least [0200] the magnetic force of the magnet 660 is effective in attracting the backplate 410, but does not obstruct the sliding movement of the backplate 410 in the longitudinal direction of the flexible display 400, so that the flexible display 400 is smoothly folded and unfolded).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display apparatus disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the combined display sliding and bending of Song. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the size and shape of the display screen may be desired to be changed for a variety of reasons, and the inclusion of multiple dimension-changing mechanisms allows for more flexibility, as suggested by Song (see Song at least [0228] Further, during the use of the vehicle display device 100, there may exist other cases outside of the unfolding operation in which the screen area of the flexible display 400 needs to be additionally increased).
Regarding claim 20, Cheng and Lee disclose: The vehicle control method of claim 11, wherein the shape of the display is changed by folding or unfolding a part of the display at a specific angle.
Cheng and Lee do not teach: wherein the position of the display is changed by moving the display upwardly or downwardly through sliding.
However, Song teaches: wherein the position of the display is changed by moving the display upwardly or downwardly through sliding (see Song at least [0200] the magnetic force of the magnet 660 is effective in attracting the backplate 410, but does not obstruct the sliding movement of the backplate 410 in the longitudinal direction of the flexible display 400, so that the flexible display 400 is smoothly folded and unfolded).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the folding vehicle display method disclosed by Cheng and Lee to include the combined display sliding and bending of Song. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the size and shape of the display screen may be desired to be changed for a variety of reasons, and the inclusion of multiple dimension-changing mechanisms allows for more flexibility, as suggested by Song (see Song at least [0228] Further, during the use of the vehicle display device 100, there may exist other cases outside of the unfolding operation in which the screen area of the flexible display 400 needs to be additionally increased).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210291660 A1 SZCZERBA; Joseph F. et al. discloses: A display assembly for a vehicle includes an electronic display and an adjustment mechanism. The electronic display is configured to be mounted to an instrument panel of the vehicle. The electronic display includes multiple screens and at least one hinge disposed between the screens. The electronic display is configured to be folded at the at least one hinge by pivoting at least one of the screens about the at least one hinge to adjust a viewing angle of an occupant in the vehicle relative to the at least one screen. The adjustment mechanism is configured to maintain the at least one screen in any one of a plurality of positions when the electronic display is folded at the at least one hinge by pivoting the at least one screen about the at least one hinge to adjust the at least one screen to the one position.
/ELLE ROSE KNUDSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
6/26/26