Detail Office Action
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Status: Please all the replies and correspondence should be addressed to Examiner’s art unit 2629. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted on 07-23-2025 under new application; which have been placed of record in the file. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07-24-2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The invention relates to”; also The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph as well as Abstract exceeds total word count 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FISKER RUNE et al. (WO 2013050536 A1 IDS) hereinafter referenced as FISKER et al. in view of WILKESMANN CARSTEN KLAUS (DE 102010017169 A1) hereinafter referenced as WILKESMANN. . (Further, foreign document with English translation are provided in combination. Please Note that paragraph references refer to English translation and figure references refer to figures provided in foreign document).
Regarding Claim 1, FISKER et al. discloses a dental model structure connected with a distance block (page 20, Line 28 to Page 21, Line 3, please also see Fig. 11, page 45, Lines 25-28).
However, prior art of FISKER et al. fails to disclose a mounting plate being used for the connection, also the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control.
However, prior art of WILKESMANN discloses A mounting plate being configured to connect a dental model structure, the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control (please see para. 8, for more detail fig. 1-4, para, 48, further paras. 25, 28, 52-53 disclosing a metal element ).
FISKER et al. teaches a manufactured dental model of a patient's set of teeth in a physical dental articulator by means of one or more kinds of spacer elements, where the method comprises: - obtaining a virtual 3D dental model of the patient's set of teeth, where the virtual 3D dental model is provided by means of 3D scanning; - providing a virtual dental articulator type corresponding to a physical dental articulator, where the dental articulator comprises an upper arm and a lower arm.
FISKER et al. teaches the one or more spacer (distance Block) elements and/or the upper part and/or lower part of the dental model comprises one or more connecting elements for connecting the spacer (distance Block) elements together and/or for connecting the upper part of the dental model with a spacer (distance Block) element and/or for connecting the lower part of the dental model with a spacer (distance Block) element.
WILKESMANN teaches a mounting plate being used for the connection, also the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, FISKER et al. performs the same function as it does separately of managing process the one or more spacer elements and/or the upper part and/or lower part of the dental model comprises one or more connecting elements for connecting the spacer elements together and/or for connecting the upper part of the dental model with a spacer element and/or for connecting the lower part of the dental model with a spacer element.
WILKESMANN performs the same function as it does separately of a mounting plate being used for the connection, also the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of FISKER et al. to include a mounting plate being used for the connection, also the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control, as disclosed by WILKESMANN thereby the objective of providing a dental model support system which ensures that the base plate maintains the same position relative to the split-cast plate even after repeated removal and placement, as WILKESMANN discusses at para.6.
Regarding Claim 2, WILKESMANN discloses the at least one side recess is formed as a split cast edge on the second surface of the mounting plate (para. 8, for further detail please see Figs. 1-4, para. 48).
Regarding Claim 3, WILKESMANN discloses at least one side recess is configured and arranged such that the at least one side recess is engageable with at least one complementary structure of the distance block. (Please see figs. 1-4, Item # 4, para. 48).
FISKER et al. disclosure please see page 20, Line 28 to Page 21, Line 3, please also see Fig. 11, page 45, Lines 25-28.
Regarding Claim 4, discloses the metal element being positioned in the reception (paras. 25, 28, 52-53 disclosing a metal element)
Regarding Claim 5, FISKER et al. discloses A distance element for mounting a dental model structure on an articulator, comprising :a distance block; and a mounting being configured to connect the dental model structure with the distance block (page 20, Line 28 to Page 21, Line 3, please also see Fig. 11, page 45, Lines 25-28).
However, prior art of FISKER et al. fails to discloses a mounting plate being used for the connection, also the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control.
However, prior art of WILKESMANN discloses A mounting plate being configured to connect a dental model structure, the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control.( please see para. 8, for more detail fig. 1-4, para, 48, further paras. 25, 28, 52-53 disclosing a metal element).
FISKER et al. teaches a manufactured dental model of a patient's set of teeth in a physical dental articulator by means of one or more kinds of spacer elements, where the method comprises: - obtaining a virtual 3D dental model of the patient's set of teeth, where the virtual 3D dental model is provided by means of 3D scanning; - providing a virtual dental articulator type corresponding to a physical dental articulator, where the dental articulator comprises an upper arm and a lower arm.
FISKER et al. teaches the one or more spacer (distance Block) elements and/or the upper part and/or lower part of the dental model comprises one or more connecting elements for connecting the spacer (distance Block) elements together and/or for connecting the upper part of the dental model with a spacer (distance Block) element and/or for connecting the lower part of the dental model with a spacer (distance Block) element.
WILKESMANN teaches a mounting plate being used for the connection, also the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, FISKER et al. performs the same function as it does separately of managing process the one or more spacer elements and/or the upper part and/or lower part of the dental model comprises one or more connecting elements for connecting the spacer elements together and/or for connecting the upper part of the dental model with a spacer element and/or for connecting the lower part of the dental model with a spacer element.
