DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the patent application filed on July 23, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made Non-FINAL.
The examiner would like to note that this application is being handled by examiner Christine Huynh.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 12, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pylappan et al. (US 20130325321 A1), which was provided in the IDS sent on February 12, 2026, in view of Mineta et al. (US 20120179361 A1).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-20:
With respect to claims 1, 11, and 20, Pylappan teaches:
for the first driving state, selecting a first subset of points-of-interest (POIs) from a plurality of POIs and determining a first frame, the first frame being defined by edge insets and a center coordinate that bound the first subset of POIs; (“In various embodiments, the multifunction device may be configured to perform a search along a specific route, such as current navigation route. For instance, the user of the multifunction device may request the location of points of interest, such as fuel stations or restaurants. However, if a user is traveling along a particular route, they may not be particularly interested in points of interest that are not proximate to that route. As such, the multifunction device may be configured to scope any searches to points of interested within a specified distance away from the route. In various embodiments, this distance may be a configurable parameter.” [0141]), where a first set of POIs can be determined along a route. A center coordinate, such as the user’s current location, can be determined to select POIs a threshold distance from the center coordinate.
rendering, on the client device, a first map view that displays the first subset of POIs inside the first frame; (“In various embodiments, the multifunction device may be configured to display various graphical layers including but not limited to a graphical map information, aerial images (e.g., satellite-acquired images), and/or traffic information.” [0142], “The multifunction device may be configured to display search results graphically within any of the map display described herein. For instance, a pin or other graphical indicator may specify locations of search results as points of interest.” [0168]), where POIs can be displayed.
while the first map view is displayed, receiving updated telemetry data from the client device and detecting, from the updated telemetry data, a transition from the first driving state to a second driving state different from the first driving state; (“This map may be presented as a two-dimensional map or a three-dimensional map, the selection of which may be specified through, e.g., a user-configurable parameter of the mapping application. In some embodiments, the multifunction device may toggle between two-dimensional map or three-dimensional map views responsive to input from any input component of the multifunction device. In one non-limiting example, input from orientation sensor(s) 168 may initiate the transition from a two-dimensional map view to a three-dimensional map, and vice versa. For instance, one or more of orientation sensor(s) 168 may detect a tilt (e.g., a user-initiated tilt) in the orientation of the multifunction device and, in response, initiate the aforesaid toggling.” [0129], “the method may include displaying the route at a second viewing angle that is biased toward the destination of the route. For example, some instances of the method may include transitioning a course-up or north-up orientation (e.g., the first view angle) to a view angle that is biased at least partially toward a destination of the current route.” [0186]), which shows that dynamic change of views for map transitions between different states of the client device from changes in the client device.
responsive to the detected transition between driving states:
selecting, for the second driving state, a second subset of POIs; (“FIG. 8B illustrates an example method for implementing destination-biased display outside of the context of an active navigation route. As illustrated at block 810, the method may include determining a destination of a user. In some embodiments, this may include detecting that the user has selected a destination (e.g., from a list of map search results or web search results) within a mapping application. For instance, the user may desire to use functions pertaining to the destination other than route guidance (e.g., view a traffic layer surrounding the destination). In some cases the user may desire to view a map surrounding the destination without route guidance (e.g., the map may serve as a backup to the user's knowledge of the area).” [0183], “Various embodiments of a map service may respond to client device requests for map services. These requests may be a request for a specific map or portion of a map. Embodiments may format requests for a map as requests for certain map tiles. In some embodiments, requests may also supply the map service with starting locations (or current locations) and destination locations for a route calculation. A client device may also request map service rendering information, such as map textures or stylesheets. In at least some embodiments, requests may also be one of a series of requests implementing turn-by-turn navigation. Requests for other geographic data may include, but are not limited to, current location, wireless network coverage, weather, traffic information, or nearby points-of-interest.” [0154]), where points of interest near specified locations can be determined.
determining a second frame defined by edge insets and a center coordinate that bound the second subset of POIs; (“In some cases, in addition to biasing the viewing angle, embodiments may also cause one or more obstructions (e.g., building graphics) to become translucent in order to provide the user with a better view of the destination during navigation. For instance, in a three-dimensional view, a three-dimensional representation of a skyscraper may block the on-screen view of the final destination of the navigation route. Embodiments may at least partially cause the skyscraper to appear translucent in order to ensure the user may see the final destination of the route. Additionally, various embodiments may include logic for determining when the destination-biased view is to be activated, such as when the user is within a certain distance of the destination” [0023]), which a second view would have different edge insets than a first view, in order to show the end destination coordinates. This view purposely shows a different and specific information based on the coordinates it’s presenting to the user.
