DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forehlich et al (US 6,237,563).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Froehlich discloses a system for determining broadcast engine torque values, the system comprising:
a powertrain including an engine configured to output torque to a driveline (Fig. 1, shown);
a fuel system configured to provide fuel to the engine in response to an accelerator pedal position (Fig. 1, shown system having a fuel injector valve 11 for operation with the shown engine system); and
an electronic control system 7 operatively coupled with the powertrain and the fuel system (Fig. 1, shown controller operating the engine system), the electronic control system configured to: determine a torque based fuel value during operation of the engine in response an accelerator based torque value (Col. 5, Lns. 1-5, TQI_REQ value) and a friction torque value (Col. 4, Lns. 45-47, TQ_LOSS is calculated);
determine a corrected fuel value based on a fueling error between the torque based fuel value and a fuel amount provided to the engine in response to the torque based fuel value (Col. 5, Lns. 23-31, a setpoint value MAF_SP is based on a fuel/air ratio (i.e. fuel amount) in response to torque);
determine a corrected engine torque value based on the corrected fuel value (Col. 5, Lns. 66 to Col. 6, Ln. 8, the TQI_REF_COR value is corrected torque according to the corrected fuel value);
determine a broadcast engine torque value based on a difference between the corrected engine torque value and the friction torque value (Col. 6, Lns. 37-45, TQ_AV is calculated based on the estimated torque and loss torque), outputting the broadcast engine torque value (Fig. 2, the broadcast torque value TQ_AV is output from the block B8 and is thus “broadcast”).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Froehlich discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the electronic control system is configured to determine the corrected engine torque value by inputting the corrected fuel value into a fuel-to- torque look-up table that maps fuel values and engine speed with engine torque values (Fig. 2, Col. 4, Lns. 35-60, the corrected torque is based on maps forming a diagram KF1/KF2).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Froehlich discloses the system according to claim 2, wherein the electronic control system is configured to determine the torque based fuel value by inputting a net torque value that is based on the accelerator based torque value and the friction torque value into a torque-to-fuel look-up table that maps net engine torque values with fuel value (Fig. 2, the torque values and loss calculations are based on mapped values).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Froehlich discloses the system according to claim 3, wherein the electronic control system is configured to determine the accelerator based torque value by inputting engine speed and accelerator pedal position to an accelerator based torque table that maps engine speeds and accelerator pedal positions with accelerator based torque values (Fig. 1 and Col. 4, Lns. 63-67, wherein the engine speed and pedal position are mapped to determine accelerator based torque value).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Froehlich discloses the system according to claim 4, wherein the electronic control system is configured to determine the friction torque value by inputting engine speed and coolant temperature to a friction torque table that maps engine speeds and coolant temperatures with friction torque values (Col. 4, Lns. 1-15 and 45-60, the coolant temperature and engine speed are measured and used for determining torque loss).
Regarding claim 6, Froehlich discloses the system according to claim 5, wherein the net torque value is a sum of accelerator based torque value and the friction torque value (Col. 6, Lns. 37-45, the net torque includes accelerator torque and friction torque summed).
Regarding claim 11, Froehlich discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the broadcast engine torque value is a net brake torque value indicating torque at an interface between the engine and a transmission component (the broadcast torque TQ_AV inherently includes the torque of the engine output to the transmission).
Regarding claim 12, Froehlich discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the electronic control system is further configured to control the powertrain in response to the broadcast engine torque value (Fig. 1, 3, and Col. 6, Lns. 46-54, the TQ_AV is used for powertrain adjustment).
Regarding claim 20, Froehlich discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the engine receives fuel from a fuel system and outputs torque to a driveline in response to an accelerator pedal position (Fig. 1 and Col. 3, Lns. 45-49, the fuel system is used to power the engine for torque output).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Froehlich in view of Halleberg et al (US 7,991,537).
Regarding claims 7-10 and 18-19, Froehlich discloses the system according to claim 1 and 13, but fails to disclose wherein the electronic control system is configured to determine the fuel amount provided to the engine based on a feedback pressure and an on-time from one or more fuel injectors of the fuel system; wherein the electronic control system is configured to determine the fuel amount provided to the engine for each injection event of the one or more fuel injectors of the fuel system; wherein the electronic control system is configured to determine the fuel amount provided to the engine based on an estimate of drift in fueling from one or more fuel injectors of the fuel system; and wherein the estimate of drift is based on a total number of injection counts for the one or more injectors.
Halleberg discloses a method for adjusting a lookup table for injection quantities that affect engine torque values (Abstract), wherein the fuel injection quantities are based on a feedback pressure of the fuel (Col. 4, Lns. 44-67), wherein these values are adjusted to correct for the torque amounts (Col. 5, Lns. 35-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the fuel injection and torque monitoring systems of Froehlich with the fuel injection quantity and torque correction amounts of Halleberg in order to improve engine fuel and torque accuracy (Col. 2, Lns. 11-16).
Further, the inclusion of fuel injector counts to determine fuel injector drift is sufficiently old and well-known in the art sufficient for examiner to take official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fuel injection system of the modified Froehlich in order to allow it to determine fuel injection aging/length of operation and correct or diagnose the fuel injection system accordingly.
Conclusion
/KEVIN A LATHERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747