WILKESMANN performs the same function as it does separately of a mounting plate being used for the connection, also the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of FISKER et al. to include a mounting plate being used for the connection, also the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control, as disclosed by WILKESMANN thereby the objective of providing a dental model support system which ensures that the base plate maintains the same position relative to the split-cast plate even after repeated removal and placement, as WILKESMANN discusses at para.6.
Regarding Claim 6, FISKER et al. discloses the distance block has a first surface with at least one protrusion and a second surface with connection means for connecting the distance block with an articulator (page 21, Line 16 to page 22, Line 2)
Regarding Claim 7, FISKER et al. discloses the first surface of the distance block is inclined with respect to the second surface of the distance block (figs. 10, 18, item 1003bi )
Regarding Claim 8, WILKESMANN discloses at least one side recess is configured and arranged such that the at least one side recess is engageable with the at least one protrusion of the distance block (figs. 1-4, item 4)
Regarding Claim 9, FISKER et al. discloses mounting the dental model structure on an articulator without requiring additional fixation material; the dental model structure comprising :at least one dental situation element representing a dental situation of an upper jaw and/or a lower jaw; and at least one connecting structure supporting the at least one dental situation element; wherein the at least one connecting structure comprises a printing base having fixing means for fixing the printing base on the mounting (page 9, Line 29 to page 10, Line 5, page 21, Line 16 to page 22, Line 2).
Please see WILKESMANN disclosure, paras. 4-8 48-53, figs.1-4.
Regarding Claim 10, WILKESMANN discloses the fixing means of the at least one connecting structure are configured to be connected with complementary fixing means of the mounting plate (paras. 4-8 48-53, figs.1-4.)
Regarding Claim 11, FISKER et al. discloses a method for providing a 3D-print data set of a dental model structure (Fig. 1, page 3, Lines 26-31) to be mounted on an articulator, comprising the steps of: providing an articulator data set of the articulator on which the dental model structure is to be mounted; providing a dental situation data set which represents a dental situation of an upper jaw and/or a lower jaw, the dental situation data set including data to display the dental situation as a virtual representation of the dental situation on a display (page 2, Lines 25-31, discloses obtaining a virtual 3D dental model of the patient's set of teeth, where the virtual 3D dental model is provided by means of 3D scanning; providing a virtual dental articulator type corresponding to a physical dental articulator, where the dental articulator comprises an upper and a lower arm and has a known articulator height, which is the distance between the upper arm and the lower arm in the static position of the dental articulator, Page 29, Lines 6-20, Fig, 1-11 disclosing for mounting a physical teeth model in articulator without using gypsum, where the method is suitable for mounting teeth models, upper and lower, where the occlusion plane is adapted to have any angle relative to the horizontal plane in the dental articulator, such that the model is adapted to be arranged with an angle relative to the horizontal plane, where in at least one of the teeth models is printed and one or more standard plates/blocks are used in a suitable combination for arranging the teeth models correct in the articulator); selecting at least one distance element from a plurality of different predefined and/or prefabricated distance (page 2, Lines 28-31) elements based on the articulator data set (page 2, Lines 28-31) and the dental situation data set (Page 16; Line 22 to Page 17,Line 26, Page 19, Lines 15-19, page 12, lines 25 tom page 13, Line 11, discloses how the dental situation plays roles in determining height (or distance elements) selecting at least one distance element from a plurality of different predefined and/or prefabricated distance elements based on the articulator data set and the dental situation data set) generating a connecting structure data set representing at least a virtual connecting structure arranged between the virtual representation of the dental situation and a virtual representation of the at least one selected distance element (page 20,Line 28 to Page 21, Line 24,disclose generating a connecting structure data set representing at least a virtual connecting structure arranged between the virtual representation of the dental situation and a virtual representation of the at least one selected distance element please also see page 6, Line 28 to page 7, Line 11); and generating the 3D-print data set based on the dental situation data set and the connecting structure data set. (Page 49, Lines 11-28, Page 8, Lines 19-21, please see page 6, Line 28 to page 7, Line 11 discloses and generating the 3D-print data set based on the dental situation data set and the connecting structure data set).
Please see WILKESMANN disclosure, paras. 4-8 48-53, figs.1-4.
Regarding Claim 12, FISKER et al. discloses wherein the step of providing the dental situation data set comprises measuring the dental situation, particularly by means of an intraoral scanner (please see page 6, Line 28 to page 7, Line 9, and page 12, Lines 25-30 the situation where the angle of occlusal plane is horizontal, i.e. with no inclination or no angle relative to the horizontal. Some patient's may really have this angle of the occlusal plane, or this angle may be selected by the dentist and/or by the dental technician and/or by the type of articulator used, as it may be easy to use a horizontal occlusal plane instead of using an inclined occlusal plane (situation, particularly by means of an intraoral scanner)).