generating a second map view that displays the second subset of POIs inside the second frame; (“In response to detecting the user is close enough to the destination (e.g., based on the aforesaid distance or time thresholds), the mapping application may bias the map view towards destination 324, as illustrated in map view 314c of FIG. 6. In the illustrated embodiment, the destination-biased map view utilizes neither a course-up or north-up orientation. Instead, the destination 324 is placed in a center-up position (e.g., centered near the top of the display). Additionally the graphical position indicator 316 may remain in a center-bottom position as is the case in map views 314a-b.” [0173]), where the updated second view is based on showing the destination coordinates in the frame, which are a second set of coordinates.
producing a transition from the first map view to the second map view; “In one non-limiting example, input from orientation sensor(s) 168 may initiate the transition from a two-dimensional map view to a three-dimensional map, and vice versa. For instance, one or more of orientation sensor(s) 168 may detect a tilt (e.g., a user-initiated tilt) in the orientation of the multifunction device and, in response, initiate the aforesaid toggling.” [0129]), where the different map views can transition into each other.
displaying, based on the detected transition, the second map view on the client device, (“biasing this second viewing angle in this way may provide the user useful insight into the particular location of the destination. For instance, the user may be traveling in an urban area and the biasing techniques described herein may provide the user with a useful way to view the final legs of the navigation route.” [0022]), which shows a second view can be displayed.
wherein the displayed second map view is dynamically displayed according to the detected transition of driving state; (“In one non-limiting example, input from orientation sensor(s) 168 may initiate the transition from a two-dimensional map view to a three-dimensional map, and vice versa. For instance, one or more of orientation sensor(s) 168 may detect a tilt (e.g., a user-initiated tilt) in the orientation of the multifunction device and, in response, initiate the aforesaid toggling.” [0129], “the method may include displaying the route at a second viewing angle that is biased toward the destination of the route. For example, some instances of the method may include transitioning a course-up or north-up orientation (e.g., the first view angle) to a view angle that is biased at least partially toward a destination of the current route.” [0186]), which shows that the view is generated based on the changed state that was induced by a user interaction, and the dynamic generation of views provides map transitions between different states of the client device, such as a changed dimension, orientation, or tilted view of the map. In addition, Pylappan teaches a state that includes functions such as route overview on a map (see Pylappan [0133]) and search along a route (see Pylappan [0141]).
However, Pylappan does not teach, but Mineta teaches:
receiving, from the client device, telemetry data describing operation of a vehicle associated with the client device; (“Next, at step 606, a vehicle state of motor vehicle 100 may be detected. In some embodiments, a vehicle state may detected by one or more sensors used for determining operating conditions and/or environmental characteristics of motor vehicle 100, discussed above.” [0068]), which vehicle information regarding the operation of a vehicle associated with the navigation device is received.
classifying, based on the telemetry data, the vehicle as operating in a first driving state selected from a plurality of predefined driving states; (“For example, a moving state and a stationary state of motor vehicle 100 may be determined by a GPS receiver, a vehicle speed sensor, and/or an accelerometer, a parked state or a driving state may be determined by a sensor associated with gear selector 306. Additional vehicle states may be associated with any operating condition and/or environmental characteristic associated with a motor vehicle and/or a driver or user.” [068]), where the vehicle operation state is classified using predefined information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to have combined Pylappan’s dynamic map display with Mineta’s telemetry information because (“route preferences 500, including preferences associated with setup tab 510 and/or optimal tab 530 may be used to display or output different views to a driver and/or user based on other detected vehicle operating conditions and/or environmental characteristics associated with a vehicle state.” [0076]), to improve the points or routes of interests using vehicle information.
