DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10307210. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because for example in claim 1, the instant invention is broader in that it omits the positive recitation of the light source as compared to claim 1 of the patent. However, it would be an obvious modification to omit the light source, as omission of an element has been held to be an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art (Ex Parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031, Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989). Furthermore, claim 1 of the instant invention includes additional details in regards to the processor configured to measure a position of patterns, compare the patterns with a pre-stored reference, and calculate the direction of a marker, however, it is noted that this limitation is found in claims 2-3 of the patent.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 1, the status of co-pending applications should be updated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaerer et al. (US 2011/0254922; hereinafter Schaerer) in view of McCloy et al. (US 2007/0183041; hereinafter McCloy), Burdette et al. (US 2003/0135115; hereinafter Burdette), and Garbey et al. (US 2014/0171787; hereinafter Garbey).
Schaerer shows an optical tracking system and method (abstract) comprising: at least one marker configured to be attached to a target ([0068]), the at least one marker including therein: at least one pattern portion formed by a plurality of patterns and arranged to receive light irradiated by at least one external light source, the received light passing the at least one pattern portion or being reflected by the at least one pattern portion ([0072]); at least one camera including: a second lens configured to receive and focus the light released from the first lens ([0068]); and an image sensor configured to form an image of the at least one pattern portion based on the focused light ([0069]); and a processor configured to: measure a position of patterns for each area of the image of the at least one pattern portion ([0070]); compare the position of the patterns for each area of the image of the at least one pattern portion with a pre-stored reference position of the patterns for each area of the at least one pattern portion ([0070]); and calculate a direction of the at least one marker based on the rotated angle of the at least one marker, wherein the patterns in each area of the at least one pattern portion have different characteristics from patterns in other areas ([0068]-[0078]; Figs. 1-4).
Schaerer fails to show a first lens arranged to receive the light, which has passed the at least one pattern portion or has been reflected by the at least one pattern portion, and configured to release a plurality of portions of the light, each released portion of the light having passed a specific point of the at least one pattern portion.
Schaerer fails to explicitly show a lens on the camera. Schaerer also fails to show a fish eye lens.
Schaerer fails to explicitly show calculate a rotated angle of the at least one marker based on a result of the comparison.
McCloy discloses retroreflective marker tracking systems. McCloy teaches a first lens arranged to receive the light, which has passed the at least one pattern portion or has been reflected by the at least one pattern portion, and configured to release a plurality of portions of the light, each released portion of the light having passed a specific point of the at least one pattern portion ([0042]-[0056]; Figs. 1-3 and 6-7).
Burdette discloses an optical medical tracking system. Burdette teaches a lens on the camera ([0033]). Burdette also teaches a fish-eye lens ([0033]).
Garbey discloses surgical procedure management systems. Garbey teaches calculate a rotated angle of the at least one marker based on a result of the comparison ([0044]-[0057]; Figs. 2, 4, and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Schaerer to utilize the lens system as taught by McCloy because doing so would predictably provide the marker function of Schaerer with a limited filed of view range as taught by McCloy so that markers could be more accurately viewed only at certain angles, thus reducing interference from multiple markers in a given scene. Furthermore, a variety of known types of lenses may be selected as desired by one of ordinary skill in the art, such as a fish eye type lens, to obtain the benefits of the specific shape of the lens, where a fish eye lens is known to provide a wider field of view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Schaerer and McCloy to utilize a lens on the camera as taught by Burdette, in order to predictably focus and adjust the field of view as desired by Schaerer, thus providing an imageable field of view for finding the markers of Schaerer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Schaerer, McCloy, and Burdette to calculate a rotated angle of the marker as taught by Garbey because doing so would predictably allow a medical device to be identified, tracked in position, and tracked in orientation, thereby increasing the accuracy of the measurements.
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaerer et al. (US 2011/0254922; hereinafter Schaerer) in view of McCloy et al. (US 2007/0183041; hereinafter McCloy), Burdette et al. (US 2003/0135115; hereinafter Burdette), and Garbey et al. (US 2014/0171787; hereinafter Garbey) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Unsworth (US 2010/0036393).
Schaerer fails to show wherein the at least one marker further comprises a prism arranged to receive the light released from the first lens and configured to release the light to have a different angle of view.
Unsworth discloses methods and systems for a robotic control system. Unsworth teaches wherein the at least one marker further comprises a prism arranged to receive the light released from the first lens and configured to release the light to have a different angle of view ([0168], [0191]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Schaerer, McCloy, Burdette, and Garbey to utilize a prism as taught by Unsworth because doing so would predictably redirect the image of the Schaerer marker to the imaging camera so that the marker can be seen from a desirable angle.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN CWERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797