Regarding Claim 13, FISKER et al. discloses the step of generating the connecting structure data set comprises: trimming the virtual representation of the dental situation to an essential part, wherein the essential part is preferably defined by a bite area plane and at least one cutting plane of the virtual representation of the dental situation, wherein the at least one cutting plane is parallel to the bite area plane and shifted with respect to the bite area plane by a predefined distance ( please see page 6, Line 28 to page 8, Line 30, discloses adjusting the distance between upper and lower jaws representing the bite area and page 12, Lines 25-30 the situation where the angle of occlusal plane is horizontal, i.e. with no inclination or no angle relative to the horizontal. Some patient's may really have this angle of the occlusal plane, or this angle may be selected by the dentist and/or by the dental technician and/or by the type of articulator used, as it may be easy to use a horizontal occlusal plane instead of using an inclined occlusal plane (situation, particularly by means of an intraoral scanner)).
Please see WILKESMANN disclosure, paras. 4-8 48-53, figs.1-4.
Regarding Claim 14, FISKER et al. discloses the bite area plane (page 12, Lines 8-18) is defined by a user input and/or by means of solving a non-linear least squares optimization problem based on an initial estimation (page 12, Line 25 to page 13, Line 20 discloses a user input and/or by means of solving a non-linear least squares optimization problem based on an initial estimation).
Regarding Claim 15, FISKER et al. discloses the step of generating the connecting structure data set comprises: trimming the virtual representation of the dental situation to an essential part, wherein the essential part is preferably defined by a bite area plane and at least one cutting plane of the virtual representation of the dental situation, wherein the at least one cutting plane is parallel to the bite area plane and shifted with respect to the bite area plane by a predefined distance ( please see page 6, Line 28 to page 8, Line 30, discloses adjusting the distance between upper and lower jaws representing the bite area and page 12, Lines 25-30 the situation where the angle of occlusal plane is horizontal, i.e. with no inclination or no angle relative to the horizontal. Some patient's may really have this angle of the occlusal plane, or this angle may be selected by the dentist and/or by the dental technician and/or by the type of articulator used, as it may be easy to use a horizontal occlusal plane instead of using an inclined occlusal plane (situation, particularly by means of an intraoral scanner)).
Regarding Claim 18, WILKESMANN discloses the mounting plate is prefabricated (paras. 4-8 48-53, figs.1-4.)
Regarding Claim 19, FISKER et al. discloses the printing base plate comprises fixing means for fixing the printing base plate on a prefabricated mounting plate of the at least one selected distance element (page 29, Lines 5-20 discloses the printing base plate comprises fixing means for fixing the printing base plate on a prefabricated mounting plate of the at least one selected distance element, please also see page 8, Lines 2-25).
Regarding Claim 20, FISKER et al. discloses A computer program product comprising computer-readable instructions, which, when loaded into a memory of a computer and executed by the computer, cause the computer to perform a method (page 23, Lines 26-31, page 26, Lines 7-12).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-25 of US Patent # US 12396828 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the co-pending Application and is covered by the co-pending Application since the co-pending Application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: Comparison of Instant application Claims 1-20 to Claims 1-25 of US Patent # US 12396828 B2.
Instant Application Number 19,278,606
US Patent # US 12396828 B2
1. A mounting plate being configured to connect a dental model structure with a distance block, the mounting plate comprising: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure; a reception for receiving a metal element; at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control.
1. . A method for providing a 3D-print data set of a dental model structure to be mounted on an articulator, comprising the steps of: providing an articulator data set of the articulator on which the dental model structure is to be mounted; providing a dental situation data set which represents a dental situation of an upper jaw and/or a lower jaw, the dental situation data set including data to display the dental situation as a virtual representation of the dental situation on a display; selecting a distance element from a plurality of different predefined and/or prefabricated distance elements based on the articulator data set and the dental situation data set, wherein the selected distance element comprises a distance block and a mounting plate, wherein the mounting plate is configured to connect the dental model structure with the distance block, and wherein the mounting plate comprises: fixation means for connecting a first surface of the mounting plate with complementary fixation means of the dental model structure, a reception for receiving a metal element, and at least one side recess being formed on a second surface of the mounting plate for enabling a split cast control; generating a connecting structure data set representing at least one virtual connecting structure arranged between the virtual representation of the dental situation and a virtual representation of the selected distance element, wherein the at least one virtual connecting structure is adapted to connect the virtual representation of the dental situation with a virtual representation of the mounting plate; and generating the 3D-print data set based on the dental situation data set and the connecting structure data set.
