Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo CN 208687404 (see English translation) in view of Shimizu US 2014/0198497.
As for claim 1, Luo discloses a high luminous-efficacy industrial lighting device (see Figures 1 and 2), comprising at least one lighting module (LED light source module 4, bottom of page 2), wherein the lighting module comprises: a base (holder 1, see Fig 2); a light source board (PCB substrate 3) disposed on the base (Fig 2); and a lens (transparent lampshade 5 having first lens 51, second lens 52, and connecting part 53, see bottom of page 2) disposed on the base and covering the light source board (Fig 2 shows lens covering board 3), wherein the lens comprises an optical module comprising a central portion (51 and 52) and two side portions (connecting portion 53) respectively disposed on two sides of the central portion (see Fig 2), whereby an accommodation space appears to be located between the central portion and the side portions (area between central parts 51 52 and side portions 53), and the light source board 3 is disposed within the accommodation space (disposed within accommodation space in same manner as shown by applicant’s disclosure, see Fig 2) and faces the central portion (faces 51, 52).
Luo fails specifically teach the accommodation space being between the central and side portions of the lens. Shimizu teaches an accommodation space where a substrate of an LED source (equivalent to claimed board) is disposed; the accommodation space being formed between a central portion (portion of cover 1, along optical axis of 2, Fig 3) and side portions of the lens (side portions of cover 1 having engagement portions 12a, 12b, Fig 3; paragraph 0093). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to the teachings of Shimizu and utilize the connection structure that has the accommodation space formed between a central portion and side portions of the lens/cover to provide an alternate mounting configuration that allows secure engagement of the cover.
2. Luo in view of Shimizu teach the high luminous-efficacy industrial lighting device as claimed in claim 1, Luo further discloses wherein a curvature of one side, adjacent to the light source board, of the central portion (curvature A, see below in Fig 2) is less than a curvature of another side of the central portion (curvature B, curvature of portion 512 of lens).
8. Luo in view of Shimizu teach the high luminous-efficacy industrial lighting device as claimed in claim 1, Luo further discloses further comprising two side covers (end portions) respectively disposed at two ends of the base (shown at both ends of base/holder 1 in Fig 1).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Shimizu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang US 2012/0106144.
3. Luo in view of Shimizu teach the high luminous-efficacy industrial lighting device as claimed in claim 1, Luo further discloses side portions having a light entrance surface and exit surface (light may enter/exit through various surfaces of 53, see Fig 2). Luo fails to specifically teach wherein each of the side portions comprises a light entrance surface, a reflection surface, and a light exit surface, wherein a light emitted from the light source board passes through the light entrance surface, is then reflected by the reflection surface, and exits through the light exit surface.
Chang teaches wherein each of the side portions (side portion indicated below in Fig 4; occurs on both sides of lens 21) comprises a light entrance surface (where light enters 21 on side portion), a reflection surface (see where rays are reflected in Fig 4), and a light exit surface (indicated below), wherein a light emitted from the light source board (from board attached to LED 41) passes through the light entrance surface, is then reflected by the reflection surface, and exits through the light exit surface (see Fig 4 below). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to the teachings of Chang and utilize the reflector with side portions having a light entrance surface, a reflection surface, and a light exit surface, wherein light emitted from the light source board passes through the light entrance surface, is then reflected by the reflection surface, and exits through the light exit surface, to provide an alternate lens configuration that can spread light in an alternate distribution pattern. One would have been motivated to make this modification where achieving an alternate light distribution is desired.
4. Luo in view of Shimizu teach the high luminous-efficacy industrial lighting device discussed above; see claim 3 above for further modifying in view of Chang for the lens having side portions (side portion indicated below in Fig 4; occurs on both sides of lens 21) comprises a light entrance surface (where light enters 21 on side portion), a reflection surface (see where rays are reflected in Fig 4), and a light exit surface, where light emitted from the light source board passes through the light entrance surface, is then reflected by the reflection surface, and exits through the light exit surface (indicated above in Fig 4); Chang further teaches wherein an angle between the light entrance surface and a vertical reference line is less than an angle between the reflection surface and the vertical reference line (see angles of reflections shown in Fig 4 above).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Shimizu, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Venture Lighting (see PDF, published 2022).
9 and 10. Luo in view of Shimizu teach the high luminous-efficacy industrial lighting device as claimed in claim 8, but fails to further teach comprising a suspension bracket, wherein two ends of the suspension bracket are respectively connected to the side covers (claim 9); further comprising two directional adjustment plates, wherein the two ends of the suspension bracket are respectively connected to the side covers via the directional adjustment plates (claim 10). The examiner takes Official Notice that use of adjustable brackets as a means to suspend a light fixture is old and well known. Venture Lighting is cited as documentary evidence. Venture lighting teaches a suspension bracket (U-shaped bracket shown in step 2), wherein two ends of the suspension bracket are respectively connected to the side covers (attaches to two sides of a light fixture, see step 1 and 3); further comprising two directional adjustment plates (see L-shaped plates in step 1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the suspension bracket and adjustment plates of Venture with the fixture of Luo by attaching it to the opposing ends of the side covers of Luo to provide a bracket that allows suspension and adjustment of the lighting device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter; the prior art fails to further teach:
5. The high luminous-efficacy industrial lighting device as claimed in claim 3, wherein each of the side portions further comprises a first connecting surface, a second connecting surface, and a third connecting surface, wherein the first connecting surface is disposed between the light entrance surface and the reflection surface, and contacts the base, wherein the second connecting surface is disposed between the light entrance surface and the light exit surface, and connected to the central portion, wherein the third connecting surface is disposed between the reflection surface and the light exit surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hammond US’326 teaches an LED board within an accommodation space formed by a center part and side parts of a lens. Amrine US’851 teaches an LED board within an accommodation space formed by a center part and side parts of a lens that also shows different the lens parts having different levels of curvature.
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875