With respect to claims 2 and 12, Pylappan in combination with Mineta, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11. The combination of Pylappan and Mineta teaches a dynamically displaying a map claims 1 and 11. Pylappan further teaches:
wherein the first subset of POIs and the second subset of POIs lie along a route to a destination, (“In various embodiments, the multifunction device may be configured to perform a search along a specific route, such as current navigation route. For instance, the user of the multifunction device may request the location of points of interest, such as fuel stations or restaurants.” [0141]), where POIs can be searched for along a route.
receiving an updated geographic location of the client device along the route; (“For instance, the mapping application may determine that the user is traveling along route 320 from position information (e.g., information from GPS module 135) and update the map 314a accordingly.” [0134]), where the user’s location is updated along the route.
selecting, based on the updated geographic location, a third subset of the POIs situated within a threshold distance of the updated geographic location; (“However, if a user is traveling along a particular route, they may not be particularly interested in points of interest that are not proximate to that route. As such, the multifunction device may be configured to scope any searches to points of interested within a specified distance away from the route.” [0141]), where POIs situated within a threshold distance from the traveling user can be displayed.
determining a third center coordinate for the third subset; (“However, if a user is traveling along a particular route, they may not be particularly interested in points of interest that are not proximate to that route. As such, the multifunction device may be configured to scope any searches to points of interested within a specified distance away from the route.” [0141]), where a center coordinate would be the user’s location, as the POIs determined are within a radius of the user’s location.
rendering a third map view that displays the third subset of POIs inside the first frame; (“In various embodiments, the multifunction device may be configured to display various graphical layers including but not limited to a graphical map information, aerial images (e.g., satellite-acquired images), and/or traffic information.” [0142], “The multifunction device may be configured to display search results graphically within any of the map display described herein. For instance, a pin or other graphical indicator may specify locations of search results as points of interest.” [0168]), where POIs can be displayed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to display a third subset of POIs, as the system includes plurality of display functions and map details, in an attempt to provide an improved system or method, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In turn, because the product as claimed has the properties predicted by the prior art, it would have been obvious to make the system or product where a third map view is rendered that displays a third set of POIs.
With respect to claims 3 and 13, Pylappan in combination with Mineta, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11. The combination of Pylappan and Mineta teaches a dynamically displaying a map claims 1 and 11. Pylappan further teaches:
detecting a modification of a display boundary on the client device and, responsive to the modification, receiving a second set of edge insets defining a different frame size; (“In some embodiments, the one or more orientation sensors include any combination of orientation/rotation sensors. FIG. 1A shows the one or more orientation sensors 168 coupled to peripherals interface 118. Alternately, the one or more orientation sensors 168 may be coupled to an input controller 160 in I/O subsystem 106. In some embodiments, information is displayed on the touch screen display in a portrait view or a landscape view based on an analysis of data received from the one or more orientation sensors.” [0048], “… controls (e.g., on screen control(s) 302) may be utilized to perform any of a variety of map-related functions including but not limited to zoom in, zoom out, rotate screen, pan screen, toggle views (e.g., two-dimensions to three dimensions and vice versa), and/or another map related activity.” [0128]), where modification of the screen boundary can be detected such as changing the orientation of the client device, which would alter the view. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that there would be a second set of edge insets due to a modification of a display boundary on the client device in an attempt to provide an improved system or method, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In turn, because the product as claimed has the properties predicted by the prior art, it would have been obvious to make the system or product where a second set of edge insets are received.
regenerating the first map view so that the first subset of POIs fits inside the different frame size; (“In some embodiments, events include rotation of the device from one orientation to another (e.g., from a portrait orientation to a landscape orientation, or vice versa), and the event information includes corresponding information about the current orientation (also called device attitude) of the device.” [0113], “This map may be presented as a two-dimensional map or a three-dimensional map, the selection of which may be specified through, e.g., a user-configurable parameter of the mapping application. In some embodiments, the multifunction device may toggle between two-dimensional map or three-dimensional map views responsive to input from any input component of the multifunction device. In one non-limiting example, input from orientation sensor(s) 168 may initiate the transition from a two-dimensional map view to a three-dimensional map, and vice versa.” [0129]), where the map reorients when a modification of the screen boundary is detected such as changing the orientation of the client device, which would alter the view. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the first map with the first subset of POIs is regenerated, as the view can be changed based on the modification of the client device in an attempt to provide an improved system or method, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In turn, because the product as claimed has the properties predicted by the prior art, it would have been obvious to make the system or product where the first map with the first subset of POIs is regenerated.