Note the comparison of independent claim 1 of instant application, to Claims 1 of US Patent # 12,396,828; to avoid 101 statutory double patenting rejections the claims limitations are curtailing the details and language has been changed. However, instant application independent claim limitations are described in independent claims of the parent applications. They all are claiming “The invention relates to a method for providing a 3D-print data set of a dental model structure (100) to be mounted on an articulator (5), comprising: —providing an articulator data set of the articulator (5) on which the dental model structure (100) is to be mounted; —providing a dental situation data set which represents a dental situation of an upper jaw and/or a lower jaw, the dental situation data set including data to display the dental situation as a virtual representation of the dental situation on a display; —selecting at least one distance element (20) from a plurality of different predefined and/or prefabricated distance elements based on the articulator data set and the dental situation data set; —generating a connecting structure data set representing at least a virtual connecting structure (15) arranged between the virtual representation of the dental situation and a virtual representation of the at least one selected distance element; and —generating the 3D-print data set based on the dental situation data set and the connecting structure data set. Furthermore, the invention relates to a corresponding computer program product, a dental model structure, a mounting plate and a dental model system.”.
Further other Claims 2-20 of instant application are same or similar limitation to Claims 2-25 of US Patent # 12,396,828 as per claim per claim basis.
Claims 1-20 of instant application maps to Claims 1- 25 of US Patent # 12,396,828 respectively as per claim per claim basis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim,
but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant is requested review cited prior art cited on USPTO 892.
The Prior art of Kim, Dae-Woong (US 20040175672 A1) disclosure, paras. 31-49, disclosing, a dental model articulator including a mounting member each connected to a upper and a lower dental model casts, a pair of U-type elastic connecting members connected to the mounting member, and a pivot member which pivotedly connects the pair of elastic connecting members, the dental model articulator comprises a fastening member which is screwedly connected to the outer periphery surface of the mounting member and connects the mounting member to the elastic connecting member enabling to be disconnected. The mounting member of the present invention includes a mounting plate formed with mounting projections, a mounting body which supports the mounting plate and is formed with first threads on the outer periphery surface thereof, and a cut-type socket integrally formed on the mounting body. The cut-type socket has a spherical conical portion on the inner bottom surface thereof, and the end portion thereof is spherically bent toward the center thereof. The fastening member of the present invention is a hollowed-cylindrical type, and covers the outer periphery surfaces of the mounting body and the cut-type socket. Further, a plurality of projections are formed on the outer periphery surface of the fastening member, and second threads corresponding to the first threads are formed on the inner periphery surface. Herein, the first threads and the second threads are formed in taper-type, therefore the cut-type socket is gradually, strongly fastened by the rotation of the fastening member. A dental model articulator including a mounting member each connected to the upper and lower dental model cast, a pair of U-type elastic connecting members connected to the mounting member, and a pivot member which pivotedly connects the pair of elastic connecting members, the dental model articulator comprises, a mounting member having a mounting projection corresponding to the mounting recess formed on the cast and formed with an inserting space in center thereof, and an inserting member which is inserted in the mounting recess in a state that the mounting projection is inserted therein so that the mounting member is fixedly mounted on the cast enabling to be dismounted. The inserting member of the present invention includes a triangle projection being inserted in the mounting projection and a supporting plate supporting the triangle projection. The height h.sub.2 of a portion, which is contacted to the supporting plate, in the triangle projection, is formed to be greater than the height h.sub.1 of the inserting space formed in the mounting projection. Whereby, the mounting projection is outwardly bent when the mounting projection is fully forcedly inserted into the inserting member. A dental model articulator including a mounting member each connected to the upper and a lower dental model casts, a pair of U-type elastic connecting members connected to the mounting member, and a pivot member which pivotedly connects the pair of elastic connecting members, the dental model articulator comprises an elastic connecting member having more than one S-type serpentine portions in predetermined position so that the cast can move to the front, rear, left and right side.
The prior Art of Dunne Patrick Colm et al. (US 20080015727 A1 ) disclosure, paras. 31-136, disclosing, the systems and methods disclosed herein employ a combination of digital three-dimensional modeling and rapid fabrication technologies to provide pre-indexed, pre-registered, and/or precut components for articulated dental models. Dental articulators and components of dental models as described herein use a positioning key to encode positional information for components of the dental model, and/or a reference grid on mounting surfaces to enforce local accuracy of fabricated parts against a fixed reference array. Dental models fabricating using the techniques described herein may include, without limitation, a pre-manufactured base upon which dental models are aligned. More generally, the fabrication technologies described above may be used in combination with a variety of digital modeling tools to directly fabricate dental objects such as restorations, prosthetics, appliances, and hardware, as well as a variety of interim components of dental manufacture used to create any of the foregoing. The dental model, or portions thereof, may be directly printed from the digital model as a plurality of preindexed components ready for assembly at a dental laboratory.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria VA 22313-1450
/Prabodh M Dharia/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2629
09-23-2026