With respect to claims 4 and 14, Pylappan in combination with Mineta, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11. The combination of Pylappan and Mineta teaches a dynamically displaying a map claims 1 and 11. Pylappan further teaches:
wherein the plurality of predefined driving states comprises at least one of: pre-drive, free-drive, search results, route preview, route following, approaching maneuver, search-along-route, or route preview to stopover; (“before proceeding with navigation, the multifunction device may generate a route overview display that graphically indicates key information for the route, such as key turns, route distance and/or an estimated time for traversing the route. In some cases, the multifunction device may be configured to generate a display of driving maneuvers (e.g., turns, lane changes, etc.) that occur in quick succession, either in the route overview or during actual navigation.” [0133], “the multifunction device may be configured to perform a search along a specific route, such as current navigation route. For instance, the user of the multifunction device may request the location of points of interest, such as fuel stations or restaurants.” [0141]), which shows that the states such as route preview, approaching maneuvers, and search results.
With respect to claims 5 and 15, Pylappan in combination with Mineta, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 4 and 11. The combination of Pylappan and Mineta teaches a dynamically displaying a map claims 4 and 11. Pylappan further teaches:
wherein each driving state is associated with a respective combination of map parameters that include at least one of zoom level, pitch angle, camera heading, or map rotation; (“once biased view is activated, the mapping application handling navigation may cause the graphical representation of the destination to be fixed, such as fixed in the upper-center portion of the map display. The graphical position indicator corresponding to the user may also be fixed, such as in the bottom portion of the display. With these two points fixed, the map display may be rotated and/or zoomed (in or out) in order to maintain the biased view while the user travels about.” [0170], “the multifunction device may be configured to display routes at different angles in order to accommodate the preferences of different users. Such viewing angles may include a birds eye view for two-dimensional maps to any of a variety of camera angles available for a three-dimensional map.” [0144]), this example shows that there can be a specific viewing angle and map parameters for a state such as during route following.
With respect to claims 6 and 16, Pylappan in combination with Mineta, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11. The combination of Pylappan and Mineta teaches a dynamically displaying a map claims 1 and 11. Pylappan further teaches:
determining, for the first driving state, a camera pitch level and an anchor point on the display; (“In other cases, position indicator 316 may remain stationary or "fixed" while map 314 is moved (e.g., panned, turned, etc.) around the position indicator.” [0134], “once biased view is activated, the mapping application handling navigation may cause the graphical representation of the destination to be fixed, such as fixed in the upper portion of the map display. The graphical position indicator corresponding to the user may also be fixed, such as in the bottom portion of the display. With these two points fixed, the map display may be rotated and/or zoomed (in or out) in order to maintain the biased view while the user travels about.” [0022]), where in this example, when the display changes to a second view that has specified angle level to view the map, which is different from other states which could have a north-up configuration or other views at different pitch levels, an anchor point can be fixed. Therefore, the anchor points are determined based on the pitch level of the view.
positioning a graphical puck representing the client device at a distance from the anchor point that is a function of the pitch level; (“Map 314a may include a graphical position indicator 316, which may represent the location of the multifunction device within the geographic region of the map. Generally position indicator 316 may represent the current or real-time position of the multifunction device” [0130], “…the mapping application of the multifunction device may be configured to track the position of the user over time and correspondingly adjust the graphical position indicator 316 to indicate the new position. For instance, the mapping application may determine that the user is traveling along route 320 from position information (e.g., information from GPS module 135) and update the map 314a accordingly. For instance, in some cases the map 314 may remain stationary while position indicator 316 is moved along the route. In other cases, position indicator 316 may remain stationary or "fixed" while map 314 is moved (e.g., panned, turned, etc.) around the position indicator.” [0134]), where the graphical indication of a position that represents the user or client device is positioned in a way that the view can rotate and pitch as the graphical indication is fixed.
when the detected transition is from a route-overview driving state to a route-following driving state, tilting the map around an anchor point situated on a bottom edge of the display; (“the route that is selected may be presented to the user as a route overview. For instance, before proceeding with navigation, the multifunction device may generate a route overview display that graphically indicates key information for the route, such as key turns, route distance and/or an estimated time for traversing the route.” [0133], “Embodiments may provide various visual feedback to virtual camera manipulations, such as displaying an animation of possible virtual camera manipulations when transitioning from two-dimensional map views to three-dimensional map views.” [0158], “The graphical position indicator corresponding to the user may also be fixed, such as in the bottom portion of the display. With these two points fixed, the map display may be rotated and/or zoomed (in or out) in order to maintain the biased view while the user travels about.” [0170]), which shows an overview state and a route-following state, where there can be a camera transition between two-dimensional map views to three-dimensional map views, and the route-following state has the graphical position indicator positioned in a way that has the map tilt at the anchor at the bottom of the screen, around the graphical position indicator.
With respect to claims 7 and 17, Pylappan in combination with Mineta, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11. The combination of Pylappan and Mineta teaches a dynamically displaying a map claims 1 and 11. Pylappan further teaches:
wherein the transition is generated by applying an animation interpolator to initial map parameters corresponding to the first map view and to final map parameters corresponding to the second map view; (“Some embodiments of a client device may display a rendered map and allow a user, system, or device providing input to manipulate a virtual camera in the map, changing the map display according to the virtual camera's position, orientation, and field-of-view.” [0157], “Embodiments may provide various visual feedback to virtual camera manipulations, such as displaying an animation of possible virtual camera manipulations when transitioning from two-dimensional map views to three-dimensional map views.” [0158]), which shows that an is animation is generated for transitioning between two different views.
With respect to claims 9 and 19, Pylappan in combination with Mineta, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11. The combination of Pylappan and Mineta teaches a dynamically displaying a map claims 1 and 11. Pylappan further teaches:
wherein the client device is a navigation system of the vehicle; (“In some embodiments, a client device may implement a navigation system (e.g., turn-by-turn navigation). A navigation system provides directions or route information, which may be displayed to a user. Embodiments of a client device may request directions or a route calculation from a map service. A client device may receive map image data and route data from a map service.” [0159]), where the client device is a navigation system for a user or a vehicle.
With respect to claim 10, Pylappan in combination with Mineta, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Pylappan and Mineta teaches a dynamically displaying a map claim 1. Pylappan further teaches:
the client device displays the first map view and the second map view on a graphical user interface of the client device, and selecting the second subset of POIs is based on a user input on the graphical user interface; (“Touch-sensitive display 112 provides an input interface and an output interface between the device and a user. Display controller 156 receives and/or sends electrical signals from/to touch screen 112. Touch screen 112 displays visual output to the user.” [0040], “In conjunction with RF circuitry 108, touch screen 112, display system controller 156, contact module 130, graphics module 132, text input module 134, GPS module 135, and browser module 147, map module 154 may be used to receive, display, modify, and store maps and data associated with maps (e.g., driving directions; data on stores and other points of interest at or near a particular location; and other location-based data) in accordance with user instructions.” [0094]), which shows that the client device displays the different map views on a graphical user interface, and the POIs can be selected based on user input on the graphical user interface.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pylappan et al. (US 20130325321 A1) in view of Mineta et al. (US 20120179361 A1) and Ren et al. (US 20180005434 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 18:
With respect to claims 8 and 18, Pylappan in combination with Mineta, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11. The combination of Pylappan and Mineta teaches a dynamically displaying a map claims 1 and 11. Pylappan further teaches:
wherein the first driving state is route following and the second driving state is free drive; (“In other cases, multiple candidate routes may be presented to the user and the user may select a preferred route. In the illustrated embodiment, one route is illustrated as route 320. The route may also include turn-by-turn directions which may be presented to the user (in 2D or 3D), such as a graphical indication to perform a turn 322a from road 318a to road 318b.” [0133]), where a driving state includes a route following state.
However, Pylappan does not teach a free drive state, but Ren teaches (“In a virtual map exploration scenario, the user does not have a single destination in mind, but the user interacts with the system 200 to explore a geographical region, such as a city or other geographical area. The system 200 enables exploration through the simultaneous display of 2D and 3D contents, and enables simplified user interaction with the hybrid 2D and 3D map display.” [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to have combined Pylappan-Mineta’s dynamic map display with Ren’s free driving mode because (“The system 200 enables exploration through the simultaneous display of 2D and 3D contents, and enables simplified user interaction with the hybrid 2D and 3D map display… The user examines the relative locations of the buildings and structures in the selected 3D regions without having to view potentially confusing 3D data from other regions that are outside the region of interest” [0042]), therefore improving a user’s viewing experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Weng et al. (US 20130024113 A1) is pertinent because (“However, the user cannot easily see any such prominent landmarks on the navigation map that are near the turns, so he is having trouble identifying landmarks to look for through the window. According to the invention, the user may select or give increased weighting to the distance-to-decision point metric in the navigation system. Thus, the rendering of the navigation map may be adjusted such that landmarks that are closer to "decision points" or turns are depicted with greater detail on the navigation map.” [0042]), which pertains to selecting and adjusting POIs on a map view.
/CHRISTINE NGUYEN HUYNH/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662